Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2006, 11:29 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default 32bit Vista Drops HD Video Support

MS is dropping yet another feature out of Vista; this time on the cutting block it's High-Def Video (Blu-Ray and HD-DVD) support.
Microsoft revealed today that no 32-bit versions of Windows Vista will be able to play back “next generation high definition protected content” (translation – studio-released BluRay and HD-DVD movies).


By far the majority of PCs use 32-bit processors, because despite AMD’s efforts to push 64-bit CPUs into the marketplace early, Intel’s first widely-promoted 64-bit CPU is the just-released Core 2 Duo.

Source: APC Magazine
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 03:00 PM   #2
CKS
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,076
CKS is still being judged by the masses


Default

nobody will be buying 32-bit Vista if this is true, people will all be waiting for pirated version.....

and besides, HD content can be copied and ripped on a 64-bit system then share on the internet for 32-bit system users to watch, this will only make us 32-bit users wanting more HDRip rather than buying them.
CKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 03:39 PM   #3
XSBagage
while the world crumbles
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belgium EU
Posts: 10,914
XSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

With all these things getting cut I'm left wondering what they've been doing all these years. Is Microsoft neglecting Windows because they're moving into gaming and consoles and now also mp3 players?
__________________
Mayonaise!
XSBagage is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 24, 2006, 03:42 PM   #4
Greasy
ODI
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 15,776
Greasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSBagage View Post
With all these things getting cut I'm left wondering what they've been doing all these years. Is Microsoft neglecting Windows because they're moving into gaming and consoles and now also mp3 players?
They're just trying to get people to start using 64bit.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 05:02 PM   #5
Fearless Leader
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 79
Fearless Leader is still being judged by the masses


Default Meh.

Well, considering the future is downloadable content rather than blu-ray/hd-dvd, I don't think it really matters if 32-bit windows will play the studio produced content or not.
Fearless Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 05:25 PM   #6
Hyrax
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somalia NJ
Posts: 29,366
Hyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

XP can't play dvd either...

You need a codec to play it..

Perhaps that's what they meant. that vista wont be able to play HDdvd bluray out of the box...
__________________
The Core Value: Non-Aggression :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperNovae View Post
Origin says if you are benchmarking or something to just call and they will help you out. God the horror, those poor souls. This is the type of orwellian nightmare Alex Jones told me about.
Hyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 07:33 PM   #7
taz291819
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Huntsville, Al
Posts: 2,136
taz291819 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nope, MS (well, the movie studios) are requiring signed drivers for BD and HD-DVD software, that meet their requirements. Since Vista 32-bit will allow for unsigned drivers, it's now a no-go.
__________________
Sig changed, because bete told me to.
taz291819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 07:48 PM   #8
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

I actually have no issues with this, since sometimes, change does need to be pushed onto people.

Otherwise, change is delayed/prolonged, when it doesn't need to be.

For those w/o 64-bit CPUs, too bad.

AMD has had 64-bit Athlon & Turions for years now, so those who chose against 64-bit can now enjoy the backwards delights of buying from Intel.
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 08:23 PM   #9
RavenX
Radeon 2000 Ultra
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 221
RavenX is still being judged by the masses


Default

All Intel 6XX, 8XX and 9XX CPUs are 64-bit capable. You don't need Core Duo for 64-bit computing.
RavenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 08:29 PM   #10
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenX View Post
All Intel 6XX, 8XX and 9XX CPUs are 64-bit capable. You don't need Core Duo for 64-bit computing.
Also the 5x1 chips have EM64T extensions.

I'll reserve judgement on this whole "not playing HD-DVD/blu-ray" thing until it's official. I wouldn't be shocked to see MS position the Ultimate and MCE versions of Vista as the only ones capable of playing HD discs, but it would certainly be a departure from XP to go from simply not having native support for playback to having it locked out altogether.
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 08:36 PM   #11
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
XP can't play dvd either...

You need a codec to play it..

Perhaps that's what they meant. that vista wont be able to play HDdvd bluray out of the box...
Doubful, since they specifically mention drivers and 64-bit Vista's drivers must be digitally signed in order to be used, they plan on limiting HD play back at the driver level, which is something an application won't be able to override.
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 08:37 PM   #12
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaidarHaran View Post
Also the 5x1 chips have EM64T extensions.

I'll reserve judgement on this whole "not playing HD-DVD/blu-ray" thing until it's official. I wouldn't be shocked to see MS position the Ultimate and MCE versions of Vista as the only ones capable of playing HD discs, but it would certainly be a departure from XP to go from simply not having native support for playback to having it locked out altogether.
Okay from further reading around the net, other versions will be able to play them at their reduced quality level. Which is fraud, as you're not getting what you've paid for.
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 08:40 PM   #13
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stFlight View Post
Okay from further reading around the net, other versions will be able to play them at their reduced quality level. Which is fraud, as you're not getting what you've paid for.
As long as they don't claim true HD playback support for those versions it's not literal fraud. It's sad, but not anything MS could be sued over (unless they're dumb enough to produce marketing material stating these versions play HD content in their full HD glory).
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 09:47 PM   #14
Monrad
Immune to NV PR BS.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,177
Monrad is still being judged by the masses


Default

Don't worry, Vista pirated version will play every format out there and it'll accept unsigned third party (better coded) drivers.

You only need a WinXP copy (pirated or not) and a fast connection to download VEV (Vista Enhanced Version).

And the conclusion is... that users with pirated copies always get the best of the best.
__________________
"As long as they are going to steal it, we want them to steal ours. They'll get sort of addicted, and then we'll somehow figure out how to collect sometime in the next decade." -- Bill Gates, Chairman, Microsoft Corp, 1998.

I guess he didn't realize that knowledge is needed in order to "figure out how to collect"
Monrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 09:58 PM   #15
Payne3d
[Fancy a Butcher's?]
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States 192.168.0.1
Posts: 13,086
Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monrad View Post
Don't worry, Vista pirated version will play every format out there and it'll accept unsigned third party (better coded) drivers.

You only need a WinXP copy (pirated or not) and a fast connection to download VEV (Vista Enhanced Version).

And the conclusion is... that users with pirated copies always get the best of the best.
What if there is no mechanism to play HD content?
__________________
"World's First Analyst and Therapist: the Analrapist"
"Part time Cork Soaker"
Payne3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 10:01 PM   #16
Rad2owns
Rage3D Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada Ont Ca EH!
Posts: 4,005
Rad2owns is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stFlight View Post
Doubful, since they specifically mention drivers and 64-bit Vista's drivers must be digitally signed in order to be used, they plan on limiting HD play back at the driver level, which is something an application won't be able to override.
Has to be digitally signed to install.
Microsoft is either stupid or retarded.
The best drivers are third party, unsigned.

News Flash Vista hacked before release!!!
All options are now available in Vista 32 and 64 bit even unsigned drivers (OOOOHHH)!!

Vista sucks!!!
Hard!!
__________________
This is about supporting Rage3D. You might even save a family member, close friend or yourself.
We can all make a difference one CPU at a time. It dosnt
HAVE to be on all the time, though that does help alot. Rage3D [email protected] Forum
If you Fold The Cure will Come!!!!!
Fold On Forever!!
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...00CC&c5=FFFFFF
Your Thoughts Will Define Your Destiny.
Hidden variables are everywhere.
BF3 KOz1
Rad2owns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 10:06 PM   #17
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rad2owns View Post
Has to be digitally signed to install.
Microsoft is either stupid or retarded.
The best drivers are third party, unsigned.

News Flash Vista hacked before release!!!
All options are now available in Vista 32 and 64 bit even unsigned drivers (OOOOHHH)!!

Vista sucks!!!
Hard!!
A little of both, and a little more of a control freak. But they are doing it. Link
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 10:15 PM   #18
Monrad
Immune to NV PR BS.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,177
Monrad is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Payne3d View Post
What if there is no mechanism to play HD content?
There's always a way It's software
__________________
"As long as they are going to steal it, we want them to steal ours. They'll get sort of addicted, and then we'll somehow figure out how to collect sometime in the next decade." -- Bill Gates, Chairman, Microsoft Corp, 1998.

I guess he didn't realize that knowledge is needed in order to "figure out how to collect"
Monrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2006, 08:34 AM   #19
ragster128
Misanthrope
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 334
ragster128 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monrad View Post
There's always a way It's software
long live the hacking community
ragster128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2006, 10:31 AM   #20
taz291819
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Huntsville, Al
Posts: 2,136
taz291819 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nevermind, MS issued a retraction. It seems MS won't have BUILT-IN support for HD-DVD and Blu-Ray with 32-bit Vista. 3rd party apps is fine. Here's the link:

http://news.com.com/2061-10794_3-6109427.html
__________________
Sig changed, because bete told me to.
taz291819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2006, 11:43 AM   #21
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
Nevermind, MS issued a retraction. It seems MS won't have BUILT-IN support for HD-DVD and Blu-Ray with 32-bit Vista. 3rd party apps is fine. Here's the link:

http://news.com.com/2061-10794_3-6109427.html
Word game. The question is, will it play them at their full resolution or at their reduced (no better than a DVD) resolution? If I purchase a car that can go 60mph, but find that it only goes to 30mph, it wouldn't be acceptable, neither should this.
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2006, 08:03 AM   #22
taz291819
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Huntsville, Al
Posts: 2,136
taz291819 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stFlight View Post
Word game. The question is, will it play them at their full resolution or at their reduced (no better than a DVD) resolution? If I purchase a car that can go 60mph, but find that it only goes to 30mph, it wouldn't be acceptable, neither should this.
Amir (a MS exec) stated over on AVSForum that it will work fine on 32-bit systems (no downrez) as long as your video card and display are HDCP compliant. It works on WinXP also, as several people have already done it.
__________________
Sig changed, because bete told me to.
taz291819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2006, 09:06 AM   #23
jolle
Hipster Dufus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,423
jolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Well, that sucks.. (if its really so)
I dont really care on my own behalf tho, dont really watch movies that much, and if Id be stuck with regular DVDs I wouldnt care much anyhow..
Plus I´d prolly go with the 64bit version.. dunno yet..
__________________
you jump out of that plane and that parachute doesnt open, the helmet is now wearing YOU for protection. -JS

Last edited by jolle : Aug 26, 2006 at 09:10 AM.
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2006, 10:21 PM   #24
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,631
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

How about just dropping blue-ray? And keeping HD-DVD?
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2006, 11:36 PM   #25
CKS
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,076
CKS is still being judged by the masses


Default

if they have to drop something, I was hoping for the opposite, drop HD-DVD, keep Blu-Ray, the capacity is just too attractive to me.....
CKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catalyst 8.3 Vista 32bit Dave AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Mar 5, 2008 12:14 PM
Does Vista 32bit support 4gb of ram? benjy355 Operating Systems 23 Jan 30, 2008 04:45 PM
Can I upgrade 32bit Vista to 64bit VISTA? TriC Operating Systems 2 Jan 2, 2008 04:47 PM
Dell Drops Vista x64 Support? crash override Submit News 4 Oct 26, 2007 08:53 AM
Vista Box : 64bit ?and? / ?or? 32bit whismerhill Operating Systems 5 Jan 28, 2007 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink