Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2010, 01:17 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default MSI OC Genie. Anyone press the button?

So I thinking of pressing the OC Genie on my board and was wondering if anyone has an MSI board with it and have you pressed the button.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:42 AM   #2
ShaidarHaran
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 21,162
ShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:48 AM   #3
the_mup
Did I microstutter?
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United States Florida
Posts: 969
the_mup is still being judged by the masses


Default



mika lika hoe lika hineyhoe!
__________________
Foxconn Bloodrage
CoreI7 920
Mushkin 12GB
Powercolor 290x LCS
PC Power and Cooling 860w
Muskin SSD
ASUS 24" HDMI Widescreen
Custom Watercooled
Windows 8.1 x64

Last edited by the_mup : Feb 15, 2010 at 12:16 PM.
the_mup is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:49 AM   #4
@md_Guy
<strike>out</strike>
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,984
@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TombStone View Post
So I thinking of pressing the OC Genie on my board and was wondering if anyone has an MSI board with it and have you pressed the button.
saw a review of that board (forgot where) and it seemed like 1 button OCing.. they simply pushed the button the pc restarted,.. after a minute or so the PC resumed at the new OC (4.1Ghz iirc) - viola .. no fuss OCing and about as simple as it got.

MSI products used to be about as bland as bland could get but in the last year they've really tried to set themselves apart with their entuisiast level hardware, be it their motherboards or their gpus... just a look at their lightning series of GPUs should clue one in that MSI ain't your papas MSI of old.
__________________
Fermi Paradox*: "The apparent size and age of Fermi die suggests that many technologically advanced GPUs ought to exist.
However, this hypothesis seems inconsistent with the lack of observational evidence to support it."
@md_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:58 AM   #5
@md_Guy
<strike>out</strike>
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,984
@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty@md_Guy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

heres a forum post by a user it appears.. once he pushed (de-pressed the OC Genie - I mean really depressing.. you should have to rub it 3 times ) when the PC booted into windows it looks like his i5 was at 4020 Mhz according to the MSI Control Center.

http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3938190.php

Further tweaking managed to get upto 4209 Mhz.. still for one button as simple as it gets OCing.. DAMN I wish MSI made an AMD AM3 Mobo like this.
__________________
Fermi Paradox*: "The apparent size and age of Fermi die suggests that many technologically advanced GPUs ought to exist.
However, this hypothesis seems inconsistent with the lack of observational evidence to support it."

Last edited by @md_Guy : Feb 15, 2010 at 12:00 PM.
@md_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 12:12 PM   #6
Zero
Sass hole
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 35,138
Zero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppersZero has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

I'd test it for stability manually. But sure, press the button.
__________________
Attaching the electrodes of knowledge to the nipples of ignorance since 1980.



"Optimists believe this is the best of all possible worlds. Pessimists fear that it is true."
-Robert Oppenheimer

"I love my dog. But my doctor say we cannot make babies. I guess we'll adopt children and just have sechs."
-SpongeBebop, Rage3D 2003

"The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the group. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself."
-Friederich Nietzsche on James Crivellone




Antec P180B
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Q9550 (400x8.5 1.25v stock HSF)
Corsair HX620
4GB Mushkin XP2 DDR2 PC-8500 (500 5-5-5-2)
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
250GB Maxtor
NEC 3500A + LG 8162B
HP w2408 24" LCD
Logitech EasyCall Desktop KB + Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit



Asus M50SV-A1
15.4" LCD 1440x900
T9300 2.5GHz 6MB Cache VM-enabled
4GB DDR2 800MHz
Nvidia 9500M GS
320GB WD Scorpio
8x DL DVD-RW
Realtek HD Audio
802.11 Draft-N / BT 2.1
HDMI audio-capable output
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit



Silverstone LC-17B
EVGA 780i
C2D e6600 2.4GHz
OCZ GameXStrem 700W
4GB Mushkin XP2 DDR2 PC-8500 (500 5-5-5-2)
ATI 4770 1GB
500GB Western Digital + 250GB Maxtor HDs
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
Samsung 50" PN50C550 Plasma TV



Dark Knight Modded Xbox 360 Premium (Launch)
XBox 360 RE5 Elite (Jasper)
Xbox 360 Arcade (Jasper)
PS3 60GB
Black Wii w/ wiikey
NDS Onyx

+1 bazillion games
Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 03:25 PM   #7
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thank you @md_Guy.

I am going to press the button and see what happens.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 03:51 PM   #8
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 12,689
Ristogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TombStone View Post
Thank you @md_Guy.

I am going to press the button and see what happens.
Don't do it. It's just what they'll be expecting you to do!
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 03:59 PM   #9
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
Don't do it. It's just what they'll be expecting you to do!
I can't help it. It's a button
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 04:58 PM   #10
drwright
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Illinois
Posts: 445
drwright is still being judged by the masses


Default

Do NOT press the shiny, red, candylike button!
drwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 05:17 PM   #11
Auric
Bananad
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,470
Auric is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
Look on the bright side, one day our sun will supernova red giant and this won't even be a memory.
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 01:52 AM   #12
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well I couldn't resist. Pressed the button and the cpu overclocked to 3.8Ghz. That was the easiest overclocking I have ever done.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 12:58 PM   #13
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 12,689
Ristogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

So is it stable?
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 03:52 PM   #14
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
So is it stable?
Yes it is. Ran Prime95 all day. Temps are fine. Went about gaming for a couple of hours without any problems.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 07:42 PM   #15
ShaidarHaran
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 21,162
ShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Very nice. I guess it's not to be unexpected either. I wonder how long it will take other manufacturers to follow suit. I'd much rather buy a Gigabyte board than an MSI board.
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 08:23 PM   #16
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

I had Gigabyte boards for years. I liked them But wanted a change.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 09:29 PM   #17
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,270
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

Gigabyte has the Turbo Boost thing as well.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 11:52 PM   #18
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perky McGiggles View Post
Gigabyte has the Turbo Boost thing as well.
I so didn't know that. When I first started to spec my new system, I didn't even bother with the Gigabyte boards. Oh well, it's a nice feature to have on any board
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 12:05 AM   #19
-n7-
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,193
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Great to hear, but as a cautionary note, it's likely setting far higher vcore, but more dangerously, far higher vtt than is needed, or is ideal.

I'd try setting vtt as low as possible manually (yet still stable), as that's one value you don't want overly high.
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 12:52 AM   #20
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
Great to hear, but as a cautionary note, it's likely setting far higher vcore, but more dangerously, far higher vtt than is needed, or is ideal.

I'd try setting vtt as low as possible manually (yet still stable), as that's one value you don't want overly high.
Thank you -N7-

The next time I reboot I will have a look. Any suggestions?
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 01:34 AM   #21
the_mup
Did I microstutter?
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United States Florida
Posts: 969
the_mup is still being judged by the masses


Default

Those auto overclocking features are cool if you just want more speed without effort. Like it was said, they almost always overvolt...sometimes by a large amount.

A D0 most likely won't need a big voltage jump to get to 4ghz. You can bring down the voltage from where jimba the genie sets it at. Then run a small FFT test in prime for just the cores.

If it sets you around 200blck the IOH shouldn't need more than about 1.22

Foxconn VTT works differently than any other board that I'm aware of. It groups the two settings into one setting called "uncore." Not sure I can give you any numbers for this.

But just bring it down .02v at a time from where the genie sets it until its unstable. Then just bring it back up.

The tests to use for the uncore are memtest and prime95 blend.
__________________
Foxconn Bloodrage
CoreI7 920
Mushkin 12GB
Powercolor 290x LCS
PC Power and Cooling 860w
Muskin SSD
ASUS 24" HDMI Widescreen
Custom Watercooled
Windows 8.1 x64
the_mup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 02:33 AM   #22
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 02:57 AM   #23
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

MSI Control cener is wrong.

Vcore is only 1.42
VTT is 1.25
Dram Voltage is 1.5

According to the BIOS
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 09:48 AM   #24
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 12,689
Ristogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete strangerRistogod once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaidarHaran View Post
Very nice. I guess it's not to be unexpected either. I wonder how long it will take other manufacturers to follow suit. I'd much rather buy a Gigabyte board than an MSI board.
Well, I'm doing a build for a friend using an Asus P7P55D and it has some auto-overclocking feature built into it also (not the OC Profiles either, some app that finds and tests the best overclock, Autotune or something like that). I'm not planning on overclocking though as they are just making use of the Turbo-boost feature. So I won't be able to comment on its effectiveness.

Incidentally, I started this build with a Giga-Byte board and gave me a lot of minor issues I had to work through, only to have it eventually go bad all together so that the board had to be replaced.

That is the second Giga-Byte board that didn't hold up for me in my life. Whereas Asus has never failed me. I don't want to say bad things about Giga-Byte though. I have friends all around me that are using them just fine. Plus it's hard to deny their features to value ratio. Its not like you can't find people to say bad things about Asus either. But I usually chalk that up to the fact that they are selling so many boards that it's highly likely you're going to hear more about when someone does have a problem.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 11:10 AM   #25
Perky McGiggles
I see what you did there
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Highway 20
Posts: 21,270
Perky McGiggles is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_mup View Post
Those auto overclocking features are cool if you just want more speed without effort. Like it was said, they almost always overvolt...sometimes by a large amount.
Yup.

It's nice though for getting you started so you can further tweak it to something more sane.
__________________
Perky McGiggles
And he sayeth unto Perky, the numbers 2, 5, and/or 7 are an
abomination and should never be used in an internet forum
name, so sayeth the Lord.
- Penguins 22, chapter 3, verse 8
Perky McGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 04:42 PM   #26
TombStone
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 653
TombStone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
Well, I'm doing a build for a friend using an Asus P7P55D and it has some auto-overclocking feature built into it also (not the OC Profiles either, some app that finds and tests the best overclock, Autotune or something like that). I'm not planning on overclocking though as they are just making use of the Turbo-boost feature. So I won't be able to comment on its effectiveness.

Incidentally, I started this build with a Giga-Byte board and gave me a lot of minor issues I had to work through, only to have it eventually go bad all together so that the board had to be replaced.

That is the second Giga-Byte board that didn't hold up for me in my life. Whereas Asus has never failed me. I don't want to say bad things about Giga-Byte though. I have friends all around me that are using them just fine. Plus it's hard to deny their features to value ratio. Its not like you can't find people to say bad things about Asus either. But I usually chalk that up to the fact that they are selling so many boards that it's highly likely you're going to hear more about when someone does have a problem.
I have to agree about Asus boards. I have 2 that are from the socket 939 days. A8N-E and an A8N-SLI Premium that to this day still work. In fact my socket 478 Gigabyte boards also work.

I have disabled the OC Genie and will overclock manually. the_mup and -N7- ( Thanks lads ) are right about the Genie setting everything higher than what is needed.

I did some Googling to find out what voltage others were running to achive stable overclocks and to my shock, some are reaching 4Ghz without raising to Vcore at all.

However, what the OC Genie did do was to show me what settings in the BIOS need to be changed. I have only had this system for about 3 weeks and it does take some getting used to.

Thank you everyone

Tombstone
__________________
Gaming Rig
Antec P 183 / Corsair H50 cooler / Enermax 1050 85+ PSU / MSI P55 GD65 / Intel i7 860 @ 4GHz / Zalman ZM-RC1000 Ram Cooler / 8GB Corsair Dominator XMP 1600 DDR3 / Zotac GTX 295 + Galaxy GTS 250 PhysX / Falcon II SSD / 2x 1 TB Seagate HDD / X-Fi Titanium / Logitech Z680 5.1 / Logitech G35 HDST / Microsoft X8 Sidewinder / 24 inch LG LCD + 20 inch SyncMaster LCD / Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

HTPC
BioStar HP67+ / Core i5 2500k / 8GB Corsair Memory / Galaxy GTX 260+ / Audigy 2 ZS / 8TB of Stuff
TombStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Press button.... switchAMG Off Topic Lounge 20 Apr 9, 2007 05:51 PM
When I use profile of Sidewinder Gamepad, can only press one button at a time! :( RobotJesus General Hardware 0 Aug 15, 2002 01:28 PM
Problem with DVD genie HiThere Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Jul 24, 2001 01:20 PM
DVD Genie 4.0 is out. GakValadep Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 May 20, 2001 02:24 PM
Janes F/A-18 crashes when i press the fly button... MasterGoa Radeon Technical Support 6 Nov 15, 2000 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink