Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2008, 08:50 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Razeus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States Houston, TX
Posts: 24,125
Razeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default Formatting a hard drive that's in use.

i have my main hard drive that contains my Vista OS. I need to blank and reformat the entire drive as I have sold it. How do I do this being that it's the boot drive and in use and contains my Vista? Can I go into DOS? How so?
Razeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 09:51 AM   #2
Pr3tty F1y
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States fhqwhgads
Posts: 8,453
Pr3tty F1y once held a door open for a complete strangerPr3tty F1y once held a door open for a complete strangerPr3tty F1y once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razeus View Post
i have my main hard drive that contains my Vista OS. I need to blank and reformat the entire drive as I have sold it. How do I do this being that it's the boot drive and in use and contains my Vista? Can I go into DOS? How so?
1.) Get a blank CD-R
2.) Boot 'n Nuke
__________________

You're dead.
Your friends are dead.
Your family's dead.
Your f**king pets are being skinned alive.
Your mom's a f**king whore.
You suck at life.
The whole world hates you.
You're going to hell.
Live with it.

GAME OVER
Pr3tty F1y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 10:07 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,951
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

This

also Active KillDisk, and Secure Erase

Note that for any bootable media you will likely have to enter the BIOS and set your SATA controller to Compatible/IDE mode.

Note that the current "Dept. of Defense" method for securely erasing data on hard drives requires the use of a degausser or physical destruction.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NISPOM:

Quote:
DoD 5220.22-M is sometimes cited as a standard for sanitization to counter data remanence. The NISPOM actually covers the entire field of government-industrial security, of which data sanitization is a very small part (about two paragraphs in a 141 page document).[4] Furthermore, the NISPOM does not actually specify any particular method. Standards for sanitization are left up to the Cognizant Security Authority. The Defense Security Service provides a Clearing and Sanitization Matrix (C&SM) which does specify methods.[5] As of the June 2007 edition of the DSS C&SM, overwriting is no longer acceptable for sanitization of magnetic media; only degaussing or physical destruction is acceptable.
"DSS Clearing & Sanitization Matrix" (PDF).

Last edited by caveman-jim : Nov 16, 2008 at 10:26 AM.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 16, 2008, 11:10 AM   #4
Razeus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States Houston, TX
Posts: 24,125
Razeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundRazeus can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr3tty F1y View Post
1.) Get a blank CD-R
2.) Boot 'n Nuke
now that's awesome. thx!
Razeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 01:31 PM   #5
TenFour
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,232
TenFour is still being judged by the masses


Default

My Windows XP installation disk setup lets you do a full format of the drive. Don't know if this is secure enough though.
TenFour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2008, 02:19 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,951
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Absolutely not.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Formatting entire hard drive. chramcow_daniel General Software 3 Nov 17, 2009 06:24 AM
Hard drive formatting tool? and other Qs ultimadrift General Hardware 2 Dec 10, 2008 01:15 AM
Formatting Hard Drive. Best Performance? OneSweeetMonkey Operating Systems 16 Feb 19, 2005 12:16 AM
Formatting secondary hard drive Jagermeister General Hardware 5 Oct 11, 2001 10:45 AM
Hard drive formatting?! No no no! Daggah Radeon Technical Support 1 Oct 24, 2000 02:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink