Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 9, 2006, 03:29 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Mrpleeb
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 987
Mrpleeb is still being judged by the masses


Default Best way to clean out your pc of dust?

Is using a big vacuum with a nozel to clean your pc out of dust safe? Or should i use compressed air? Whats the best way to clean the pc out of dust bunnies?

I saw on dottotech he used a vacuum and air can and left the power cord plugged in?Doesnt using a vacuum increase risk of static damage to your motherboard etc?

Last edited by Mrpleeb : Mar 9, 2006 at 03:37 PM.
Mrpleeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 03:40 PM   #2
zebrahead
Nerf Arena Blast
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 1,472
zebrahead is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Is using a big vacuum with a nozel to clean your pc out of dust safe?
dear god no!!! compressed air is the best way to go on this one. when blowing the airt into the fans make sure to hold them still so they don't spin to 100000000RPM and break themselves.
__________________


CPU: AMD64 3800+ Venice @ 2592MHz (12x216) | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS-9500 LED w/ AS5 Thermal Compound | Mainboard: ASUS A8V-E Deluxe (BIOS 1012) / Socket 939 (VIA K8T890) | Enclosure: 17" Antec Sonata (Piano Black) | PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 550 Watt ATX12V | Memory: Mushkin XP PC4000 2GB (2X1GB) DDR500 @ 2x216MHz (3-3-3-7 1T) | Monitor: 2x Samsung 931C 19IN LCD Monitor Glossy Black 1280X1024 2000:1 2MS CCFL 97% | Video Card: PCI-E eVGA NVIDIA 7800GTX 512MB @ 594MHz/1.78GHz | Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Internal Storage: Western Digital SATA II (250GB) | Portable Storage: Western Digital (250GB) / HD6-Series Smart-drive 3.5" External Case | DVD ROM: BENQ 16x Dual Layer IDE DVD+/-R/RW| Floppy Drive: 1.44MB MITSUMI D63119 | Mouse: Logitech MX518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse (1600 DPI) | Keyboard: Logitech Internet Keyboard | Stylus Tablet: Wacom Graphire (ET) | Modem: Motorolla SB5101 Surfboard Cable Modem (SHAW Extreme) | Router: D-LINK DGL-4300 Wireless Gaming Router | Speakers: Logitech® Z-2300 (2.1) | Headset: Altec Lansing AHS502i | Audio Technica 3035 Studio Condenser Mic | M-AUDIO Radium49 49-Key USB Midi Controller | DigiTech RPx400 Floor Processor & USB Interface | MP3 Player: iriver IFP-190TC 256MB (UMS Firmware Version 1.0c) | Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (Service Pack 2)

Quote:
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." ~Dr. Seuss
zebrahead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 05:48 PM   #3
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 17,874
Trunks0 once held a door open for a complete strangerTrunks0 once held a door open for a complete strangerTrunks0 once held a door open for a complete strangerTrunks0 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

A vacuum with nosel attachment will work perfectly fine(just be carefull). Canned air tends to the easiest of course if you have it
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k - 8Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - 120GiB HD Samsung 840 -
3TiB Seagate Expansion (USB 3.0 external) - PowerColor Radeon R7 260x TurboDuo - X-Fi Go! Pro(Yes, darkside lives on) - Windows 8.1 64-bit

Last edited by Trunks0 : Mar 9, 2006 at 05:51 PM.
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 9, 2006, 06:10 PM   #4
Hyrax
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somalia NJ
Posts: 28,666
Hyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

i use a q-tip to clean out fans and heatsink
__________________
The Core Value: Non-Aggression :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by g-a-m-e View Post
Snatches scare me. I once saw this dude break his elbow doing one :shock:
Hyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 06:13 PM   #5
nutcrackr
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia over the rainbow, way up high
Posts: 10,424
nutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled withnutcrackr is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Vacuum probably won't have the power to dislodge a lot of dust from components, you really need some kind of blowing device and then use the vacuum to suck up the airborne dust.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 06:18 PM   #6
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 12,074
DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'DaJMasta once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I've used canned air (expensive) a vaccuum (unwieldy) and a little brush.

I managed to find an all plastic brush with soft bristles, and that's what I use for most of my case and heatsinks.

Any of them work, keeping the fans still is a good idea though, and if you use a vaccuum, keep it away from loose or small bits in the case, don't want to loose anything
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 4770K : 16GB Gskill DDR3 2133 : PNY GeForce GTX 670 : Asrock Z87E-ITX : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Crucial m4 256GB and Samsung 840 240GB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Achieva Shimian QH270 27" LED monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64
Laptop: Acer Travelmate Timeline 8172 : Intel Core i5 470UM : 4GB DDR3 1066 : Intel HD Integrated : Intel HM55 Chipset :
120GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD : 40W Power brick and 6 cell battery : Conexant HD Audio : 11.6" LCD : Windows 7 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600
: Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 08:17 PM   #7
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default

i use DUST-off
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro

TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 09:27 PM   #8
-n7-
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,193
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Compressed air ftw
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 11:05 PM   #9
Yosh70
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sask.Canada
Posts: 870
Yosh70 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I take my computer out on the deck and use a small leaf blower....clean as a whistle.

Occasionally I have to chase after it down the steps if I get too carried away.
__________________
  • Antec P160 Aluminum Tower w/Antec EarthWatts 750W PSU
  • Intel E4500 Core 2 Duo @ 2.6 Ghz
  • Asus P5K Motherboard
  • Corsair 2x2GB XMS2 DDR2-800
  • XFX 8800GT 512MB DDR3
  • Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2
  • WD 250GB/500GB/1TB Sata II HDD's
  • WD 2TB My Book HDD
  • Pioneer DVR112 18X DVD writer
  • Samsung 2443BW 24" LCD Monitor
  • Samson Resolv A5 monitors
Yosh70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2006, 11:45 PM   #10
acidosmosis
Mispacio Rodriguez
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 5,016
acidosmosis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yea, canned air . The q-tip idea should work well too, but I've never done it (I usually get sick of cleaning crap by the time I've blown out a case with a can of air).
acidosmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 12:25 AM   #11
Uber_Tiny
******
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,642
Uber_Tiny is still being judged by the masses


Default

No No and No on the Vacuum. You all realize that a vacume actualy creats static electricity at the nozzle. Bad idea for small toughy electronics!!

Compressed can of air FTW!
__________________
My BTC - 1ERfaxVJAeepsywb5rJU64ZkezEqxdHKNQ (bitcoin wallet)
My LTC - LQoRPrXfnq4MM5f5hTJYUya4LiSdz1b45s (litecoin wallet)
If you're bored check out my site - TechPron.com

"It's clear that we can't go 24 hours without Sarah Palin saying something so stupid that it defies logic!" - Roland Martin
(\__/) This is Bunny.
(='.'=) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig.
(")_(") Help Bunny gain World Domination.
Uber_Tiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 01:19 AM   #12
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Spokane, WA
Posts: 29,927
Lupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselLupine exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Subscriber
Default

Compressed air. Uber cheap @ Costco.
__________________
Twitter | Facebook
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 04:26 AM   #13
jolle
Hipster Dufus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,145
jolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uber_Tiny
No No and No on the Vacuum. You all realize that a vacume actualy creats static electricity at the nozzle. Bad idea for small toughy electronics!!

Compressed can of air FTW!
Yeah I heard that too, used Canned air since to blow dust off..

Pressure is high enough to get most of that layer of dust of heatsinks and stuff, which doesnt hurt since it acts as a insulating layer between the metal and air.
Just keep the can level so you dont get a thick layer of frost over everything hehe, accidently tilted it once, but I got out alive.
__________________
you jump out of that plane and that parachute doesnt open, the helmet is now wearing YOU for protection. -JS
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 06:20 AM   #14
dsherman
Playboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Throop PA
Posts: 2,308
dsherman is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use an Air compressor with an end that grabs any moisture. it's more powerful then the canned air and gets out the most dust.
__________________
Gigabyte Ga-MA78GM-S2H
Athlon 64 X2 2.9ghz
4 gig ram
ATI HD 3200

Optorite 52x24x52 cd/rw drive,Optorite DD1205 12xDL DVD+-RRW
ASUS DVD for Lightscribe
Canon Du120F scanner and Canon I960 photo printer
Hanns G 19" LCD
Altec Lansing 120 speakers
dsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 07:19 AM   #15
Rippthrough
Nothing wrong with 4-pot!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 5,157
Rippthrough is still being judged by the masses


Default

Compressor + shaving brush ftw.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Antimatter=-
Think about it this way, it has to fill in all the black space that D3 doesn't use.
When I want your opinion, I'll tell you it.
Rippthrough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you keep your computer clean of dust? TheDon General Hardware 29 Sep 8, 2005 09:42 PM
Can I use a blow-dryer to clean out the dust from the inside of my computer? arakhnidef General Hardware 14 Aug 18, 2003 08:19 PM
How to clean off dust on PCI cards? albaholic General Hardware 25 Jun 11, 2003 02:46 AM
Dust Busters Unite! Eradicate The Dust - Filthy PC Killers! tuphdc General Hardware 6 Jan 2, 2003 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink