Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing From Android, Symbian to Apple devices, this is the place for discussion and debate, whether it's smartphones, tablets or even gaming handhelds.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2012, 04:10 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,342
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default GPS apps for Android

What are your favourites? Any a good replacement for a dedicated automotive GPS?
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 04:16 AM   #2
Tizen
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Korea Close by.
Posts: 5,005
Tizen is still being judged by the masses


Default

Navigon

/thread
__________________
Don't panic
Tizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 02:15 PM   #3
taz291819
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Huntsville, Al
Posts: 2,136
taz291819 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Google Navigation works fine for me. Just wish they'd add how fast you are currently going.
__________________
Sig changed, because bete told me to.
taz291819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 21, 2012, 03:54 PM   #4
ViN86
Drinking your milkshake
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Boston
Posts: 3,186
ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Google Navigation > *
__________________
Intel i7-5820K ∙ Asus X99-A ∙ Crucial 4x4GB DDR4-2400 ∙ EVGA GTX1080 ∙ Samsung 840 EVO 250GB ∙ ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2713HM ∙ Corsair HX850 ∙ Win10/Ubuntu16 | Xbox One
Lenovo T470p ∙ Intel i7-7700HQ ∙ Nvidia 940MX ∙ 2x8GB DDR4-2400 ∙ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB/ZTC M.2 2242 256GB ∙ 1440p IPS ∙ Win10/Ubuntu16
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 05:51 PM   #5
bill dennison
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 25,270
bill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

i don't know why none of the top ones are out for android

i use these on a ipad i don't want any that don't have onboard maps or need data on to work
Garmin StreetPilot Onboard, Magellan RoadMate and TomTom

i gave my sister my asus transformer because i found no good gps apps for it
but i drive to peoples houses all day
bill dennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 06:32 PM   #6
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,589
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Google nav obviously
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 06:39 PM   #7
Elysian
SCAATSJW
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 51,480
Elysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationElysian has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Google Navigation works fine for me. Just wish they'd add how fast you are currently going.
Call me old fashioned but I usually use my speedometer for that
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
You guys are closet communists.
Elysian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 07:30 PM   #8
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 21,342
Trunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwardsTrunks0 can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Now which hold their map data? Because that is kinda important imho if you travelling outside your normal cellular area.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Asus TUF Gaming X570-Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x - Noctua NH-D15S chromax.Black - 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z NEO - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - XFX MERC 308 Radeon RX 6600XT - Creative AE-5 Plus - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 12:48 PM   #9
taz291819
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Huntsville, Al
Posts: 2,136
taz291819 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian View Post
Call me old fashioned but I usually use my speedometer for that
Two reasons. Most speedometers aren't accurate, they normally show a faster speed than you're actually going (normally by 2mph, not a huge difference).

Also, I like it when a GPS tells you the speed limit, and if you are going over it. Sometimes, I'll drive on a road a not see a speed limit sign for miles, so I have no idea what the limit is.
__________________
Sig changed, because bete told me to.
taz291819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 01:03 PM   #10
ice
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States PA
Posts: 26,605
ice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Now which hold their map data? Because that is kinda important imho if you travelling outside your normal cellular area.
If you lose signal, Google Maps zooms out and shows the place it last saw you and lets you see all the street names and move around the map. Happened to me once and I was able to scroll around to see what street I needed to get to and where it was based on where the satellite last saw me.
__________________

6600k|16GB of GSkill|500GB 850 Pro|Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 |Asus Z170-AR|Windows 10 64 Enterprise


360 games



Lose = Be careful not to lose that.
Loose = The bolts are loose.
There = She is there now.
Their = They have their things.
They're = They're going to the mall.
To = They came to the house.
Too = That's too bad.
Two = 2.
Your = Your dinner is ready.
You're = If you're 150lbs you'd better have a 6 pack.
ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 03:07 PM   #11
bill dennison
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 25,270
bill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
Now which hold their map data? Because that is kinda important imho if you travelling outside your normal cellular area.
you can try nav free it has downloadable maps and works ok
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...QuT1NNLkFMTCJd
bill dennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 03:23 PM   #12
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,589
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
If you lose signal, Google Maps zooms out and shows the place it last saw you and lets you see all the street names and move around the map. Happened to me once and I was able to scroll around to see what street I needed to get to and where it was based on where the satellite last saw me.
you can also set it to pre load the whole trip.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 06:29 PM   #13
ice
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States PA
Posts: 26,605
ice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Is it possible to map out a route on Google Maps and send that specific route to your phone for GPS? ****ing thing never takes me the way I want to go so that would be a nice option.
__________________

6600k|16GB of GSkill|500GB 850 Pro|Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 |Asus Z170-AR|Windows 10 64 Enterprise


360 games



Lose = Be careful not to lose that.
Loose = The bolts are loose.
There = She is there now.
Their = They have their things.
They're = They're going to the mall.
To = They came to the house.
Too = That's too bad.
Two = 2.
Your = Your dinner is ready.
You're = If you're 150lbs you'd better have a 6 pack.
ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 07:07 PM   #14
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,589
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
Is it possible to map out a route on Google Maps and send that specific route to your phone for GPS? ****ing thing never takes me the way I want to go so that would be a nice option.
yes.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:28 PM   #15
Yceman
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brazil Brasília
Posts: 610
Yceman is still being judged by the masses


Default

Google Navigator, but I wish I could just preload the whole map of the city (or country) and forget about it
Yceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:47 PM   #16
ice
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States PA
Posts: 26,605
ice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
yes.
And how do you go about it? Based on my quick searching before, people had issues with it giving the custom route directions.
__________________

6600k|16GB of GSkill|500GB 850 Pro|Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 |Asus Z170-AR|Windows 10 64 Enterprise


360 games



Lose = Be careful not to lose that.
Loose = The bolts are loose.
There = She is there now.
Their = They have their things.
They're = They're going to the mall.
To = They came to the house.
Too = That's too bad.
Two = 2.
Your = Your dinner is ready.
You're = If you're 150lbs you'd better have a 6 pack.
ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 08:34 PM   #17
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Not exactly a replacement gps app, but Beat the Traffic is frigin awesome. It's saved me headache a bunch of times.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk 2
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:18 PM   #18
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Two reasons. Most speedometers aren't accurate, they normally show a faster speed than you're actually going (normally by 2mph, not a huge difference).

Also, I like it when a GPS tells you the speed limit, and if you are going over it. Sometimes, I'll drive on a road a not see a speed limit sign for miles, so I have no idea what the limit is.
The GPS speed isn't any more or less accurate than what the car is doing. My GPS and my car are always the same or +/- 1 Mph of each other.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:26 PM   #19
ice
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States PA
Posts: 26,605
ice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badgesice doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
The GPS speed isn't any more or less accurate than what the car is doing. My GPS and my car are always the same or +/- 1 Mph of each other.
Yes it is. There are a bunch of factors that affect what the speedometer shows, my RX-7 is 3MPH off and the Rabbit is 3-4MPH off. Maybe your car is some freak exception, but GPS is more accurate.
__________________

6600k|16GB of GSkill|500GB 850 Pro|Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 |Asus Z170-AR|Windows 10 64 Enterprise


360 games



Lose = Be careful not to lose that.
Loose = The bolts are loose.
There = She is there now.
Their = They have their things.
They're = They're going to the mall.
To = They came to the house.
Too = That's too bad.
Two = 2.
Your = Your dinner is ready.
You're = If you're 150lbs you'd better have a 6 pack.
ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:28 PM   #20
Douglaster
X360 - PC
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brazil Brasília , Brazil
Posts: 720
Douglaster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Anyone knows a gps app that can be placed as a gadget in the mainscreen ?
__________________
Good Hunting, Stalker.
PURGE the Xenos, for the EMPEROR !!!
Goodbye Starcraft, Goodbye Diablo, who will save WoW from Actizzard ?
Douglaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:42 PM   #21
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,799
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
If you lose signal, Google Maps zooms out and shows the place it last saw you and lets you see all the street names and move around the map. Happened to me once and I was able to scroll around to see what street I needed to get to and where it was based on where the satellite last saw me.
The satelites for GPS should always see you (unless you are tunneled, etc). It simply cannot update the map in realtime.

Also, in the options I've found that if you map your trip when you are in cell coverage area, it will pre-download all relevant data for the trip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 02:07 AM   #22
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
Yes it is. There are a bunch of factors that affect what the speedometer shows, my RX-7 is 3MPH off and the Rabbit is 3-4MPH off. Maybe your car is some freak exception, but GPS is more accurate.
I know over the years my old impala speedo got a little off over the 8 years i had it but was only 3 to 4 miles at the end when i traded it. I know my neighbors speedo was all out of wack when he went larger on the tires.

1 to 2 Mph is not a big variation heck even 3 or 4 and is not that big a deal where there is any benefit even though the difference is negligable.

If our consumer GPS was military accurate I would agree with the GPS but they are not so both are prone to not 100% accurate readings.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:05 AM   #23
necropimp
WRAAAA!!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Hell
Posts: 5,887
necropimp knows why the caged bird singsnecropimp knows why the caged bird singsnecropimp knows why the caged bird singsnecropimp knows why the caged bird singsnecropimp knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
What are your favourites? Any a good replacement for a dedicated automotive GPS?
there are some decent apps that are as good as a dedicated gps unit... but it all depends on the gps in your phone...

my optimus v was excellent... gps never failed to quickly get a location fix and rarely ever lost it... even inside buildings

my captivate was AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL... the one huge issue i had with the phone was how awful the gps was... took forever to get a fix while outside almost never while inside and using it for navigation is a joke... would constantly lose my position even when i was stopped

my inspire is meh... sometimes it gets a quick accurate fix, sometimes not so much, horrible inside buildings
__________________
Eat Right, Exercise, Die Anyway
necropimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 11:46 AM   #24
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
Yes it is. There are a bunch of factors that affect what the speedometer shows, my RX-7 is 3MPH off and the Rabbit is 3-4MPH off. Maybe your car is some freak exception, but GPS is more accurate.
Well I decided to see how off acording to what you are saying and I spent the weekend trying 3 different GPS units and 3 smartphones and here are my results with my 2012 Cruze

-Galaxy S2 and old Droid with Sygis app was = to 1 mph off
-Garmin Nuvi was +/- 1 mph
-Mio Moov m300 +/-1 mph
-Windows phone 7 with Garmin App was = to 1 mph off same as my Android phones
- Old Tom Tom was +/- 1 to 2 mph.

open highway 80% of the time and rest was local around town.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 12:10 PM   #25
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,589
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
Well I decided to see how off acording to what you are saying and I spent the weekend trying 3 different GPS units and 3 smartphones and here are my results with my 2012 Cruze

-Galaxy S2 and old Droid with Sygis app was = to 1 mph off
-Garmin Nuvi was +/- 1 mph
-Mio Moov m300 +/-1 mph
-Windows phone 7 with Garmin App was = to 1 mph off same as my Android phones
- Old Tom Tom was +/- 1 to 2 mph.

open highway 80% of the time and rest was local around town.
It's illegal for a speedometer to read slower than you are actually going. They will always read above your actual speed.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 12:45 PM   #26
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
It's illegal for a speedometer to read slower than you are actually going. They will always read above your actual speed.
Just posting the numbers I have in front of me and the differential was on the GPS while the speedo showed the same speed. +/- 1 mph is well within a margin of error as no device is perfect. The analog speedo is hard to get a direct reading but the digital speedo was the same number throughout. I was also driving flat surfaces and no hills to keep as close to same speed as possible.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2

Last edited by mabran : Aug 7, 2012 at 12:51 PM.
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 07:51 AM   #27
lumpyhed
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England Limeysville
Posts: 13,637
lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 01:54 PM   #28
Thr0tt
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 5,225
Thr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyThr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyThr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Vvveeerrrryyyyy interesting.... google navigator is one thing but tomtom we coild rule the world! Well at least drive round it safely.
__________________
Specs: Asus Z170-A Mobo | Intel i7-6700k 4GHz | Sapphire RX5600XT Pulse 6G | 16GB DDR4 3000MHz PC4-22400 | Samsung U28E570D 4K | Thrustmaster Hotas X Joystick | Win10 Pro
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 03:40 PM   #29
Ego
I can't take this
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Romania Bucharest
Posts: 4,456
Ego can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEgo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Google navigator for when I need GPS guidance inside the borders of my own country, otherwise the data connection while roaming would bankrupt my Vodafone bill. It's too bad the new offline maps feature doesn't work for navigation yet, otherwise all other GPS software manufacturers would go out of business, in my region at least.

Copilot 9 for when I'm abroad, it takes advantage of the resolution of my phone, and has been very accurate so far. A bit pricey though: 25 pounds for full Europe maps and (obviously) the navigation feature.
Ego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 03:21 PM   #30
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,269
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

Since my phone updated to ICS, and I think Google Navigation updated as well, it's been really kind of crappy. It use to work flawlessly and really fast. Now, it takes 5 minutes or so to find my GPS location. Then, once it has it, it can sometimes lose it. I use it for delivery driving and it's ****ed me a few times. Fortunately I can zoom out and see where the actual location is, but still... you have to pull over or pray for a stop light to do that.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run Android apps in windows badboy Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 6 Mar 30, 2012 01:59 PM
25 top Android apps for 49 cents each Mahjik Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 3 Mar 11, 2012 11:28 AM
The Best Android Apps kepler Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 168 Oct 20, 2011 12:45 PM
Android apps Zero Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 9 Sep 14, 2010 02:56 PM
What are your favourite Android apps? Nosferatu Off Topic Lounge 9 Feb 18, 2010 11:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink