Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2008, 02:24 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
sarasara
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
sarasara is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies Annoying ATI Support Pop-up at Startup

Hi Folks,
I downloaded the latest drivers for my ATI Radeon card 9550 x1050 some months ago and ever since everytime I boot-up an annoying pop-up linking to ATI Support appears on my screen. I have to click it away.
How do I get rid of it?
Thanks,
Sara.
sarasara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 08:45 PM   #2
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,499
Flyordie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Shouldn't there be a little "checkbox" saying don't display this message again...?
Welcome to Rage3D Sara.
__________________
My favorite IRC Servers/Channels
irc.leagueofreason.co.uk #lor (Active)
irc.gamesurge.net #rage3d (semi-active)
irc.freenode.net (Closed)
irc.UEI.net #freetalk (semi-active)
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2008, 08:48 PM   #3
Gredival
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States Maine
Posts: 388
Gredival is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Shouldn't there be a little "checkbox" saying don't display this message again...?
Welcome to Rage3D Sara.
In the lower left corner of your window.
__________________
ATi History: | Celestica 9200se (128mb Gold Edition) | Sapphire 9800 Pro (128mb Flashed to XT) | Sapphire x800XT (256mb) | ATi x1800XT (512mb Flashed Sapphire oc BIOS) | HIS HD3870 x2(1GB)| PowerColor 4870 x2(2GB) | HIS 5970(2GB)
My AMD History: 3400+(939) | 3800+(939) | 4000+(939) | 5000+X2 BE(AM2) | Phenom X4 9950BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 940BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 965BE (AM3)

XFIRE ID: gredival
Gredival is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 21, 2008, 12:40 PM   #4
sarasara
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
sarasara is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thank you for your kind repies Gredival and Flyordie, and thank you Flyordie for your welcome.

I wrongly described it.

It is a normal MS window with a file icon labelled ATI SUPPORT.

It just has the normal menu a window has, (files, favourites, tools, ms help, etc)it has no means of getting rid of it.

It appears to be an MS window hijacked by the ATI software rather than a specific pop-up designed by ATI.

All you can do is click the X on the top right which I have to do everytime I boot.

Last edited by sarasara : Oct 21, 2008 at 01:39 PM.
sarasara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2008, 04:19 PM   #5
Gredival
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States Maine
Posts: 388
Gredival is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarasara View Post
Thank you for your kind repies Gredival and Flyordie, and thank you Flyordie for your welcome.

I wrongly described it.

It is a normal MS window with a file icon labelled ATI SUPPORT.

It just has the normal menu a window has, (files, favourites, tools, ms help, etc)it has no means of getting rid of it.

It appears to be an MS window hijacked by the ATI software rather than a specific pop-up designed by ATI.

All you can do is click the X on the top right which I have to do everytime I boot.
The only thing that comes to mind, might be the "CCC requires .net Framework 2.0 to be installed" message.
Try this,
1. Install version 2.0 or later of .NetFramework (usuming your running XP, you will find it under "custom" option, when you run a manual Windows Update)
2. secondly, uninstall Old ATi drivers...Reboot, run Driver Cleaner....Reboot and download/install the latest drivers for your card from the ATi/AMD website.

Thats just a suggestion, can you better describe the window you are seeing, or perhaps post a screenshot of it?
__________________
ATi History: | Celestica 9200se (128mb Gold Edition) | Sapphire 9800 Pro (128mb Flashed to XT) | Sapphire x800XT (256mb) | ATi x1800XT (512mb Flashed Sapphire oc BIOS) | HIS HD3870 x2(1GB)| PowerColor 4870 x2(2GB) | HIS 5970(2GB)
My AMD History: 3400+(939) | 3800+(939) | 4000+(939) | 5000+X2 BE(AM2) | Phenom X4 9950BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 940BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 965BE (AM3)

XFIRE ID: gredival

Last edited by Gredival : Oct 21, 2008 at 04:32 PM.
Gredival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 04:28 AM   #6
sarasara
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
sarasara is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks Gredival,
It's very embarassing to admit but I don't know how to make a screenshot, could you tell me what to do? Then we will know if the proceedure you outline will be the appropiate one.
Regards,
sara.
sarasara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 07:38 AM   #7
Gredival
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States Maine
Posts: 388
Gredival is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hit the "Print Screen" button on your keyboard, paste the image into your favorite picture program. Save the pic and upload it to one of the free picture hosting site. (eg: http://imageshack.us/)

But like I said before, try updating your video drivers. See if that cures your problems.
__________________
ATi History: | Celestica 9200se (128mb Gold Edition) | Sapphire 9800 Pro (128mb Flashed to XT) | Sapphire x800XT (256mb) | ATi x1800XT (512mb Flashed Sapphire oc BIOS) | HIS HD3870 x2(1GB)| PowerColor 4870 x2(2GB) | HIS 5970(2GB)
My AMD History: 3400+(939) | 3800+(939) | 4000+(939) | 5000+X2 BE(AM2) | Phenom X4 9950BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 940BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 965BE (AM3)

XFIRE ID: gredival
Gredival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 11:24 AM   #8
sarasara
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
sarasara is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gredival View Post
Hit the "Print Screen" button on your keyboard, paste the image into your favorite picture program. Save the pic and upload it to one of the free picture hosting site. (eg: http://imageshack.us/)

But like I said before, try updating your video drivers. See if that cures your problems.
The whole problem started after I had successfully updated my drivers. This window came as an add-on to that download.

.

Last edited by sarasara : Oct 23, 2008 at 11:29 AM.
sarasara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 06:13 PM   #9
Auric
Bananad
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,470
Auric is still being judged by the masses


Default

Never seen that happen before. Check the startup folder, msconfig startup, or CCleaner - tools - startup.

But in any case, the ATI\Support folder is not needed so can be deleted (it is just the contents of the unpacked driver). But if something remains expecting and trying to open it then it could remain a minor problem so best to track that down as above.
__________________
Look on the bright side, one day our sun will supernova red giant and this won't even be a memory.
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2008, 08:32 PM   #10
Gredival
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States Maine
Posts: 388
Gredival is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
The whole problem started after I had successfully updated my drivers. This window came as an add-on to that download.

.
That is interesting.

Quote:
I downloaded the latest drivers for my ATI Radeon card 9550 x1050 some months ago
What version of Cats are you running?
Not sure where or how you upgraded your drivers. But as i stated before...
in previous post. Uninstall current ATi drivers...Reboot, download/install the latest drivers for your card from the ATi/AMD website.
__________________
ATi History: | Celestica 9200se (128mb Gold Edition) | Sapphire 9800 Pro (128mb Flashed to XT) | Sapphire x800XT (256mb) | ATi x1800XT (512mb Flashed Sapphire oc BIOS) | HIS HD3870 x2(1GB)| PowerColor 4870 x2(2GB) | HIS 5970(2GB)
My AMD History: 3400+(939) | 3800+(939) | 4000+(939) | 5000+X2 BE(AM2) | Phenom X4 9950BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 940BE (AM2) | Phenom II X4 965BE (AM3)

XFIRE ID: gredival
Gredival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2008, 03:00 PM   #11
sarasara
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
sarasara is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gredival View Post
That is interesting.



What version of Cats are you running?
Not sure where or how you upgraded your drivers. But as i stated before...
in previous post. Uninstall current ATi drivers...Reboot, download/install the latest drivers for your card from the ATi/AMD website.
Hi Gredival,
Since then I have ended up in a load of grief as the new AVG FREE 8.0 is conflicting and causing me massive startup probs so I have to just leave the ATI thing atmo while I rerscue my P!
btw; I downloaded the drivers from ATI.
Thanks,
I'll download again later.
btw, if you delete the folder the window still appears.....but just without the folder!
sarasara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2008, 03:51 PM   #12
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Spokane, WA
Posts: 29,603
Lupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshLupine kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Subscriber
Default

Interesting - never seen that before. Looks like a shortcut was either placed in your startup folder or into your registry. A quick google search shows that you're not alone.

I suspect something in the installation process failed - perhaps AVG8 blocked part of the install; disabling AV software during an install process is generally recommended. If that is the case, it could be that the shortcut is pointing to a process that isn't there, so it simply opens up the folder instead.
__________________
Twitter | Facebook
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OFN - If you support MMOs = you may support potental TERRORISTS. Ne0Griever PC Gaming 6 Mar 10, 2008 07:31 AM
Removing annoying startup videos in Need For Speed: Underground? Tbone587 Radeon Technical Support 3 Dec 14, 2003 08:19 PM
Getting rid of annoying startup movies in need for speed underground? Tbone587 PC Gaming 2 Dec 14, 2003 10:12 AM
Annoying Rage3D startup/default !..?? nikita CATALYST Drivers 2 Aug 21, 2002 04:24 PM
annoying ATI folder on startup after installing RF Remote B=E=N=C=H Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Dec 24, 2001 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink