Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Operating Systems » Linux
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Linux Forum to discuss the popular Open Source operating system, plus other *NIX derivatives. Discussions about AMD Catalyst drivers can be had in the relevant subforum.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2009, 08:14 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
FX-Overclocking
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11,943
FX-Overclocking can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFX-Overclocking can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Linux How do I check my computer's specs from the command line?

I'm using Fedora (and sometimes Centos) and would like to learn how to get detailed system specs from the Terminal. I need to figure out not only what CPU it has, but things like Network cards and so on as well.

Thx.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:44 AM   #2
Lithorus
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,411
Lithorus is still being judged by the masses


Default

"lspci -vv" and "cat /proc/cpuinfo" is your friend
__________________

Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 05:16 AM   #3
squid
Crack attack
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia 127.0.0.1
Posts: 14,356
squid once held a door open for a complete strangersquid once held a door open for a complete strangersquid once held a door open for a complete strangersquid once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

lspci -w is an invalid option on my comp (debian). lspci (without -w) dumps all the stuff fine though

EDIT: i just realised that you meant vv not w. damn fonts

Last edited by squid : Apr 1, 2009 at 08:03 PM.
squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 1, 2009, 07:05 PM   #4
FX-Overclocking
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11,943
FX-Overclocking can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFX-Overclocking can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Cool, thanks. I'll try them out tonight and get back to y'all.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 11:06 PM   #5
mooninite
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 673
mooninite is still being judged by the masses


Default

Also, dmesg (or /var/log/dmesg) contains the kernel output, which kernel modules will output miscellaneous information about your hardware.

lshal or gnome-device-manager will display what Hal knows about your hardware.
__________________
CAPS LOCK: ITS LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL FOR AWESOME
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2009, 02:42 AM   #6
Lithorus
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,411
Lithorus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squid View Post
lspci -w is an invalid option on my comp (debian). lspci (without -w) dumps all the stuff fine though

EDIT: i just realised that you meant vv not w. damn fonts
lspci -v might be better though as it also like -vv lists which kernel modules are loaded to a specific device.
__________________

Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2009, 06:16 AM   #7
Rubicashrama
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Rubicashrama is still being judged by the masses


Default

part from the motherboard almost everything is listed here

Start->Run->dxdiag.exe

for the MotherBoard goto Device Manager and check System Devices. From there u maybe able to interpret it via the ICH codes. else just goto the BIOS and the motherboard should be listed there.


Thanks!
Rubicashrama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2009, 06:25 AM   #8
jimmt
It's better with wings!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Mississippi
Posts: 16,947
jimmt is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubicashrama View Post
part from the motherboard almost everything is listed here

Start->Run->dxdiag.exe

for the MotherBoard goto Device Manager and check System Devices. From there u maybe able to interpret it via the ICH codes. else just goto the BIOS and the motherboard should be listed there.


Thanks!
This is a linux forum
__________________
Please check out my Blog for technology articles on Open source, Virtual, Windows, and other computing subjects. http://jimmt36.blogspot.com/
Desktop (Office)
Gigabyte GA-F2A85XM-D3H|AMD A10-5800k [Trinity] @ 4.2Ghz|16GB DDR3 1833|PNY GTX 650 Ti GDDR5 1GB |Windows 8 Pro|OpenSuse 12.2
Desktop (Gameroom)
Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS4|Intel Q9450 (C2Q)|8GB DDR2 800|XFX HD7770 Ultra GDDR5 1GB|Windows 8 Pro
Laptop (Laptop/Tablet Hybrid)
HP Tm2t-2100 [i5-470UM, 8GB DDR3 Ram, AMD Radeon HD5450m/Intel i915 (Switchable Graphics), 500GB HDD]|Windows 8 Pro|Opensuse 12.2
Consoles
Wii|Gamecube|Nintendo 3DS XL|DS|GBA|XBOX|XBOX 360|PS1|PS2|PS3|PSP|DreamCast|Genesis
Libertarian Party '11http://www.lp.org
"What we have today is not a capitalist society, but a mixed economy – that is, a mixture of freedom and controls, which, by the presently dominant trend, is moving toward dictatorship." - A. Rand
"For some reason, the concern seems to be more about keeping people from getting rich or taking away wealth from rich people than it is about growing the economy and putting people to work." - Crawdaddy
jimmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 05:30 PM   #9
SimonCIon
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 165
SimonCIon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Smells like *someone* just wanted to pimp their business.
MODS! ATTACK!
SimonCIon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide+ Command-Line Fa310tx Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Jun 16, 2007 10:40 PM
Battlefield 2 command line help? UDHA PC Gaming 2 Apr 27, 2006 12:09 PM
Command Line rcnut360 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Apr 2, 2006 12:51 PM
Gemstar command line Meestor_X Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Jun 11, 2003 01:51 PM
Command Line CPU ID Tool? remix_88 Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 1 Apr 4, 2002 06:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink