Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2009, 10:37 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default Just inform all guys, my 4850CF has poor performance in NFS:Shift

I use Cat 9.9 drv
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:04 PM   #2
Destroy
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States WI
Posts: 17,499
Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Can anyone else confirm ATI issues with Shift?
__________________
Member of the Glorious PC Gaming Master Race-"Doesn't any game maker know how to make a PC feeling game anymore? I hate all this console afterbirth crap we're getting lately."
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:32 PM   #3
DOXau
Random Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia Perth
Posts: 223
DOXau is still being judged by the masses


Default

do you have motion blur turned up high while using AA? That was killing performance for me... turning it down gave me a solid 60ish
DOXau is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 17, 2009, 01:00 AM   #4
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Can anyone else confirm ATI issues with Shift?
pcgameshardware.de already confirmed it, it said AMD was aware of this problem.

one of my friend he found the GPU usage didn't reach 100% loading on his 4850 when running SHIFT.
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 01:02 AM   #5
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOXau View Post
do you have motion blur turned up high while using AA? That was killing performance for me... turning it down gave me a solid 60ish
all max setting, since the GPU usage didn't reach 100%, I can say this's another TWMTBP game.
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 01:56 AM   #6
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 62,121
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Same problem. Crappy performance. Removing vsync resulted in fps in ranges of 30-45 but w/ tearing it looks crap.

Will there be a time when 4 different games are released and we not need 4 different driver sets...
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 02:57 AM   #7
DOXau
Random Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia Perth
Posts: 223
DOXau is still being judged by the masses


Default

yeh i retract my earlier comment after playing it a bit longer, game has serious fps issues..60fps on one part of track..dropping down to 15fps a corner later :/ (with only 2xaa on 4870x2)
DOXau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 03:21 AM   #8
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KickAssCop View Post
Will there be a time when 4 different games are released and we not need 4 different driver sets...
isnt that the nvidia way? a flood of multiple driver versions, each better for 1 group of games than another driver & its other group of games



as for shift, remember how undercover got some patch that fixed a ton of what sounds like the exact same perf issues? too bad prostreet's patch just capped the game to 30 to hide fps drops
although blackbox didnt make shift...

EDIT: http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost...8&postcount=38 ?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK

Last edited by kn00tcn : Sep 17, 2009 at 03:31 AM.
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 04:00 AM   #9
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

4850CF GPUs Usage,obviously not 100%, I''ll tried 4850 single card later

http://bbs.pczilla.net/attachments/m...174e501962.jpg
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 04:05 AM   #10
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 62,121
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
isnt that the nvidia way? a flood of multiple driver versions, each better for 1 group of games than another driver & its other group of games



as for shift, remember how undercover got some patch that fixed a ton of what sounds like the exact same perf issues? too bad prostreet's patch just capped the game to 30 to hide fps drops
although blackbox didnt make shift...

EDIT: http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost...8&postcount=38 ?
I couldn't understand much of what was being said in that post. Care to explain in English to a layman? Thanks.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 04:29 AM   #11
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

4850CF GPUs Usage in NFS: SHIFT,obviously not 100%





4850CF usage in Resident Evil 5, seems NV found a new trick to demolish ATi graphics cards performance.


Last edited by Gothic3 : Sep 17, 2009 at 04:31 AM.
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 05:57 PM   #12
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

I get an average of 75 FPS a low of 30 (for the grid lineup bits where the people are around the car) and a high of 110 FPS (although that part depends on the track) with my 4870X2 at 1920 x 1200 with no AA, with 8xAA it brings the average down to 65FPS.

GPU usage isnt 100% though so no doubt it can get a bit higher.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester

Last edited by spyre : Sep 17, 2009 at 06:07 PM.
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 05:57 PM   #13
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

that gpu usage pic is useless without fps (& possibly cpu) listed

if the game has an fps cap or vsync, gpu usage wont be solid
if the game is killing the cpu, gpu usage wont be solid

that said, FC2 dx10 had strange minimums, where gpu usage would start dropping, fixed in 9.8
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 06:01 PM   #14
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KickAssCop View Post
I couldn't understand much of what was being said in that post. Care to explain in English to a layman? Thanks.
i have seen many nv users using all kinds of different driver versions because each of these versions works best on certain games only

in need for speed undercover, there was a patch that fixed a bunch of performance issues that the stock game had, so it is possible similar is happening to shift (but the dev of shift is not the same dev as undercover)

in need for speed prostreet, it also had a patch, but it capped fps to 30 permanently, thereby hiding fps fluctuations

the link is someone tweaking nfs shift so that it stopped having as huge performance drops

better?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 09:45 PM   #15
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
I get an average of 75 FPS a low of 30 (for the grid lineup bits where the people are around the car) and a high of 110 FPS (although that part depends on the track) with my 4870X2 at 1920 x 1200 with no AA, with 8xAA it brings the average down to 65FPS.

GPU usage isnt 100% though so no doubt it can get a bit higher.
then tried 1920x1200 4xAA 16xAF Max setting( Motion Blur High) pls
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 09:55 PM   #16
Destroy
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States WI
Posts: 17,499
Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

So Spyre is the only one that has no issues with running this game? Weird.
__________________
Member of the Glorious PC Gaming Master Race-"Doesn't any game maker know how to make a PC feeling game anymore? I hate all this console afterbirth crap we're getting lately."
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 10:22 PM   #17
Falcon1
Free Bird
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany Bergen (Near Munich)
Posts: 1,138
Falcon1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'll test tomorrow... it's 4:21am and I'm going to bed now... *yawn*
__________________
Falcon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 11:48 PM   #18
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think I know why I was getting better performance than everyone else now, the more AI opponents you add the worse FPS you get. If there are no cars in front of you then you get good FPS. With 15 AI opponents the FPS was 30. Once you pass them all it goes upto 60+ So 10 more AI opponents than normal drops the average FPS by 15 when they are behind you and by 35 fps when they are visible in front of you.

I guess it depends how much CPU strain the extra cars require vs amount of extra detail that needs drawing etc.

I'd try my 8800GT but it died.

I guess you would have to measure the average CPU load vs number of AI cars to see if that plays a significant part or not.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 12:34 AM   #19
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
I think I know why I was getting better performance than everyone else now, the more AI opponents you add the worse FPS you get. If there are no cars in front of you then you get good FPS. With 15 AI opponents the FPS was 30. Once you pass them all it goes upto 60+ So 10 more AI opponents than normal drops the average FPS by 15 when they are behind you and by 35 fps when they are visible in front of you.

I guess it depends how much CPU strain the extra cars require vs amount of extra detail that needs drawing etc.

I'd try my 8800GT but it died.

I guess you would have to measure the average CPU load vs number of AI cars to see if that plays a significant part or not.
never meet this problem even in DIRT1, tens of cars colide toghter, but fps is still high
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:36 AM   #20
DOXau
Random Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia Perth
Posts: 223
DOXau is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeh i was noticing the other ai cars lowering fps, dont think its the ai itself, but the rendering of their cars/tire smoke.. or perhaps even their physx set too high?
DOXau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 02:13 AM   #21
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOXau View Post
Yeh i was noticing the other ai cars lowering fps, dont think its the ai itself, but the rendering of their cars/tire smoke.. or perhaps even their physx set too high?
according to some nv boys, this game uses PhyX CPU
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 02:17 AM   #22
becco
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: in its right place
Posts: 1,990
becco is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothic3 View Post
according to some nv boys, this game uses PhyX CPU
Link please, thanks. I dont think this game use CUDA.
__________________
“The person you love can only go as far as you let them in" - Billy Corgan

My YouTube
becco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 03:29 AM   #23
LordJuanlo
Catalyst Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spain Spain
Posts: 730
LordJuanlo is still being judged by the masses


Default

DOXau said the game uses PhysX CPU, not GPU, this means equal PhysX performance on ATI and nVidia cards and no CUDA
__________________
Intel i7 3930K C2 / Phanteks TC14 Premium
Asus Rampage IV Formula / 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsZ DDR3 2133 Quad Channel
Corsair Force GT 60 GB SATA3 / WD Caviar Black 2 TB
3 x Radeon 7970 on 3 x Benq XL2420T (EyeFinity 5760x1080 @ 120Hz)
Onkyo TX-NR709 Receiver / KEF KHT 2005.3 Speakers / Westone 3 EarPhones
Ideazon Fang / Microsoft Wireless Controller / G27 Racing Wheel
Windows 8 Pro x64 / Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Oculus Rift
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 06:14 AM   #24
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

9.8 cat seems better
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 06:40 AM   #25
Riou
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 288
Riou is still being judged by the masses


Default

Spyre might be correct, the game runs pretty quickly once your jump all the way up to first place on my 4870 crossfire.

Is everyone using the default cockpit view?
__________________

Riou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 10:57 AM   #26
Destroy
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States WI
Posts: 17,499
Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Destroy once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou View Post
Spyre might be correct, the game runs pretty quickly once your jump all the way up to first place on my 4870 crossfire.

Is everyone using the default cockpit view?
But that doesn't explain why NV guys are having no frame rate issues.
__________________
Member of the Glorious PC Gaming Master Race-"Doesn't any game maker know how to make a PC feeling game anymore? I hate all this console afterbirth crap we're getting lately."
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 12:26 PM   #27
Lurk
Going Nowhere Fast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Italy Torino
Posts: 4,661
Lurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothic3
never meet this problem even in DIRT1, tens of cars colide toghter, but fps is still high
Untrue. DiRT ran like dirt, and multiple AI was one of the reasons. The coding has been fixed miraculously on GRID.
__________________
No question is dumb if you do not know the answer.
Q: How can you move on in life if all you care about is pussy and videogames?
A: You don't.
Lurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:41 PM   #28
ECH1
deal with it
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,622
ECH1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here is what I noticed in a 15 car race at 1680, 4xAA, all max'd:

GPU usage is around 90% (however, it depends on the track) when you start the race. As you battle for 1st place it seem to be hoover around 90%. However, if contact is made with AI cars or other objects GPU usage seems to take a dip in the 80% range.
Quote:
...For less complex physics calculations (low-level), like collisions with the track limits, Nvidia'sPhysx API is used...
PC Games Hardware. The GPU usage is 100% when you are in the lead with the AI opponents are far behind. CPU usage is around the mid 60% throughout the race. It seems to load 2 cores evenly.

Can someone from AMD confirm if the decreasing GPU usage can be fixed via new driver or driver patch?

Last edited by ECH1 : Sep 18, 2009 at 02:19 PM.
ECH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 01:51 PM   #29
ECH1
deal with it
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,622
ECH1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurk View Post
Untrue. DiRT ran like dirt, and multiple AI was one of the reasons. The coding has been fixed miraculously on GRID.
Actually he's right it wasn't the cars that was the problem in Dirt it was ridding on the grass and other none track aspects which caused frame rates to dip back then. Yes, the multi car events were a tad more taxing then the single car events but it wasn't the same as in this game. However, that was all fixed when CM improved on their ego engine.

Last edited by ECH1 : Sep 18, 2009 at 02:18 PM.
ECH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2009, 02:11 PM   #30
Gothic3
ATI Rage II C+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: China Nanjing
Posts: 604
Gothic3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurk View Post
Untrue. DiRT ran like dirt, and multiple AI was one of the reasons. The coding has been fixed miraculously on GRID.
u tried 4000 seires on DIRT before? or 2900XT?

Last edited by Gothic3 : Sep 18, 2009 at 04:02 PM.
Gothic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just inform u guys, 5870 performs badly in Splinter Cell: Conviction Gothic3 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 17 May 8, 2010 11:38 AM
Cat 9.12 + NFS: Shift Patch 1.2 = Performance Improvement! ECH1 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 30 Nov 13, 2009 05:09 AM
holy****, 4850CF performance drops around 30% in Retail Resident Evil 5! Gothic3 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 Sep 20, 2009 02:24 PM
Poor Performance from my 9800 PRO.Please Help Guys trust-no1 Radeon Technical Support 6 Jan 29, 2004 01:37 PM
Poor Poor performance even when overclocked TetsuOH Radeon Technical Support 0 Feb 16, 2003 04:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink