Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2012, 02:14 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
blu4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
blu4 is still being judged by the masses


Default ATI Crossfire

Hello!

I have two cards- ATI Radeon 4850 (512mb) and ATI HD 4870 (1gb). I was wondering if i could hook them up together for crossfire?

thanks
blu4 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 2012, 03:04 PM   #2
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yes you can.
By doing so, your 1GB 4870 will downgrade to 4850 512 MB.
Effectively resulting in 4850 512 MB crossfire.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline  
Old Jun 30, 2012, 10:28 AM   #3
blu4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
blu4 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, the I guess i am getting another 4870

Thanks for your help. Close.
blu4 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 7, 2012, 09:58 AM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blín D'ñero View Post
Yes you can.
By doing so, your 1GB 4870 will downgrade to 4850 512 MB.
Effectively resulting in 4850 512 MB crossfire.
No, it won't. the 4870 will run as if it has 512mb. Everything else will perform as stock.

A better idea than getting another 4870 is a new 7800 series card.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Jul 7, 2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
No, it won't. the 4870 will run as if it has 512mb. Everything else will perform as stock.

[...].
HD4870 "as stock" =
750 mhz core clock
1800 MHz GDDR5 memory clock

HD4850 "as stock" =
625 MHz core clock
1000 MHz GDDR3 memory clock

from this follows that the 4870 -which is faster as stock- has to slow down, or throw away buffer contents; anyway the tandem would not perform the same as 2x 4870 "as stock" but likely the same (effectively) as 2 x 4850 "as stock". Effectively.
That is what logic dictates.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline  
Old Jul 7, 2012, 12:07 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blín D'ñero View Post
HD4870 "as stock" =
750 mhz core clock
1800 MHz GDDR5 memory clock

HD4850 "as stock" =
625 MHz core clock
1000 MHz GDDR3 memory clock

from this follows that the 4870 -which is faster as stock- has to slow down, or throw away buffer contents; anyway the tandem would not perform the same as 2x 4870 "as stock" but likely the same (effectively) as 2 x 4850 "as stock". Effectively.
That is what logic dictates.
Your premises are faulty. There is no requirement for both cards to perform identically. The workload is scaled onto the greater number of SIMD's in the 4870 than the 4850, and the clocks are held at their BIOS stock settings.

You are correct that 4870 + 4850 won't be as fast as 4870 + 4870. This will produce microstutter in cases where the 4850 is bottlenecked by it's design and the 4870 is not. These circumstances are quite few, however. The first bottleneck to be run in to will be VRAM, all cards are limited to the frame buffer of the smallest equipped card. 4850 + 4850 won't be as fast as 4870 + 4850, either. However you have the most opportunity for microstutter (uneven render times) with 4870 + 4850 instead of the other configurations.

CrossFireX is not concurrent, it is consecutive - Alternate Frame Rendering - , meaning both cards don't work on the same scene at the same time. They work on alternate scenes, with processing on the second scene beginning while the first scene is still being composed.

Look at AMD dual graphics on APU's, they have significantly different GPU configurations that work together in CrossFireX. This is because there is no requirement for both GPU's to become identical for CrossFireX.

It doesn't matter what your logic suggests, the fact is the above method is how CrossFireX operates, per AMD. You do not need identical cards, and they do not automatically speed match.
caveman-jim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BEST Crossfire Catalyst drivers? Crossfire USERS fall in !!! AndyS AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 16 Dec 22, 2009 09:36 AM
ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.0 - A way to force crossfire w/ profiles demo AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Feb 16, 2009 05:36 AM
Will HD2600XT Crossfire work with just 1 crossfire bridge? Flyordie Radeon Technical Support 0 Sep 26, 2008 06:31 AM
ATI HD4870 & HD4850 Crossfire & Mixed Crossfire Performance Review @ Hardware Canucks HonestJohn AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 8 Aug 11, 2008 07:06 AM
Crossfire x1600 with x1800/x1900 ? Whats best way to crossfire ? nn4786 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Apr 25, 2007 06:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink