Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 9, 2004, 05:55 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
roofy
Chopper Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,794
roofy is still being judged by the masses


Default so im installing xp sp2...

it came out today for msdna subscribers and manufacturers. theres also a torrent, it should be on windowsupdate.com by friday maybe sooner. ive installed it in 2 machines at work, one came back up horribly damaged, the other is just fine. my home machine is about 50% done. anyway, wondering if anyone here has installed it yet? heres the torrent link www.sp2torrent.com
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiZZ-BanG
why do u need a linux teacher anyway? what could possible be hard about linux.
in my class, we were expected to learn how to use linux in an hour.
roofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 05:57 PM   #2
Stingray
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,966
Stingray is still being judged by the masses


Default

Working great right here.

I´m now slipstreaming SP2 into a XP installation ISO, and at the same time I´m actually ridding the installation CD of "fat" using this program: http://nuhi.msfn.org/
Stingray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:09 PM   #3
roofy
Chopper Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,794
roofy is still being judged by the masses


Default

success. it works just fine for me. i just hope its more than stupid little features like automatic update nagging, but since theres never a changelog well never know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiZZ-BanG
why do u need a linux teacher anyway? what could possible be hard about linux.
in my class, we were expected to learn how to use linux in an hour.
roofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:25 PM   #4
Cloud
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midgar
Posts: 3,945
Cloud is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm kinda scared to install it. Guess I'll wait till I get that annoying little "OMGWTFLOL!!! UPDATE!" prompt.
__________________
» AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core Processor
» MSI K9A2 Crossfire Motherboard
» 2x Western Digital Raptors RAID-0 Boot
» 8GB GeIL Black Dragon DDR2 RAM
» SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4850
» Microsoft Windows 7 Build 7100
» 2x Hanns·G 28" Monitors 3840x1200
Cloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:27 PM   #5
DarkSyde
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States The Armpit of America (Ohio)
Posts: 1,337
DarkSyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

The only problem I had was an error trying to copy (back up) atapi.sys. I just pushed cancel to skip it and everything is fine.
DarkSyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:30 PM   #6
roofy
Chopper Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,794
roofy is still being judged by the masses


Default

all you have to do, is delete atapi.sys, you were installing from a virtual drive correct? i had that same problem at work with my 400 meg msnda version...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiZZ-BanG
why do u need a linux teacher anyway? what could possible be hard about linux.
in my class, we were expected to learn how to use linux in an hour.
roofy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:39 PM   #7
WPFP
i told u i was hardcore
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,231
WPFP is still being judged by the masses


Default

Worked fine, until I decided to get a patched uxtheme.dll for it. None of the themes worked with whatever version I had so I thought I'd just switch it to windows classic. The screen goes completely black apart from the start button, my tray icons and the desktop icon (bin). 'Uh oh', i thought. To cut a long story short, after uninstalling sp2 in admin mode - which I could see - I was still getting the same problem, so after about 10 minutes of groping around the display properties in the dark, I managed to change the theme to something viewable and all was well. From what I did see of SP2 before I screwed it up, it seemed pretty decent.
WPFP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2004, 06:41 PM   #8
Altheos
Cadna sti!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada Le plus meilleur pays du monde
Posts: 905
Altheos is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here's a link to the network installation directly from microsoft only english and german though.


-edit- oh, already posted in another thread.
__________________
AMD Athlon 2600 XP
1536 MB pc2700 ddr
Ati Radeon x800xl
Pioneer 16X DVD-Rom
Game theater XP
Win xp pro
Altheos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing [email protected] the How??? way v2.0 KJ Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 12 Nov 10, 2005 12:20 PM
Need Help Installing 3.5's HEATLoE AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 10 Jun 24, 2003 12:23 PM
Un-installing Nvidia drivers and installing ATI drivers? Mike89 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Apr 6, 2003 10:03 PM
Installing 9500Pro...re-installing XP before ? Franky04 Radeon Technical Support 1 Jan 8, 2003 01:09 PM
Installing Via 4 in 1's KingRoLo Radeon Technical Support 4 Jan 19, 2002 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink