Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies Discussion forum for any graphics hardware not provided by AMD/ATI. Also place to discuss 3D technologies such as 3D Stereo, PhysX and other interesting developments/rumours in the 3D industry.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:13 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default nVIDIA GTX200 Preview: GTX260 and GTX280

Today Nvidia launches the Geforce GTX260 and Geforce GTX280. Are they the true heirs apparent to the 8800GTX? Join Rage3D as we explore the features and technology behind Nvidia's new GTX200 series.

nVIDIA GTX200 Preview: GTX260 and GTX280
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:15 AM   #2
SIrPauly
Did someone say, RGSSAA?
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States New England
Posts: 15,490
SIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Thanks!
SIrPauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:24 AM   #3
SIrPauly
Did someone say, RGSSAA?
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States New England
Posts: 15,490
SIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I was wondering about these two aspects:

Quote:
Internal Buffer structures have been upsized by 6x. This should provide a significant improvement to streamout performance.

With the GTX200 series, the Mad + Mul functions for each unit is fully exposed under all circumstance.
Nice performance with x16Q and glad you offer that setting.

Chris,

Do you know if you can use the mixed modes with these products? Or will be able to at all?
SIrPauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:32 AM   #4
spajdr
gone...
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Czech Republic Ostrava
Posts: 2,741
spajdr is still being judged by the masses


Default

Chris : what about min.fps in that SLI GTX 280 test? how much fps fall down?
__________________
| Asus Maximus V GENE | Intel i5-3570K @ 4.5 Ghz + Gelid Solution Tranquillo rev.2 |
| 8 GB DDR3 CRUCIAL Ballistix Sport VLP 1600MHz CL9 1.35V @ 2000Mhz CL11 1.65V |
| Gigabyte Geforce 660 (GV-N660OC-2GD) 1200/6500 | 240 GB Kingston HyperX 3K |
| Enermax Platimax 600W | Fractal Design R4 Black Pearl |

spajdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:54 AM   #5
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,367
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Default

Great job Chris

Did Nvidia include multi monitor SLI, similar to ATI has implemented in the past? Or atleast remove the need to reboot to enable SLI?
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark

Last edited by Debello : Jun 16, 2008 at 08:27 AM.
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 08:13 AM   #6
spajdr
gone...
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Czech Republic Ostrava
Posts: 2,741
spajdr is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debello View Post
Did Nvidia include multi monitor SLI, similar to ATI has implemented in the past? Or atleast remove the need to reboot to enable SLI?
I didnt need to reboot PC to enable SLI, never since 8800GTX, GT, GTS, Ultra, 9600GT, just windows jumps for few seconds into dos like mode and jumps back to gfx panel SLI settings.
__________________
| Asus Maximus V GENE | Intel i5-3570K @ 4.5 Ghz + Gelid Solution Tranquillo rev.2 |
| 8 GB DDR3 CRUCIAL Ballistix Sport VLP 1600MHz CL9 1.35V @ 2000Mhz CL11 1.65V |
| Gigabyte Geforce 660 (GV-N660OC-2GD) 1200/6500 | 240 GB Kingston HyperX 3K |
| Enermax Platimax 600W | Fractal Design R4 Black Pearl |

spajdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 08:26 AM   #7
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,367
Debello is still being judged by the masses


AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by spajdr View Post
I didnt need to reboot PC to enable SLI, never since 8800GTX, GT, GTS, Ultra, 9600GT, just windows jumps for few seconds into dos like mode and jumps back to gfx panel SLI settings.
I havent ran SLI since the 7800GTX days, so I didnt know. But the lack of mulit monitor SLI is really a turn off, because I really really really want to build a system based off of these. But I cant live with out a second monitor and dont want to switch between SLI and Non SLI. Besides when paying a premium you would think premium features would be included. Not knocking Nvidia, for a single chip solution it is pretty impressive, I guess Ill just hang out for the R700 reviews.

At some point it would be interesting to see a Phenom GTX 280 system vs. a Q6600 GTX 280 system.
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 08:32 AM   #8
Dandingo
Momma says I'm big boned.
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Puerto Rico NYC
Posts: 3,930
Dandingo is still being judged by the masses


Default

How about some 1680x1050 results with "high" settings and 4xAA?
__________________
Core2Quad Q9650
Asus P5K Premium
4x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800@4-4-4-12
EVGA GeForce GTX 285 (648/1476/2484)
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)

[XBOX 360 250GB Slim + Kinect] [PS3 Slim 160GB]
Dandingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 09:00 AM   #9
Wotan81
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sweden Kalmar, Sweden
Posts: 2,388
Wotan81 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Available in Sweden from US $ 900+ for the GTX 280!

http://www.komplett.se/k/ki.aspx?sku=354806
__________________
Console: PS3 and Nintedo Wii
TV: 42" Philips 42PFL9603H
Wotan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 10:44 AM   #10
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,614
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks Chris!
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:03 AM   #11
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debello View Post
I havent ran SLI since the 7800GTX days, so I didnt know. But the lack of mulit monitor SLI is really a turn off, because I really really really want to build a system based off of these. But I cant live with out a second monitor and dont want to switch between SLI and Non SLI. Besides when paying a premium you would think premium features would be included. Not knocking Nvidia, for a single chip solution it is pretty impressive, I guess Ill just hang out for the R700 reviews.

At some point it would be interesting to see a Phenom GTX 280 system vs. a Q6600 GTX 280 system.
SLI Multi monitor addressing is coming soon. I must admit. I'm a little surprised by some of the results other websites are getting. The results are all over the place.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SIrPauly View Post
I was wondering about these two aspects:



Nice performance with x16Q and glad you offer that setting.

Chris,

Do you know if you can use the mixed modes with these products? Or will be able to at all?

Mixed modes work fine. As a matter of fact. Due the insane amount of memory available. The GTX 260/280 can run 32xS with little trouble at 1680x1050 with SLI.
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:11 AM   #12
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default



Some very high results run on Crysis off my Intel Q6600 system.




Very High 16xAA/16xAF GTX 280 SLI






Very High 16xAA/16xAF GTX 260 3 Way SLI




What surprises me most is the luck some reviewers are claiming to have with the 9800GX2 @ Very High. I've never had that kind of luck. Crysis scaling has always been fairly poor at High/Medium settings for me.
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:20 AM   #13
SIrPauly
Did someone say, RGSSAA?
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States New England
Posts: 15,490
SIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!
SIrPauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:22 AM   #14
Kowan
Older than dirt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States California
Posts: 2,206
Kowan is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Thankyou for adding 16AA/16Q ChrisRay.
I use those setting when possible. The mixed modes I'll play with later.
__________________
"The happiest people don't necessarily have the best of everything.
They just make the best of everything." - Unknown
Kowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:38 AM   #15
sebazve
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 1,009
sebazve is still being judged by the masses


Default

this is one big gpu . i read on anand that you need a 1200w power supply to run it on SLI insane, jeje...
sebazve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:42 AM   #16
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,674
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

$650! Ouch!
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:47 AM   #17
KAC
Pussy face to my axe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 39,598
KAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Will a GTX 260 run on a 520W PSU with the specs I have in my rig?
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:52 AM   #18
DivotMaker
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebazve View Post
this is one big gpu . i read on anand that you need a 1200w power supply to run it on SLI insane, jeje...
Interesting...I am hearing that a 750-800W will work based on what some other review sites are stating such as [H], etc....
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 11:56 AM   #19
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker View Post
Interesting...I am hearing that a 750-800W will work based on what some other review sites are stating such as [H], etc....
You definately dont need a 1.2K PSU for 2 way GTX 280 SLI. The big issue is finding a PSU that has 8 pin compatibility that has less than 800 watts.

Chris


Quote:
Originally Posted by KickAssCop View Post
Will a GTX 260 run on a 520W PSU with the specs I have in my rig?
I dont see any specs in your sig? Typically I find the 8800GTX and GTX 260 to be very close in power consumption.
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:03 PM   #20
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

I do apologize for my own e-peen stroking here... but...


GTX 260 3 way SLI Q6600.




GTX 280 SLI 9600 Phenom Rig


__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:05 PM   #21
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,367
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nice, does the cards come with the Dual/Tri SLI connector or does it come with the motherboard.
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:06 PM   #22
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

SLI connectors come with motherboards. I think I have like 6 3 way connectors now so I just use them because they're sturdy.
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:13 PM   #23
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,032
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nice job! I this site.

And finally... a card at $400 (perhaps even less very soon) that can handle 1680x1050 with AA and AF in pretty much every game out there with very smooth framerates.

Depending on the success of the 4870, the 260 might be my next card.

Charles.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/

Last edited by cvearl : Jun 16, 2008 at 12:38 PM.
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:17 PM   #24
spajdr
gone...
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Czech Republic Ostrava
Posts: 2,741
spajdr is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spajdr View Post
Chris : what about min.fps in that SLI GTX 280 test? how much fps fall down?
__________________
| Asus Maximus V GENE | Intel i5-3570K @ 4.5 Ghz + Gelid Solution Tranquillo rev.2 |
| 8 GB DDR3 CRUCIAL Ballistix Sport VLP 1600MHz CL9 1.35V @ 2000Mhz CL11 1.65V |
| Gigabyte Geforce 660 (GV-N660OC-2GD) 1200/6500 | 240 GB Kingston HyperX 3K |
| Enermax Platimax 600W | Fractal Design R4 Black Pearl |

spajdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:19 PM   #25
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

What test are you referring too?
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:22 PM   #26
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 34,884
acroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

I know some of you don't like the [H] but I've been saying this for a while now:

"You know what we really need? More games to challenge our video cards! Age of Conan is a step in the right direction, now we need more! More are coming this fall; unfortunately it just means we have to wait. There are several good games to look forward to including FarCry 2, STALKER Clear Skies, Brothers in Arms, Spore, and Alan Wake just to name a few. But unless you are currently playing Conan on a large resolution monitor, it is hard to make the argument that either the 260 or 280 cards are big values."

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...VudGh1c2lhc3Q=

Kinda hard to justify an expensive upgrade when there's really little new to play.

My thanks to Chris for his usual great job.
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:23 PM   #27
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Herndon, VA
Posts: 10,259
SSXeon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Am I the only one thats very underwhelmed? Its really not a whole lot faster then the 9800GX2, cept the min frames must be ALOT better, and @ higher res the 1GB helps alot.
__________________


Nehalem i7 950 @ 3.06Ghz
Xigmatek Dark Knight HSF
Asus P6T X58
6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600Mhz (8-8-8-24)
XFX HD6970 2GB @ 925/5600Mhz (12.4)
Hitachi 1TB HDD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
BFG 1200w PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Dell S2209W 1080p 21.5"



BBATi Radeon 32MB PCI @ 180/180Mhz
MSI Geforce 2 GTS 32MB @ 220/375Mhz
BBATi Radeon 8500pro 64MB @ 275/550Mhz
Powercolor Radeon 9600XT 128MB @ 550/750Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800Pro 256MB @ 500/1000Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800XT:PE 256MB @ 560/1180Mhz
Powercolor Radeon X1800XL 256MB @ 600/1200Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X1900XT 512MB @ 690/1600Mhz
Powercolor Radeon HD2900XT 512MB @ 800/1600Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2400Mhz
Diamond Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2360Mhz
XFX Radeon HD4890 1GB @ 950/4400Mhz
XFX Radeon HD5870 1GB @ 850/4800Mhz



DIABLO 3!!!!!!



2006 Pontiac GTO A4 Quicksilver
56k miles
K&N FIPK Intake
SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:28 PM   #28
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Its a single card. Anyone who expected the GTX 280 to manhandle a well scaling SLI solution had pretty unrealistic expectations. The advantages of the GTX 260/280 is they arent artificially hamstrunged by memory like the 9800GX2. Often the 9800GX2 potential ends up limited by its memory rather than SLI scaling. As Single GPU card they do not rely on AFR rendering. When you put either into a Tri SLI setup. They completely man handle any 9800Gx2 Quad setup due to the memory and bandwith available to them for the resolutions these setups are designed for.

Chris
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:30 PM   #29
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 34,884
acroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestacroig considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay View Post
Anyone who expected the GTX 280 to manhandle a well scaling SLI solution had pretty unrealistic expectations.
You mean the way that G80 was able to manhandle a 7900 SLI setup?

G80 spoiled us all.
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 12:35 PM   #30
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acroig View Post
You mean the way that G80 was able to manhandle a 7900 SLI setup?

G80 spoiled us all.
The 7900GTX SLI was faster than a Geforce 8800GTX. People seem to commonly forget this. I didnt gain anything upgrading my 7900GTX SLI to G80. It wasnt until I got a second G80 card did I really see the huge performance increase. The only difference is the G80 had advanced IQ features, New DX 10. Unified shaders and full FP32 precision. ALl of which made the 8800GTX more attractive. The GT200 is modified G80 with increased shaders and reduced redundancy. But other than performance the GT200 doesnt offer the same kind of "this is new" feeling. I would not a expect a big shift in performance/quality until we see the next gen hardware.

The G80 to Gt200 is as the NV4x to G7x was.
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX260 vs GTX280 PPD? 216 core? Lupine Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 11 Oct 6, 2008 09:50 AM
Nvidia GTX260 & GTX280 Reviews Lupine General News 0 Jun 18, 2008 02:22 PM
nVIDIA GTX200 Preview: GTX260 and GTX280 Lupine General News 0 Jun 16, 2008 10:20 AM
VR-zone GTX280 preview SSXeon Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 4 Jun 16, 2008 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink