Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:16 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
poohbear
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,836
poohbear is still being judged by the masses


Default how's da battlefield 2142 demo?

hey,

anyone tried the demo yet and if so what are your impressions? is it a real system hog like when BF2 was first released? scared my 6800gt might get ravaged playing this game.:/
__________________
2500k @ 4.4ghz @ 1.35v on Noctua NH-D14, 16GB (2x8gb) Crucial Ballistex @ CL9-9-9-24, Gigabyte Z68 UD4 B3, Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI, 240gb OCZ Vertex 3 MI edition & 2TB WD Black, Auzentech Forte 7.1, Seasonic 760wt Platinum, Corsair 300R, Win7 64
poohbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:18 AM   #2
nutcrackr
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia over the rainbow, way up high
Posts: 9,795
nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nutcrackr once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default BF2142 demo


Last edited by nutcrackr : Oct 6, 2006 at 09:51 PM.
nutcrackr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 11:30 AM   #3
Redshirt_X
The future is comin' on.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: United States Plano, TX
Posts: 5,307
Redshirt_X can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRedshirt_X can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

You are a gentleman and a scholar, nutcrackr. Good looking out.

(Getting over 500kb/s off Gamershell, so that may be the way to go right now.)
__________________
The three stages of [whatever] fandom:

1. "OMG IT'S COMING!!!"
2. "OMG IT'S HERE!!!!!"
3. "....wait a minute. This isn't the Second Coming! This sucks!"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Qb2k5 View Post
I like them tall and petite.
Redshirt_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 6, 2006, 12:07 PM   #4
Wraith1283
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Long Island, New York
Posts: 411
Wraith1283 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thank you Nutcrackr, downloading from gamershell right now at 626 kb/s
Wraith1283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 12:09 PM   #5
Destroy
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States WI
Posts: 14,864
Destroy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDestroy can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Does the demo support PROPER wide screen?
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 12:15 PM   #6
SirBaron
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 19,055
SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'SirBaron once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Does the demo support PROPER wide screen?
Going by the beta... no.
__________________
My Twitch Channel Unbiased Gaming!

PS4/PC Streaming - Streaming PS Indie Titles + Infamous, Metal Gear, and Killzone Shadow Fall

Fantards the scourge of the universe:
SirBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 12:33 PM   #7
xp33
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 491
xp33 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Anyone whos played the demo having a problem with disconnecting from the server, I cant seem to stay connected for more than 5 minutes
xp33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:12 PM   #8
heon2574
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States USA
Posts: 482
heon2574 is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________

heon2574 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:36 PM   #9
spiny
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United Kingdom here
Posts: 266
spiny is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up Torrent!

__________________
Cheers :)
Spiny

http://www.electricdeath.com
spiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:40 PM   #10
Danielsan
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,381
Danielsan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xp33 View Post
Anyone whos played the demo having a problem with disconnecting from the server, I cant seem to stay connected for more than 5 minutes

The master server keeps disconnecting me too ... I can stay on for a few minutes .. then its over.
__________________
Windows vista basic x86
Mobo : GA-EP45-UD3LR (rev. 1.0)
CPU: Wolfdale E6300 2.8 ghz (def. 266x10.5) ...
.......cpu clocked to 3.5 ghz .. 333x10.5 on stockcooler.
Ram: 2 x 1 gb kingston PC5300 DDR 2
HD: 2 x 350 gb Maxtor HD plugged to sata, running IDE mode seperately
Graphics: Nvidia NGTS250 at default speeds.
Danielsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:42 PM   #11
brownstonemr
Go 7900 GTX
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
brownstonemr is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im getting the disconnects aswell. Looking at some 2142 forums it appears lots of people are.
brownstonemr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:44 PM   #12
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Fairfax, VA
Posts: 16,649
Crawdaddy79 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCrawdaddy79 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I'm using the EA Downloader.


It's maxing my connection out. ~96k
Crawdaddy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 01:45 PM   #13
dawdler
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,574
dawdler is still being judged by the masses


Default

The master server issues will probably remain for a couple of days until it stabilize.

I like the demo though. The map is looking absolutely beautifull and its much more polished than the beta.

But I dont like the intro music to the map, I honestly think its CRAP. The Verdun music really got to me
dawdler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 02:20 PM   #14
Major-Minor
Destination Unknown...
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India Mumbai, India
Posts: 423
Major-Minor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Does this demo have single player maps, like the BF2 demo?

Edit - Just read the readme, no single player...damn!
__________________

The most honorable revenge is the one not taken.


Major-Minor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 03:46 PM   #15
xwl
The Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 402
xwl is still being judged by the masses


Default

As an avid bf player, i do find the demo a bit disappointing.

It just doesn't feel right.

__________________
See my moustache
@uxchamp
xwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 04:01 PM   #16
Warpedkevin
Old School!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: England Derby
Posts: 1,375
Warpedkevin is still being judged by the masses


Default

I liked it, For the about 4 mins I played....DISCONNECTED...

Now, I cant even log in, Bloody master server can suck my god damn left nut!
__________________
PC Gaming, Technology, My Life.
"Whats the point in my honesty, If all I get in return is lies?"
Warpedkevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 04:02 PM   #17
ZodiacDaR
Viper Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vatican City State Pope's Hat
Posts: 857
ZodiacDaR is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiny View Post
Thanks! Ill just let that run. Im in no hurry to get the demo, but I wont shy away all together since it's here.
ZodiacDaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 05:06 PM   #18
Thr0tt
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 3,916
Thr0tt is still being judged by the masses


Default

Disconnect and crash ? Great sounds like BF2. In no rush for this pos tbh. Will wait for everything to settle down and everyone to be flying around using jetpacks first I think.
__________________
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC | 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 05:36 PM   #19
xp33
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 491
xp33 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ah well at least its not just me with the disconnection problems.

I must admit I am dissapointed with the demo, in the BF2 demo you had the chance to check out a little single player action and create your own server to check out the different map sizes and have a play around with all the different vehicles plus the demo weighed in at nearly half the size of BF 2142, I dunno but for the size of the demo I just expected a little more.
xp33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:09 PM   #20
SOCOM Ops
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jamaica JAMROCK
Posts: 569
SOCOM Ops is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im just going to try it, play a little, kill some peeps, use all the weapons and vehicles, then uninstall.
__________________
STRYKER555

REST IN PEACE VENGEANCE 1965-2008


http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...stryker555.png
SOCOM Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:32 PM   #21
JonZ
ka-shing
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vietnam Unknown
Posts: 20,257
JonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Great, just after install, I get d3dx9_29.dll error. How typical of EA
__________________
█♣█ My Deviant page, - My Art Blog (check for updates)

"A good sketch is better than a long speech" - Napoleon


2x GTX680 SLI
Core i7 4770k 3.50ghz Haswell @ not OCed yet
Corsair TX850M PSU

G.Skills 4x2gb ddr3 1600mhz

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H mobo
Corsair H100i cooler
OCZ 120 SSD Vertex 3 SATA3 (OS).
Samsng 480 Pro 256gb (capture/swap)
4xWestern Digital 2gb HDD
some other old WD HDDs
Asus Xonar DX PCIE soundcard

Triple Dell 2713HM Monitors 2560x1440
Logitech G700 mouse and G19 keyboard

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 400FSBx9 3600ghz
Asus P5Q-EM

4x 2gb DDR2 800mhz CORSAIR RAM (5-5-5-18)
Corsair 550w PSU
Hauppauge 1850 PCIE capture card
2x2tb HDD Western Digital RAID mirrored
Toshiba 40" LCD tv screen
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
JonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:45 PM   #22
KAC
Pussy face to my axe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 37,342
KAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselKAC exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonZ View Post
Great, just after install, I get d3dx9_29.dll error. How typical of EA
Update your DirectX
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:53 PM   #23
JonZ
ka-shing
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vietnam Unknown
Posts: 20,257
JonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KickAssCop View Post
Update your DirectX
there's no update available on Windows Update.
__________________
█♣█ My Deviant page, - My Art Blog (check for updates)

"A good sketch is better than a long speech" - Napoleon


2x GTX680 SLI
Core i7 4770k 3.50ghz Haswell @ not OCed yet
Corsair TX850M PSU

G.Skills 4x2gb ddr3 1600mhz

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H mobo
Corsair H100i cooler
OCZ 120 SSD Vertex 3 SATA3 (OS).
Samsng 480 Pro 256gb (capture/swap)
4xWestern Digital 2gb HDD
some other old WD HDDs
Asus Xonar DX PCIE soundcard

Triple Dell 2713HM Monitors 2560x1440
Logitech G700 mouse and G19 keyboard

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 400FSBx9 3600ghz
Asus P5Q-EM

4x 2gb DDR2 800mhz CORSAIR RAM (5-5-5-18)
Corsair 550w PSU
Hauppauge 1850 PCIE capture card
2x2tb HDD Western Digital RAID mirrored
Toshiba 40" LCD tv screen
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
JonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 06:57 PM   #24
SkullE_again
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States Nashua, NH.
Posts: 1,173
SkullE_again is still being judged by the masses


Default

Haven't tried it but from what i've read on other sites and this site....... don't waste your money or bandwidth.

It's just what we've figured an EA game would be like. (think BF-V)
SkullE_again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:04 PM   #25
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,730
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonZ View Post
there's no update available on Windows Update.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...8-d418cdeac197
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:20 PM   #26
JonZ
ka-shing
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vietnam Unknown
Posts: 20,257
JonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Oh jesus christ when was the ****ing last time a ****ing game needed a full upgrade of a ****ing direct x huh? Last time I upgraded Direct X it was from Windows Update or directly from the game and never had problem with that ever. I downloaded a ****ing demo and there's no ****ing note about the DX problem.
__________________
█♣█ My Deviant page, - My Art Blog (check for updates)

"A good sketch is better than a long speech" - Napoleon


2x GTX680 SLI
Core i7 4770k 3.50ghz Haswell @ not OCed yet
Corsair TX850M PSU

G.Skills 4x2gb ddr3 1600mhz

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H mobo
Corsair H100i cooler
OCZ 120 SSD Vertex 3 SATA3 (OS).
Samsng 480 Pro 256gb (capture/swap)
4xWestern Digital 2gb HDD
some other old WD HDDs
Asus Xonar DX PCIE soundcard

Triple Dell 2713HM Monitors 2560x1440
Logitech G700 mouse and G19 keyboard

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 400FSBx9 3600ghz
Asus P5Q-EM

4x 2gb DDR2 800mhz CORSAIR RAM (5-5-5-18)
Corsair 550w PSU
Hauppauge 1850 PCIE capture card
2x2tb HDD Western Digital RAID mirrored
Toshiba 40" LCD tv screen
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Last edited by Pr()ZaC : Oct 6, 2006 at 07:32 PM.
JonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:22 PM   #27
JonZ
ka-shing
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vietnam Unknown
Posts: 20,257
JonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled withJonZ is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC View Post
thank you.

Edit: damnit, genuine activation
__________________
█♣█ My Deviant page, - My Art Blog (check for updates)

"A good sketch is better than a long speech" - Napoleon


2x GTX680 SLI
Core i7 4770k 3.50ghz Haswell @ not OCed yet
Corsair TX850M PSU

G.Skills 4x2gb ddr3 1600mhz

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H mobo
Corsair H100i cooler
OCZ 120 SSD Vertex 3 SATA3 (OS).
Samsng 480 Pro 256gb (capture/swap)
4xWestern Digital 2gb HDD
some other old WD HDDs
Asus Xonar DX PCIE soundcard

Triple Dell 2713HM Monitors 2560x1440
Logitech G700 mouse and G19 keyboard

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 400FSBx9 3600ghz
Asus P5Q-EM

4x 2gb DDR2 800mhz CORSAIR RAM (5-5-5-18)
Corsair 550w PSU
Hauppauge 1850 PCIE capture card
2x2tb HDD Western Digital RAID mirrored
Toshiba 40" LCD tv screen
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
JonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:29 PM   #28
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Fairfax, VA
Posts: 16,649
Crawdaddy79 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCrawdaddy79 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Played for an hour. 35 minutes of it was loading time.

The remaining time of playing was pure suck.

Don't think I'll be getting this one.


Also the view distance - even though set to 100% seemed a lot smaller than 100% in BF2.

EDIT: And it's a good thing that I don't want to get this game - because if I played it I wouldn't be able to leave AA forced in my control panel like I like to do.
http://www.crawspace.com/ss/misc3/bf2142fps.jpg

Last edited by Crawdaddy79 : Oct 6, 2006 at 07:35 PM.
Crawdaddy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:37 PM   #29
shoman24v
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States CA
Posts: 2,793
shoman24v is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ya, I feel bad for those who paid to play via file planet.
shoman24v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2006, 07:53 PM   #30
GoldenHawk
ex-Ati customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 148
GoldenHawk is still being judged by the masses


Default

canceled my preorder.


simple setting of 1280x1024 not available like ALWAYS with ****ing
EA and like it was when BF2 came out...beta for what?!?
wtf do they ignore the native 19" tft setting that is used by a
vast majority of users again? They have been wacked for that
a million times when bf2 came out and they do the same **** again.

annoying video Jitters during gameplay

master server conn lost = kick out of game

shots fired look crappy ...small arms fire over a distance...can
hardly at all if i make any impact

the whole environment looks so completely daft and boring....
and its basically just a bf2 mod and it does not deserve a
full game price.

EA downloader? OMFG what a turtle...i got it somewhere else
and that was a another reason why i canceled preorder...
no way im getting the full game over the damn turtle loader.


__________________
ASUS STRIKER EXTREME;Core2Duo e4300@2.25ghz,2x2 GB Corsair, WD JB 120 and WD JB 250 PATA,Win XP Pro SP2,Vista 32,Vista x64
GF8800 GTX,Enermax Liberty 500Watt.Creative X-FI Music,HP W2207 22", Xerox 19" TFT.
GoldenHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bf2 and bf2142 problems.. Spliffstarr PC Gaming 0 Nov 30, 2006 03:27 PM
NFS:C & BF2142 demo widescreen?... slick PC Gaming 7 Nov 5, 2006 02:47 PM
BF2142 Box Art Hanzel PC Gaming 5 Oct 29, 2006 11:07 AM
BF2142 in game ads... Xiro PC Gaming 46 Oct 28, 2006 05:31 PM
BF2142 comics TRD Supra PC Gaming 1 Oct 21, 2006 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink