Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 26, 2012, 10:12 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
SD-[Inc]
Butt-hurt Liberal
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States In front of my PC
Posts: 10,103
SD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant: Internal Error

OK, I decided to buy the $39 upgrade for my Vista system. Microsoft kindly pointed me to this lovely upgrade assistant that spins some dots on the screen and then craps out with an "Internal Error: Error running compatibility check. Check logs for details. (I posted the 100% completely useless log details at the end of this post). At least they were smart enough to pop up a Finish button on the screen because that is exactly where I am. (Finished). Does anyone have any suggestions? I've already wasted one hour on this...

Code:
CONX   ConX::Compatibility::CCompatibilityHost::SetScanResult: Compat scan from provider wsc:wica: failed. HRESULT = 0x80070001[gle=0x00000490]
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Compatibility scan finished. Scenario: 1, Categories: 0x00000006 
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Compatibility scan data is saved to C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Panther\CompatData_2012_10_26_19_55_14_1_00000006.xml.
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   WAITING for scan to finish ...
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Scan finished... 
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Error                 CONX   An error occurred during the scan. HRESULT = 0x80070001.
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Error                 CONX   ConX::Setup::Web::CWebSetupApp::ShowErrorMessage: Incorrect function.
 [Error: 0x80070001.][gle=0x00000490]
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   WizardPage Message (MessageType = 0) is activated: PAGEID = 28
SD-[Inc] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 07:02 AM   #2
lumpyhed
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England Limeysville
Posts: 13,635
lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'lumpyhed once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

tried making another account and running it from there?
lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 02:27 PM   #3
Sazar
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 25,600
Sazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD-[Inc] View Post
OK, I decided to buy the $39 upgrade for my Vista system. Microsoft kindly pointed me to this lovely upgrade assistant that spins some dots on the screen and then craps out with an "Internal Error: Error running compatibility check. Check logs for details. (I posted the 100% completely useless log details at the end of this post). At least they were smart enough to pop up a Finish button on the screen because that is exactly where I am. (Finished). Does anyone have any suggestions? I've already wasted one hour on this...

Code:
CONX   ConX::Compatibility::CCompatibilityHost::SetScanResult: Compat scan from provider wsc:wica: failed. HRESULT = 0x80070001[gle=0x00000490]
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Compatibility scan finished. Scenario: 1, Categories: 0x00000006 
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Compatibility scan data is saved to C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Panther\CompatData_2012_10_26_19_55_14_1_00000006.xml.
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   WAITING for scan to finish ...
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   Scan finished... 
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Error                 CONX   An error occurred during the scan. HRESULT = 0x80070001.
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Error                 CONX   ConX::Setup::Web::CWebSetupApp::ShowErrorMessage: Incorrect function.
 [Error: 0x80070001.][gle=0x00000490]
2012-10-26 19:55:14, Info                  CONX   WizardPage Message (MessageType = 0) is activated: PAGEID = 28
Checked online and seems to be a known issue now.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...5-b00a08810ef7

I would check in or subscribe to that thread for a resolution or try one of the fixes suggested (something about a new account or whatever).

Sry, wish I knew more
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:04 AM   #4
SD-[Inc]
Butt-hurt Liberal
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States In front of my PC
Posts: 10,103
SD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Wow this problem is one of the stupidest things I have ever seen. Hey consumer, download this and I'll upgrade your OS for a mere $39. Sounds good. What I don't understand is what moron wrote the error checking code for this POS. I can understand having problems with different configurations because it would be impossible to test every one. But to crap out and send the user to a stupid error log that tells them nothing no matter how tech savvy they are and give them no recourse to skip steps or download with out a compatibility check or report the error or get any support on it is just idiotic. This gives me zero confidence in the amount of QA or thought that has gone into this release. If it was my product, I would do whatever possible to get that download to the end user and try and upgrade them. What a bunch of morons....
SD-[Inc] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 06:07 PM   #5
yenelli
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
yenelli is still being judged by the masses


Default

Same problem, but I didn't know which/where to check. You helped ME because you posted WHERE to look! The file is an XML of the results.
In C:\Users\AdminAcct\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WebSetup\Panther, the itemized "problems" are:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CompatReport xmlns="http://www.microsoft.com/ApplicationExperience/UpgradeAdvisor/01012009"><System X64Capable="False" X64Running="False"/><Hardware/><Plugins><Plugin Id="ID_GADGETS"><CompatibilityInfo BlockingType="Soft" Link="http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=253678"/><Header>Sidebar gadgets aren't supported in Windows 8</Header><Message>You won’t be able to use the sidebar gadgets that are installed on your PC in Windows 8.</Message></Plugin><Plugin Id="ID_SECUREBOOT_INCAPABLE"><CompatibilityInfo BlockingType="Soft" Link="http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=246579"/><Header>Secure Boot isn't compatible with your PC</Header><Message>Your PC's firmware doesn't support Secure Boot so you won't be able to use it in Windows 8.</Message></Plugin></Plugins></CompatReport>

--which are ALL problematic for a Vista upgrade because that's how Microsoft designed the Vista. So where's the workaround for those issues?
yenelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
500 internal server error DorXtar Feedback Central 1 Dec 27, 2010 02:45 PM
Anyone else get an internal error installing the new Splinter Cell Demo? BroadbandGamer PC Gaming 1 Feb 23, 2005 05:51 PM
Non-Windows OS can't use internal DNS Johnmcl7 Operating Systems 2 Jan 13, 2005 03:34 AM
Rage3DTweak Internal Build Error cybrsage Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 3 Nov 10, 2002 09:28 PM
HTTP 500 - Internal server error Pongo Feedback Central 4 May 17, 2002 08:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink