Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » News Forums » General News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General News News as it appears on the frontpage of Rage3D.com

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 5, 2013, 01:53 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
seanR3D
Managing editor
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 568
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Joystick DICE investigating FOV, memory leak issues in Battlefield 4

Two of the lesser known but important issues in Battlefield 4 are being investigated by developer DICE.

The first is a flawed field of view (FOV) design, which subtly gives an advantage to lower FOV players by only switching to a low FOV when aiming down sights (ADS) for them and not so for higher FOV players. Likely, it's intended to switch for both, as we saw in Battlefield 3 (see comparison below). With the old method, players have an easier time of being highly accurate while ADS.



The second is a memory leak, during which the game can cause your system to use many extra gigs of memory for no intended reason. This continues until you reboot your machine. The issue is reported to occur on Windows 8 systems using Radeon 5xxx or 6xxx series cards, though some say it applies to NVIDIA users, too.

DICE has responded to the issues on the Battlelog and EA forums and indicated they're looking into them (the latter issue they've reached out to AMD on). In the meantime, for the FOV issue, you may want to consider a lower value until this is fixed (will likely be longer than the other fix, as stability is higher priority for DICE right now); for the memory leak, you can try the suggestions below (taken from an extensive EA forum thread user investigation into the issue).

Quote:
Things people have mentioned helped:
  • Updating Realtek network driver from Realtek's website as the win8 standard driver could cause this
  • Disabling NDU using: "sc config NDU start= disabled" in a commandprompt
  • Running BF4 in Win7 compability
  • Exiting the game before mapchange
  • Alt+tab during load of new map (only 1 report of this helping)
Source: Battlelog / EA Answer HQ
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley

Last edited by seanR3D : Dec 6, 2013 at 02:51 AM.
seanR3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2013, 09:31 PM   #2
AluminumHaste
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 7,964
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

FOV bug should be easy to fix, right now it seems to be set to a percentage of the set FOV, when it should be either hard coded to certain value (like 35), or allow players to set their zoomed FOV like in QuakeLive.
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2013, 02:23 PM   #3
WaltC
Captain Know-it-all
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Deep in Martian soil where it's warm and the air is good
Posts: 2,104
WaltC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is there anyone alive in this, the year of Our Lord 2013, who doesn't know that the drivers that ship with Windows are *always* inferior to the IHV drivers available from the peripheral manufacturer? (Or the laptop OEM in the case of laptops?) Basically, the drivers that ship with a Windows version from Microsoft are placeholders that serve to get you up and running during an install, but the drivers that are available only from the component manufacturer are the ones you want thereafter (because they're much better as a general rule.)

I wouldn't think anyone would think otherwise, but the article here mentions it, so I thought it was worth reiterating.
__________________
**It is well-known that I am incapable of mistakes, so if you encounter a mistake in anything I have written, then you can be sure that I did not write it!
WaltC is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DICE adding and updating Battlefield 4 servers now to address stability seanR3D General News 0 Nov 1, 2013 04:31 PM
EA & DICE Canada will release free WWII mod for Battlefield Vietnam Gobo PC Gaming 43 May 14, 2013 07:39 PM
Investigating Intel's Turbo Memory: Does it really work? Android1 General News 0 Jun 21, 2007 06:34 AM
Battlefield franchise & EA's bid for DICE Auric PC Gaming 3 Nov 20, 2004 08:29 AM
EA/DICE preparing a gift for Battlefield Vietnam owners FluxCap PC Gaming 14 Jul 16, 2004 09:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink