Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 26, 2022, 06:47 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
dan99t
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
dan99t is still being judged by the masses


Default How to fit AMD Radeon WX3200 into a 4X Slot ?

Hi,
I am buying a New Dell workstation 3660. Dell will install two Radeon WX3200 graphics cards which will run 8 monitors.

I have 12 Monitors ( 1920x1200 Resolution )

Now there is only one 4X slot left where another 16X card will not fit which can run 4 leftover monitors.

Is there a way to run 3rd full length 16X graphics card Radeon WX3200 which will run 4 more monitors ?

This workstation does have latest USB 3.2 Type C ports & two Display Ports.

Can I use a 4X to 16X Riser card & place 3rd graphics card there ? Would the bandwidth be enough from 4X slot ?

Has anyone tried anything that works ?

Any other ideas ?

Thank You
dan99t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2022, 01:03 PM   #2
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,344
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Displayport MST hub would likely be a better option. Startech and Club3D both make hubs.

Trying to get a 16x card into a 4x slot would be problematic in this case. As even if a riser card worked, and it likely would, there is no where to mount the card and make the ports accessible.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2022, 07:19 AM   #3
dan99t
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
dan99t is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Displayport MST hub would likely be a better option. Startech and Club3D both make hubs.

Trying to get a 16x card into a 4x slot would be problematic in this case. As even if a riser card worked, and it likely would, there is no where to mount the card and make the ports accessible.
How about a Riser Cable like this ?

https://www.amazon.com/CERRXIAN-Expr.../dp/B086GKWDHJ

OR
How many monitors can I run with 2 DP & 2 USB 3.2 Type C Ports ? &

Would I need different drivers besides the ones for Nvidia T-600 ?
dan99t is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 27, 2022, 11:49 AM   #4
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,344
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan99t View Post
How about a Riser Cable like this ?

https://www.amazon.com/CERRXIAN-Expr.../dp/B086GKWDHJ

OR
How many monitors can I run with 2 DP & 2 USB 3.2 Type C Ports ? &

Would I need different drivers besides the ones for Nvidia T-600 ?
I can't say for sure that the riser would work. It looks kinda flimsy... but that might not matter. You shouldn't need special drivers. Some mobo's even have 4x slots with open backs to allow an 8 or 16x card to be installed. It will just run slower as it has less lanes available.

The MST hub though is 100% your best method here. You can run 8 fully independent displays off 2 outputs with two 4 port hubs. Just double check the GPU in question supports it. As for example Apple is well known for not supporting the standard at all even if the GPU technically does.

As for how many displays with 2 DP ports and the computer also has 2x USB C ports. Well you can use "Displaylink" adapters off any USB 3 port and get more displays. Performance isn't as good of course.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 5v/Intel 850 AGP Slot 1.5V? theshirt Radeon Technical Support 5 Jun 4, 2001 07:38 AM
What is the best Slot 1 motherboard for Radeon R4840 Radeon Technical Support 9 Apr 17, 2001 11:31 AM
Voltage\AGP slot\Radeon newbie35 Radeon Technical Support 1 Apr 3, 2001 12:40 PM
Will the Radeon work in 1x agp slot? HapperGamer2 Radeon Technical Support 4 Dec 21, 2000 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink