Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Operating Systems (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Installing Win11 now... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34052840)

acroig Oct 5, 2021 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338308585)
I don't like the new Start menu or where it's positioned. Luckily it's easy to move it back to the left side. Also, Stardock just released Start11 to bring back the old Start menu I love, so that's an option if Microsoft's new design doesn't flick your Bic. (arcane reference there...who gets it?)

Waves.....

acroig Oct 5, 2021 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mangler (Post 1338308609)
Is auto-hdr available in the current version of win11?

Yes.

Nunz Oct 5, 2021 10:22 AM

Is there a way to make your right click automatically go to the "show more options" by default? I have having to right click a file, then "show more options" to select 7zip to extract, or cut/copy/paste.

Munkus Oct 5, 2021 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308614)
Is there a way to make your right click automatically go to the "show more options" by default? I have having to right click a file, then "show more options" to select 7zip to extract, or cut/copy/paste.

https://www.tomshardware.com/how-to/...-context-menus

Nunz Oct 5, 2021 11:12 AM

You're a hero! I was only finding a bunch of old regedits that don't seem to work on the official build; must have been some stuff from dev builds.

Thanks!! I'm actually pretty satisfied with it so far - the context menu was definitely my biggest gripe thus far. Time to start DLing games and testing performance. I don't expect much change at all, though.

Munkus Oct 5, 2021 11:16 AM

Final ISO can be downloaded here:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows11

Munkus Oct 5, 2021 11:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308646)
You're a hero! I was only finding a bunch of old regedits that don't seem to work on the official build; must have been some stuff from dev builds.

Thanks!! I'm actually pretty satisfied with it so far - the context menu was definitely my biggest gripe thus far. Time to start DLing games and testing performance. I don't expect much change at all, though.

You're welcome :)

There are a few other tweaks that I made, like bringing back the full File Explorer ribbon and disabling VBS. I'm pretty happy with it so far. Haven't found anything that won't run as well as it did on Win 10.

Nunz Oct 5, 2021 11:34 AM

Yeah, pretty nice so far. I just had a random shutdown, though - PC shut down and started back up on it's own. Very strange.

I did update the BIOS on my mobo, so I may have entered my manual memory timings incorrectly .. damn it. I forgot to take a pic of them before I set to defaults prior to updating the BIOS. :(

Just got another one. I think my RAM voltage wasn't set properly .. we'll see. bumped it up to what I'm 99% sure it used to be. I don't see Win11 causing the shutdowns .. must be my mistake.

Yep - I set my voltage to 1.52v instead of 1.55v. I forgot that I ran 1.52 @ 4133, but need 1.55 for 4266 .. woops!

When I reinstalled, I took the leap and got rid of Google Chrome - I imported everything to Edge, and I must say .. very impressed. Super snappy browser, and the import was as easy as one click. Passwords, extensions etc all copied over. Very happy with this and Win11 overall .. I'll test out some D2R now :)

acroig Oct 5, 2021 03:37 PM

All working well here too. Games are as fast as Win 10 and have set HDR to Auto.

Nunz Oct 5, 2021 05:22 PM

I'm actually seeing performance increase. My timespy score went up over 800pts with a fresh Win11 install on same settings

Nascar24 Oct 5, 2021 05:26 PM

Well I am now on the official build of windows 11 from a clean install and all is well, less problems already, steam is such a dream to find my hundreds of games over 8 drives. The rest of the launchers are a nightmare.:mad:

Munkus Oct 5, 2021 06:05 PM

I think I'm going to do a wipe and reinstall using the release ISO, just because I'm a neat freak and it's been awhile.

Nascar24 Oct 5, 2021 06:33 PM

lol, to hell with all these other game launchers except maybe blizzard. They all either have to verify or try downloading the game again when its completely unnecessary, I guess I live with my steam library and I will screw around with any game I might have stored if I feel like it, the other launchers are just plain stupid!

Nunz Oct 5, 2021 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338308737)
I think I'm going to do a wipe and reinstall using the release ISO, just because I'm a neat freak and it's been awhile.

I did the upgrade and lasted 10 minutes. There's nothing like a clean, fresh install.

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 10:37 AM

And wholy crap the ms game launcher is complete crap, you canít keep installs from different drives to just add the dam game back in and is just giving me fits trying to del. the dam directories so the drive can be used again to install future games to that drive. I donít understand how ms can be this stupid with this chit.

Talon_262 Oct 6, 2021 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308573)
Enabled TPM and just installed Win11. I really like the new taskbar, this thing is sweet for a 38" ultrawide! Not a huge fan of this start menu, though .. I'm sure it'll grow on me

Start11: https://www.stardock.com/products/start11/

It's not (as of yet) as configurable as Start8 or Start10, but part of that may be because Start11 is still in beta; I've been using it for the past month or so and, beta or not, it works a treat.

Munkus Oct 6, 2021 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nascar24 (Post 1338308836)
And wholy crap the ms game launcher is complete crap, you canít keep installs from different drives to just add the dam game back in and is just giving me fits trying to del. the dam directories so the drive can be used again to install future games to that drive. I donít understand how ms can be this stupid with this chit.

Yeah, the way the XBox app stores game files is nuts. They lock the folders down tight, and there is no way to tell the app to find existing games, so you end up with many Gbs of files that you can't delete easily.

Nunz Oct 6, 2021 11:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Talon_262 (Post 1338308838)
Start11: https://www.stardock.com/products/start11/

It's not (as of yet) as configurable as Start8 or Start10, but part of that may be because Start11 is still in beta; I've been using it for the past month or so and, beta or not, it works a treat.

I'm not a fan of running extra applications (mah FPS!!). The Start Menu is definitely not as thought-out as the Win10 version, but I'll get used to it. I really liked the tile design and how organized you could make it. Currently, as far as I can tell, you can't do that with the Win11 menu.

With the context menu being fixed (thanks to Munkus!) I'm loving Win11 thus far. Gamed a bit last night and it was smooth as butter, and Auto HDR works really well. My monitor is only HDR400 with no local dimming so it's not the best experience but hey, it does work.

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 11:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338308843)
Yeah, the way the XBox app stores game files is nuts. They lock the folders down tight, and there is no way to tell the app to find existing games, so you end up with many Gbs of files that you can't delete easily.

I guess the moral of this story is to uninstall all MS launcher games before wiping and starting fresh with windows 11. Just plain out ridiculous.

Munkus Oct 6, 2021 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nascar24 (Post 1338308850)
I guess the moral of this story is to uninstall all MS launcher games before wiping and starting fresh with windows 11. Just plain out ridiculous.

Yep.

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 11:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338308854)
Yep.

Honestly still a bit baffled, I was trying to take ownership left and right but it plain out refused, tried a force delete program and it failed, after many attempts to take ownership it let me rename the folder, which in turn after a reboot it disappeared and created a new folder, which was empty. I checked the space on the drive, after it disappeared the space on the drive didn't change and the folder is now supposedly gone, its also not hidden as I checked that too. So where the hell is all the space those games took up? Dam you Microsoft.:mad:

Nunz Oct 6, 2021 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nascar24 (Post 1338308860)
Honestly still a bit baffled, I was trying to take ownership left and right but it plain out refused, tried a force delete program and it failed, after many attempts to take ownership it let me rename the folder, which in turn after a reboot it disappeared and created a new folder, which was empty. I checked the space on the drive, after it disappeared the space on the drive didn't change and the folder is now supposedly gone, its also not hidden as I checked that too. So where the hell is all the space those games took up? Dam you Microsoft.:mad:

Try running a disk cleanup - maybe it moved the folder to temporary files or the recycle bin and you can't see it?

Oh, and hot damn I wish I had swapped to MS Edge sooner! It runs amazing and the privacy features seem legit compared to the Chrome datamining that was going on.

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 11:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308863)
Try running a disk cleanup - maybe it moved the folder to temporary files or the recycle bin and you can't see it?

Oh, and hot damn I wish I had swapped to MS Edge sooner! It runs amazing and the privacy features seem legit compared to the Chrome datamining that was going on.


Ill give that a try when home tonight, shouldn't be this much of a pain to del. a game install directory manually, we are not talking about saving the world here, which requires complete lockdown.:p

Nunz Oct 6, 2021 11:56 AM

I completely agree. I wish I had more experience with the MS Store, but I don't use it or have any games under it, otherwise I would test for you.

I stick to Steam and Battle.net these days :p

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308870)
I completely agree. I wish I had more experience with the MS Store, but I don't use it or have any games under it, otherwise I would test for you.

I stick to Steam and Battle.net these days :p

Yea steam is actually a dream to deal with on reinstalls and Blizzard isn't bad either as long as you know where your install is.

Munkus Oct 6, 2021 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308863)

Oh, and hot damn I wish I had swapped to MS Edge sooner! It runs amazing and the privacy features seem legit compared to the Chrome datamining that was going on.

Yeah MS Edge runs really well, and there are a lot of privacy tweaks you can set inside the browser or on Microsoft's user profile page. Since MS's business model isn't selling your data to advertisers, I trust it more than Google. Still, I'm pretty paranoid about privacy, so I use a VPN and Brave browser. Runs just as well as Edge (both based on chromium) so it's my daily driver. I only use Edge when I need to run Office 365 browser apps. They seem to like Edge better (shocker! :eek:).

Nunz Oct 6, 2021 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338308898)
Yeah MS Edge runs really well, and there are a lot of privacy tweaks you can set inside the browser or on Microsoft's user profile page. Since MS's business model isn't selling your data to advertisers, I trust it more than Google. Still, I'm pretty paranoid about privacy, so I use a VPN and Brave browser. Runs just as well as Edge (both based on chromium) so it's my daily driver. I only use Edge when I need to run Office 365 browser apps. They seem to like Edge better (shocker! :eek:).

Whatcha got to hide, huh?! :evil:

I'm not too crazy about the privacy stuff; I just don't like how Google has responded to the stuff they've been accused of regarding datamining, and yeah, the fact that they make billions of dollars off selling data just makes it even worse. I've also noticed it's a complete resource hog and the amount of resources it uses doesn't make sense. Edge seems much more streamlined despite being Chromium based.

We use Edge at work since most DoD websites are (were) built for Internet Explorer, so Edge has been what they are transitioning things to.

Nascar24 Oct 6, 2021 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308863)
Try running a disk cleanup - maybe it moved the folder to temporary files or the recycle bin and you can't see it?

Oh, and hot damn I wish I had swapped to MS Edge sooner! It runs amazing and the privacy features seem legit compared to the Chrome datamining that was going on.

You were right on the money it threw them in the recycle bin.:up:

acroig Oct 6, 2021 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1338308849)
Gamed a bit last night and it was smooth as butter, and Auto HDR works really well. My monitor is only HDR400 with no local dimming so it's not the best experience but hey, it does work.

I was about to report the same exact thing. Auto HDR works really well.

Trunks0 Oct 6, 2021 06:34 PM

Yea the datamining by Google is why I switched away from Chrome awhile back. Now I just use FireFox, Vivaldi occasionally and Edge. Mind you....I say that, but I use a ton of their services else where. So not really accomplishing much by not using Chrome on my desktop :lol:

I'll have to spin up a second drive and try this out. But I won't be switching for awhile, as Win10 is doing just fine for now.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com