Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 1, 2003, 04:22 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default How to Flash 9800 Non-Pro into 9800 Pro

**ATTN: This BIOS flash has met with great success mostly for people with Samsung memory modules. Those with Infineon modules may not see any performance improvements. Please read the forum replies for situations that may apply to you!!**

I just flashed my Sapphire 9800 Non-Pro last night with success using Flashrom (instead of ATI Flash Utility) and a 9800 Pro BIOS titled: 98-8004.BIN

Here are the steps I took:

1. Created a DOS boot disk (DOS 6.22, to be exact).

Note: If you can't make a DOS boot disk, leave your email address and I'll send you the file. Otherwise, go to:

http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

and download the Dos 6.22 Bootdisk.

2. Created a second floppy disk with the Flashrom program and the 98-8004.BIN file.

To download the Flashrom program, click here.

To download the 9800 Pro BIOS, click here.

Remember to copy the 98-8004.BIN file into the floppy disk containing the Flashrom program.

3. Before booting my computer, I used PowerStrip to set my card to its default speed of 325/310. (For safety reasons.)

4. Rebooted with the DOS 6.22 boot disk.

5. Once I reached the A:\ prompt, I took out the DOS disk and replaced it with the floppy containing Flashrom.

6. At the A:\ prompt, I typed:

flashrom -s 0 original.bin (enter)

(that is a zero, not the letter o). That will backup your original BIOS in case something goes wrong (like artifacts or instability).

To flash to the new BIOS, I typed:

flashrom -p 0 98-8004.BIN

(Important: The "0" above is a zero, not the letter "o.")
(The 98-8004.BIN is the name of the new BIOS that I have downloaded from the Internet.)

7. Once I received the message notifying of the successful flash, I rebooted my computer.

8. Upon loading WinXP, XP detected a "new" hardware and correctly called it "9800 Pro." WinXP automatically re-installed the Catalyst 3.5 drivers.

9. Rebooted WinXP.

10. Everything works!!

11. Today, I went and bought 8 copper heatsinks for my memory chips. I have yet to install the copper fan until I compare the effective CFM ratings between the Vantec copper GPU fan and ATI's stock fan.

I ran successful benchmarks of 3DMark03 and graphics-intensive games like Unreal 2, Splinter Cell, GTA Vice City.

I wish you the same success!!

-Optimummind
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W

Last edited by optimummind : Oct 26, 2003 at 01:49 AM.
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2003, 07:08 PM   #2
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Question

clockspeeds obtained?

benchmarks?
__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 12:53 AM   #3
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default

Once the 9800 Pro bios is used, the clock speed is set automatically to the same default speed of the 9800 Pro (340/680). As for benchmarking, I ran 3DMark03 and got 4488. I can probably do better if I turn off background applications, firewall, and other optimizations.
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 2, 2003, 02:42 AM   #4
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Question

Could you not just overclock the 9800np to those same levels? And what would the 3DMark be if you did that? The same? Different? That's what I'm asking. What's the advantage of flashing with the Pro BIOS if you can obtain those clockspeeds by overclocking, anyway?
__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 04:45 AM   #5
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sivadselim
Could you not just overclock the 9800np to those same levels? And what would the 3DMark be if you did that? The same? Different? That's what I'm asking. What's the advantage of flashing with the Pro BIOS if you can obtain those clockspeeds by overclocking, anyway?
From what I've heard, obtaining the speed of 380/680 by overclocking a 9800 Non-Pro and obtaining the speed by flashing to the 9800 Pro BIOS are different. The 9800 Pro BIOS supposedly supply more voltage to the core and memory modules to make possible the higher clock speeds without straining the modules too much (which would be the case if someone were to just overclock the 9800 Non-Pro.) Also, some 9800 Non-Pro's can't reach the speeds of the 9800 Pro because of artifacts and system crashes. In those cases, a flash to the 9800 Pro can overcome that limit.
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 08:40 AM   #6
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default sup man

yo i got a 9800 non pro gonna flash the bios right now i know for a fact that its gonna work b/c ati is stupid and did the same thing with the 9700 hehe thanks for the bios and the courage so i don't fry my new card ill let u know the results
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 09:15 AM   #7
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default good news

it worked like a charm hehehe upped the voltage in my bios to 1.65 just to be safe so far no problems let me do some more testing to see if this puppy flys like a 9800 pro im running a 2.4c on a is7-g with GAT at F1 so lets see what kind of 3dmark03 score i can produce ill post marks in a lil bit and the 9800 card of mine has the 2.8 ns samsung memory and i got it from newegg.com
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 09:39 AM   #8
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default omg nice scores hehe ;x

ok i ran 3dmark03 3x at 1024x768 with the default setting and got a average score of 5656 this mod is definately worth it to anyone with a non pro card. i have the side of my case open after runnin that 3x i can touch the ram on the card for bout 3 seconds and then it burns a lil tiny bit its not even gettin overheated i have not modded this card at all as far as cooling 9800 np to pro mod ****in ownz joo thats all i can say thanks optium u da man hehe im gonna see if i can get this card ne higher without artificacts. default clock speeds showing a core clock of 378 and a memory clock 337.5 im gonna go tweak this and see if i can get it to do better can't wait to slap a zalman and a fan on this puppy or thinkin bout gettin a dangerden watercooling kit with radeon block and slap some copper ram sinks on it hehe
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 09:56 AM   #9
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default overclocks nice too

ran 3dmark03 again with same settings 3x average score is now 5910 ram is gettin a lil hotter now sat through the whole test no visual artifacts at all and the gpu core is running at 400.5 and the memory is running at 351 im gonna push it some more but i think its gonna start chokin soon
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 10:10 AM   #10
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default back again

6093 3dmarks
GPU = 420.75 mhz
RAM = 360 mhz

still no artifacts im gonna keep goin this is fun hehe
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 10:38 AM   #11
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default final trial...

this is the highest i could achieve with no visual artifacts stock np to pro mod through bios

6156 3dmarks
GPU = 425.25 mhz
RAM = 364.50 mhz

damn what a card and i only payed 300$ for it with free shipping now thats a bang for your buck hehe ;x
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 12:57 PM   #12
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just got my Dell 9800np. I have it overclocked to pro settings with no bios change and it works great. The memory is pretty hot to the touch though, so im scared of going to far. Would ramsinks be a good idea here? I think I will eventually flash the bios, but right now I am running a 1800xp with it, so the card isnt my real bottleneck.
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 02:02 PM   #13
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default sup dude

what kind of memory does ur card have on it if its samsung i know for a fact u will be ok b/c the bios flash also ups the voltage of the card and it sets the clock speeds to 9800 pro speeds. All the cards are manufactured by saphire the only diff is the bios basically i don't have nothing modified on my ard and it works like a charm u can even overclock it higher look at my results above i ******** u not
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 02:22 PM   #14
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I got the samsung chips. I was running alright with Pro settings and the np bios, but after a while I was getting artifacts so I droped them some. My memory is very hot after playing games, like burn your fingers hot. I could be that its like 80 degrees F in my room right now, but I think I need better cooling. Any suggestions?
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 03:37 PM   #15
LiQuID0603
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Reading, PA USA
Posts: 12
LiQuID0603 is still being judged by the masses


Default dude

id say my temp in my room is bout 85 F and i was havin hot memory and gettin artifacts overclockin it with np bios to just pro clock speeds
once i flashed my bios dude im tellin u it went away and my pc has been runnin 3dmark03 all day and i can touch the ram on my video card and it doesn't even burn me now i can hold it there for bout 5 - 7 secs then it tingles the bottom of my finger
LiQuID0603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 12:47 AM   #16
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: omg nice scores hehe ;x

Quote:
Originally posted by LiQuID0603
in ownz joo thats all i can say thanks optium u da man hehe im gonna see if i can get this card ne higher without artificacts. default clock speeds showing a core clock of 378 and a memory clock 337.5 im gonna go tweak this and see if i can get it to do better can't wait to slap a zalman and a fan on this puppy or thinkin bout gettin a dangerden watercooling kit with radeon block and slap some copper ram sinks on it hehe
I'm glad to see another person benefitting from this painless and simple BIOS trick. Just to be safe, I've added 8 copper heatsinks on my Samsung memory using Arctic Alumina thermal adhesive. If you decide to go the same route of adding heatsinks, just be sure to read the instructions on Arctic Silver's homepage first.

I've had no artifacts either from running 3DMark03 in cycles and my RAMs are cool and nice. I could probably overclock more but my room is kinda hot so I'm not going to.
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 01:03 AM   #17
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I dotn have a floppy. Is there anyone taht could make me up a cdrom boot disk and flashrom disk and post an iso? I have ruined 8 cds trying it so far
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 01:42 AM   #18
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default Alright!!

Here is my latest and best score on my 9800 Non-Pro turned 9800 Pro!!

There were no artifacts and my system is rock solid!!

I got a score of 5605 with a P4 2.4B overclocked to 2.7GHz with 1 GB of Kingston DDR333 memory!. Not bad considering that SharkyExtreme's Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB got a 3Dmark03 score of 5876 with the following rig which is clearly better than mine:


Test System
General Settings:
Desktop Resolution: 1024x768
Color Depth: 32-bit
V-Sync: Disabled


Intel 875PE Test Platform
Processors: Pentium 4-3.0C
Memory: 2 x 256-MB Kingmax DDR400 DIMM
Motherboard: ASUS P4C800 Deluxe
Motherboard chip set: Intel 875P
ATI reference drivers: Catalyst 3.4
Hard-Drive: Western Digital 40-GB 7200 RPM
CD/DVD: LG 16X DVD-ROM
Power Supply: Sparkle 400 Watt
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP1


Video Cards:
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256-MB
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128-MB
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Sapphire Radeon 9500 Atlantis Pro 128-MB

Also note that my WinXP Home has all the Windows updates installed, unlike SharkyExtreme's almost "naked" WinXP Pro setup which has no other programs installed besides for benchmarking.

I've very happy with the 9800 Pro BIOS flash and anyone who has cajones should flash their 9800 Non-Pros too!

Just be sure to be patient and also buy some memory heatsinks for a possible overheating.

The link to 3DMark03 is here:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=987870
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 03:14 AM   #19
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Alright, finally after much putsing (and a few handfuls of hair pulled out) I got the 9800pro bios in. It seems to run at Pro settings pretty good, but the ram is still very very hot. Like I cant hold my finger on it hot. This is only during intense games mind you. Could this hurt my card having the memory run very hot? I havent been getting any artifacts after an hour of playing. Should I look into more cooling?
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 03:24 AM   #20
optimummind
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 324
optimummind is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lbhskier37
Alright, finally after much putsing (and a few handfuls of hair pulled out) I got the 9800pro bios in. It seems to run at Pro settings pretty good, but the ram is still very very hot. Like I cant hold my finger on it hot. This is only during intense games mind you. Could this hurt my card having the memory run very hot? I havent been getting any artifacts after an hour of playing. Should I look into more cooling?
If your RAM modules are that hot, I recommend buying some videocard RAM heatsinks. I did it just in case I get instability later down the road.

I used 8 copper videocard ram heatsinks from Vantec and applied in to the RAM using the Arctic Alumina Adhesive I bought from Fry's. It comes with Part A and Part B. Be sure to mix these two liquids in a 1:1 ratio, mix very thoroughly, and apply some on the memory modules before the mixture hardens. Use a very, very thin layer that is enough to glue the heatsinks to the memory modules but not more than that.

Good luck and let's see some benchmarks!!
__________________
My System Info:
=Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
=ASRock 775Dual-VSTA
=Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.66GHz
=eVGA 8800GT KO@740/1728/2000
=2x1GB DDR2-800, G.Skill
=NEC ND-3520A 16x DVD+/-R/RW DL
=Creative Audigy 2 ZS
=Antec NeoPower 480W
optimummind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2003, 11:45 AM   #21
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

At pro Speeds I get a 3Dmark score of 5159
With XP1900, 512mb of PC2100.

Pretty low, but my system is really in need for a refresh. Before turning it into a pro I got 4469, so its a good little boost. Now I need to order some ramsinks before I push it any farther I think.
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 02:24 AM   #22
Liuke
Fuzzy Bunnies go BOIIING!
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hoppyland
Posts: 4,369
Liuke is still being judged by the masses


Default

How much higher were you guys able to OC your RAM after flashing to the Pro BIOS compared to before when using the NP BIOS? I am still waiting for more user results to see whether it's worth using the Pro BIOS for a better RAM overclock. Cause other than that, I don't think the Pro BIOS would be a necessity for 2.8ns boards. I've been running my 9800 NP w/ its stock BIOS at 425/351 for days w/o a single problem. I'd say the Pro BIOS will probably benefit the 3.0ns boards more
__________________
A64 X2 3800+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe | 2 x 512 MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 | 2 x BFG 6800 GT OC | BFG 550W PSU | WD Raptor 74GB | WD 160GB SE | Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16X DVD-ROM | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers | Logitech G15 | G5 | MX1000 | Ideazon Zboard | 3DMark03 = 20963 | 3DMark05 = 9645

P4 2.8C | Asus P4P800 Deluxe | 2x256MB Kingston HyperX PC3500 and 2x512MB Corsair Value DDR400 | ATI X800 XL | Antec TrueBlue 480W | WD 40GB | Saitek Eclipse KB | Razer Diamondback Plasma LE

Athlon XP-M 2500+ | Abit NF7-S | 2 x 256MB Corsair Value PC3200 and 1 x 512MB Simpletech Nitro PC3500 | AIW 9600 Pro | Enermax Noisetaker 470W PSU | WD 100GB SE | WD 80GB | WD 40GB | Lite-On 40x12x48 CD-RW | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 1 | Logitech Cordless MX Duo + MX518
Liuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 07:39 AM   #23
molli
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
molli is still being judged by the masses


Default

sorry my bad english....

i just try flash my 3d club 9800non and i got error message at dos.

adapter 0 not found

my card still works(huh) but any ideas???
molli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 09:09 AM   #24
WarheadMM
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 121
WarheadMM is still being judged by the masses


Default

ok i got a 9800np and i get artifacs when the mem hits 330...will the 9800 pro bios fix that??
__________________
Intel 3.2ghz @ 3.3
Intel D875PBZ
1 GB PC 3200
ATi 9800pro 256
Win XP SP2
WarheadMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 10:35 AM   #25
lbhskier37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
lbhskier37 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I got artifacts at pro speeds with the np bios, and the ram burnt myfinger when touching it. After the flash it runs fine at pro speeds and at more reasonable temps. Havent tried any hihger yet though. It is definitly worth it with the 2.8ns chips to flash
lbhskier37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2003, 12:28 PM   #26
HocusFocus
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mobile, Al
Posts: 47
HocusFocus is still being judged by the masses


Default I have

BBA w/3.0 Infineon chips and I don't see any difference with or without the bios flash so I flashed back to the original bios. I believe the only ones to benefit from flashing are those with Samsung 2.8 memory. Maybe someone will come up with a tweaked bios for the 3.0 Infineon like what was done for the 9500pro.
Regards,
HF
__________________
Barton 2500+@2200
Abit NF7-s Ver.2 210fsb
512 m Twinmos PC3200, 512 m Buffalo Mem dual channel
9800 400/328 WinXP
HocusFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2003, 07:43 AM   #27
ocfool
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
ocfool is still being judged by the masses


Default

Could anyone tell me where I can find the Radeon 9800 Pro bios for download?

I have searched high and low for the bios described in this post.
ocfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2003, 08:53 AM   #28
HocusFocus
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mobile, Al
Posts: 47
HocusFocus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ocfool
Could anyone tell me where I can find the Radeon 9800 Pro bios for download?

I have searched high and low for the bios described in this post.

Try doing a search in these forums for 98-8004.BIN.
HF
__________________
Barton 2500+@2200
Abit NF7-s Ver.2 210fsb
512 m Twinmos PC3200, 512 m Buffalo Mem dual channel
9800 400/328 WinXP
HocusFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2003, 03:59 PM   #29
Brainstorm
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
Brainstorm is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: I have

Quote:
Originally posted by HocusFocus
BBA w/3.0 Infineon chips and I don't see any difference with or without the bios flash so I flashed back to the original bios. I believe the only ones to benefit from flashing are those with Samsung 2.8 memory. Maybe someone will come up with a tweaked bios for the 3.0 Infineon like what was done for the 9500pro.
Regards,
HF
HocusFocus, no difference in your GPU overclock either? I'm curious b/c I just got a 9800 NP yesterday (retail). It has the Infineon 3ns memory, and tops out (with artifacts) around 418/333. Gotta back it down to about 395/325 to avoid artifacts. Just curious if this may help.
Brainstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2003, 04:15 PM   #30
pakotlar
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: America
Posts: 249
pakotlar is still being judged by the masses


Default

gpu overclock is significantly increased in my experience. I see no reason not to flash your bios. It's VERY easy. If anyone needs help, feel free to pm me. I have both the flash utility and the bios on my comp. Is anyone interested in a slightly modified cas1 pro bios? I have that as well. made it myself, it works
__________________
Venice E3 @ 2560 mhz
Crucial Ballistix 2gb @ 33310 285mhz
DFI NF4Ultra-D
X800XL @ 420/540
Audigy 2zs A4 modded
Onkyo TX-DS575X
Model Six (main) + BassCube 10
Yamaha NS-50t rear
Klipsch 2.1 (center)
Sennheiser HD580
pakotlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800 pro to 9800 XT flash problem Goldensample Radeon Technical Support 3 Feb 1, 2005 03:43 PM
9800 pro Flash Thr0tt Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Jan 21, 2005 05:05 AM
9800 non pro flash mrloren Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 2 Aug 16, 2004 08:44 AM
9800 non pro bios flash to 9800 pro davist400 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 5 Oct 26, 2003 02:58 PM
Can anyone benchmark a True 9800 PRo to 9800 bios flash pro? Electricview Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 73 Sep 23, 2003 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink