Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » CATALYST Drivers
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

CATALYST Drivers Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Catalyst Drivers. Please put Linux-specific driver posts and Remote Wonder discussion in their respective forums.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 10, 2009, 09:17 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 934
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Question What is/are the best ATI driver cleaner(s) today?

Hi!

Assuming after doing a normal uninstall and rebooting, is Driver Cleaner v1.5 still OK even though it hasn't been updated since 2006? What about Driver Sweeper?

Thank you in advance.
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 10:47 AM   #2
Dyre Straits
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 3,849
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antdude View Post
Hi!

Assuming after doing a normal uninstall and rebooting, is Driver Cleaner v1.5 still OK even though it hasn't been updated since 2006? What about Driver Sweeper?

Thank you in advance.
Never use any of them here. I've used ATI cards since the early PCI 8 MB All-in-Wonder card. Just run the installer and it uninstalls the older files and installs the new ones.

The one app I do use a lot is CCleaner. www.ccleaner.com
__________________
~Windows 7 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX HD 7970 3 GB GDDR5~3 ViewSonic 24 inch LCDs in Eyefinity~SATA Dual Layer DVD RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~Windows 7 Pro x64~AND....250 GB XBOX 360~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 11:21 AM   #3
karlotta
they are real
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: oregon
Posts: 2,691
karlotta is still being judged by the masses


Default

It depends, if you do RCs and betas, or you have some wacky install issue, they can help ( the drive cleaners ect...), but in using them you cant be afraid to do a format if it goes bad... I do not use them, i use the "catuninstaller" in AddRemove programs if i have some wacky issue on a install or removing a beta..then delete any folder form the ATI folder under C:\.
Some issues are from games that dont take to a new driver, they dont change the default render to the new one... (you have to delete the game config ect..) and the biggest issue is DotNET. Make sure you have the latest 2.0.x, a reinstall is a good fix

helpful stuff, is to turn off CF if you use it, before installing
karlotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 10, 2009, 11:28 AM   #4
UberRN
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United States Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A.
Posts: 9
UberRN is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would recommend not using any uninstallers. Both from personal experience and from what have posted, they cause issues when reinstalling the newer drivers and video card will not be detected. The ATI's uninstall is adaquate.
UberRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 01:02 PM   #5
Dyre Straits
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 3,849
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlotta View Post
It depends, if you do RCs and betas, or you have some wacky install issue, they can help ( the drive cleaners ect...), but in using them you cant be afraid to do a format if it goes bad... I do not use them, i use the "catuninstaller" in AddRemove programs if i have some wacky issue on a install or removing a beta..then delete any folder form the ATI folder under C:\.
Some issues are from games that dont take to a new driver, they dont change the default render to the new one... (you have to delete the game config ect..) and the biggest issue is DotNET. Make sure you have the latest 2.0.x, a reinstall is a good fix

helpful stuff, is to turn off CF if you use it, before installing
Exactly! The one time I used a drivercleaner I had to format and reinstall Windows. Got kicked off another forum for this comment, too.
__________________
~Windows 7 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX HD 7970 3 GB GDDR5~3 ViewSonic 24 inch LCDs in Eyefinity~SATA Dual Layer DVD RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~Windows 7 Pro x64~AND....250 GB XBOX 360~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 02:05 PM   #6
EYE4LYFE
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Great Lake State
Posts: 623
EYE4LYFE is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

I've used Driver Cleaner Platinum/Professional on two separate occasions and ended up getting burned both times. As a result, I had to restore from a backup image twice. The first time I used it, I figured I must have screwed something up in the selection or something. Okay, my bad. Saved all my game/app settings and restored. The second time around, I made sure that I did everything correctly. Same issue, driver installation failures. Never again!

ATI's Catalyst Install Manager does it right. When I reboot, no left over drivers are found and automatically installed. The system detects the same card as an unknown VGA device. That's a beautiful thing. From there, installation of any Catalyst package is flawless.

Last edited by EYE4LYFE : Feb 10, 2009 at 02:08 PM.
EYE4LYFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 02:32 PM   #7
MrsOldMX
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
MrsOldMX is still being judged by the masses


Default

DriverSweeper. never had a problem with it
MrsOldMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 02:48 PM   #8
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,612
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

If the ATI uninstall doesn't give the desired results, I use the method described here.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 04:46 PM   #9
Humus
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sweden Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6,266
Humus is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've never had a reason to uninstall any driver in many many years.
__________________
[ Visit my site ]
Humus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 12:25 AM   #10
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 934
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by EYE4LYFE View Post
I've used Driver Cleaner Platinum/Professional on two separate occasions and ended up getting burned both times...
Is Driver Cleaner not free anymore?
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 12:49 AM   #11
Dyre Straits
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 3,849
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antdude View Post
Is Driver Cleaner not free anymore?
The one known officially as "Driver Cleaner" is no longer free, no.
__________________
~Windows 7 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX HD 7970 3 GB GDDR5~3 ViewSonic 24 inch LCDs in Eyefinity~SATA Dual Layer DVD RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~Windows 7 Pro x64~AND....250 GB XBOX 360~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 04:12 AM   #12
badboy
RIP Paul Gray
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 15,345
badboy once held a door open for a complete strangerbadboy once held a door open for a complete strangerbadboy once held a door open for a complete strangerbadboy once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrsOldMX View Post
DriverSweeper. never had a problem with it
QFT!
Driver Sweeper is the best there is

http://phyxion.net/

And its FREE!
__________________
”Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.” - Albert Einstein

"I am against religion because it teaches us to be satisfied with not understanding the world." - Richard Dawkins

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Ben Franklin

"I'll happily keep risking it and enjoy my life" - Doozer

Luke: "God will make sure that evil gets punished"
Jason: "Oh yeah, then explain Europe to me?"
- True Blood
badboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 11:14 AM   #13
nanohead
Too many Radeons to list
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 362
nanohead is still being judged by the masses


Default

Since a mid year release last year, they made modifications to Cat installer's usage of .Net to enable to do a more thorough job of driver replacement.

I have used Driver Cleaner for years, and paid for the Pro version, but I've noticed that it doesn't really add anything anymore, especially with Vista's improved handling of drivers (including the elimination of Cab files) and the maturation of .Net.

The only thing that the driver cleaners can add any value to is the removal of errant registry settings, but it seems that Cat installer has cleaned up its act such that they might not be needed anymore.

Driver Cleaner is a much MUCH more thorough product than Driver Sweeper. But for Cat packages it might not be needed anymore. I do agree with karlotta though, that when you install RC or Betas, or even Hotfixes, these cleaners can have some value (as ATI always confuses us with how to use them, and when to use them).

I do use Driver Cleaner still with Realtek audio drivers, which occasionally bork themselves, and occasionally with ATI hotfixes. Other than that, don't use it anymore
__________________
Penetrator Gigabyte GA-MA970A-UD3, Phenom 960T Unlocked 6 Cores@4.0Ghz, 8GB GSKIL Ripjaws, Dell 20" Monitor@1600x1200, Kingston 120GB SSD boot, Seagate 7200.10 - 320Gx2 in RAID 0 data

Stormcrow ASUS Sabertooth 990FX, Phenom 960T Unlocked 6 Cores@4.1Ghz Corsair H60 Water Cooled, 2x XFX 7950 in Crossfire Water Cooled w Swiftech, 8GB GSKIL Ripjaws, 5x120GB SSD RAID 5 Array
nanohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2009, 09:53 PM   #14
Oversearch
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States Texas
Posts: 30
Oversearch is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ya, I haven't even bothered uninstalling old drivers in quite some time. The only problems I ever remember having were with CCC and .NET back when CCC first came out. Other than that, I just run the installer right on top of the old drivers and it always works fine.
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 333x9 [] Giga-Byte P35-DS3R [] 6GB GSkill DDR2-800 4-4-5 [] Radeon HD 2900 XT 512MB [] Corsair C300 64 GB SSD + 2x WD 320GB RAID 1 [] Pioneer slot-load 16x DVD [] Lite-On 32x12x40x CDRW [] ESI Juli@ -> Practical Devices XM4 -> AudioTechnica A900 headphones [] 23" NEC MultiSync EA231 WMI Monitor @ 1080p [] Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Last edited by Oversearch : Feb 11, 2009 at 09:53 PM. Reason: grammar
Oversearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 05:19 AM   #15
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

DC is free if you kept the old files from like 2005, but i havent used it since 7.10/7.12 with an x800xtpe AGP, & that's about the time the omega drivers started failing to clean install (worked overtop previous omegas though, while all previous ones i DC'ed)

my xp & 2k AGP systems i left on omega 7.12 & 7.10, while this vista64 i always install overtop, no cleaning no nothing, same for xp64 here & a 4850 i put in at work with xp32

EDIT: you're the guy with the video crashing issue... well then... though didnt you find out that it was a directdraw issue?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 09:12 AM   #16
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 934
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
DC is free if you kept the old files from like 2005, but i havent used it since 7.10/7.12 with an x800xtpe AGP, & that's about the time the omega drivers started failing to clean install (worked overtop previous omegas though, while all previous ones i DC'ed)

my xp & 2k AGP systems i left on omega 7.12 & 7.10, while this vista64 i always install overtop, no cleaning no nothing, same for xp64 here & a 4850 i put in at work with xp32

EDIT: you're the guy with the video crashing issue... well then... though didnt you find out that it was a directdraw issue?
Yeah, these old ones are easy to get BUT are they safe and still useful today? ATI drivers change and stuff. Iam having problems with blue screens ( http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?p=1335793070 ) and people think I need to uninstall, clear out ATI crap, and reinstall) to fix it. I haven't tried it yet.
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 12:54 PM   #17
Falcon1
Free Bird
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany Bergen (Near Munich)
Posts: 1,137
Falcon1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I bought Driver Cleaner.net and never regret it!
__________________
Falcon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 01:21 PM   #18
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 934
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon1 View Post
I bought Driver Cleaner.net and never regret it!
Ah, it is not worth the money to buy that I rarely use or just use once. I don't think I need to use a driver cleaner now since I found a workaround and it is a bug in the newer ATI drivers.
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 05:51 PM   #19
howard stern
EVGA GTX 680 SC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,701
howard stern is still being judged by the masses


Default

Drive sweeper works great, never had an issue using it and I upgrade to just about every new Ati driver. Perfect 10
howard stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 10:15 AM   #20
Redshirt_X
...dammit!
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: United States Plano, TX
Posts: 5,463
Redshirt_X can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRedshirt_X can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRedshirt_X can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

If memory serves, there's a small but relatively effective uninstaller executable (aticimun.exe or so on) lumped in with the driver package itself. I haven't had to use it on the Vista side in many moons (it was part of my regular XP x64 uninstall routine), but thanks to a stupid driver rollback flaking out I think I need to now...
__________________
The three stages of [whatever] fandom:

1. "OMG IT'S COMING!!!"
2. "OMG IT'S HERE!!!!!"
3. "....wait a minute. This isn't the Second Coming! This sucks!"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Qb2k5 View Post
I like them tall and petite.
Redshirt_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 04:05 PM   #21
The PIT
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 714
The PIT is still being judged by the masses


Default

At the end of the day if companies wrote their un-installers properly there wouldn't be a need for third party software.
It's just lazy sloppy programming which causes problems.
__________________
win 8 Asus p79x-pro 16gig Ram Intel I7 3930K Radeon 6970 Dell U311 Monitor Auzentech Forte
Sheffield Weather Page
Link For Pda's only
The PIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 04:39 PM   #22
jam2k
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,714
jam2k is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by howard stern View Post
Drive sweeper works great, never had an issue using it and I upgrade to just about every new Ati driver. Perfect 10
+1
jam2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver Cleaner Binux CATALYST Drivers 3 Mar 3, 2007 01:13 PM
Driver Cleaner Binux CATALYST Drivers 3 Sep 25, 2006 09:38 AM
driver cleaner harley88 Radeon Technical Support 3 Sep 8, 2004 05:29 PM
Dh Driver Cleaner AktOut CATALYST Drivers 18 Apr 12, 2003 04:55 AM
Driver CLeaner 1.0 RonT CATALYST Drivers 23 Feb 16, 2003 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink