Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2002, 06:28 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Merlin CH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 3
Merlin CH is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy Combat Flight Simulator 3 - CTD

Hi Gents (& Ladies of course)

I am suffering with MS Combat Flight Simulator 3. I hope I can find a dear Radeon 8500 user which can help me.

My Specs first:

AMD 1600 XP+
Soyo Dragon Plus MoBo (Bios revision Feb 02)
512 MB DDR RAM
Windows 98 US
Radeon 8500 (9069 driver)

My Problem:

I can run CFS 3 only, if I have the detail setting slides at 1, pushing them on 2 or more makes the game crash as soon as I want to fly a mission (mission doesn't start, crash occurs upon loading mission).

MS generates an error report that is entitled with "Fatal Error" and makes a refference to a .dll-file of which I cannot remember the name because I'm not in front of my PC right now (sorry).

What I've done so far:

I have followed the instructions of Sim Outhouse on how to tweak the system (SWAP-File, Drivers updated, Correct Settings in the CFS3 Config Programm etc.)
Turned off the sound (no help)
Defraged/Scan Disk (do this anyway 1/week)

What I've NOT done yet is:

Flashing my MoBo Bios - will do this but I don't think that this will help

Still, I am of the oppinion that my system should run CFS3 at say detail level 3 - 4 with no problem.

What can I do - is this the end? Anybody - please please help, I have no more ideas on what to do.

P.S.: Many other (also recent/new ones) games are working just fine - even Iron Storm, this bi*ch is working just fine and rock solid. Is it my system or is it Microslot who bugs me here?

Thanks for every single input guys!
Merlin CH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2002, 11:17 AM   #2
Thera
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Thera is still being judged by the masses


Default

This probably goes without saying but... return CFS3 and buy IL2.

Not the right answer but I'm attempting to convert the masses.
Thera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2002, 11:22 AM   #3
jjjayb
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,483
jjjayb can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjjjayb can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Doesn't help your problem, but i'd have to agree with Thera. Il-2 Sturmovik is a MUCH better game than cfs3 and it runs a heck of a lot smoother.
jjjayb is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 12, 2002, 12:40 PM   #4
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

CFS3 runs like crap on a wet towel here too - I'd have to agree with the previous 2 recommendations. Ditch it, get IL2.
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2002, 07:44 PM   #5
Rogodin
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 524
Rogodin is still being judged by the masses


Default

I concur, go get IL-2! It's the best fligh sim to date IMHO.

rogo
__________________
"Those who long for exaltation look upwards, but I look downwards, for I am the exalted."

Thus Spake Zarathustra
Rogodin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2002, 09:54 PM   #6
Malachi1313
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,355
Malachi1313 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have to defend CFS 3 from a military stand point. It really creates the illusion of leading a bunch of dudes into battle. The campaign is TOTALLY addictive. www.simhq.com is probably the best place to find solutions for your particular problem.
Malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2002, 02:03 AM   #7
Guinny
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Guinny is still being judged by the masses


Default Same Here!

Well I went out and bought aforce feedback 2 stick and Combat FS3 as I have never played aflight sim before!
Every time I try and change options or start a campaign my system locks up.when I get it going gameplay is OK.

The read me file mentions lock ups with newer Raeon drivers!
I hate that games developers excuse and idea that you should go back to using 6 month old drivers just for there game!
I have tried several drivers-6218,6200,6133 etc.

I now wish I had never bothered buying a flight sim!!!!

System- (runs everything I've ever installed like silk-ecept this MS game!!!)

P4 2.533
9700 pro
512 DDR
Force FeedBack
Guinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2002, 11:44 AM   #8
SirBenn21
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: PMB; South Africa
Posts: 259
SirBenn21 is still being judged by the masses


Talking Re: Combat Flight Simulator 3 - CTD

Quote:
Originally posted by Merlin CH
Hi Gents (& Ladies of course)

I am suffering with MS Combat Flight Simulator 3. I hope I can find a dear Radeon 8500 user which can help me.

My Specs first:

AMD 1600 XP+
Soyo Dragon Plus MoBo (Bios revision Feb 02)
512 MB DDR RAM
Windows 98 US
Radeon 8500 (9069 driver)

My Problem:

I can run CFS 3 only, if I have the detail setting slides at 1, pushing them on 2 or more makes the game crash as soon as I want to fly a mission (mission doesn't start, crash occurs upon loading mission).

MS generates an error report that is entitled with "Fatal Error" and makes a refference to a .dll-file of which I cannot remember the name because I'm not in front of my PC right now (sorry).

What I've done so far:

I have followed the instructions of Sim Outhouse on how to tweak the system (SWAP-File, Drivers updated, Correct Settings in the CFS3 Config Programm etc.)
Turned off the sound (no help)
Defraged/Scan Disk (do this anyway 1/week)

What I've NOT done yet is:

Flashing my MoBo Bios - will do this but I don't think that this will help

Still, I am of the oppinion that my system should run CFS3 at say detail level 3 - 4 with no problem.

What can I do - is this the end? Anybody - please please help, I have no more ideas on what to do.

P.S.: Many other (also recent/new ones) games are working just fine - even Iron Storm, this bi*ch is working just fine and rock solid. Is it my system or is it Microslot who bugs me here?

Thanks for every single input guys!
Haven't you heard what CFS3 stands for?

CAN'T FLY SH$T for more than 3 minutes.

You have my symphathies. You just paid $50 for a virus.

Like someone said. Get IL2

SirBenn21
__________________
CPU: AMD 3500+ XP
Video: Gainward 8600 GT
Memory: 2048 MB (2X 1024MB)
Monitor: MAG 19" running @ 1280 X 1024
Mobo: AZRock (nForce 4)
Sound: Sound Blaster Live 24 Bit
HDD: IBM 120GB 7200rpm
HDD: Seagate 200 GB 7200 rpm
OS: Win XP
SirBenn21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2002, 01:58 AM   #9
Merlin CH
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 3
Merlin CH is still being judged by the masses


Red face

Hi Pals!

Thanks for your advices (though didn't helped that much hehehe...) However, I'm taking that personal and I will find a way to get that baby fly one day. I'm having some guys at simhq.com looking at it. I hope that this .dll error-message can help. I will post the name of the dll-file ms-error message is refering to and maybe someone of you or the simhq guys will know what could be the reason.

Bibi Ladies!
Merlin CH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combat Flight Simulator 2 Problems ronbo613 PC Gaming 4 Nov 10, 2004 03:47 PM
Combat Flight Simulator 3 Robertem70 PC Gaming 12 Dec 26, 2002 02:50 PM
Combat Flight Simulator ronbo613 PC Gaming 5 Mar 28, 2002 09:03 AM
combat flight simulator 2 shagg AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jun 14, 2001 02:01 PM
Problem w/Combat Flight Simulator 2 420 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Apr 7, 2001 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink