Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Operating Systems » Linux
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Linux Forum to discuss the popular Open Source operating system, plus other *NIX derivatives. Discussions about AMD Catalyst drivers can be had in the relevant subforum.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2006, 12:56 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
TiTaN
Bzzzt....HA!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mt. Zion, IL
Posts: 2,139
TiTaN is still being judged by the masses


Default How much space to devote to linux partition?

Hey guys, I'm in a Systems Administration class using Linux and I'm going to install the Fedora Core 4 that came with the book so that I can do the assignments at home and was wondering how much of my spare 80GB minimum to partition for this install? I want to leave as much as possible free for, um, keyboard drivers .

I was thinking maybe 10GB for linux but then again I have no clue how much space the OS itself will take up and kinda wanted a little free space for files/progs.

Any help would be lovely, thanks in advance
__________________
| Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 4MB |
| Asus P5W-DH Deluxe (1101) |
| eVGA 7950GX2 @ 574/1520 |
| 2GB TWIN2X2048 - 6400C4 |
| 2x150GB WD Raptor - Raid0 |
| Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W |
| Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty |
| 24" WS HP A7217A |
TiTaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 02:06 PM   #2
FX-Overclocking
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,074
FX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Well I know Ubuntu wants 10GB of space, so I would say at least 10.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 02:17 PM   #3
Shade_
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Shade_ is still being judged by the masses


Default That depends

That depends. You can cram a modern distro onto just a couple of gigs... If you store your media someplace else. I would suggest using multiple partitons.

At a minimum I would suggest using one partition for '/' and one partition for '/home', (and a teeny one for swap). The reason to keep '/home' separate is in case you hose your system, or change distros, your user data and desktop setting should stay in tact. If you expect to have a lot of media you'll want to have either a big '/home' or a big 'shared media directory'. If you'll be installing oh say, Quake 4, you might want to have a big '/'. Really 10 GB is enough space to install just about every app you could ever want under linux. The nice thing is that you don't have to devote all of your space to linux initially, and if you want to install something 'big', you can always mount a new partition or drive into the filesystem (Most distros will have a gui to do this, but it can be done quiet easily with an editor and some console utilities)... Here's (basically) my current setup:

/home, 50 GB, for 3 user accounts, about 1/2 full (What the hell does my girlfriend have in her account?)
/, 50 GB, A little over 1/2 full. But I have a lot of software and 'big' games installed.
/media/pub, 120 GB, this is a software RAID setup that has all of my media files, it's about 75% full
swap, about 2x the amount of installed memory for me. I'm not sure what the 'ideal' amount is for the current 2.6 kernel.

There are some other directories you can make a case for having on their own partition, but if you are just toying around, a '/' & '/home' split would probably work the best.

Last edited by Shade_ : Feb 16, 2006 at 02:22 PM.
Shade_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 16, 2006, 03:52 PM   #4
JonSvenJonsson
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 581
JonSvenJonsson is still being judged by the masses


Default

Maybe also an /usr/local for software like quake4 or other useful scientific stuff, so you dont have to reinstall wehn you change distributions ?.

For the root partition (/) 10G should be more then enough, for extra-software not included in the distribution (/usr/local) 10G seem also enough (only if you dont install games ), for your homedir (/home) 10G also seems enough (at least for me), with the rest of your 80G disk you could setup two FAT32 partitions for communication with other OSes.

cheers Jon
JonSvenJonsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 05:08 PM   #5
TiTaN
Bzzzt....HA!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mt. Zion, IL
Posts: 2,139
TiTaN is still being judged by the masses


Default

wow...linux is more confusing than I already knew. I'll have to do some researching to figure this stuff out...
__________________
| Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 4MB |
| Asus P5W-DH Deluxe (1101) |
| eVGA 7950GX2 @ 574/1520 |
| 2GB TWIN2X2048 - 6400C4 |
| 2x150GB WD Raptor - Raid0 |
| Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W |
| Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty |
| 24" WS HP A7217A |
TiTaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 06:35 PM   #6
Lithorus
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,411
Lithorus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiTaN
wow...linux is more confusing than I already knew. I'll have to do some researching to figure this stuff out...
Let me correct you... Linux is different from Windows and have alot more possibilities. Once you get the hang of it, you will find Windows dull
__________________

Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 08:26 AM   #7
JonSvenJonsson
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 581
JonSvenJonsson is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiTaN
wow...linux is more confusing than I already knew. I'll have to do some researching to figure this stuff out...
No i dont think so .

See the partitions as Windows drives , like root (/) beeing C: with windows installed, /home being D: with your Dcouments and /usr/local is E: with you Software installed.

Is this less confusing ? Or is Microsofts directory structure less confusing ? (like system and sytem32 and ...).

cheers Jon
JonSvenJonsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 08:37 AM   #8
Mythos
Don't worry - Be happy!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Crete, Hellas
Posts: 1,909
Mythos is still being judged by the masses


Default

Personally I have 350Gb for Linux!
But it is the only OS I use.

For your job even 2-3 Gb should be efficient...
__________________
Radeon 9500 PRO - Mobility Radeon X700 - fglrx Beta driver - Xorg head CVS
Linux Santorini 2.6.16-rc2
GCC-4.1 CVS Branch
In real life Papadakos Panagiotis
Mythos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 09:00 AM   #9
Shade_
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Shade_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonSvenJonsson
See the partitions as Windows drives , like root (/) beeing C: with windows installed, /home being D: with your Dcouments and /usr/local is E: with you Software installed.
Yes, but the really sweet thing about linux is that any directory can be mounted as it's own partition or drive... so if you fill up '/' you can copy the files from oh say '/usr/local' to a new partition, then mount that as the new '/usr/local'. As long as you can cram another drive into your case, you're never out of space Albeit, you may wind up with a bunch of freakishly partitioned drives. (The only re-install that I did without changing distros was to make my partition structure sane, and to set up a big whack of software RAID storage to reduce the risk of losing my media files.)

Many (poorly written, often 3rd party) Windows apps will make assumptions about drive letters, directories, and stuff like that... It causes nothing but trouble... Under linux everything falls under '/'... It doesn't even have to be a drive connected to the local machine.
Shade_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 03:06 PM   #10
UDHA
Clbuttic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 11,943
UDHA is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiTaN
wow...linux is more confusing than I already knew. I'll have to do some researching to figure this stuff out...
I tried to do something like this with windows to make it more flexible, long story short, it was a disaster.

If you want to do something, provided you know how, linux can do it. Windows is as limiting to a linux user as macs are to a windows user.
__________________
The strong man is the one who is able to intercept at will the communication between the senses and the mind.
~ Napoleon Bonaparte (1769 - 1821)

First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a communist;
Then they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a socialist;
Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a trade unionist;
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—because I was not a Jew;
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak out for me.
By the late 1980s, Stallman had refined it to a more simple mnemonic:
"Don't think free as in free beer; think free as in [freedom]."
UDHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 04:51 AM   #11
JOPS
Sysadm. & developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 346
JOPS is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade_
The only re-install that I did without changing distros was to make my partition structure sane, and to set up a big whack of software RAID storage to reduce the risk of losing my media files.
Too bad that RAID doesn't help you if your filesystem gets hosed though. I prefer to automatically copy data around between several machines instead.
__________________
Software: Debian GNU/Linux, Hardware: Too much to add everything here but I'm using the following card types from ATI: Radeon 9800Pro, Radeon 9700Pro, Radeon 8500, Radeon 8500LE, Radeon 9100, Radeon 9000Pro VIVO, Radeon 9250, Radeon 9200SE, Radeon 7200, Radeon 7000, RageXL, RagePro.
JOPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Partition disappeared, seen as Free Space! corny General Software 1 Nov 20, 2009 08:27 AM
Linux Partition? CKS General Software 8 Oct 22, 2008 07:48 PM
Ghost Partition of Extra Harddrive Space, Hard drive over-clocking? edliu128 General Hardware 0 Mar 9, 2004 02:29 PM
how to mount my fat 32 partition in linux ?? ivan300 Linux 4 Dec 9, 2002 09:08 PM
How do I stop Low Disk Space Warning in XP (For Swap File Partition) TheSweeney Operating Systems 5 Nov 30, 2001 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink