Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4, 2010, 12:05 PM   #61
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
spindoctor
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerdd View Post

PC is ok now, but could have been a lot better. I doubt that spindoctor does not understand the logic behind the decisions, but that doesn't mean that he has to be fine with it.
exactly. i understand why they did what they did, but that does not change the fact that it is a crappy port and it does not excuse it either.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero View Post
Don't hate me cause I'm not some poor Indian "gamer". ;)
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 12:13 PM   #62
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,056
metroidfox is still being judged by the masses


Default

Can someone post comparison shots between the unmodded game and this version of it? For some reason, vanilla GTA IV looks better to me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 01:02 PM   #63
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,908
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Can't get the mod to work. Visual IV.
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 4, 2010, 01:09 PM   #64
GanjaStar
Jalouise
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Croatia Strawberry Fields
Posts: 12,089
GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra 204 View Post
Can't get the mod to work. Visual IV.
http://www.gtagarage.com/mods/show.php?id=7008

you tried that? the rar file has files for the episodes of liberty city too.
__________________
dx 10 peasant no more.
GanjaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 01:11 PM   #65
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,908
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaStar View Post
http://www.gtagarage.com/mods/show.php?id=7008

you tried that? the rar file has files for the episodes of liberty city too.
Yeah thats the one I tried. Says "This version of GTA IV.exe is not supported".
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 01:13 PM   #66
Thr0tt
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 3,931
Thr0tt is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok tried it all and yes it makes a difference but the better for me was just the Visual IV 1.6.1 mod as adding the new textures lost me quite a few fps for not a massive gain in viewing pleasure. Sure it looks a bit better using the increased textures but the popups and loss of frames made it painful to play.


Make sure you backup all your files before you copy the files over.
__________________
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC | 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 01:35 PM   #67
Skinner
tweaking for life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 2,716
Skinner is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanx for sharing
__________________
Schieten op de beesten.

Last edited by Skinner : May 4, 2010 at 01:37 PM.
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 02:42 PM   #68
FrAg Of FuRy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States Illinois
Posts: 5,892
FrAg Of FuRy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Tried these a while ago, I like the vanilla version more.

I'm moving my efforts to downloading thet reallifsis v2 mode now
FrAg Of FuRy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 03:04 PM   #69
GanjaStar
Jalouise
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Croatia Strawberry Fields
Posts: 12,089
GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra 204 View Post
Yeah thats the one I tried. Says "This version of GTA IV.exe is not supported".
works on mine just played it. much crisper graphics. Almost looks like a PC game now fps hit is there, but its jsut a couple of fps.

Im talking about liberty city episodes though, not gta 4.
__________________
dx 10 peasant no more.
GanjaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 03:09 PM   #70
corny
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England UK
Posts: 2,215
corny is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaskingx1 View Post
Visual Mods
- Visual IV v1.6.1 (most important one, it replaces the shaders)
- Ultimate Textures v2.0 (replaces most of the games textures)
- Official GTA IV patch 1.0.6.0 (improved shadows ... and performance)
Any chance you can give links to the original thread and downloads please?
corny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 03:16 PM   #71
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,908
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaStar View Post
works on mine just played it. much crisper graphics. Almost looks like a PC game now fps hit is there, but its jsut a couple of fps.

Im talking about liberty city episodes though, not gta 4.
Any trick to install it? I just dragged the EFLC folder on top of my current one and let them merge and do its thing. Everything went into its correct folder. What am doing wrong?
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 03:23 PM   #72
Phrygian
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,760
Phrygian knows why the caged bird singsPhrygian knows why the caged bird singsPhrygian knows why the caged bird singsPhrygian knows why the caged bird singsPhrygian knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrAg Of FuRy View Post
Tried these a while ago, I like the vanilla version more.

I'm moving my efforts to downloading thet reallifsis v2 mode now
Please let me know where you found v2.

Edit: Nvm, got it installed now.

Last edited by Phrygian : May 4, 2010 at 03:26 PM.
Phrygian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 06:09 PM   #73
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,908
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Got it working. Some nice improvements, worth the little trouble I went though to get working.
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else

Last edited by zebra 204 : May 4, 2010 at 06:28 PM.
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 06:14 PM   #74
GanjaStar
Jalouise
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Croatia Strawberry Fields
Posts: 12,089
GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'GanjaStar once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra 204 View Post
Any trick to install it? I just dragged the EFLC folder on top of my current one and let them merge and do its thing. Everything went into its correct folder. What am doing wrong?
thats exactly what i did, after backing up all the files i was about to replace.

and indeed it does make the game much sharper looking. even when you turn on the xbox brul crap it is still sharper thn anything in vanilla mode. im keeping this mod for my playthrough of the episodes.
__________________
dx 10 peasant no more.
GanjaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 06:46 PM   #75
Dungeoncrawler
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States Cincy, OH
Posts: 16,032
Dungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird singsDungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird singsDungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird singsDungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird singsDungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird singsDungeoncrawler knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I started to install the visual IV mod but the instructions stated I needed a program to merge a graphic file and that program stated it was not compatible with the current version of gta4?
Dungeoncrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 06:47 PM   #76
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,908
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler View Post
I started to install the visual IV mod but the instructions stated I needed a program to merge a graphic file and that program stated it was not compatible with the current version of gta4?
Just drag and drop the correct folder, nothing else needed.
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 06:50 PM   #77
bigtabs
is a happy chappy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany Germany
Posts: 3,394
bigtabs is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerdd View Post
bigtabs, the game has horrendous framerate on the consoles too.
"Crap port by lazy devs" makes no sense in that context. The devs chose to pack more stuff in at the cost of frames. It was their choice. The alternative would have been to have less stuff and not the game they wanted people to play. PC users are better off because if they want to they can choose to lower the settings. We also get a replay mode , Independence FM and seamless transition between KBM and Controller usage. Small things, but nice to have.

The tech in R* games has always seemed to play second fiddle to the content, no denying that. Oh wait ground-breaking Euphoria physics, oh wait one of the best looking games of this gen, oh wait day/night cycle means no static lighting, oh wait open world so everything mus be streamed, etc etc. Still, the resources spent on the content appears to surpass the resources spent on the technology, as it probably should, particularly in a game of this nature.

Just Cause 2 is the only open world game I can think of that doesn't have performance issues. All credit to the devs for that achievement. The mold had to be broken eventually, and it took us 'til 2010 to do it. It is fair to criticize games for performance issues, but it's probably more fair to blame the state of the current technology rather than 'dev laziness'. You can't just magic an engine out of thin air that has all the refinements that people are going to think of for the next 20 years in it. Having said that though, I wonder how a tweaked JC2 engine would cope with all the GTA4 content? I'm guessing not nearly as well as it does with the content it has, but possibly a little better than GTA4.

You want all that GTA4 offers on a two year old engine? You pay for it with sketchy framerates.
__________________
This is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

Last edited by bigtabs : May 4, 2010 at 06:52 PM.
bigtabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 07:38 PM   #78
icecold1983
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,759
icecold1983 is still being judged by the masses


Default

lol @ posting screens downsized by over 4x from the original resolution to show off the games graphics.
__________________
"you son of a ***** do u think you can elude us forever carlos"

http://gawker.com/5002269/the-cruise...ed-to-suppress

AHAHAHAH WTF IS HE TALKING ABOUT??????????
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 07:50 PM   #79
Reynaldo
who
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Venezuela Venezuela
Posts: 1,642
Reynaldo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyReynaldo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icecold1983 View Post
lol @ posting screens downsized by over 4x from the original resolution to show off the games graphics.
lol @ not reading the original post.
Reynaldo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 08:19 PM   #80
icecold1983
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,759
icecold1983 is still being judged by the masses


Default

u mean reading his own admission that the shots are downsized by over 4x from the orig res?
__________________
"you son of a ***** do u think you can elude us forever carlos"

http://gawker.com/5002269/the-cruise...ed-to-suppress

AHAHAHAH WTF IS HE TALKING ABOUT??????????
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 09:20 PM   #81
Reynaldo
who
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Venezuela Venezuela
Posts: 1,642
Reynaldo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyReynaldo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Yes, the same post that states that the game doesn't look exactly like that, because the image host downsampled the pics.

Anyway, I bought a 1360x768 monitor, it accepts 1080p resolution though, so I just run it at the higher res, automatic downsampling Works great for games that don't support AA.
Reynaldo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 10:06 PM   #82
spindoctor
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtabs View Post
It is fair to criticize games for performance issues, but it's probably more fair to blame the state of the current technology rather than 'dev laziness'.
except, modders have managed to make the game look much better on the pc with little performance loss. which means the headroom to do it exists, and the rockstar devs either didn't know about it or didn't care about it enough to utilize it. both reflect poorly on them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero View Post
Don't hate me cause I'm not some poor Indian "gamer". ;)
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 10:29 PM   #83
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 6,623
aviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtabs View Post
... long freaking post ...
Well without being on the Dev team I can't say but there is definitely different qualities of code and a piece of bad code can run many times slower then a piece of good code that does the exact same thing.

From my experience in engineering I am guessing it went something like this...

Programmer: We finished the game and it doesn't crash and there are not any bugs. The frame rate is a little slow right now though. Do you want us to spend an indefinite period of time to make it better?
Manager: Is it higher then 30 FPS on the consoles?
Programmer: Yes
Manager: Ship it.
Programmer: What about the PC gamers
Manager: Only hard core gamers are going to play this on the PC and they will be glad for the excuse to upgrade.

At any rate I wouldn't go around blaming the hardware. It is the job of the developer to fit a game into the performance envelope of the target platform. I think they just assumed only hardcore gamers were going to bother playing it on the PC or people who played it long after it came out. In either case those people they probably expected to have plenty of CPU power.

I wouldn't say they were lazy either. It was probably a business decision to get the game out on time and not delay it for however long it would take to streamline all that code.
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.

Last edited by aviphysics : May 4, 2010 at 10:36 PM.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 10:32 PM   #84
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 17,753
Trunks0 once held a door open for a complete strangerTrunks0 once held a door open for a complete strangerTrunks0 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

It means the code running the engine is bloated on PC. I seem to remember hearing that some of GTA:IV's PC code is just emulated 360 code. Hence the massive boosts from more CPU power v.s. tiny boosts from extra graphics power.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k - 8Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - 120GiB HD Samsung 840 -
3TiB Seagate Expansion (USB 3.0 external) - PowerColor Radeon R7 260x TurboDuo - X-Fi Go! Pro(Yes, darkside lives on) - Windows 8.1 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:08 PM   #85
icecold1983
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,759
icecold1983 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reynaldo View Post
Yes, the same post that states that the game doesn't look exactly like that, because the image host downsampled the pics.

Anyway, I bought a 1360x768 monitor, it accepts 1080p resolution though, so I just run it at the higher res, automatic downsampling Works great for games that don't support AA.
maybe if his post stated something like

"the actual game looks nothing like these massively downsized shots" you would have a point
__________________
"you son of a ***** do u think you can elude us forever carlos"

http://gawker.com/5002269/the-cruise...ed-to-suppress

AHAHAHAH WTF IS HE TALKING ABOUT??????????
icecold1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:12 PM   #86
thomaskingx1
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 310
thomaskingx1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icecold1983 View Post
maybe if his post stated something like

"the actual game looks nothing like these massively downsized shots" you would have a point
The game DOES look exactly like those shots save for more salient aliasing.
thomaskingx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:23 PM   #87
thomaskingx1
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 310
thomaskingx1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here are 2 comparison shots, comparing a couple shots on page 1, reduced by Photobucket to half the res, versus the original res shots (1920x1080) that I just uploaded to Imageshack:










You be the judge, even when blown up, it looks amazingly crisp and clear for the most part.

Last edited by thomaskingx1 : May 4, 2010 at 11:58 PM.
thomaskingx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:36 PM   #88
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 6,623
aviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete strangeraviphysics once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I downloaded a torrent that has the Realism IV mod combined with the Ultimate Textures v2.0 mod and I am wondering which folder the textures are in so I can just use them.

edit: Are the folders inside pc/data/maps all I need and should I include the "generic" folder?
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.

Last edited by aviphysics : May 4, 2010 at 11:40 PM.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:46 PM   #89
thomaskingx1
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 310
thomaskingx1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Another pair of comparison shots:








Tell me that doesn't hold up incredibly well, especially on the 2nd shot, where it looks nearly flawless.

Also the higher res shots look sharper and more vibrant than the resized ones.

Last edited by thomaskingx1 : May 4, 2010 at 11:58 PM.
thomaskingx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 12:08 AM   #90
Destroy
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States WI
Posts: 14,940
Destroy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDestroy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Jaggies are bad, mmmkkay.
__________________
Member of the Glorious PC Gaming Master Race-"Doesn't any game maker know how to make a PC feeling game anymore? I hate all this console afterbirth crap we're getting lately."
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
13x7 = 28 proof inside Eisberg Off Topic Lounge 5 Apr 11, 2011 05:54 PM
Justin Bieber shot...proof inside Eisberg Off Topic Lounge 33 Feb 21, 2011 05:13 PM
Ice has sex with goats, more proof inside. FrAg Of FuRy Off Topic Lounge 46 Nov 8, 2009 11:14 AM
nVidia is bigger than ATI!! (proof inside) Kombatant General Radeon Discussion 61 Jul 30, 2004 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink