Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing From Android, Symbian to Apple devices, this is the place for discussion and debate, whether it's smartphones, tablets or even gaming handhelds.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2011, 05:35 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
guest
Whiny Mooch
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 24,147
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default How does Sprint use Verizon's network?

I understand the two have a partnership for sharing towers? Any good info on how it works?
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 05:52 AM   #2
GSGRUNT
{ o }===(:::)
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: United States Seat of the mockers
Posts: 3,962
GSGRUNT can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyGSGRUNT can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Both use Qualcomm CDMA technology.
As I understand it, the 'smarts' of the CDMA system are in the phone not the tower.

Where did you hear that Sprint uses Verizon's towers?
__________________
Are you going to beat me with your Jesus stick?
GSGRUNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 06:46 AM   #3
guest
Whiny Mooch
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 24,147
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sprint_...ing_agreements

On May 9, 2006, Sprint Nextel and Alltel agreed on a new Nationwide Roaming partnership.[15][16] The new roaming agreement is for both voice, 1x & EV-DO data roaming coverage. This new partnership is different from voice only roaming agreement between Alltel & Verizon Wireless in that it is reciprocal, giving Alltel customers access to Sprint 1x & EV-DO network, and Sprint customers access to Alltel denser rural 1x & EV-DO voice and data coverage. This agreement represents the first of its kind between US wireless carriers.
Sprint and Verizon Wireless have a reciprocal data roaming agreement[17] that even allows for the use of Sprint Power Vision content like TV, movie downloads, and stream radio in Verizon 1x coverage areas.
Sprint and US Cellular have a 1xRTT data and voice roaming agreement.



I see random comments like the one below, thus I am wondering.

At the time AC was introduced (around 4 years ago), Sprint and Verizon
signed an intercarrier roaming agreement for their entire network.
Sprint could roam on verizon (but roaming would be charged), and
Verizon could roam on Sprint as regular minutes.

Within a year, Verizon probably realized it was losing tons of money on
the deal, since the package pricing caused verizon users to roam (while
verizon ate the cost) a lot more often than sprint users roamed on
Verizon. Verizon began slowly removing Sprint roaming areas from their
PRLs, and eventually shut off roaming in some areas for those who kept
old PRLs.


Wikipedia is not infallible so I wonder what others know.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 28, 2011, 08:56 AM   #4
chump
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,402
chump is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest View Post
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sprint_...ing_agreements

On May 9, 2006, Sprint Nextel and Alltel agreed on a new Nationwide Roaming partnership.[15][16] The new roaming agreement is for both voice, 1x & EV-DO data roaming coverage. This new partnership is different from voice only roaming agreement between Alltel & Verizon Wireless in that it is reciprocal, giving Alltel customers access to Sprint 1x & EV-DO network, and Sprint customers access to Alltel denser rural 1x & EV-DO voice and data coverage. This agreement represents the first of its kind between US wireless carriers.
Sprint and Verizon Wireless have a reciprocal data roaming agreement[17] that even allows for the use of Sprint Power Vision content like TV, movie downloads, and stream radio in Verizon 1x coverage areas.
Sprint and US Cellular have a 1xRTT data and voice roaming agreement.



I see random comments like the one below, thus I am wondering.

At the time AC was introduced (around 4 years ago), Sprint and Verizon
signed an intercarrier roaming agreement for their entire network.
Sprint could roam on verizon (but roaming would be charged), and
Verizon could roam on Sprint as regular minutes.

Within a year, Verizon probably realized it was losing tons of money on
the deal, since the package pricing caused verizon users to roam (while
verizon ate the cost) a lot more often than sprint users roamed on
Verizon. Verizon began slowly removing Sprint roaming areas from their
PRLs, and eventually shut off roaming in some areas for those who kept
old PRLs.


Wikipedia is not infallible so I wonder what others know.
Our company uses Sprint Wireless. We have about 31 EVO's
And Verizon.

Sprint so far has had better coverage than ATT's iPhones did in our area. Alltel, network was bought out by ATT and Verizon after Sprint signed a tower agreement. That was all fathered in to the buy out. Verizon and Sprint utilize each others towers. Sprint more so than Verizon in remote locations. Sprint's network seems to show better data capabilities then Verizons although Verizon has a more consistent coverage out of all 3.

That may change in the next year with sprint owning more spectrum than either of the other big players. They are looking at utilizing the full spectrum for their phones and phasing out the Nextel network separation. They will keep the nextel name but utilize both networks in one. This should give them a huge advantage and increase their coverage area without having to add as many towers. Lower bandwidth travels farther and through buildings better but their higher bandwidth will provide better quality. They they should have the best of both worlds.
__________________
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of the blessings. The inherent blessing of socialism is the equal sharing of misery."
-- Winston Churchill

"To take from one, because it is thought that his own industry and that of his fathers has acquired too much, in order to spare others, who, or whose fathers have not exercised equal industry and skill, is to violate arbitrarily the first principle of association, 'the guarantee to every one of a free exercise of his industry, and the fruits acquired by it.'"
-- Thomas Jefferson
chump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 10:05 AM   #5
Elysian
No sir, I don't like it.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 37,373
Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSGRUNT View Post
Both use Qualcomm CDMA technology.
As I understand it, the 'smarts' of the CDMA system are in the phone not the tower.

Where did you hear that Sprint uses Verizon's towers?
Sprint has used Verizon for a long time, that's what the phones use when they 'roam,' Verizon also supposedly allows for roaming but I've never been able to... When I worked at my previous job my Sprint phone got 4 bars at my desk but when I switched to Verizon I got 1 or no bars even though I had digital roaming on. My Sprint phone also told me when I was roaming.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
So again you show your ignorance of law and testimony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
Come to my neighborhood and take a swing at me. I will kill you and I will walk.
Elysian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 11:14 AM   #6
guest
Whiny Mooch
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Login Prompt
Posts: 24,147
guest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete strangerguest once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chump View Post
Our company uses Sprint Wireless. We have about 31 EVO's
And Verizon.

Sprint so far has had better coverage than ATT's iPhones did in our area. Alltel, network was bought out by ATT and Verizon after Sprint signed a tower agreement. That was all fathered in to the buy out. Verizon and Sprint utilize each others towers. Sprint more so than Verizon in remote locations. Sprint's network seems to show better data capabilities then Verizons although Verizon has a more consistent coverage out of all 3.

That may change in the next year with sprint owning more spectrum than either of the other big players. They are looking at utilizing the full spectrum for their phones and phasing out the Nextel network separation. They will keep the nextel name but utilize both networks in one. This should give them a huge advantage and increase their coverage area without having to add as many towers. Lower bandwidth travels farther and through buildings better but their higher bandwidth will provide better quality. They they should have the best of both worlds.
Thanks for the most useful information! I am currently struggling with EVO vs. EPIC and leaning toward the EVO. It does not appear anything new is coming out soon with a 4" or larger screen.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 11:41 AM   #7
Elysian
No sir, I don't like it.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 37,373
Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guest View Post
Thanks for the most useful information! I am currently struggling with EVO vs. EPIC and leaning toward the EVO. It does not appear anything new is coming out soon with a 4" or larger screen.
They should really just update the EVO with the newer Snapdragon processor with the Adreno 205 gpu... would be a much better phone. I would stay away from anything Samsung forever though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
So again you show your ignorance of law and testimony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
Come to my neighborhood and take a swing at me. I will kill you and I will walk.
Elysian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 12:07 PM   #8
chump
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,402
chump is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian View Post
They should really just update the EVO with the newer Snapdragon processor with the Adreno 205 gpu... would be a much better phone. I would stay away from anything Samsung forever though.
I agree samsung support for their devices sucks.
__________________
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of the blessings. The inherent blessing of socialism is the equal sharing of misery."
-- Winston Churchill

"To take from one, because it is thought that his own industry and that of his fathers has acquired too much, in order to spare others, who, or whose fathers have not exercised equal industry and skill, is to violate arbitrarily the first principle of association, 'the guarantee to every one of a free exercise of his industry, and the fruits acquired by it.'"
-- Thomas Jefferson
chump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 03:21 PM   #9
EMunEeE
Formerly MrEMan4K
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,753
EMunEeE is still being judged by the masses


Default

As far as I know, when you are out of a Sprint service area, your device will roam on Verizon's 1xRTT which is effectively 2G for voice and data.
__________________
Visit my website: http://emuneee.com -- It's pretty cool.
EMunEeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 03:30 PM   #10
shrike126
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Overland Park, KS
Posts: 15,858
shrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Subscriber
Default

Also keep in mind that roaming agreements are almost always in flux. Rates are negotiated and renegotiated all the time, which changes roaming rates and thereby causes frequent PRL updates. The PRL loaded onto a phone defines what sources of connectivity to "prefer" for the purposes of keeping overall costs as low as possible. Everyone tries to negotiate competitive roaming rates, both Sprint and Verizon as well as other carriers.

So to answer your question, how does Sprint use Verizon's network? Only when we have to and only when it's as cheap as possible!
__________________
Quote:
Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us. ~ Calvin & Hobbes
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 09:35 PM   #11
CurrentlyPissed
2.0 Litres of Fury
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States Missouri
Posts: 10,928
CurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Someone told me(and this seems odd and Id like confirmation) that roaming on Sprint is actually FREE due to this agreement. HOWEVER if it is found you are constantly on roaming that sprint will cancel your service.

confirm/deny?
__________________
Quote:
The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.

-George Carlin

Quote:
Life is like an Arrow on a bow. It constantly drags you back. But you are just moments away from springing forward.
CurrentlyPissed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 09:39 PM   #12
CurrentlyPissed
2.0 Litres of Fury
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States Missouri
Posts: 10,928
CurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird sings


Default

After several googles it appears that is true. When did Roaming become free? Damn I've always been hitting no!
__________________
Quote:
The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.

-George Carlin

Quote:
Life is like an Arrow on a bow. It constantly drags you back. But you are just moments away from springing forward.
CurrentlyPissed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 10:10 PM   #13
shrike126
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Overland Park, KS
Posts: 15,858
shrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Subscriber
Default

It's free, but if a certain big % of your usage is consistently roaming then after a few months or so we'll send you a letter saying "uh hey, please stop" and if that doesn't work then your contract may be politely terminated.
__________________
Quote:
Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us. ~ Calvin & Hobbes
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 11:09 AM   #14
kingofslackerz
Always $ n a banana stand
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,613
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CurrentlyPissed View Post
Someone told me(and this seems odd and Id like confirmation) that roaming on Sprint is actually FREE due to this agreement. HOWEVER if it is found you are constantly on roaming that sprint will cancel your service.

confirm/deny?
Correct. Rumor is if you are constantly roaming you will get a letter from sprint cancelling service.

Currently you can use verizon PRL's to switch to their towers. I've thought about doing this due to sprint not having the best coverage in rural areas in our metro.

how to: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696073 That'll get you on verizon 3g

But their's also a Force Roaming app on the market.

Last edited by kingofslackerz : Jan 30, 2011 at 11:16 AM.
kingofslackerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 12:46 PM   #15
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 6,623
aviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofslackerz View Post
Correct. Rumor is if you are constantly roaming you will get a letter from sprint cancelling service.

Currently you can use verizon PRL's to switch to their towers. I've thought about doing this due to sprint not having the best coverage in rural areas in our metro.

how to: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696073 That'll get you on verizon 3g

But their's also a Force Roaming app on the market.
I wonder if you could get a semi discounted phone by forcing roaming and then downloading tons of data until they cancel your service. Or maybe if you just want to cancel your service without paying the termination fee.
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 12:52 PM   #16
kingofslackerz
Always $ n a banana stand
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 2,613
kingofslackerz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviphysics View Post
I wonder if you could get a semi discounted phone by forcing roaming and then downloading tons of data until they cancel your service. Or maybe if you just want to cancel your service without paying the termination fee.
Yea, not sure if the ETF would be enforced.

I guess it would be a good way to try and get out of your plan if not.
kingofslackerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 03:32 PM   #17
shrike126
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Overland Park, KS
Posts: 15,858
shrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Subscriber
Default

Uh huh... the answer to that is "no"
__________________
Quote:
Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us. ~ Calvin & Hobbes
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 04:51 PM   #18
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 6,623
aviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrike126 View Post
Uh huh... the answer to that is "no"
To which question?
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 05:54 PM   #19
shrike126
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Overland Park, KS
Posts: 15,858
shrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesshrike126 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviphysics View Post
To which question?
To purchasing a phone using the subsidized pricing then forcing roaming to get a termination fee waived.
__________________
Quote:
Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us. ~ Calvin & Hobbes
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have had it with Sprint Shadowless Off Topic Lounge 28 Jul 12, 2010 12:45 AM
Sprint 4g Debello Off Topic Lounge 12 Dec 5, 2009 03:14 PM
can i really use the RIM Blackberry 8703e as a modem? (sprint network) Encyclopedia_b Off Topic Lounge 7 Jun 8, 2009 10:08 AM
Sprint Instinct Becomes the Fastest Selling Sprint EVDO Phone Ever Hidavi Off Topic Lounge 1 Jun 26, 2008 01:33 PM
Swedish University Network and Sprint Networks breaks the Internet2 Land Speed Record hobs0n Off Topic Lounge 3 May 6, 2004 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink