Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2003, 03:51 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sky Luminaire
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19
Sky Luminaire is still being judged by the masses


Default Overclocking ( Lack thereof)

I have a Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP+, XP 2100+, 768 MB generic PC2100 DDR Ram.

My front side bus is default at 133 ( ovbiously).
I can overclock to 140 mhz with stability.
At 143 mhz, my system starts to load and then reboots while the windows XP loading screen is up.

Is thise expected? How much should I increase the voltage to my Vcore to compensate for my overclocking?

Help
Sky Luminaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2003, 04:34 PM   #2
rachaelsdad
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yakima WA
Posts: 333
rachaelsdad is still being judged by the masses


Default

If the 2100+ is a TBred it is probably the memory that is the culprit. Most the of 2100's would do 166 FSB.

Try relaxing the timings on the memory and increassing the VMem and go for stability at 150FSB with as good as timings as you can get.
rachaelsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2003, 04:46 PM   #3
Sky Luminaire
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19
Sky Luminaire is still being judged by the masses


Default

How do I relax the timings? decrease the latency in the bios? or increase it?
Sky Luminaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 16, 2003, 06:07 PM   #4
rachaelsdad
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yakima WA
Posts: 333
rachaelsdad is still being judged by the masses


Default

In the bios there will be an area of memory timings. Just move them up a notch. CAS 2.5 to 3.0 RAS 2 to 3 and etc..

Try increasing the VMEM if relaxing the timings does not help. Most memory can easily handle 2.7 or 2.8 with good case flow.

I have tried some generic stuff from Fry's that was barely stable at default and would never overclock though. So good luck on yours.
rachaelsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Resolutions (or lack thereof) Auric Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 6 Oct 25, 2006 05:35 PM
Brightness or lack thereof in quake3 and wolfenstein afinman Radeon Technical Support 6 Sep 27, 2003 04:37 PM
Article on GeForce FX AF (or lack thereof) SsP45 Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 1 Jul 21, 2003 09:37 PM
Computer death and my revival thereof. RAGE LT MAN Operating Systems 2 Dec 18, 2001 01:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink