Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 23, 2022, 03:04 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Kain
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 4,765
Kain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwardsKain can recite pi backwards


Default Connecting my PS4 Pro to my PC monitor and speakers

I have the following monitor and sound card:

Monitor: ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster AE-9

My monitor is connected to my graphics card through DisplayPort but it also has an HDMI port which I could use for the PS4 Pro. As for my sound card, it has an optical in which I could use to get audio from the PS4 Pro through my PC speakers. Is connecting the PS4 Pro to this setup as simple as using HDMI for the monitor and an optical cable for audio?

By the way, my monitor is 1440p. This won't cause any "weirdness" with the PS4 Pro where you can only select 1080p or 4K as the output resolution?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3930K | Corsair Hydro Series H100i PRO | GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3 | 16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133 MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING | Creative Sound Blaster AE-9 | Crucial m4 256 GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB | Pioneer BDR-206DBK | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Corsair Obsidian Series 650D | ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | 2 x JBL LSR305 + 1 x JBL LSR310S | Microsoft SideWinder X4 | Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum | SteelSeries QcK mini | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2022, 03:14 PM   #2
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 21,494
Mangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselMangler exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

Hdmi for video and toslink for audio will work.

And the only weirdness you will encounter is bad IQ since the monitor will have to upscale 1080p to 1440p.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2022, 07:06 PM   #3
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,282
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Audio is easy, you figured it out. You just set the PS4 to optical out.

Video... will depend on your monitor. Hopefully, it will either scale 1080p nicely or 4k down nicely.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 23, 2022, 08:32 PM   #4
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32,175
Nunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsNunz glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

You can't tell the PS4 Pro to run 4K without a 4K capable monitor. It will run 1080p with "increased framerate" or higher IQ "Super Sampling Mode". The PS4 Pro does not recognize 1440p.

Should look fine on a 27" monitor. The scaler in the PG279Q is decent.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2022, 02:22 AM   #5
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,282
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
You can't tell the PS4 Pro to run 4K without a 4K capable monitor. .
Depends on your monitor. Mine can accept a 4k signal and will downscale it. Looking it up though... PG279Q won't accept a 4k signal. So either way, Nunz is right here.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting my Xbox to my monitor? Dragex General Hardware 19 Aug 4, 2009 12:28 PM
Connecting a VGA monitor to a DVI output DrHLecter General Hardware 0 May 2, 2006 01:27 PM
Trouble connecting thexbox 360 vga cable to pc speakers Mrpleeb Console Gaming 8 Dec 27, 2005 05:04 PM
Connecting the XBOX to your pc monitor Firebreather Console Gaming 15 Jul 14, 2002 04:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink