Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

View Poll Results: Do you experiment audio stuttering in Half Life 2?
Hell yes and this is really annoying 64 47.76%
A little at loading time 28 20.90%
It was stuttering and I fixed the issue with some tweaking 8 5.97%
Never had any stuttering in the game 34 25.37%
Voters: 134. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2004, 06:29 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
::qcx:
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
::qcx: is still being judged by the masses


Default Is there anyone who doesn't have those audio stutters in Half Life 2?

I seen many threads about this on many forums, people with all kind of systems have this issue related to sound loadings or something. I personally have 3 different sound cards in 2 systems and I always have this bug, I even have it with the game Vampire Mascarade.

Is there anyone who don't have this issue, if so post your specs so we can compare, we actually only have data about the systems that aren't working!
__________________
X1950XT
Athlon 64 X2 4400, Asrock 939Dual-VSTA, 1GB OCZ PC3200
Catalyst 7.1, XP pro SP2, DX9.0c
3dMark 2k5: 9912

Last edited by ::qcx: : Nov 18, 2004 at 06:31 PM.
::qcx: is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 06:54 PM   #2
SkullE_again
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States Nashua, NH.
Posts: 1,175
SkullE_again is still being judged by the masses


Default

Perfect sound. no stuttering at all. May be 3 seconds at level load times but thats normal as it is finnishing with the cashe loading.

Audigy 2 (using 5.1 sound) drivers dated 2/23/2004 version 5.12.1.443
9800pro / 128 (4.12 beta drivers)
AMD 2400+ (266 fsb)
1024 mb ram
XP home
SkullE_again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 07:24 PM   #3
Dave
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dave Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 21,731
Dave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsDave glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Subscriber
Default

perfect sound here too. using nvidia soundstorm with 6.14 beta drivers. stuttered a little after loading a level but after that perfect.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 18, 2004, 07:29 PM   #4
TombStone
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi. Just got around to reading your question ::qcx: . Like Skulle_again said in his reply I only have about 2 seconds of stuttering on the level loads,but then all is fine. Here is what I have done to solve previous issuses.

-Disabled on board Realtek sound through the BIOS.
-Updated Soundcard drivers.
-Set 5.1 speakers through the Control panel.( Windows )
-Updated mobo BIOS to most recent.
-Installed my soundcard into the 2nd slot below Vidcard.

I hope this can help you.

P4 2.8GHz c (stock speed).
Gigabyte GA81PE1000pro 2 (rev2)
1GB Samsung pc3200 DDR400 memory Dual channel
ATI X800XT PE VIVO @ stock speed.
SoundBlaster Audigy 2zs
Logitech Z680s 5.1 speakers
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 07:36 PM   #5
voodoo1
Proud OIF Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States BFE
Posts: 3,641
voodoo1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I get it and it is pissing me off.
voodoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 07:37 PM   #6
rayzian
brokestatus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,599
rayzian is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullE_again
Perfect sound. no stuttering at all. May be 3 seconds at level load times but thats normal as it is finnishing with the cashe loading.
same
__________________
and we did nothing, absolutely nothing
rayzian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 07:46 PM   #7
Bartletts
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 636
Bartletts is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't like experimenting with audio stuttering but I do experience it after loading times.
Bartletts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 08:11 PM   #8
slick
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States Oklahoma
Posts: 1,997
slick can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyslick can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

i get it after loading, thats it.
disregard my sig, i'm using an m-audio revo 5.1 and not the audigy 2.
slick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 08:13 PM   #9
vitocorleone
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Seattle
Posts: 9,415
vitocorleone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Not sure which of the two following things helped me (still stutters a little on level load):

1) Use -heapsize in launch options

2) increase the sound mixahead slightly in the cfg file
__________________
"Healthy democracies don’t decay overnight. They gradually rot from within, with termites like Trump undermining their foundations." - John Cassidy, The New Yorker
vitocorleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 08:38 PM   #10
HeXpŁŘi±
Bloody
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,239
HeXpŁŘi± is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't but then i can't even get it to install so...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clockwork
....


Wtf man..why am I in your sig?


:bleh:
HeXpŁŘi± is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2004, 11:47 PM   #11
tristancarton
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,195
tristancarton is still being judged by the masses


Default

audigy 2zs....stutters all of the time for me
__________________
Primary: dfi ut250gb / a64 mobile 3400 62w clawhammer / 3x512mb pdp xbl tccd / WD 120Gb 7200 8Mb x2, RAID0 / 250Gb WD 7200 8Mb external / Sound Blaster 2 ZS Plat. / HDTV Wonder / 2xTheater 550 pro / Pioneer dvr105 / Pioneer dvd115 / Visiontek x800xt / Antec 550w Truepower / Logitech z680 / IBM p260 21" FD Trinitron x2 / Windows XP-MCE2005, Legal Version

Secondary: dell xps m170 / 2.0 Ghz pentium-m / 1024mb / 120Gb 5400rpm / 7800 gtx go / 1920x1200 trubrite
tristancarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 01:23 AM   #12
DigitalDemon
Flaccid Flexor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Niger Please
Posts: 5,777
DigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwards


Default

no stutter after a mixahead change to .5 and disabling of the stupid cpu eating 'stereo widening' dsp.
DigitalDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 02:31 AM   #13
KMax
I'm Just a Typical
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States FL
Posts: 3,907
KMax is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDemon
no stutter after a mixahead change to .5 and disabling of the stupid cpu eating 'stereo widening' dsp.
How do you disable the stereo widening dsp?

K-max
__________________

::Heatware:: 69-0-0 // ::Wii Friend Code:: 1304 0169 4539 7606 // ::PS3 & Xbox 360 Tag:: Rezeph
KMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 03:29 AM   #14
Obiwanquinnobi
Try to beat our meat!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England Away from here..
Posts: 1,251
Obiwanquinnobi is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullE_again
May be 3 seconds at level load times but thats normal as it is finnishing with the cashe loading.

Audigy 2 (using 5.1 sound) drivers dated 2/23/2004 version 5.12.1.443
9800pro / 128 (4.12 beta drivers)
AMD 2400+ (266 fsb)
1024 mb ram
XP home
I get the same - Nvidia Soundstorm here - but I also get a bit of stutter when entering new areas

I have 1GB of ram - and it's still swapping on a clean install of XP with NOTHING running in the background?
__________________
A fearless, reckless life can have consequences. But still I'd rather feel something... so I guess I'll take my chances!

Last edited by Obiwanquinnobi : Nov 19, 2004 at 04:58 AM.
Obiwanquinnobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 04:10 AM   #15
Wolfhound
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 247
Wolfhound is still being judged by the masses


Default

I´m getting it is very annoying SB Audigy 2 with latest drivers 26/6/04 and 512Mgs of DRR in dual channel and Radeon 9800 pro 128Mgs
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 G0| 4Gigs (2x2048) A-Data PC6400 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R Bios F11 | XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 640Mgs| Samsung Syncmaster 930BF | Creative X-Fi Extreme Music |WD 500Gigs Caviar16 SE | Seagate 160Gigs 7200rpm SATA2 NCQ | Maxtor 300Gigs SATA NCQ | Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard| Razer Copperhead | SteelPad 5L | Sennheiser EH250 | CoolerMaster CM690 | Windows Vista Home Premium x64

Last edited by Wolfhound : Nov 23, 2004 at 05:44 AM.
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 05:07 AM   #16
movieman
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada Canada (was UK)
Posts: 2,135
movieman is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
I have 1GB of ram - and it's still swapping on a clean install of XP with NOTHING running in the background?
XP will probably swap if you have 32GB of RAM and run nothing but Notepad... it's a crappy operating system design.

As to the stutter, it was horrid to begin with, but has almost entirely vanished since I installed the latest Audigy 2 drivers and uninstalled the MP3 codec I had on my machine.
movieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 08:36 AM   #17
Bootkicker
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 82
Bootkicker is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have fixed my serious stutter problem and have only slight pauses at the beginning of a new level. I used the Nforce Betas, upgraded to the latest ATI drivers, increased my AGP aperature size (which was only at 64mb), and turned off AGP fast writes.

I am not sure which of these fixed the problem since I tried them all that the same time.
__________________
My System:
Shuttle SN45G
AthlonXP 2500+
512MB PC2700 Samsung
ATI Radeon 9700
Maxtor 7200 80GB
WD 40GB 7200
Samsung Combo Drive
Bootkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 08:53 AM   #18
PARANOiA
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia I'm a rocker, I rock out
Posts: 855
PARANOiA is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by movieman
XP will probably swap if you have 32GB of RAM and run nothing but Notepad...
QFT. Not necessarily bad design, but short-sightedness.
__________________
Just Passing Through
(Like a gallstone)
(Like a rat through a snake)
(Like a little rubbish through a rake)
PARANOiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 08:54 AM   #19
PARANOiA
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia I'm a rocker, I rock out
Posts: 855
PARANOiA is still being judged by the masses


Default

As for stuttering, a defrag fixed it up. It's definitely due to HDD usage, so clean it up, foo!
__________________
Just Passing Through
(Like a gallstone)
(Like a rat through a snake)
(Like a little rubbish through a rake)
PARANOiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 08:57 AM   #20
compunoob
Computer Bonehead
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Calif
Posts: 4,525
compunoob knows why the caged bird singscompunoob knows why the caged bird singscompunoob knows why the caged bird singscompunoob knows why the caged bird singscompunoob knows why the caged bird sings


Default

No stuttering here just clicks or snaps every once in a while which is quite annoying.
compunoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 09:03 AM   #21
Brinkman
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Columbus, OH
Posts: 3,989
Brinkman is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullE_again
Perfect sound. no stuttering at all. May be 3 seconds at level load times but thats normal as it is finnishing with the cashe loading.

Audigy 2 (using 5.1 sound) drivers dated 2/23/2004 version 5.12.1.443
9800pro / 128 (4.12 beta drivers)
AMD 2400+ (266 fsb)
1024 mb ram
XP home
same, almost my exact setup too
Brinkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 09:15 AM   #22
dawdler
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,574
dawdler is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PARANOiA
As for stuttering, a defrag fixed it up. It's definitely due to HDD usage, so clean it up, foo!
Could just a little fragments do it? I mean, I had a drive that was 74% fragmented (I kind of forgot to clean it ), it ran everything I threw at it just fine.

My current drive is only like 7% fragmented... It does note the HL2 files being some of the most fragmented ones though. Guess I could try it. Doubt it will help.
dawdler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 09:16 AM   #23
wangFu
take him away!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mexico Tijuana
Posts: 7,742
wangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

i have them, but look at my hardware
__________________
Add me on steam
PSN: robv99
wangFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 10:57 AM   #24
SithSolo1
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 824
SithSolo1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Stutters like a slow kid on Ecstasy. Gah it's annoying.
__________________
Antec P160 case w/ Enhance 500w PSU
MSI Neo4 FI
AMD Opteron 165
2048MB (2x1gb) Mushkin Redline PC4000
Evga 7900GTO, Dell E207WFP 20.1" ws LCD
250GB WD SE, 250GB Seagate 7200.8
NEC ND-3500A 16x DVD burner
Server: Lightning's Blade. Faction: Horde. Guild: HOV. Name: Embalm.
SithSolo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 11:09 AM   #25
SpongeBebop
Freedom Fighter Morgan
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Installing [email protected]
Posts: 12,003
SpongeBebop is still being judged by the masses


Default

can anyone with a serial hard drive confirm or deny the existence of stuttering?
__________________
Stop defending your mediocrity.

"...mediocrity is what's rampant. Excellence is rare." -Don Cheadle

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest View Post
My spouse is in child support enforcement so I'll always be happily married. :)
SpongeBebop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 11:23 AM   #26
JTF2
fap fap fap
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: :confused:
Posts: 1,178
JTF2 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitocorleone
Not sure which of the two following things helped me (still stutters a little on level load):

1) Use -heapsize in launch options

2) increase the sound mixahead slightly in the cfg file
could you explain this a little more, as in where to do each of this things and so on?
JTF2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 02:16 PM   #27
hobs0n
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden Schweden Schweden
Posts: 8,468
hobs0n is still being judged by the masses


Default

It stutters pretty frequently for me which is weird since I have 1gb ram and no other game stutters
hobs0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2004, 02:55 AM   #28
XiaoLi
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 27
XiaoLi is still being judged by the masses


Half-Life 2

I have annoying stutters too. At first i thought it's because my hardware is not optimized (they are not, I never bothered to tweak too hard for those few extra fps). But after reading about this issue everywhere I guess there is more to it.

A defrag seems to shorten level load times, and ease stutter somewhat but it does not go away. I am praying for a patch, but then I already finished the game (quite a ride, shame about the ending though)

Athlon64 3200
MSI K8N Neo2
512Mb RAM
Geforce 6800GT (used to be 9700pro)
XiaoLi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2004, 03:03 AM   #29
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States where I stand
Posts: 32,612
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpongeBebop
can anyone with a serial hard drive confirm or deny the existence of stuttering?
Sort of ...

I've got a PATA 7200.7 connected to SATA via a converter on my NFS-2, and am experiencing the stuttering. Defragging right now (wasn't too bad - about 10% fragmented) and hoping that will remedy the issue. Using the onboard SoundStorm audio. Current non-beta audio drivers. Latest mobo drivers. Cat4.10 drivers.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 05:08 AM   #30
Fr1day
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Fr1day is still being judged by the masses


Default No stuttering on my SATA system (fortuntely)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpongeBebop
can anyone with a serial hard drive confirm or deny the existence of stuttering?
I have one and it's fine for me, I've not experienced 'stuttering' at any point.

Radeon 9800 Pro 256 MB
P4 3.2 Ghz
2 GB DDR RAM
72 GB 10 K RPM SATA HD
SB Live!
Windows XP (SP1)
Fr1day is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's difference between half life and half life source? Audi2Honda PC Gaming 12 Nov 17, 2004 10:48 AM
Half the Way to the Half-Life 2: Counter Strike: Source Benchmarked Kinnear PC Gaming 19 Oct 12, 2004 08:49 PM
Half Life 2 Techdemo map for Half Life 1 Roundhouse PC Gaming 5 Jul 10, 2003 08:51 PM
Nvidia Audio Interview - NV30, Half-Life 2, UT 2004 LukaR AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 0 Nov 2, 2002 11:00 AM
Difference: CS, Deathmatch Classic, Half-Life, Half-Life Uplink, and Team Fortress C? billyhansome Off Topic Lounge 7 Jan 23, 2002 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink