Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » News Forums » General News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General News News as it appears on the frontpage of Rage3D.com

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 23, 2011, 06:20 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,595
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


AMD AMD Mjolnir I Driver Updated - 11.4 Early Preview RC2 for March 23 Now Available

AMD's Mjolnir I project drivers have been updated, a new RC2 build for all you lucky Windows 7 AMD Radeon HD 6990 users:


Click the Catalyst logo to download now!



Thanks to long-time forum member rflair for the heads up!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 04:41 AM   #2
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

The officially updated 11.4 Preview will be released early next week according to CatalystCreator.
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:29 AM   #3
SantiagoDraco
Radeon 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
SantiagoDraco is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ah, if only I could get anything since 10.x to work I'd be happy. So far all the 11.x builds have been bad news. Screen flickering, CCC2 failing to load/display the UI, buggy HDMI audio (drop outs etc).
__________________
i7 2700@4.6 Ghz | Asus GENE-Z Gen3 | 16GB Corsair Dominator
Nvidia GTX 670 | Samsung LN55 55" LCD TV + Samsung LT4665N 46" 1080p LCD TV
Koolance CPU-370/ | Koolance TMS 200 fan/temp/pump monitor and control
Zalman HD160XT HTPC | Intel SSD | Thermaltake Toughpower 1200w PSU
SantiagoDraco is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:35 AM   #4
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,595
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Remove your overclock and retest.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:52 AM   #5
Besthum
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Besthum is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SantiagoDraco View Post
Ah, if only I could get anything since 10.x to work I'd be happy. So far all the 11.x builds have been bad news. Screen flickering, CCC2 failing to load/display the UI, buggy HDMI audio (drop outs etc).
I have same problem as you. And i dont understand why do i need to remove my overclock to install bad drivers?
Besthum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 01:47 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,595
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

You don't. You need to remove your overclock to determine it's not a system stability issue, right now. Overclocked means you verified it as being stable, and most people don't do the same stability and performance testing that the guys who make the hardware do, to verify correct operation at a certain speed. So it's possible that a beta driver can find a flaw in your system operation. Both could be a problem. Just one could be a problem. You don't know, because you haven't verified when it work and when it doesn't.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 03:52 PM   #7
Besthum
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Besthum is still being judged by the masses


Default

Its not just beta driver. I have this problem since 10.12 driver. I have no problem at all with 10.10e and any previous i tried. But since 10.12 they introduced something which doesnt work properly for me. Same as the guy above - flickering, 99% GPU usage after game is closed etc. Not only i have this problem
http://www.overclock.net/ati/930142-...-idle-any.html
I think 4 months passed since we got this and nothings changed which is very sad.
Besthum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:45 PM   #8
SantiagoDraco
Radeon 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
SantiagoDraco is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Remove your overclock and retest.
Let me fix that statement for you.

"Try removing your overclock, if you have it, and see if it helps."

While I appreciate the advice, I don't have my cards overclocked number 1) and number 2) I don't see how an overclock will help with a .net coding issue with the CCC2 ui It may help with the flicker, IF I had the cards overclocked, which I don't. So back to square one.
__________________
i7 2700@4.6 Ghz | Asus GENE-Z Gen3 | 16GB Corsair Dominator
Nvidia GTX 670 | Samsung LN55 55" LCD TV + Samsung LT4665N 46" 1080p LCD TV
Koolance CPU-370/ | Koolance TMS 200 fan/temp/pump monitor and control
Zalman HD160XT HTPC | Intel SSD | Thermaltake Toughpower 1200w PSU
SantiagoDraco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:48 PM   #9
SantiagoDraco
Radeon 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
SantiagoDraco is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besthum View Post
Its not just beta driver. I have this problem since 10.12 driver. I have no problem at all with 10.10e and any previous i tried. But since 10.12 they introduced something which doesnt work properly for me. Same as the guy above - flickering, 99% GPU usage after game is closed etc. Not only i have this problem
http://www.overclock.net/ati/930142-...-idle-any.html
I think 4 months passed since we got this and nothings changed which is very sad.
I think we are wasting our breath.

Oh but maybe if you reboot your system three times while standing on your toes and howling at the moon. You don't know if it will work unless you try it...

Like you I've had to go back to 10.11 drivers which are stable.
__________________
i7 2700@4.6 Ghz | Asus GENE-Z Gen3 | 16GB Corsair Dominator
Nvidia GTX 670 | Samsung LN55 55" LCD TV + Samsung LT4665N 46" 1080p LCD TV
Koolance CPU-370/ | Koolance TMS 200 fan/temp/pump monitor and control
Zalman HD160XT HTPC | Intel SSD | Thermaltake Toughpower 1200w PSU
SantiagoDraco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2011, 11:49 PM   #10
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,595
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Your system is overclocked. Remove the overclock. It is more likely your overclock is unstable than you have identified a .net coding issue with CCC2 UI, don't you think? I'm sure you have extensive .net programming and debugging experience, hence your analysis of it being a fundamental problem with the code instead of your system running so far from specification, right?
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 04:56 AM   #11
self_slaughter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
self_slaughter is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've had my system hard lock on me twice now since trying the march 23 version of the drivers... once during bad company 2 and another time just browsing the web. (IE9)

Gone back to the march 7 drivers again until amd officially release a new preview version.

edit: running 6870 crossfire, haven't had one problem in the two weeks of running the march 7 verison.

Last edited by self_slaughter : Mar 25, 2011 at 05:01 AM.
self_slaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Army of Two Delayed to early 2008 & Updated Hands-On TRD Supra Console Gaming 4 Oct 23, 2007 04:56 PM
G86 cards coming in late March, early April? Dawg Industry Rumours and Speculation [Archived] 30 Mar 6, 2007 02:56 PM
DirectX Next - Early Preview BladeRnR General Radeon Discussion 1 Jan 4, 2004 04:14 PM
DirectX Next Early Preview MrB General News 0 Dec 3, 2003 09:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink