Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming Forums » Console Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Console Gaming A place to discuss our favourite past and present gaming consoles. Talk about your favorite games, get nostalgic and share tips and strategies.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2008, 01:55 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
P1x44r
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,857
P1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird sings


Default How to transfer a save file from PC to PS3?

Newbie question perhaps, but I can't get a definitive answer on Google. Basically I have a save file (or rather a bunch of files in a folder) that I need to transfer over to my PS3. What is the best/easiest method of doing it?

Thank you.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving in a pretty, pristine body but rather to come sliding in sideways, all used up and exclaiming, "Wow, what a ride!"
P1x44r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2008, 02:03 PM   #2
brc64
Zeekyboogydoog!
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Clarksville, IN
Posts: 2,977
brc64 is still being judged by the masses


Default

There are all kinds of options. The easiest would probably be to use an external harddrive or flash drive. Assuming it's not formatted with NTFS, the PS3 should immediately see the drive and let you browse it and copy the file(s) over.

If your PS3 is connected to the Internet, I believe you could also put the files online and download them via the built-in browser.
brc64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2008, 02:36 PM   #3
mynakedrat2
Howdy howdy howdy
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sao Tome e Principe Milwaukee Wisconsin
Posts: 1,772
mynakedrat2 is still being judged by the masses


Default

yep. go to settings, then scroll down to removeable media or whatever( I am not infront of the ps3) you can grab the saves that way , and then put them on the hdd.
Where did you get the saves? Usually they have info on them if you DL them from a torrent.
__________________
my graphics card is now a physx card ;
my cpu is a quad toaster

on pc gaming being dead soon
"Originally Posted by Nagorak http://www.rage3d.com/board/images/p...s/viewpost.gif
In the long run we're all dead."

mynakedrat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 24, 2008, 08:02 PM   #4
P1x44r
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,857
P1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird singsP1x44r knows why the caged bird sings


Default

The saves are from GameFAQs.

When you say "just copy them to the HD", does it mean that the console will automatically regognize them as valid save file? What if I already have one or more saves made for that game? Will the copied files overwrite those or just be added to the list?


Thanks.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving in a pretty, pristine body but rather to come sliding in sideways, all used up and exclaiming, "Wow, what a ride!"
P1x44r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2008, 12:13 AM   #5
Osirus
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada st catharines
Posts: 7,348
Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

are they ps2 or ps3 saves?

The ps3 uses a different save format than the PS2 memory card did for ps2 games
so you cant DL PS2 saves and use em for ps2 games on ps3..
I so want a ps3 gta sa comeplete save...

but for ps3 saves the easiest way imo is like an sd card. pop it in and go to the game saves, go to the sd card, hit copy, done.
Osirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2008, 01:17 AM   #6
jimmyboy
wut?
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Phoenix
Posts: 13,725
jimmyboy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjimmyboy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osirus View Post
The ps3 uses a different save format than the PS2 memory card did for ps2 games
so you cant DL PS2 saves and use em for ps2 games on ps3..
That's lame.
jimmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTP file transfer Hyrax Off Topic Lounge 7 Dec 25, 2004 12:44 PM
XP and 98 file transfer Kamiclone Operating Systems 16 Apr 9, 2004 12:56 AM
File Transfer through a hub Kamiclone General Hardware 2 Nov 29, 2002 09:41 AM
file transfer NiDan General Software 5 Nov 9, 2002 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink