Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2010, 05:28 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
beanstalk_230
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
beanstalk_230 is still being judged by the masses


Default Best Driver for HD 4850

Hey all

I wanted to know the best driver that could be used with a HD 4850. Since the 10.x series has gone to 10.8 it is difficult to choose the best and the most stable driver.

Kindly pour in your suggestions.

Regards
beanstalk_230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 06:35 AM   #2
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,931
Danny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDanny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Always use the latest driver, that is, 10.8.

Unless of course there is a specific reason not to use the latest. Only use older IF you have problems.

The latest driver contains the latest driver features and tweaks for the latest games and provides the best performance.

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...downloads.aspx

Thats the latest, install it and you should be fine.
__________________
ASUS PG279Q | ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC 2025MHz/12GHz | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2200 9-10-11-24-1T | Fractal Design R4 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | SteelSeries Rival | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB + 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 10 Professional

iPhone 8 Plus
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 01:46 PM   #3
lemonhead
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 896
lemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultylemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultylemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I have an HD4850 and Catalyst 10.8 works great. The only problem I see and which affects other ATI cards too (with driver 10.5 and above) is the launch error with certain old OpenGl games using Quake3 engine. The workaround there is to place atioglxx.dll file from Catalyst 10.4 into the game directory.
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 13, 2010, 02:00 PM   #4
Maze
Bazinga!
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Netherlands Holland
Posts: 7,494
Maze is still being judged by the masses


Default

performance in BC2 is broken for me when not using the 10.4a driver...
__________________
Camera: Canon EOS 50D + Tokina 12-24 F4, Tamron 17-50 F2.8, Canon EF 50 F1.8, Canon EF-S 55-250 F4-5.6 IS
Maze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 02:30 PM   #5
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 40,360
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

10.4a FTW!
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 03:12 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

10.8b + cat app profiles
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 05:00 PM   #7
KAC
Gay wut u do?
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 51,729
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

10.4a
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 02:31 PM   #8
Swiftdeathz
7870 CFX
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United States NYC/NJ, USA
Posts: 541
Swiftdeathz is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.7 here, 10.8 and up introduced the overscan bug when connecting your card to an HDTV.

update: using 10.9a hotfix now since it fixed my overscan problems.
__________________
Intel i5 3570k || Sapphire HD 7870 OC || Asrock Z77 Extreme4 || 8GB DDR3 G.SKILL || Seasonic X750
Intel Core2Duo E8400 || PowerColor HD 5450 || Gigabyte P35-DS3L || 4GB DDR2 G.SKILL || Enermax 431W
[email protected]

Last edited by Swiftdeathz : Oct 7, 2010 at 03:44 PM.
Swiftdeathz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 03:19 PM   #9
bman87
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 23
bman87 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just installed 10.8 on my 4870CF setup... they ran like crap on my machine.

I downgraded to 10.4a and everything is much much faster. I do not know if this is a symptom because of CF or if the issues persist for solo cards as well..
__________________
  • LIAN LI PC-A70B
  • EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58
  • Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem (3.8ghz OC)
  • CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB DDR3 Triple Channel
  • SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7950 3GB
  • 3X WD Caviar 640GB (RAID-5)
  • WD VelociRaptor 10k rpm 150GB
  • SILVERSTONE Modular 700W PSU
bman87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 09:12 PM   #10
Sharkfood
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,575
Sharkfood is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm still running the 10.3's as these have the fewest bugs, no z-fighting/flicker in games that the 10.5's->10.8's have, and I don't play BFBC2 so I'm good there.

Single 4870 here and 10.3's have been the best set to date without major issues for me.

I'm still waiting for some drivers with the BFBC2 fixes so I can finally buy/play this game but alas, wishful thinking eh? heh.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe/WiFi, Q9550, 4GB DDR2-1066, Windows 7 64-bit, Sapphire 6970.

Don't spread my wealth, spread my work ethic.
3/21/2010 - R.I.P. Freedom, Democracy, America
Sharkfood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 03:52 AM   #11
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.5+ has z fighting? which games.. i recall something like 9.2 or 9.3 with a little different z & less shadow smoothing (not totally sure the shadow was placebo or not)

nothing was really wrong with older sets for BC2, the random grass is minor, & the map loading speed is somewhat minor
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 02:59 PM   #12
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 969
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

V9.8 on my home PC with XP Pro. SP3 and 4870 video card. I have been too busy to ugprade and hate it when things break. One day I will do it when I have time in case something breaks. I don't game at all these days either. I noticed upgrading always break my profiles and I have to redo them. Also, I get blue screens with DVB Viewer Pro after playing games/running 3D stuff so I have to downgrade some ATI files. Annoying.
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 03:29 AM   #13
Quexos
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 137
Quexos is still being judged by the masses


Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by acroig View Post
10.4a FTW!
10.4a for the....least fail!
Quexos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 03:01 PM   #14
OldMX
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 525
OldMX is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a 4870 and my wife a 4850, both with Cats 9.12 without issues at all, both running Win7 x64.
__________________
Windows software is licensed, not sold. This agreement only gives you some rights to use the software. Microsoft reserves all other rights.
OldMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 03:02 PM   #15
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 40,360
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quexos View Post
10.4a for the....least fail!
That works too.

No issues running 10.4a with my two 4800 cards.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a driver with good 2D Performance (4850) Me AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 10 May 27, 2010 05:18 PM
Current 4850 Driver Issues BFG10K AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 35 Sep 18, 2008 04:40 PM
pci hardware driver for 4850 takovr AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Jul 2, 2008 10:09 PM
Radeon HD 4850 Works With Open-Source Driver Already Android1 Front Page News 0 Jun 20, 2008 05:43 PM
Radeon HD 4850 Works With Open-Source Driver Already Android1 Drivers 0 Jun 20, 2008 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink