Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2016, 02:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
PeaceKeeper
Keeping The Peace
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 1,260
PeaceKeeper is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Intel Prime95 can cause Intel Skylake CPUs to freeze

I suppose I would be more concerned that this doesn't just affect Prime 95... though I wonder if this would explain the BSOD I experienced running at stock.

Intel was quick to track down and identify the issue, and says it's working with motherboard vendors to issue BIOS updates as a workaround:

Intel has identified an issue that potentially affects the 6th Gen Intel® Core™ family of products. This issue only occurs under certain complex workload conditions, like those that may be encountered when running applications like Prime95. In those cases, the processor may hang or cause unpredictable system behavior. Intel has identified and released a fix and is working with external business partners to get the fix deployed through BIOS.


Source: The Tech Report
__________________

ASUS Maximus Hero VIII (Bios 3504) | Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.0GHz | Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX PC4-19200 DDR4 @ 2400MHz (14-16-16-31-1T) @ 1.2v | EVGA GeForce GTX 780 SC 3GB w/ Backplate | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SATA III SSD | 2x Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drives RAID 1 | ASUS BC-12B1ST 12x BD-ROM | ASUS DRW-24F1ST 24x DVD-RW | Logitech G400 Mouse | Das Keyboard Model 4 Professional Silent | EVGA SuperNova 1000 Watt P2 Power Supply | Corsair Obsidian 650D | 2x Dell UltraSharp U2410 24" LCD Rev. A02 | Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 / Sennheiser RS 170 | APC Smart-UPS SMT 1500 | Windows 10 Professional x64



MacBook Pro 2015 Retina | 13.3 Inch Retina Widescreen Display | Intel Core i5 @ 2.9GHz | 8GB LPDDR3 @ 1866MHz | Intel Iris 6100 | 512GB PCIe Based Flash Storage | macOS High Sierra



ASUS Rampage III Formula (Bios 0903) | Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme 1366 RT Rev C | 12GB OCZ Gold PC-12800 DDR3 @ 1440MHz (7-7-7-20) @ 1.65v | EVGA GeForce GTX 580 1.5GB | HT Omega Claro Plus+ | Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500AAKS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drive | 2x Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drives RAID 1 | ASUS BC-08B1ST 8x BD-ROM | ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24x DVD-RW | Logitech G400 Mouse | Das Keyboard Model 4 Professional Silent | Corsair HX850W Modular Power Supply | Lian Li 1010B/w Window | LG 26" TV | Altec Lansing VS4121 2.1 | Windows 7 Enterprise x64 SP1



MacBook (Uni-body) | 13.3 Inch Widescreen Display | Intel Core 2 Duo P7550 @ 2.26GHz | 8GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz | GeForce 9400M 256MB | 256GB Samsung SSD 840 Pro | OS X Yosemite
PeaceKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2016, 01:06 AM   #2
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,688
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I wonder if the fix will slow the processor on certain tasks? Microcode update?

Wow! I would also have thought that Intel at this stage of the game would have extensive tests to find issues like this. I hope AMD Zen proves to be bug free from the get go - ahmmm AMD better run some prime95 testing .
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2016, 06:05 PM   #3
Hapatingjaky
Maximum Disappointment
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada New Ukraine
Posts: 7,922
Hapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badgesHapatingjaky doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noko View Post
I wonder if the fix will slow the processor on certain tasks? Microcode update?

Wow! I would also have thought that Intel at this stage of the game would have extensive tests to find issues like this. I hope AMD Zen proves to be bug free from the get go - ahmmm AMD better run some prime95 testing .
http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/...d_unreliable/1

People are already rumoring Zen will flop due to low IPC.
__________________
Intel Core i3 8350K @ 5.2GHz, Asus Maximus X Hero, GSkill Trident-Z 32GB DDR4 3866MHz CAS18, Asus Strix 1080Ti OC, Creative Labs Soundblaster E3, Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Corsair AXI 1500i PSU, Corsair 900D, Corsair K70 RGB, Logitech G900, Acer Predator X34, Windows 10 Professional X64
Hapatingjaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 19, 2016, 02:23 AM   #4
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,688
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky View Post
http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/...d_unreliable/1

People are already rumoring Zen will flop due to low IPC.
Those rumoring are at best guessing, Sysmark is a worthless benchmark to say the least. Glad AMD went more public. Doubt very much Zen will be affected and could care less how Zen does with Sysmark - now real programs that I use that pushes the cpu is what I would be worried about and looking for.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2016, 09:50 PM   #5
Akumajo
White Devil Bastard
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,320
Akumajo once held a door open for a complete strangerAkumajo once held a door open for a complete strangerAkumajo once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Prime95 is finally catching up to Furmark in that both can raise even stock clock parts to insane heat levels that other apps don't.
__________________
Sony PlayStation 3 60GB Artic Silver since Jan 2011.
Sony PlayStation 2, Sega Saturn, X-Eye, DC. Nintendo consoles NES, SNES, N64, GC. NEC Turbo Duo
AMD Phenom II X6 1100t X4 980, Athlon X2 6400+, Nvidia GeForce GTX 285 EVGA FTW, GeForce GTS 250 1GB

Helghast... till the end of days!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRpgl01brpo It'll Blow!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QESGXTFFZXM Kaz PTVD
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiqrAKNv-Z4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dogMXzbz9js
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L--rU3Wq3WU My Bugatti V
Akumajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2016, 10:12 AM   #6
DarkFoss
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: United States Illinios
Posts: 780
DarkFoss is still being judged by the masses


Default

Prime95 hasn't been all that for quite awhile. I've had many "prime stable" overclocks that went belly-up once you start doing real things with your computer like FAH.
__________________
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety,deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
Ben Franklin, 1755
DarkFoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2016, 06:45 PM   #7
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,001
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFoss View Post
Prime95 hasn't been all that for quite awhile. I've had many "prime stable" overclocks that went belly-up once you start doing real things with your computer like FAH.

If you play around with the settings on Prime95 its the best utility out imo. I always use blend and set it to use the max available ram. Much more intensive.

I just use an older version without avx.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
Good work guys, we can't have too many positive posts in a row on this forum.
BababooeyHTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2016, 06:47 PM   #8
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,001
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akumajo View Post
Prime95 is finally catching up to Furmark in that both can raise even stock clock parts to insane heat levels that other apps don't.
Its been doing that for a while. Its absurd on haswell. I use an older version without avx support.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
Good work guys, we can't have too many positive posts in a row on this forum.
BababooeyHTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2016, 09:02 PM   #9
t3hl33td4rg0n
env x='() { :;};
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States Kent, OH
Posts: 1,555
t3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwardst3hl33td4rg0n can recite pi backwards


Default

IntelBurnTest
__________________
Gaming Computer: Core i7 3770k | MSI Z77 MPOWER | MSI 1080 Twin Frozr | Acer Predator X34 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC2100 | Antec DF-85 | Cooler Master Silent Gold Pro 800W | 2x 128GB Samsung 830 SSD's | 4TB Hitachi | 4TB HGST
Server: Core i5 4670 | MSI Z87 MPOWER MAX AC | eVGA GTX980 | 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1866 | Lian-Li V2120X | Corsair RM750 750W | 64GB Samsung 830 Pro SSD | 4x 4TB WDC Red
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Skylake specs leaked Megaman General Hardware 269 Feb 1, 2016 06:01 AM
Intel powers up entry-level workstations with Skylake Xeons bittermann Front Page News 0 Oct 19, 2015 02:20 PM
Intel to begin shipping Skylake CPUs with SGX enabled PeaceKeeper Front Page News 0 Oct 6, 2015 01:33 PM
Intel 2015 roadmap leaks; Skylake, Alpine Ridge and more Kombatant Front Page News 0 May 7, 2014 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink