Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2022, 08:13 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default Modem + Router for XFinity Gigabit

Looking for a modem and router combo, or separate modem and router for Xfinity gigabit. Bought a house, and unfortunately FIOS isn't available there.. sucks because I love FIOS, it's cheap, and also Comcast is an absolute garbage company. I like Verizon.

Despite that, I'm forced here. I pay $65/month for FIOS Gigabit and they give me a free modem and router that does very well .. of course XFinity, even with their highest-end package, asks $14/mo for their hardware.

I'd rather just buy my own, but truthfully I'm pretty uneducated when it comes to the network arena. The Netgear Nighthawk looks alright I guess.. looking for something that will last a while, otherwise just paying monthly would be a better option.

As for devices on it.. my PC, laptop, girlfriends laptop, who also works from home, and constant streaming off the TV as we do not use cable.

It's a 1600sqft split-level house and I'd like to have good coverage throughout. I don't think I need some crazy mesh set-up, but if it's not going to cost me an arm and a leg, I don't mind
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2022, 02:03 AM   #2
Talon_262
Lurker Supreme
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Macho Grande
Posts: 1,804
Talon_262 knows why the caged bird singsTalon_262 knows why the caged bird singsTalon_262 knows why the caged bird singsTalon_262 knows why the caged bird singsTalon_262 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
Looking for a modem and router combo, or separate modem and router for Xfinity gigabit. Bought a house, and unfortunately FIOS isn't available there.. sucks because I love FIOS, it's cheap, and also Comcast is an absolute garbage company. I like Verizon.

Despite that, I'm forced here. I pay $65/month for FIOS Gigabit and they give me a free modem and router that does very well .. of course XFinity, even with their highest-end package, asks $14/mo for their hardware.

I'd rather just buy my own, but truthfully I'm pretty uneducated when it comes to the network arena. The Netgear Nighthawk looks alright I guess.. looking for something that will last a while, otherwise just paying monthly would be a better option.

As for devices on it.. my PC, laptop, girlfriends laptop, who also works from home, and constant streaming off the TV as we do not use cable.

It's a 1600sqft split-level house and I'd like to have good coverage throughout. I don't think I need some crazy mesh set-up, but if it's not going to cost me an arm and a leg, I don't mind
Modem: Motorola SB8611
As a former long-time Comcast customer in Nashville (more than 20 years until Google Fiber finally started rolling out where in my neighborhood and I switched in early December), the SB8611 worked very well and was very solid for me on their 1.2Mbps down/35 Mbps down plan. It's DOCSIS 3.1 and has a 2.5Gbps Ethernet port; Best Buy and Amazon are retailing it for about $180 (which is what I paid at BB for mine back in April). but I literally just sold mine off a couple of weeks ago after for $130 on eBay to recoup costs, so you might be able to get a good one used (in which case, look on Amazon Warehouse as well).

https://www.motorola.com/us/mb8611/p
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/motorol...?skuId=6451964

As far as a router recommendation, it's all in how far you want to go. For me, I used Asus routers for years, but I've been running a SFF PC with OPNSense and a dual-port NIC for at least a couple of years to serve as my router/firewall connected with a 5-port 2.5G switch (serving my main desktop and my media server) and 24-port gigabit switch (serving the rest of the wired devices and my wireless access points). For wireless access points, a good mesh system really is a game-changer, especially if you have multiple floors and/or decent square footage; in any case, if you can, make sure those access points can use wired backhaul in order to cut down on wireless congestion and signal issues. I used a 3-pack of TP-Link's Deco S4s (on Amazon for $130), all of them spread throughout my house and using wired backhaul back to my router/switches; I seem to get decent coverage and speed, but use cases for WiFi can be different, so I'd recommend you to research this bit the most.

https://www.tp-link.com/us/deco-mesh...amily/deco-s4/
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Deco-.../dp/B084GTH5LL
__________________
Ad aspera per astra | Post counts don't mean anything to me...I go for quality, not quantity ;)
------------------------------------------------
Steam: TNT_TedStriker | Origin: TedStriker75


Odyssey (main desktop): Listed on System Specs button
MediaBox (unRAID media server): Ryzen 7 3700X - 48GB DDR4-3200 RAM - MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (4GB) - 1TB TeamGroup SATA3 SSD (cache drive) - 3 x 10TB Seagate BarraCuda Pro and 2 x 8TB Seagate BarraCuda HDDs (array storage drives), 10TB Seagate BarraCuda Pro HDD (array parity drive) - Cooler Master Centurion 590 case - Cooler Master 850W PSU

Last edited by Talon_262 : Jan 11, 2022 at 02:22 AM.
Talon_262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2022, 01:13 PM   #3
Nascar24
EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 14,319
Nascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled withNascar24 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Are you going unlimited or sticking to the 1.2TB? If going unlimited just use their modem which has the built in router. As being the great company they are they charge you more money for unlimited if you use your own modem. Or your one of the lucky areas which Comcast still hasnt started charging more money for unlimited because there is competition. Such a crook of chit!
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 12, 2022, 04:13 AM   #4
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talon_262 View Post
Modem: Motorola SB8611
As a former long-time Comcast customer in Nashville (more than 20 years until Google Fiber finally started rolling out where in my neighborhood and I switched in early December), the SB8611 worked very well and was very solid for me on their 1.2Mbps down/35 Mbps down plan. It's DOCSIS 3.1 and has a 2.5Gbps Ethernet port; Best Buy and Amazon are retailing it for about $180 (which is what I paid at BB for mine back in April). but I literally just sold mine off a couple of weeks ago after for $130 on eBay to recoup costs, so you might be able to get a good one used (in which case, look on Amazon Warehouse as well).

https://www.motorola.com/us/mb8611/p
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/motorol...?skuId=6451964

As far as a router recommendation, it's all in how far you want to go. For me, I used Asus routers for years, but I've been running a SFF PC with OPNSense and a dual-port NIC for at least a couple of years to serve as my router/firewall connected with a 5-port 2.5G switch (serving my main desktop and my media server) and 24-port gigabit switch (serving the rest of the wired devices and my wireless access points). For wireless access points, a good mesh system really is a game-changer, especially if you have multiple floors and/or decent square footage; in any case, if you can, make sure those access points can use wired backhaul in order to cut down on wireless congestion and signal issues. I used a 3-pack of TP-Link's Deco S4s (on Amazon for $130), all of them spread throughout my house and using wired backhaul back to my router/switches; I seem to get decent coverage and speed, but use cases for WiFi can be different, so I'd recommend you to research this bit the most.

https://www.tp-link.com/us/deco-mesh...amily/deco-s4/
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Deco-.../dp/B084GTH5LL
Thanks for the detailed response! I also seen that the Motorola MB8611 is pretty much the best choice so I am going to go with that.

As for the router, I seen some different ones recommended while I was researching yesterday. Not only are they all pretty expensive if you want that 2.5gbe port, but many of them seem to struggle with software or wireless coverage. Looks like I'd need 1 or 2 access points, which in that case, maybe a 2 pack of the TP-Link will do.. I will sit on this for a bit before I make a decision, as the setup for a custom modem and router will be far too complicated for the SO to do herself. She's going to get the internet going at the new house and have Comcast install the modem+router, then when I get home in a couple months, I'll probably change it up.

How's Google Fiber, btw? It's crazy to me that at this point it's still so difficult to get fiber optic expansion in neighborhoods. The new house is in a very residential area and the only ****ing option is Comcast. It's atrocious. I would kill to stay with Verizon FIOS because the price is so great without all the contract price increases that Comcast loves to toss at you for an inferior service.

@Nascar - I don't see anything about datacaps in my area. I just see 3 different speeds to select from.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2022, 01:58 AM   #5
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 6,407
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I was a big fan of cable modems.

Docsis 4.0 around the corner

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/co...s-4-modem.html
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2022, 08:51 AM   #6
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Finally got home and had time.

I tried sticking with the shitty Xfinity modem+router, but the WiFi was garbage. It worked well enough for phones, but playing anything on the PS5 was a packet loss stutterfest.

Purchased the Motorola MB8611, and I found a TP-LINK Archer AX11000 for $219 (god I love Costco). Sure, it doesn't have the 2.5gbps LAN port, but it has a 2.5gbps WAN. My network speed really isn't more than 1.2gbps so I figured it wasn't worth chasing extremely expensive routers that has the 2.5gbps capability, plus they had this one at Costco so that made life easy.

WiFi was immediately much better. Getting far better signal to the PS5 and zero lag over wireless. I've yet to set my PC up, just been so busy and also don't have a monitor.. but I need to run a coax outside and then punch a hole through the brick to get the modem+router set up in their permanent spots. Right now they're both in the unfinished basement.

Very happy with the purchase, though. **** Comcast.. I wish Google Fiber or Verizon FIOS would come here, but of course these shithole politicians are getting paid $$$$ to keep the monopoly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2022, 09:13 AM   #7
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 6,407
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
Finally got home and had time.

I tried sticking with the shitty Xfinity modem+router, but the WiFi was garbage. It worked well enough for phones, but playing anything on the PS5 was a packet loss stutterfest.

Purchased the Motorola MB8611, and I found a TP-LINK Archer AX11000 for $219 (god I love Costco). Sure, it doesn't have the 2.5gbps LAN port, but it has a 2.5gbps WAN. My network speed really isn't more than 1.2gbps so I figured it wasn't worth chasing extremely expensive routers that has the 2.5gbps capability, plus they had this one at Costco so that made life easy.

WiFi was immediately much better. Getting far better signal to the PS5 and zero lag over wireless. I've yet to set my PC up, just been so busy and also don't have a monitor.. but I need to run a coax outside and then punch a hole through the brick to get the modem+router set up in their permanent spots. Right now they're both in the unfinished basement.

Very happy with the purchase, though. **** Comcast.. I wish Google Fiber or Verizon FIOS would come here, but of course these shithole politicians are getting paid $$$$ to keep the monopoly.
Synology RT6600 should be released this spring.I personally have the RT1900 for a couple of years and is nice.The router was relased in 2015 and is still getting firmware updates in 2022.I would suggest avoid tp-link.Is a bottom barell chinesse company when it comes to firmware support.I had a router from them Tl-wr1043nd and i got to configure many other products from them from various people.If it works is ok but don't expect support for too many years.Also per year updates are scarce.The security patching on tp-link are very scarce.
It has one 2.5gbs port that can be configured in various functions.



Quote:
The Synology RT6600ax is almost certainly going to be a release that is going to be partnered with the launch of SRM 1.3 in 2022, so although it will definitely be in 2022, maybe get comfortable and expect it some time in the late spring or early summer (somewhere in between Q1 and Q2 in the TW business quarter).
https://nascompares.com/news/synolog...uter-revealed/
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2022, 11:43 AM   #8
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

I've already purchased, so a bit late. I'm not too concerned with security updates or support - I'm not a power-user, just need good wifi signal and some LAN ports for the PC and the PS5.

As of right now, it's working excellent and a massive improvement over the Comcast default
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2022, 01:02 PM   #9
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 6,407
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
I've already purchased, so a bit late. I'm not too concerned with security updates or support - I'm not a power-user, just need good wifi signal and some LAN ports for the PC and the PS5.

As of right now, it's working excellent and a massive improvement over the Comcast default
The thing is if you have bugs or incompatibilities there are little chances they will be fixed.I did have issues with wifi range issues on the tplink 1043nd router and they were never fixed officialy.I had to go with an openWRT firmware to fix wireless stability and a bigger range.The OpenWRT firmware brought another disatvantage to the table.It couldn't support some sort of nat hardware accelerator.The Nat routing speed was limited to no more than 300mbps on a 1000mbit ports.Fingers crossed you not have problems. Enjoying your new router.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."

Last edited by badsykes : Mar 27, 2022 at 01:15 PM.
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2022, 02:14 AM   #10
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 6,407
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

@Nunz I see there are some issues with wireless with the archer 11000


https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/d...1000/#Firmware


In all 3 firmwares there is a wireless stability issue.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2022, 03:32 AM   #11
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

I appreciate the info!

Hmm, my Archer was on the latest firmware out-of-box. I haven't had any dropouts or issues with the wireless, and that's with 7 clients connected. I'm using the single SSID and letting the devices assign themselves, no signal or strength issues.

I am considering disabling the single SSID so that I can assign different devices to different bands. I have a Google Nest Doorbell and Speaker, and both assigned themselves to the 5G network - I'd rather have them on the 2.4G network, but I can't say I've had any issues with the way it's currently configured.

The range has been impressive. Even when I'm in the garage, which is quite far and through quite a bit of walls, I'm getting perfect signal.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe

Last edited by Nunz : Mar 28, 2022 at 03:45 AM.
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2022, 04:57 AM   #12
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 6,407
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
I appreciate the info!

Hmm, my Archer was on the latest firmware out-of-box. I haven't had any dropouts or issues with the wireless, and that's with 7 clients connected. I'm using the single SSID and letting the devices assign themselves, no signal or strength issues.

I am considering disabling the single SSID so that I can assign different devices to different bands. I have a Google Nest Doorbell and Speaker, and both assigned themselves to the 5G network - I'd rather have them on the 2.4G network, but I can't say I've had any issues with the way it's currently configured.

The range has been impressive. Even when I'm in the garage, which is quite far and through quite a bit of walls, I'm getting perfect signal.
Cool then.Fingers crossed you will not have problems.Enjoy your network.You have the top of the line router from Tp-link.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2022, 04:59 AM   #13
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,170
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

If it wasn't for the deep discount I got on it, I'd probably have ordered an ASUS router. I looked at some of the more advanced routers and/or building one with an SFF, but I'm just not that heavy of a user when it comes to networking to justify the more involved setups.

Thanks for the insight!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a <$100 gigabit router Shadowless General Hardware 6 Feb 15, 2013 10:32 PM
Best router for gigabit and gaming? Dragunov [GenHardware] Networking [Archived] 5 Feb 4, 2007 09:04 PM
Gigabit Ethernet, Router, two computers? SkaarjMaster General Hardware 8 Feb 25, 2004 09:35 PM
Can a Gigabit Ethernet port on my mobo work on a 10/100 router? Demonfire General Hardware 6 Feb 18, 2004 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink