Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » CATALYST Drivers
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

CATALYST Drivers Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Catalyst Drivers. Please put Linux-specific driver posts and Remote Wonder discussion in their respective forums.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2011, 02:09 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ElAguila
Smokin'
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 360
ElAguila is still being judged by the masses


Default What is MMLoadDrv.exe?

I just installed the latest driver suite from ati(11.6). Now when I look at the task manager I see 8 processes running and all of them say MMLoadDrv.exe. I opened the file location and it was in C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static. I am assuming because of its location it has something to do with the CCC. Why are there 8 of these processes running?

UPDATE: I just figured out what is causing it. Everytime I launch a ccc profile that I have saved it starts this process. Even if it is the same profile. I have shortcuts to 2 profiles on my desktop. Normal and gaming. Each time I launch one it starts a process even if I am launching the same profile.
__________________
eVGA x58 Micro
Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.2GHz
Corsair TR3X6G1600C8 3x2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Radeon 5870
Raid 0 2x1TB WD on SATA 3/4
Seagate 160GB on SATA 1
LG Bluray ROM/DVD RW
Corsair HX1000W

Last edited by ElAguila : Jun 25, 2011 at 02:12 PM.
ElAguila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 02:57 PM   #2
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,634
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

It's part of the driver set, nothing to be concerned about.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 02:09 AM   #3
Praetor2
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 26
Praetor2 is still being judged by the masses


Default Commandline Tool (CLI.EXE) Problem

I reported this issue to AMD as follows:

PROBLEM DESCRIPTION: Every time the ATI commandline tool "CLI.EXE" is used to apply a Catalyst Control Centre PRESET (profile), it leaves a resident copy of "MMLoadDrv.exe" (visible in Windows Task Manager).

So every time I use CLI.EXE to apply a PRESET (via a VBS script) before a game is started, it leaves ANOTHER copy of "MMLoadDrv.exe" resident. At the end of the day I have MANY MANY of these "MMLoadDrv.exe" files resident!

I've been using CLI.EXE for years, and this problem only started with Catalyst v11.6 and now also in v11.7.

Example of commandline tool usage:
C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLI.exe Start Load profilename=MyProfile

Please rectify this issue as I still have to use v11.5 in the meantime.
Praetor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 28, 2011, 02:20 AM   #4
KAC
Pussy face to my axe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 40,019
KAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

It is Magic Mother Load Driver.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 03:31 AM   #5
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

did you say mother on purpose cuz of MOM.exe that appeared a couple years ago or was that a coincidence?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2011, 02:04 PM   #6
BLIND_OWL
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
BLIND_OWL is still being judged by the masses


Default

you can rename "MMLoadDrv.exe" to "MMLoadDrv.exe old" and profiles will still work , thats what i did. Haven't noticed any problems since renaming it.
BLIND_OWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 09:25 AM   #7
djsolidsnake86
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 201
djsolidsnake86 is still being judged by the masses


Default

it's really annoying this
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 10:13 AM   #8
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,634
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djsolidsnake86 View Post
it's really annoying this
what is
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 12:27 PM   #9
djsolidsnake86
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 201
djsolidsnake86 is still being judged by the masses


Default

that there are these processes
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 08:04 PM   #10
Lurk
Going Nowhere Fast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Italy Torino
Posts: 3,428
Lurk is still being judged by the masses


Default

agreed. software needing processes to work properly. god that's awful. I don't even...
__________________
No question is dumb if you do not know the answer.
Q: How can you move on in life if all you care about is pussy and videogames?
A: You don't.
Lurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 06:12 AM   #11
djsolidsnake86
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 201
djsolidsnake86 is still being judged by the masses


Default

no way to remove this?
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink