Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Operating Systems » Linux
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Linux Forum to discuss the popular Open Source operating system, plus other *NIX derivatives. Discussions about AMD Catalyst drivers can be had in the relevant subforum.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2003, 01:54 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default Yet again 2.6 test 9 and kt400 :(

Hey everyone,

I guess there were numerous threads about the topic, but I've yet to get my r9000 to work in 2.6 test 9. I'm running Gentoo on kernel 2.6 test 9 (obviously), with via kt400 chipset.

I'm getting that dreaded ENODEV or whatever that is, cant remember verbatim, when initializing agpgart. Both kernel and driver internal agpgart were unable to allocate agp memory due to that bleeding error.

Recently I found module called via_agp. I was able to load it, and funny enough, I was getting 3d acceleration in wolfenstein, but glxinfo was still giving me SGI for some entries.

Does anyone have any idea how I might get my 3d to work, and what's with that via_agp and whether it must be loaded?

Thanks a bunch,
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c

Last edited by rageXLdude : Nov 10, 2003 at 01:59 AM.
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2003, 03:20 AM   #2
ASCI Blue
Grammar NAZI
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Boise, Idaho
Posts: 11,653
ASCI Blue can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyASCI Blue can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

via_agp sounds like it's the agpgart module and yes it needs to be loaded before you load X. The fglrx module however does not, X will load it on it's own.

Since I don't know your skill level with linux when you use glxinfo look for the line OpenGL render string, it should say something to the effect of Radeon 9XXX and some other CPU related stuff. I'd have more accurate info but my Gentoo took a **** on me today so tomorrow maybe I'll have to restart compiling it.
__________________
RIP Shayna 19 Oct 87 17 Sep 03 have a ball ready when it's my time. I'll supply the cookies. :(

Proud Creator of The Cock Crew (Sportbike Network) Preventing "gay friends." ...one pecker at a time.

bounty hunter
Quote:
kids are pretty much invincible, man I doubt even explosions can phase the little womb demons
battlenet: voxmortis, origin: asci_blue, steam: death_incarnate352
ASCI Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2003, 03:27 AM   #3
TheOneKEA
1938 Tube Stock
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground
Posts: 640
TheOneKEA is still being judged by the masses


Default Do you mean this?

OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Radeon 20020611 AGP 4x x86/MMX/SSE TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.2 Mesa 4.0.4
__________________
Proud user of teh Second Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 11, 2003, 12:16 PM   #4
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hmm... I've seen something about mm patches screwing up the agp, but I also tried development-sources, and still same result.
The problem I see is that when I just start X without any modules loaded, then it loads fglrx and agpgart, but no sign of via_agp. I find it very strange...
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 12:32 PM   #5
TheOneKEA
1938 Tube Stock
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground
Posts: 640
TheOneKEA is still being judged by the masses


Default

That's a bug in 2.6.0-test9-mm2 that I helped to fix. You need this patch:

diff -bBpur fix/drivers/char/drm/drm_agpsupport.h
linux-2.6.0-test9-mm2/drivers/char/drm/drm_agpsupport.h
--- fix/drivers/char/drm/drm_agpsupport.h 2003-11-06 00:49:53.299160210 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.0-test9-mm2/drivers/char/drm/drm_agpsupport.h 2003-11-06
00:27:43.000000000 +0100
@@ -37,8 +37,8 @@
#if __REALLY_HAVE_AGP


-#define DRM_AGP_GET symbol_get(agp_drm)
-#define DRM_AGP_PUT symbol_put(agp_drm)
+#define DRM_AGP_GET symbol_get(drm_agp)
+#define DRM_AGP_PUT symbol_put(drm_agp)

/**
* Pointer to the drm_agp_t structure made available by the agpgart module.
diff -bBpur fix/include/linux/agp_backend.h
linux-2.6.0-test9-mm2/include/linux/agp_backend.h
--- fix/include/linux/agp_backend.h 2003-11-06 00:50:03.247046605 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.0-test9-mm2/include/linux/agp_backend.h 2003-11-06
00:42:38.936727765 +0100
@@ -108,8 +108,7 @@ typedef struct {
int (*copy_info)(struct agp_kern_info *);
} drm_agp_t;

-/* Used by drm. */
-extern const drm_agp_t agp_drm;
+extern const drm_agp_t *drm_agp_p;

#endif /* __KERNEL__ */
#endif /* _AGP_BACKEND_H */
__________________
Proud user of teh Second Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 12:36 PM   #6
wedgey__
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 256
wedgey__ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
The problem I see is that when I just start X without any modules loaded, then it loads fglrx and agpgart, but no sign of via_agp. I find it very strange...
First, try loading all 3 modules before you start X. Occasionally it won't load all the modules, so it's better to load them yourself beforehand (just add them to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6). Also, remember that up until kernel 2.4, all you had to do was load the agpgart module to get AGP support. In 2.6 that's no longer the case, and I don't think X has been updated to take that into account yet. If via-agp won't load, check the output of dmesg, it should tell you what the problem is.
wedgey__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 12:43 PM   #7
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

wedge, I did try loading them all, and funny enough, acceleration was there, BUT after that, I couldnt unload them. It was saying some inept crap about modules being used by something, and it didnt say what. Another weird part is that glxinfo gave that SGI entry in the glx library part. Weird... I'll try that patch now.
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 01:10 PM   #8
wedgey__
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 256
wedgey__ is still being judged by the masses


Default

You won't be able to unload them while X is running, and I think you'd also have to unload them in a particular order (fglrx -> via-agp -> agpgart). Have you run "opengl-update ati"?
wedgey__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 03:42 PM   #9
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Heeey, I'm not THAT lame to try unloading video modules while X is running
J/k... Anyway, I have problems unloading them in console... fglrx unloads perfectly fine, but then agpgart says its being used by via_agp, and via_agp says that its just being used by some misterious force.
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 04:28 PM   #10
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Tried the patch, still ENOMEM error

This is internal agpgart log:

(II) fglrx(0): doing DRIScreenInit
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmGetBusid returned ''
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] created "fglrx" driver at busid "PCI:1:0:0"
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] added 8192 byte SAREA at 0xd1a34000
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] mapped SAREA 0xd1a34000 to 0x40229000
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] framebuffer handle = 0xd8000000
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] added 1 reserved context for kernel
(II) fglrx(0): DRIScreenInit done
(II) fglrx(0): Kernel Module Version Information:
(II) fglrx(0): Name: fglrx
(II) fglrx(0): Version: 3.2.8
(II) fglrx(0): Date: Sep 21 2003
(II) fglrx(0): Desc: ATI Fire GL DRM kernel module
(II) fglrx(0): Kernel Module version matches driver.
(II) fglrx(0): Kernel Module Build Time Information:
(II) fglrx(0): Build-Kernel UTS_RELEASE: 2.6.0-test9-mm2
(II) fglrx(0): Build-Kernel MODVERSIONS: no
(II) fglrx(0): Build-Kernel __SMP__: no
(II) fglrx(0): Build-Kernel PAGE_SIZE: 0x1000
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] register handle = 0xe1000000
(EE) fglrx(0): [agp] unable to acquire AGP, error "xf86_ENOMEM"
(EE) fglrx(0): cannot init AGP
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] removed 1 reserved context for kernel
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] unmapping 8192 bytes of SAREA 0xd1a34000 at 0x40229000
(WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************
(WW) fglrx(0): * DRI initialization failed! *
(WW) fglrx(0): * (maybe driver kernel module missing or bad) *
(WW) fglrx(0): * 2D acceleraton available (MMIO) *
(WW) fglrx(0): * no 3D acceleration available *
(WW) fglrx(0): ********************************************* *



This is external one:

(II) fglrx(0): doing DRIScreenInit
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
[drm] failed to load kernel module "agpgart"
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
drmGetBusid returned ''
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c

Last edited by rageXLdude : Nov 11, 2003 at 04:31 PM.
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2003, 04:24 AM   #11
wedgey__
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 256
wedgey__ is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wouldn't waste time trying the internal AGP support. If you get it working it'll almost certainly be with the external support. Do all three modules load without any errors in dmesg or elsewhere?
wedgey__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2003, 09:36 AM   #12
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, no errors when I load them all manually. In fact, only thing I have to do is load via_agp and then just startX, it goes on nicely. I'll go over log messages and dmesg again now.

Btw, do you know what might be causing portage to force me to install nvidia drivers any time I install anything app that requires direct rendering? I had that card for a while, but then I uninstalled it.. strange..
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2003, 10:07 AM   #13
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Allright, here are the messages...

When I load via_agp and fglrx:

Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected VIA KT400/KT400A/KT600 chipset
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 203M
agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xd0000000
fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 198 MBytes.
[fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 3.2.8 [Sep 21 2003] on minor 0


So that looks fine so far... now, here's when I startx

Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at mm/slab.c:1868
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
Call Trace:
[<c011ea9b>] __might_sleep+0xab/0xd0
[<c014466c>] kmem_cache_alloc+0x6c/0x70
[<d1ab0e38>] __ke_alloc_wait_queue_head_struct+0x18/0x30 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3dd1>] firegl_setup_dev+0x91/0x1b0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3e4c>] firegl_setup_dev+0x10c/0x1b0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3364>] firegl_open+0x174/0x230 [fglrx]
[<d1ab32a2>] firegl_open+0xb2/0x230 [fglrx]
[<d1ab0ba6>] firegl_stub_open+0x106/0x1c0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab0aa0>] firegl_stub_open+0x0/0x1c0 [fglrx]
[<c0164388>] chrdev_open+0xe8/0x210
[<c01bdfb0>] devfs_open+0x0/0xf0
[<c01be098>] devfs_open+0xe8/0xf0
[<c01594a1>] dentry_open+0x151/0x270
[<c0159348>] filp_open+0x68/0x70
[<c015983b>] sys_open+0x5b/0x90
[<c03a429f>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb

mtrr: 0xd8000000,0x4000000 overlaps existing 0xd8000000,0x1000000
[fglrx:firegl_addmap] *ERROR* mtrr allocation failed (-22)
[fglrx:firegl_unlock] *ERROR* Process 3495 using kernel context 0
mtrr: 0xd8000000,0x4000000 overlaps existing 0xd8000000,0x1000000


any ideas?

EDIT: I do have mtrr support in kernel
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2003, 12:06 PM   #14
wedgey__
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 256
wedgey__ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Well, no errors when I load them all manually. In fact, only thing I have to do is load via_agp and then just startX, it goes on nicely. I'll go over log messages and dmesg again now.
If it works like that, just add agpgart, via-agp and fglrx to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and you won't need to worry about it.

Quote:
Btw, do you know what might be causing portage to force me to install nvidia drivers any time I install anything app that requires direct rendering? I had that card for a while, but then I uninstalled it.. strange..
I'm not 100% sure, but try looking in /var/cache/edb/virtuals for a line that starts with "virtual/opengl", and remove any nvidia-* entries that appear after it.

Quote:
Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at mm/slab.c:1868
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
Call Trace:
[<c011ea9b>] __might_sleep+0xab/0xd0
[<c014466c>] kmem_cache_alloc+0x6c/0x70
[<d1ab0e38>] __ke_alloc_wait_queue_head_struct+0x18/0x30 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3dd1>] firegl_setup_dev+0x91/0x1b0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3e4c>] firegl_setup_dev+0x10c/0x1b0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab3364>] firegl_open+0x174/0x230 [fglrx]
[<d1ab32a2>] firegl_open+0xb2/0x230 [fglrx]
[<d1ab0ba6>] firegl_stub_open+0x106/0x1c0 [fglrx]
[<d1ab0aa0>] firegl_stub_open+0x0/0x1c0 [fglrx]
[<c0164388>] chrdev_open+0xe8/0x210
[<c01bdfb0>] devfs_open+0x0/0xf0
[<c01be098>] devfs_open+0xe8/0xf0
[<c01594a1>] dentry_open+0x151/0x270
[<c0159348>] filp_open+0x68/0x70
[<c015983b>] sys_open+0x5b/0x90
[<c03a429f>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
Those are actually harmless. I think it's just a debug message someone forgot to remove.

Quote:
mtrr: 0xd8000000,0x4000000 overlaps existing 0xd8000000,0x1000000
[fglrx:firegl_addmap] *ERROR* mtrr allocation failed (-22)
[fglrx:firegl_unlock] *ERROR* Process 3495 using kernel context 0
mtrr: 0xd8000000,0x4000000 overlaps existing 0xd8000000,0x1000000
I get those as well, but they don't seem to affect the working of the driver, so I'm ignoring them
wedgey__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2003, 02:33 PM   #15
rageXLdude
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 168
rageXLdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Lucky bastard :P

What confuses me the most is that when I load via_agp, it allocates memory properly, but the driver obviously for some reason cannot take advantage of that, tries to allocate memory again, and obviously fails

Btw, thx for nvidia tip, it worked
__________________
Gentoo Linux (and freakin' happy about it)
Athlon 1600 XP,
Gigabyte 7VAX 256 Mb PC2100
High-Tech Radeon 9000 64 Mb
SoundBlaster Live! 5.1
e.t.c
rageXLdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can secondhand pot smoke make you test positive in a drug test? TenFour Off Topic Lounge 18 Sep 14, 2006 09:18 PM
9700 Fails DX7 test in DX diagnostic test killrose Radeon Technical Support 13 Jul 11, 2005 07:56 PM
VIA KT400 no DRI Biased turkey Linux 3 Nov 11, 2003 08:40 AM
I test my card for stablility at 1600x1200 what do you test yours at? YoHanSmithy General Radeon Discussion 1 Oct 25, 2001 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink