Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge » Home Theaters and Photography
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Home Theaters and Photography Discussion forum for Home Theater enthusiasts and newbies. Also the place to discuss and post your photography ventures and queries.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 7, 2007, 03:00 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
tranCendenZ
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,006
tranCendenZ is still being judged by the masses


Default CONFIRMED: Particular HDMI 1.3 chip in PS3 cannot pass TrueHD/DTS-HDMA bitstream

Interesting FYI:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htf/...d.php?t=257408

Apparently the Si9132 chip in the PS3 cannot transmit TrueHD/DTS-HDMA bitstream and its pair released at the same time - the Si9133 chip - cannot receive it. Note that PS3 may at some point be able to decode DTS-HDMA to PCM, but there are no plans for this announced at this time.

Silicon Image has released two new chips that support passing of nextgen audio codecs bitstream via HDMI 1.3 - the Si9134 (for players) and Si9135 (for receivers).

And no, I don't know what HDMI chipset the BDP-S300 uses nor do I know which one the HD-XA2 uses. Although, Toshiba seems to have gone with Broadcom over SI so they are probably using one of Broadcom's HDMI solutions.
tranCendenZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2007, 10:30 AM   #2
Jack & Coke
Monster Fusion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States High atop the mountain
Posts: 1,880
Jack & Coke is still being judged by the masses


Default

Using a forum post as a source is not "confirmed"

Quote:
ironically took an HD DVD insider to tell us.
__________________
"Trust no man living with power to endanger the public liberty" - John Adams
Jack & Coke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2007, 01:11 PM   #3
tranCendenZ
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,006
tranCendenZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack & Coke View Post
Using a forum post as a source is not "confirmed"
Read the whole link. Sony did not deny the statement and Silicon Image chip specifications confirm it - the Sil9134 was the first chip to support transmittal of nextgen audio codecs via bitstream. PS3 cannot pass TrueHD/DTS-HDMA via bitstream due to a limitation on its Sil9132 HDMI 1.3 chip.

Last edited by tranCendenZ : Jun 7, 2007 at 01:17 PM.
tranCendenZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 7, 2007, 01:45 PM   #4
painkiller
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Finland Finland
Posts: 2,406
painkiller is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yea odd I always taught every device with HDMI 1.3 spec is able to output TrueHD or DTS-HDMA bitstream.
__________________
-What does it mean when there is a picture of a skull on the bottle?
-Good stuff!
painkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2007, 10:29 AM   #5
Clockwork
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 14,811
Clockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Whats wrong with LPCM?

In any case the PS3 decodes TrueHD internally anyway.

Last edited by Clockwork : Jun 8, 2007 at 10:46 AM.
Clockwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2007, 11:27 AM   #6
tranCendenZ
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,006
tranCendenZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clockwork View Post
Whats wrong with LPCM?

In any case the PS3 decodes TrueHD internally anyway.
Some with new high-end receivers may want to use their receiver's audio processing to decode TrueHD instead of PS3's.

Also, PS3 cannot decode lossless DTS-HDMA (only the lossy DTS-HD core). Unless Sony adds lossless DTS-HDMA decoding to the PS3, you will be stuck unable to decode lossless DTS-HDMA with the PS3 and unable to send it to a receiver for decoding.
tranCendenZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2007, 01:42 PM   #7
Tizen
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Korea Close by.
Posts: 5,005
Tizen is still being judged by the masses


Default

The PS3 is true HD. Sony said it so many times. It's obviusly a conspiracy! I mean comeon, HD DVD insider? This is probably meant for PS4
__________________
Don't panic
Tizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2007, 03:53 PM   #8
undernine
Da Blackhawks!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Chicago
Posts: 3,822
undernine is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would be shocked if there wasn't some software method available to Sony in order to pass the bitstream, considering the Dolby TrueHD logo is on the bottom of the console. Sorry, but I can't fathom that something like this could not receive a software solution or workaround. On top of that, my HD-DVD doesn't have the ability either, so either way I'm screwed.
__________________
The knowledge that seeking the favor of another. Means the murder of self. This is the resolution
The end of all progress. The death of evolution. It bleeds all life away. Silence speeds the path to the streams of solace that run so few and narrow. Brooks that babble the sounds of torture. You will one day rise. To flood the banks of the chosen. This is the art of ruin. This is the resolution. The end of all progress. The death of evolution. It bleeds all life away. I will teach you all that I have mastered. Fear. Pain. Hatred. Power. This is the art of ruin.
undernine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2007, 05:55 PM   #9
HybridHB
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Central Florida
Posts: 2,055
HybridHB is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im sure sony will just release an update where the ps3 will decode it and pass it as pcm anyways.
HybridHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I bitstream DTS(MA) or TrueHD with ATI 4890? D0T-C0M AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Jan 15, 2011 02:00 PM
5.1 Sound from HDMI on 5870 Realtek HD Chip - Why need for Dolby Soundcards? pedwar General Hardware 16 Feb 11, 2010 04:41 PM
Will the PS3 ever bitstream DTS MA or Dolby HD? guest Home Theaters and Photography 10 Jan 26, 2008 02:17 AM
Xbox 360: Embedded DRAM Spec Confirmed - NEC manufacturing the chip windycityguy Radeon Rumour Mill [Archived] 9 May 3, 2005 03:02 PM
Xbox 360: Embedded DRAM Spec Confirmed - NEC manufacturing the chip windycityguy Console Gaming 4 Apr 29, 2005 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink