Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » CATALYST Drivers
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

CATALYST Drivers Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Catalyst Drivers. Please put Linux-specific driver posts and Remote Wonder discussion in their respective forums.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2009, 09:25 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
rflair
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 244
rflair is still being judged by the masses


Default Catalyst 9.6 (8.62)



Vista x86/x64 (Windows 7 users use the Vista drivers, manual install or patch file)

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ILPNRHCF

Win7 x86/x64 Patch

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DDDA4Q28

XP x86/x64

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YCI4WVZ9

Enjoy.

Last edited by rflair : Jun 8, 2009 at 12:00 PM.
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 09:55 AM   #2
Android1
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Upper Midwest
Posts: 8,831
Android1 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAndroid1 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

What changes have been made since 9.5?
Android1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:10 AM   #3
=Mustang=
Eagle Dynamics Betatester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England Chelmsford
Posts: 202
=Mustang= is still being judged by the masses


Default

Many thanks rflair, awaiting the XP version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Android1 View Post
What changes have been made since 9.5?
yes, would be nice to know a little about what the 9.6 is about, infact, whenever any beta gets leaked it would be great to know whats been changed
=Mustang= is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:44 AM   #4
Thr0tt
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 3,939
Thr0tt is still being judged by the masses


Default

There should be some fixes. I think you may be asking a lot, if you are worried about what is actually fixed and what % increases in FPS you should be getting then wait for the official ones which will follow shortly...I guess

Wheres the XP ones, I hear we get 85% increase in Notepad.exe fps.
__________________
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC | 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:48 AM   #5
=Mustang=
Eagle Dynamics Betatester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England Chelmsford
Posts: 202
=Mustang= is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thr0tt View Post
There should be some fixes. I think you may be asking a lot, if you are worried about what is actually fixed and what % increases in FPS you should be getting then wait for the official ones which will follow shortly...I guess

Wheres the XP ones, I hear we get 85% increase in Notepad.exe fps.
Don't get me wrong, i'll try out this beta regardless, no worries there

All i'm saying is, it would be nice to get a little clue as to what may have been altered/added, like when the beta nvidia drivers get leaked

Overall though, i am grateful for the beta releases that rflair puts out!
=Mustang= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:54 AM   #6
Thr0tt
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 3,939
Thr0tt is still being judged by the masses


Default

I knew that but just getting in before others start bitching about no release notes or info with them etc. rflair has already reported some smoother gameplay in TF2 and suggests these may not be finals.
__________________
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC | 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:58 AM   #7
=Mustang=
Eagle Dynamics Betatester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England Chelmsford
Posts: 202
=Mustang= is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thr0tt View Post
I knew that but just getting in before others start bitching about no release notes or info with them etc. rflair has already reported some smoother gameplay in TF2 and suggests these may not be finals.
No probs mate, i hear ya

I've read about the reported improvements over at Guru3D forums with TF2, i recall that there were some performance issues with OpenGL in 9.5, seems they are fixed (is TF2 OpenGL? i don't know since i don't play it)
=Mustang= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:01 AM   #8
FiggyG
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,064
FiggyG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFiggyG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by =Mustang= View Post
No probs mate, i hear ya

I've read about the reported improvements over at Guru3D forums with TF2, i recall that there were some performance issues with OpenGL in 9.5, seems they are fixed (is TF2 OpenGL? i don't know since i don't play it)
TF2 is DX9.
FiggyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:04 AM   #9
=Mustang=
Eagle Dynamics Betatester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England Chelmsford
Posts: 202
=Mustang= is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiggyG View Post
TF2 is DX9.
Ok, thanks
=Mustang= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:27 AM   #10
{WOR}lock
Reformed Dweller
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia Western Australia
Posts: 1,648
{WOR}lock is still being judged by the masses


Default

Fallout 3 HDR Bug in crossfire is fixed.
{WOR}lock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:31 AM   #11
rflair
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 244
rflair is still being judged by the masses


Default

Uploads done.
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:33 AM   #12
zebra 204
Rage3D Manches Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States New York
Posts: 5,909
zebra 204 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by {WOR}lock View Post
Fallout 3 HDR Bug in crossfire is fixed.
For ****ing real?! Cool, about time. What about water displacement?
__________________
Currently Playing: Everything

To Play List: Everything else
zebra 204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:38 AM   #13
{WOR}lock
Reformed Dweller
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia Western Australia
Posts: 1,648
{WOR}lock is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra 204 View Post
For ****ing real?! Cool, about time. What about water displacement?
Meh. No I spoke too soon. It looked fixed. But the problem is still there.
{WOR}lock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:48 AM   #14
=Mustang=
Eagle Dynamics Betatester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England Chelmsford
Posts: 202
=Mustang= is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok got the XP version, all seems to have installed fine, thanks rflair!

=Mustang= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 03:18 PM   #15
Luke7
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Luke7 is still being judged by the masses


Default

All Avivo settings works again like in the cat 9.4
But this driver still breakes Areo with blu-ray playback as the 9.5 do, it works perfect in cat 9.4
Luke7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 06:23 PM   #16
Hans
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 244
Hans is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for sharing, rflair.

I've installed them without any probs. In my favorite game Crysis DX10 the performance went up by 5% to 12% (1920x1200, VeryHigh, 4xAA, 16xAF). Very nice. A lot of crossfire profiles have been added.
__________________
Dual E8600 - X38 Mobo - Triple Crossfire 4870 - 4 GB RAM - Eizo S2431W - Vista 64-bit - Cat 9.7
Hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 08:12 PM   #17
Dwarden
Bohemia Interactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Czech Republic Brno, Czech Republic
Posts: 3,267
Dwarden is still being judged by the masses


Default

impressive ... instead of fixes for ArmA 2 (related to VRAM fragmentation)
it came up with BSOD

Quote:
BugCheck 10000050, {800000b8, 1, bf24f76b, 0}


Could not read faulting driver name
Probably caused by : ati3duag.dll ( ati3duag+6476b )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

1: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: 800000b8, memory referenced.
Arg2: 00000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: bf24f76b, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
address.
Arg4: 00000000, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------


Could not read faulting driver name

WRITE_ADDRESS: 800000b8

FAULTING_IP:
ati3duag+6476b
bf24f76b 89a8b8000000 mov dword ptr [eax+0B8h],ebp

MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50

PROCESS_NAME: arma2.exe

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 00000000 to bf24f76b

STACK_TEXT:
00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 ati3duag+0x6476b


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
ati3duag+6476b
bf24f76b 89a8b8000000 mov dword ptr [eax+0B8h],ebp

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 0

SYMBOL_NAME: ati3duag+6476b

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: ati3duag

IMAGE_NAME: ati3duag.dll

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4a00ff01

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x50_ati3duag+6476b

BUCKET_ID: 0x50_ati3duag+6476b

Followup: MachineOwner
__________________
Ideas are like ocean without borders ! [O] https://twitter.com/FoltynD
I support Open Game Protocol
HD 8880 1GHz /1.5GHz 4096MB GGDR5, 6xDisplayPort 1.2 (HDMI 2.0 & DVI-D dongles included) with SILENT cooling! cmon baby
needed CCC features == online up2date Game profiles or ALL of ATT / RadeonPro (if you fail deliver don't even try say You got technical advantage)
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 08:16 PM   #18
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,353
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

If I had that game I would test it and bring it to the driver guys attention, but I dont have it, so I wont.
__________________
I do NOT work for AMD/ATI!!!!
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 08:52 PM   #19
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

Release date(s)

DE May 29, 2009[1]
CZ June 17, 2009[2]
SK June 17, 2009
EU June 19, 2009[3]
US June 26, 2009

right.. ArmA2 game isnt even out in english form for most people/driver team to test/buy, & there is a 97mb german patch on the site

ati3duag is the winXP d3d driver right?

hans, what do you mean a lot of crossfire profiles were added? got a list/decompiled?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 09:32 PM   #20
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,353
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Not to mention that the Steam version is released oddly on the 30th of June.

I'd post the list of new Crossfire profiles but I cant since I am using better drivers than these with more profiles added.
__________________
I do NOT work for AMD/ATI!!!!
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:29 PM   #21
Napoleonic
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,611
Napoleonic is still being judged by the masses


Default

does this fix the poor 4850 performance from 9.5?
__________________
I guess it's the trend nowdays with games; either you are a hardcore PC GAME, or you live long enough to see yourself become a console port
Napoleonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 02:02 AM   #22
Dwarden
Bohemia Interactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Czech Republic Brno, Czech Republic
Posts: 3,267
Dwarden is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
Not to mention that the Steam version is released oddly on the 30th of June.

I'd post the list of new Crossfire profiles but I cant since I am using better drivers than these with more profiles added.
there is quite lot of users who got the german release builds (via online distribution system of german publisher)...

not to mention lot of users with issues was waiting for this driver as per devs suggestion ...
__________________
Ideas are like ocean without borders ! [O] https://twitter.com/FoltynD
I support Open Game Protocol
HD 8880 1GHz /1.5GHz 4096MB GGDR5, 6xDisplayPort 1.2 (HDMI 2.0 & DVI-D dongles included) with SILENT cooling! cmon baby
needed CCC features == online up2date Game profiles or ALL of ATT / RadeonPro (if you fail deliver don't even try say You got technical advantage)
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 03:02 AM   #23
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 23,525
demo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

AAA is still broken in Empire Total War.. while transparency AA seems to work fine on my 8800 system.. any chance you can pass that along please Spyre?
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 03:14 AM   #24
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

but how can the most probably english driver team get & play with a german game
not that the current users arent important, but the game isnt global yet

napoleonic, did you experience a change on your own 4850? tweaktown was the only major site that slowed down, then xbit or was it vrzone got the opposite, etc
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 03:53 AM   #25
Napoleonic
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,611
Napoleonic is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
napoleonic, did you experience a change on your own 4850? tweaktown was the only major site that slowed down, then xbit or was it vrzone got the opposite, etc
tweaktown is the only one who tested 4850 on 9.5 and because of that I skipped 9.5, I'm still using 9.4 here
__________________
I guess it's the trend nowdays with games; either you are a hardcore PC GAME, or you live long enough to see yourself become a console port
Napoleonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 04:51 AM   #26
Thr0tt
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 3,939
Thr0tt is still being judged by the masses


Default

Graphics corruption with these drivers still exist in ArmA and ArmA2, massive artifacts which looks like memory corruption.

GPU temps stable and no overclocking, only ArmA/2 is affected.

I thought the Cat team had ArmA2 thus the profiles were there in the previous 2 releases ?
__________________
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC | 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 04:58 AM   #27
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,614
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think your best bet would be to get everyone that plays ArmA2 with issues to spam Terrys twitter - that would get their attention
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 05:39 AM   #28
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,353
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Or just get you ignored.
__________________
I do NOT work for AMD/ATI!!!!
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 06:42 AM   #29
Luke7
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Luke7 is still being judged by the masses


Default

@Spyre

Do you know if AMD care about the Areo issue with blu-ray playback?
The 9.6 Beta is certainly better than the 9.5, so keep going
Luke7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 06:43 AM   #30
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,614
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

And thats diffrent from right now in what way?

Nah, I am only kidding around - the game will most likely get fixed soonish.

It took constant whining over at driverheaven by me before someone from ATi PMed me about the memory leak issue (arma1). After taking him to the arma-forums (saw dwarden there aswell), they finally managed to repro' it and finally get it fixed.
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are the Catalyst beta testers/AMD Blind? - Catalyst 10.10 pink tint Broken Hope CATALYST Drivers 65 Nov 21, 2010 10:43 AM
How about changing Catalyst Tech Support to just Catalyst forum? monkeydust Feedback Central 7 Jul 7, 2004 01:53 PM
Question for Catalyst maker (know it's trivial, but hell. Also in Catalyst 3.1 fora) Gom CATALYST Drivers 0 Feb 11, 2003 05:15 PM
VIVO + Catalyst = No video in??? (Catalyst is making BOTH my machines die slowly) HAL10000 Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 3 Jun 25, 2002 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink