Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2002, 04:36 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ATI LoVeR 8500
Isn't around enough!
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,682
ATI LoVeR 8500 is still being judged by the masses


Default ***OFFICIAL Power Supply/BIOS THREAD***

Since most of the problems have been PSU or Motherboard Bios version related with the Radeon 9700, we should have an official thread. The clutter in this forum is getting to high, this should help.

From what it looks like, an Average system needs a 400watt good name power supply to keep the Radeon 9700.

-Enermax
-Sparkle
-Seasonic

Seem to be the best for the Radeon 9700, especially Enermax.

AVOID NO NAME POWER SUPPLIES! BUY ENERMAX!

The Antec power supplies under 500w have not been that great either.

So post here if you need help. If you have a working Radeon 9700 post your PSU, and system specs, and BIOS VERSION!

Post steps too on what you did with your Bios or powersupply!

Keep the clutter down! I'm not a mod, but all those damn threads are annoying as hell to sift through!
ATI LoVeR 8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 04:43 PM   #2
karlotta
they are real
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: oregon
Posts: 2,691
karlotta is still being judged by the masses


Default

PCpowerCooling 400wSILENCER®

MSI via133a BIOS,3.0
karlotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 04:45 PM   #3
Captain Beige
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,049
Captain Beige is still being judged by the masses


Default

Enermax 350W
KR7A-RAID with latest (9N) bios

problem: cold boot issue

I'm thinking of buying a Enermax 550W PSU

atm, my +5V is only 4.81V
this is because I'm running too many devices ?
Captain Beige is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 10, 2002, 04:52 PM   #4
LucidDefender
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 28
LucidDefender is still being judged by the masses


Default

Enermax is meh. Enermax power supplies have no warranty at all, are extremely expensive, and you aren't guaranteed to get one with decent voltages.

I'm also wary of the new Antec Trupower power supplies. There have been many reports of them dying, and it's also reported that need to time to "burn-in" before you get decent voltages.

I had very good luck with a Heroicihi 350w power supply in my brother's P4 setup. It's constructed very well, has dual fans, is inexpensive, and has excellent voltages. Herocihi supplied Antec with their 350 watt power supplies, according to what I've read.
LucidDefender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 04:54 PM   #5
ATI LoVeR 8500
Isn't around enough!
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,682
ATI LoVeR 8500 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Captain Beige
Enermax 350W
KR7A-RAID with latest (9N) bios

problem: cold boot issue

I'm thinking of buying a Enermax 550W PSU

atm, my +5V is only 4.81V
this is because I'm running too many devices ?
What devices do you have? A 350w PS seems borderline to me, but if that system is loaded then, that might be a problem.
ATI LoVeR 8500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:07 PM   #6
divisionbell
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 200
divisionbell is still being judged by the masses


Default

This stuff about 350W PS not being enough is BS. Soory, but a 300W PSU shoudl run it fine. The high watt power supplies out are FAR exceeding the needed power that computers really ned(this does not include 'super cooled pc's).
__________________
P4 1.6a @ 2.4
Asus P4B266-c
512 Mushkin DDR333
Radeon 9700
SB Live Plat. 5.1
Maxtor 40 Gig ATA 133 7200RPM
Antec Smart Power 350
Lite On 40X CDR, Asus 52X CD-ROM
****IF I HAVE PROBLEMS, I HAVE ALREADY CHECKED WITHOUT OVERCLOCKING*****
divisionbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:13 PM   #7
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 24,037
Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Sasquach once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

its not the wattage that matters, its the +5 +12 whatever those values are.
if those are consistent with the ratings then you should be fine.
if they are not (lower by a little im guessing) then your in for some trouble.

at least thats how i understand it.
__________________
------The Squachbox------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
Zalman CNPS9900LED on AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
4gb Patriot Viper Series Low Latency DDR3 1600
8gb Patriot Gamer 2 series Performance DDR3 1600
Samsung Syncmaster 205BW (21" widescreen) on ATI Radeon HD 5870 (Catalyst 11.1a)
Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb 7200RPM SATA
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Logitech Z-5300 THX 5.1 surround and Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition on Asus Xonar Xense
---AMD Dragon+ Platform---
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:16 PM   #8
Wild_Bill
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London - UK
Posts: 233
Wild_Bill is still being judged by the masses


Post

Quote:
Originally posted by ATI LoVeR 8500
What devices do you have? A 350w PS seems borderline to me, but if that system is loaded then, that might be a problem.
Enermax 350w, EpoX 4G4A+, Revision 2424 Bios, 3 x 80Gb 7200 RPM H/Drives, Liteon 48xCDRW, Liteon 16xDVD Rom, Pioneer 104 DVDRW, P4 2.26B @2720, 512Mb PC3200 @DDR400, 4 x Case fans, Audigy Platinum, Firewire capture card, 2 x NIC's - No stability or power issues here.

L8ters

Bill.
Wild_Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:22 PM   #9
X-Reaper
A Work In Progress
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,832
X-Reaper is still being judged by the masses


Default

Wheres a good place to buy Cases with the Power supply already installed? I'm thinking about getting the Enermax 400 watt PS.
X-Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:23 PM   #10
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,383
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Talking What I know about power supplies...

umm, nevermind

According to Dan > http://www.dansdata.com/sfpsu.htm < Enermax, Topower, and Super Flower are all made in the same factory in Guangzhou, China; the Super Flower looks quite a bit like the TTGI > http://www.emaxasp.com/a-pro/details...m=PS%2DTT500SS < I've been using; currently have 3 of these 420,470 and 520 and have had no issues so far (my 9700 isn't installed yet though)

FSP Group and Zippy/EMACS power supplies have been used by PC Power and Cooling. FSP Group came from the merger of Fortron Source and Sparkle Power about 8 years ago. A 460w Zippy can be found here> http://rackmountpro.com/productpage.cfm?prodid=828

Directron.com uses a crude weight rating on some of their power supplies ie the PCP&C Turbo Cool 425w weighs 7lb compared to the 4.32lb of the Antec 550 True Power.....power supplies by the pound and $$ to match.

Noise? well the specs on the Turbo Cool list 44db, my watercooled system with the TTGI 520w, 3 120mm fans and the waterpump running hits about 35db.....unless I run the power suppy fans on the high setting, then I bump over 40db.

Just my .02 cents.....
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:27 PM   #11
Wild_Bill
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London - UK
Posts: 233
Wild_Bill is still being judged by the masses


Post

Quote:
Originally posted by X-Reaper
Wheres a good place to buy Cases with the Power supply already installed? I'm thinking about getting the Enermax 400 watt PS.
It would be easier to buy a case without a power supply then fit your own - most quality cases come without power supplies.

L8ters

Bill
Wild_Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:33 PM   #12
gravioli
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Cosmopolis, WA
Posts: 703
gravioli is still being judged by the masses


Default

Antec Truepower 330W powering the following:

HP dvd200i DVD+RW
Kenwood 52x CD-ROM
60GB Western Digital
40GB Western Digital
Firewire Zip 250 Drive

No problems whatsoever.
gravioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 05:49 PM   #13
Captain Beige
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,049
Captain Beige is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATI LoVeR 8500
What devices do you have? A 350w PS seems borderline to me, but if that system is loaded then, that might be a problem.
Athlon 1GHz (100 FSB)
SBlive! 5.1
9700 pro
Linksys NIC
56k v92 modem
LS-120
DVD-ROM
CD-RW
HDD
Chasis fan


to the guy (edit: Wild Bill, plus same thing for gravioli) who said had no problems with same power; you're using P4 not Athlon, so have an extra 12V connection from PSU

Last edited by Captain Beige : Sep 10, 2002 at 05:53 PM.
Captain Beige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 06:02 PM   #14
Wild_Bill
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London - UK
Posts: 233
Wild_Bill is still being judged by the masses


Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Captain Beige
Athlon 1GHz (100 FSB)
SBlive! 5.1
9700 pro
Linksys NIC
56k v92 modem
LS-120
DVD-ROM
CD-RW
HDD
Chasis fan


to the guy (edit: Wild Bill, plus same thing for gravioli) who said had no problems with same power; you're using P4 not Athlon, so have an extra 12V connection from PSU
The EpoX 4G4A+ does not have or use the 4 pin P4 additional power connector needed on some of the 850 chipsets! - but I see where your heading, maybe the Athlon's suck more juice than a P4 Northwood.

L8ters

Bill
Wild_Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 06:08 PM   #15
killrose
late nite gammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nowhere to be seen
Posts: 1,106
killrose is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Captain Beige
Enermax 350W
KR7A-RAID with latest (9N) bios

problem: cold boot issue

I'm thinking of buying a Enermax 550W PSU

atm, my +5V is only 4.81V
this is because I'm running too many devices ?
No, I think it's because Enermax has a sucky 5+ line. I just sent mine back to Newegg under RMA for the same problem. I could run an XP1600+, but anything over that and crashes. I'm surprised that you are still up and running with 4.81 idle.(?)
__________________
5000+BE@3.0gig, AMD Heatpipe Cooler, Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H, 2Gig Dual Channel Lovin HP w/Micron Chips, Saphire 3850 512mb W/Zalman VF700@785/985, HDaudio, WD 80gig, TDK 16x10x40, 4x DVD, LanBoy Case, Nortel DSL Modem and a wiff of something burning.
killrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 07:18 PM   #16
david
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States Orlando, FL
Posts: 786
david is still being judged by the masses


Default

KR7A-RAID 9n bois 400 watt sparkle - all going great!
300 watt sparkle = no go

abit KD7 default bios 400 watt sparkle - all going great!
300 watt sparkle = no go
__________________
Just another geek here
david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 07:32 PM   #17
Chuki
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Peanutville
Posts: 1,861
Chuki is still being judged by the masses


Default

431watt enermax everything just peachy, and system is quiter then a whisper... Matter of fact, my harddrive is fregging annoying!
Chuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 07:33 PM   #18
X-Reaper
A Work In Progress
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,832
X-Reaper is still being judged by the masses


Default

That sparkle ps, these are good ratings for it? I can pick it up cheap from Pacificsolutions.

http://www.partshelf.com/sparpow400wa.html


I know nill about Power supplies.
X-Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 07:48 PM   #19
Malachi1313
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,342
Malachi1313 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I disagree with Antec power supplies being not that good. Unless your refering to the ones that aren't "True Power". Here are my specs and everything runs GREAT:

Antec True Power 330 Watt
MSI KT3- Ultra 2 w/5.5 bios version

Incidentally here are the components that are running off that power supply: 3 HDD's, DVD, CD burner, and 4 case fans. Quality not Quantity is the order of the day. Ran 4 loops of 3Dmark 2001 se with NO lockups or stutters.

Malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 07:58 PM   #20
Menel
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 272
Menel is still being judged by the masses


Default

Enermax 431W Whipser with gold plated connectors

4 harddrives, 2 of them in RAID 0
2 NICs, Audigy, RAdeon 9700 duh!
2 cdroms, and like 16 fans

Works perfectly
Menel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 08:02 PM   #21
gravioli
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Cosmopolis, WA
Posts: 703
gravioli is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wild_Bill
The EpoX 4G4A+ does not have or use the 4 pin P4 additional power connector needed on some of the 850 chipsets! - but I see where your heading, maybe the Athlon's suck more juice than a P4 Northwood.

L8ters

Bill
The ECS P4S5A doesn't use an additional connector either.
gravioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 08:19 PM   #22
HonestJohn
More Brains
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 2,570
HonestJohn is still being judged by the masses


Default

So far, so good with

550w Antec Tru-Power PSU
ECS K7S5A Motherboard / BIOS 6/26/02
__________________

PCI/AGP

Diamond Stealth 64
Matrox Mystique 3D
STB Velocity 128
Diamond Viper II Savage 2000
Diamond Viper V550
Creative Labs TNT2
Hercules Stingray 128 3D / 3DFX Voodoo Rush
Creative Labs Geforce 256
Hercules 3D Prophet (Geforce 3)
Creative Annihilator Geforce 2 GTS
PNY Geforce 3
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB
EVGA FX 5900 Ultra 256MB
ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB
EVGA 6800GT 256MB
ATI Radeon X800XT-PE 256MB
ATI Radeon X850XT-PE 256MB
Visiontek X1950 Pro 256MB
Sapphire X1950 Pro 512MB
HIS X1950 Pro ICEQ3 Turbo 512MB
Gainward Bliss 7800GS+ Golden Sample GLH Edition
Gecube TEC X1950XT 256MB
XFX 7950 GT 512MB

PCI-E

MSI HD 2900XT 512MB
EVGA SC 8800GT 512MB
EVGA 8800GTS 512MB
HIS HD 4870 512MB
Diamond XOC HD 4870 512MB Black Edition
EVGA GTX 260 SC Core 216 896MB
XFX GTX 285 1GB
XFX HD 5750 1GB
MSI HD 5770 Hawk Twin Frozr 1GB
MSI GTX 470 Twin Frozr II 1280MB
Gigabyte HD 7950 Windforce 3GB

Temporary Cards Used Between Upgrades

Rage 128 Pro - PCI
FX 5200 - AGP
7300 LE - PCI-E

HonestJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 09:01 PM   #23
KJ
Classic Gamer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Tacoma, WA
Posts: 6,164
KJ is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Antec 300w-yeah sure, laugh all you want, but it's working
MSI KT3 Ultra2-R
__________________
ASRock P67 Pro3 | Core i5-2500K | 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 | 120GB OCZ Vertex 2 |
Radeon HD 3850 | Lite-On 20x DVD-RW | Earthwatts 500w PSU | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

AND IT'S FOLDING FOR RAGE3D!
KJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 09:26 PM   #24
lognoronon
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Reno, NV
Posts: 275
lognoronon is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am using an allied 400w psu and so far its working just fine. I have the latest bios for my motherboard as well.
lognoronon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2002, 11:23 PM   #25
Red Harvest
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 615
Red Harvest is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by divisionbell
This stuff about 350W PS not being enough is BS. Soory, but a 300W PSU shoudl run it fine. The high watt power supplies out are FAR exceeding the needed power that computers really ned(this does not include 'super cooled pc's).
Simply not true, another oversimplficiation. The problem is what particular rails are pulling the watts and the tolerances are wide. If you follow the ATX spec. on PSU design you are allowed very wide voltage tolerances (+/- 5% , e.g. 4.75 to 5.25 V on the 5 V rail.) Motherboards, memory, vid cards, and CPU's don't like it when the voltage is fluctuating over a 10% range with load!

A great amount of the power usage will come from your 3.3 and 5 V rail and they won't be rated near the nominal wattage combined. Also, they are not the only parts pulling power.

So here is the problem: you system might require ~200 W on the 3.3 and 5 V rail combined. OK, perhaps your 300W PSU can do it, but can it do it with tight tolerance? MOST can not. That is why PC Power and Cooling and the new Antec True Powers (and the new Vantec) should be so useful--high wattage with tighter voltage regulation.

I have had mediocre luck with an Enermax 430W myself. My old Antec 400 W Smart Power outperforms it on the boards I've tested. The Enermax does seem OK with overclocked 1.4 GHz and with an AthlonXP 2100+, but I question whether or not it could support the 9700 on my system.
__________________
System 1:
Sapphire 9800 Pro / Athlon XP 2400 / ABit NF-7S / 512 MB RAM / WinXP

System 2:
ATI Radeon 8500 / Athlon XP 2100 / Epox 8KTA3 w/512 MB PC133 / Win98SE
Red Harvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2002, 02:03 AM   #26
OmegaOne
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 10
OmegaOne is still being judged by the masses


Default

I really really hope that my 431W Enermax VE will be suffecient for the card...

I will kiss Woody Allens arse if it is too weak :/
OmegaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2002, 02:40 AM   #27
DaleK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
DaleK is still being judged by the masses


Default

Antec 430 watt True Power. My 5 and 12 volt lines don't fluctuate at all. I also have a p4 1.6a @ 2.5 ghz with DDR running at 412. Everything is beautiful.
DaleK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2002, 03:47 AM   #28
Fotis
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece Greece
Posts: 774
Fotis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Does anyone know if Herolchi's produce much noise?
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2002, 08:47 AM   #29
Jandar
Old Skool Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Orange Park, FL
Posts: 1,736
Jandar can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyJandar can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Stated this in another thread, but here it is again....


CompUSA boxed 500watt Power Supply (Antec reboxed special)

Soyo K7V DRAGON +
AMD XP 2000+
512MB Mushkin DDR


1 WD 40GB
1 IBM 40GB
1 Maxtor 40GB
1 Maxtor 60GB

1 Pioneer DVR-104
1 24X10X40 CDRW (ricoh rebadge)

2 120mm Fans
1 80mm fan

1 blue neon
2 blacklights


no problem with all turned on, even have no problems with lights on when I powerup.
Jandar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2002, 10:33 AM   #30
ragingWS6
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 1,808
ragingWS6 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Using PC Power and Cooling 425ATX (425W) and everything runs great. Never had a problem with it since the PSU upgrade (fixed 8500 problems with Epox 8KHA+). System is the first one in the sig....plus 4 system fans, and a cold cathode light inside. I have experienced NO lockups on the 9700!
__________________
Gaming System: Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.7GHZ, Swiftech Apogee XT waterblock with custom watercooling kit in Corsair Obsidian 800d case, 8GB Corsair XMS3-1600 RAM, Asus P8P67 Pro MB, 2xEVGA GTX460 1GB FTW in SLI (900/2075), 2x150GB WD Velociraptor 10,000RPM 3.0gb/s 16mb cache in RAID 0, Coolermaster Real Power Pro 850W PSU
HTPC System: Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, AMD Athlon64 X2 5400+, 4 GB OCZ PC6400 RAM, EVGA GeForce 9600GSO, 320GB Seagate SATA HD, ECS GeForce 8200 MB
ragingWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another power supply thread! DaJMasta General Hardware 10 Jul 30, 2007 07:10 PM
How can I tell if my power supply is too weak and what's a good cheap power supply? Fox5 General Hardware 26 May 12, 2004 08:14 PM
Authoritative Power Supply (PSU) Information Thread -MB- General Hardware 2 Feb 9, 2004 08:38 AM
Help ...i just blow another 350W power supply ..is 9800 pro.need 400 w power supply?? wc326 Radeon Technical Support 70 Jun 9, 2003 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink