Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 23, 2003, 07:23 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
HEATLoE
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,158
HEATLoE is still being judged by the masses


Default Need Help Installing 3.5's

i've heard many mixed opninions on this topic. do i need to uninstall my old drivers first then install? my friend just installed right over his old drivers and BHD works fine. i posted in the 3.5 cat discussion numerous times, but everyone was too busy complaining. i want to upgrade because some BHD missions hang and Collin McRae Rally 3 demo hangs as soon as i get into a race w/ 9700 pro device driver failure message upon reboot.
here are my specs if they help:

P4 2.4Ghz
Radeon 9700 Pro 128mb
Catalyst 3.1
Direct X 9.0a

i should add, i hate uninstalling drivers, i've tried it 3times, and fcked up my old computer 3 times w/ the driver cleaner.
HEATLoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2003, 09:14 PM   #2
gibbonsl
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Grand Forks AFB
Posts: 269
gibbonsl is still being judged by the masses


Default

i just installed over the 3.4

no problems yet
__________________
Sager 5680 - 2.8 P4 - 512 Meg ddr 400 Duel channel - 60 gig 8 meg cash 7200 RPM - ATI 9600 M 128 meg - 15" UXGA - DVD/CDRW-ROM - Logitech MX 310 - Logitech Internet Nav. Keyboard

External Maxtor 200 gig - external Western Digital 250 in a (Steel Metal Box) - Sony 4X DVD-RW(external)

opinions are like brains, everyone has them, but not everyone uses them
gibbonsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2003, 09:38 PM   #3
john19055
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,241
john19055 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I always uninstall though the controll pannel all the old drivers and then delete all the ATI stuff in the regedit and reboot and then I install the new driver and then the control pannel.
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 23, 2003, 10:22 PM   #4
Vegie
we all like to be on top.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 696
Vegie is still being judged by the masses


Default

this is a topic in this forum that explains it all
__________________
¤ INTEL 3930K ¤ ASUS RAMPAGE IV ¤ G.SKILL RIPJAW 32GB 2133 CL9 ¤ GIGABYTE 590 ¤ INTEL 520 SSD RAID 0 ¤ CORSAIR HX1000 ¤ LIAN LI PC-X2000 ¤
Vegie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2003, 11:48 PM   #5
Clockwork
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 14,849
Clockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I do it this way every time (unless I am really ambitious and decide to reformat):

1)Uninstall Control Panel

2)Reboot

3)Uninstall Drivers

4)Reboot

5)Install new drivers

6)Reboot

7)Install new Control Panel

8)Reboot

9)Choose all my resoution/d3d/opengl settings

10)Reboot one final time.


It might be overkill rebooting so much, but I have never had a bad driver install this way.
Clockwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 12:27 AM   #6
Skynet
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 21,114
Skynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppersSkynet has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Thumbs up

Clockwork is right, with the proceedure he outlines it will work perfectly every time.
Skynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 07:14 AM   #7
HEATLoE
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,158
HEATLoE is still being judged by the masses


Default

can you do a driver rollback if you unistall that? i figure that if in istall over and it doesnt work right, i can just roll back and be alright?
HEATLoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 10:06 AM   #8
HEATLoE
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,158
HEATLoE is still being judged by the masses


Default

anyone else install over their previous drivers?
HEATLoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 10:24 AM   #9
Sunrise3500
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 137
Sunrise3500 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I uninstalled old control panel, uninstalled old display driver. rebooted. installed new display drvier. rebooted. installed control panel rebooted.
Sunrise3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 10:34 AM   #10
MS-DOS_5.0
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 784
MS-DOS_5.0 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Unless you have been using some deep tweaker tool or unofficial driver package there's no problem what so ever in installing over a previous driver.

Wether it helps that game or not is an entirely different matter.
__________________
RadLinker, never forget.

Last edited by MS-DOS_5.0 : Jun 24, 2003 at 10:37 AM.
MS-DOS_5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2003, 12:23 PM   #11
HEATLoE
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,158
HEATLoE is still being judged by the masses


Default

ok, thx. i just have the factory installed Dell 3.1 cats in now. i didnt change any of it.
HEATLoE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing [email protected] the How??? way v2.0 KJ Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 12 Nov 10, 2005 12:20 PM
so im installing xp sp2... roofy Operating Systems 7 Aug 9, 2004 06:41 PM
Un-installing Nvidia drivers and installing ATI drivers? Mike89 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Apr 6, 2003 10:03 PM
Installing 9500Pro...re-installing XP before ? Franky04 Radeon Technical Support 1 Jan 8, 2003 01:09 PM
Installing Via 4 in 1's KingRoLo Radeon Technical Support 4 Jan 19, 2002 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink