Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » General Radeon Discussion
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Radeon Discussion General discussion for news and rumours about discrete Radeon graphics products. Do not ask for tech support here, instead please use the Radeon Technical Support forum.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2006, 10:10 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
sethk
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 157
sethk is still being judged by the masses


Default HDCP Problems with X1900 series?

According to this article, even the X1900 series cards currently being sold can't do HDCP output. If this is true it's a major bummer, since this means that full resolution "protected path" playback of Blu-Ray and HD-DVD may not be possible, even though HDCP and h.264 are selling points of the X1900 series.
Hope this turns out to be false.
sethk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2006, 10:20 PM   #2
Sweetz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,317
Sweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I think you meant to include the article and forgot, as no one would have any idea what you were referiing to.

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/..._hdcp_support/

As far as that turning out to be false...I don't think that's not going to happen, the facts are pretty clear.

However, as suggested by the article I'm not sure it's something really worth worrying about. I suspect it will take longer than predicted before Blu-Ray or HD-DVD drives are released, and even longer before they become sane purchases and there's enough content to warrant the upgrade. By that point you will have probably upgraded or want to upgrade your video card anyway.

However, it is completely shameful and dubious that ATI advertises the functionality, but the cards can't really do it. nVidia too, though as the article mentions you can't blame them too much since they don't build their own cards.
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2006, 10:28 PM   #3
Utrion
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greece Hellas
Posts: 1,157
Utrion is still being judged by the masses


Default

dont forget that its on the hands of the BD or HD DVD film makering comanies to have at the first generation HDCP cause ofcourse the discs can be without it !!!
so maybe the transition is smoother
__________________
CPU :AMD 4200+@2730 V:1.55-160 HTT 303 MEM:228 2x512MB (2.0-3-4-5) OCZ 3200EL Platinum rev2 +SI-120
BOARD :MSI-7125 K8 Neo 4 BIOS 1.C3 MODx
GFX :ATI X1800XT CAT X.X(BETA TESTER) 690/775
HDD0 :IBM Deathstar 40GB HDD1:Maxtor 160GB EIDE HDD2 Maxtor:7Y300FO
DVD-RW :NEC ND-2510A DL :)
DO YOU FIND BUGS ON YOUR SCREEN?IF YES HERE IS YOUR WAY TO DESTROY THEM//BUG-EATER
3Dmark2001se:34064 3Dmark03:18480 3Dmark05 v1:10011 3Dmark06:4989
Utrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 15, 2006, 01:42 AM   #4
ici-1
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
ici-1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I would have to find where I read that ATI actually stated the boards are "HDCP" ready. Giving the impression from this article that they may possibly already have the specified hardware on the board itself but be lacking all the codecs and bios commands to run it due to the fact that the technology itself is not standardized nor finalized yet.

What would be the point of building off of something that isn't even in production and could change before it does go into production unless you can change the settings revolving around it later are my thoughts.

This wouldn't be the first time ATI has incorporated technology onto a board fully disabled but able to be enabled and changed later to suit needs.
__________________

Thermaltake Mambo Chasis
MSI K9A Platinum Motherboard
ATI Radeon X1900XTX 512MB GDDR3 by POWERCOLOR
Dual Samsung 940B 19" LCD Monitors
AMD 64 X2 4600+
2x1GB PC-4300 DDR2 Crucial RAM
2x160GB Samsung SATA II HDD in RAID 0
HP DVD-RW w/ LightScribe 840i
Sony 3 1/2" Floppy Drive
Logitech DiNovo Laser Desktop - Bluetooth.


Generic Case
Compaq Whitney Board
Celeron 500
(Integrated Rage 3D Graphics onboard. :-P) )
Asus 48X CDRW drive
256MB Ram
5GB HDD (maxtor ata 100)
ici-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 01:01 PM   #5
markiepoo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
markiepoo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Regarding hdcp support in 1900 xt /x , it do`s state on the ati web site that
hdcp is supported. Now I am confused who do we believe, the artical or ati?
But eh its not the end of the world, in the uk if a product you bought dos`nt
do what it was advertised as being able to do, then you can take it back.
So I will keep hold of my card until hd dvd becomes a reality. I will then
try a hd dvd (with compatible player of course) and if it will not work then
I will take my card back stating it do`s not do what it says on the box, and demand a full refund and then buy a hd dvd capable card.
markiepoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 02:35 PM   #6
FiggyG
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,085
FiggyG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFiggyG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

It supports HDCP via another chip, whether the chip is integrated is up to the manufacturer. At this time, there is not any X1900's with that chip. So it's a no-go. Go to beyond3d and there's a response from Sapphire about the HDCP issue you can read.
FiggyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2006, 10:41 PM   #7
ShaidarHaran
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 21,308
ShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

The title of this thread is a misnomer. HDCP in and of itself is a problem. Down with HDCP
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 05:45 AM   #8
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre
I agree, I hope nobody buys a supported monitor and card, and that someone hacks a way around it for any protected content.
Well, if ATI provide a hack for HDCP, I am game. Otherwise they screwed up royally. This could easily turn into a class action suit. These things have happened for much less. In fact, this is a clear case of Misrepresentation under the English Legal system, so anyone according to the law can demand their money back.

I hope this greed of theirs teaches them a lesson!
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:57 AM   #9
GX-Alan
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 7
GX-Alan is still being judged by the masses


Default

http://news.com.com/New+DVDs+already...?tag=nefd.lede

News.com has a litle bit more on the story.
GX-Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 11:18 AM   #10
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre
Um no it was upto the board makers to make the cards have HDCP, ATI already made the GPU chips complient, same goes for Nvidia. A couple of Nvidia card makers and also a few ATI ones are making X1300 and X1600 HDCP compliant cards.
But you forget that ATI are also a boardmaker. Thus for the BBA x1900 cards the blame falls directly on ATI.
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 11:23 AM   #11
DivotMaker
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vask
But you forget that ATI are also a boardmaker. Thus for the BBA x1900 cards the blame falls directly on ATI.
Only if they claim that the cards they build and sell under the ATI name support such a feature. If they don't mention it in their product packaging, website, nor marketing materials, then they aren't liable for a feature they have not marketed for that particular board.

http://www.ati.com/products/RadeonX1900/specs.html

I don't see anything mentioning such functionality on their website for the X1900....

Last edited by DivotMaker : Feb 16, 2006 at 11:26 AM.
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 11:47 AM   #12
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
Only if they claim that the cards they build and sell under the ATI name support such a feature. If they don't mention it in their product packaging, website, nor marketing materials, then they aren't liable for a feature they have not marketed for that particular board.

http://www.ati.com/products/RadeonX1900/specs.html

I don't see anything mentioning such functionality on their website for the X1900....
From the link:

DVI 1.0 compliant / HDMI interoperable and HDCP ready


EDIT: Since the "ready" part is subject to interpretation, the courts (in england at least) use the test of a "reasonable man". Whould a reasonable man interpret that phrase such that the card is able to deal with HDCP encription and output HDCP protected content? Most likely.
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music

Last edited by vask : Feb 16, 2006 at 11:56 AM.
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 03:39 PM   #13
DivotMaker
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vask
From the link:

DVI 1.0 compliant / HDMI interoperable and HDCP ready


EDIT: Since the "ready" part is subject to interpretation, the courts (in england at least) use the test of a "reasonable man". Whould a reasonable man interpret that phrase such that the card is able to deal with HDCP encription and output HDCP protected content? Most likely.
First of all, the words "and HDCP ready" are not stated. HUGE difference.

When a phrase such as "HDTV-ready" or "HDTV-compatible" is used, this usually implies that an HD cable/Satellite connection is needed for HDTV to be a feature. This also implies added expense. "Compliant" and "interoperable" are not the same words as "ready", but do imply some inherent capability. I would be 100% with you if ATI were implying or even stating that the X1900 were "HDCP-ready"...
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 05:47 PM   #14
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
First of all, the words "and HDCP ready" are not stated. HUGE difference.

When a phrase such as "HDTV-ready" or "HDTV-compatible" is used, this usually implies that an HD cable/Satellite connection is needed for HDTV to be a feature. This also implies added expense. "Compliant" and "interoperable" are not the same words as "ready", but do imply some inherent capability. I would be 100% with you if ATI were implying or even stating that the X1900 were "HDCP-ready"...
OH mY GOD. I was wondering what u were on about. Checked the link again and those sneaky ATI ***** have removed that part from specs/ Lost all respect for them. HOW CHEAP!!!!

EDIT: Here is a link to the GOOGLE's cached page: http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:...k&ct=clnk&cd=1

AND here is the screen grab, just in case:
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music

Last edited by vask : Feb 16, 2006 at 05:57 PM.
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 09:53 PM   #15
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Herndon, VA
Posts: 10,259
SSXeon is still being judged by the masses


Default

I say everyone stops freaken, and just hope intel and AMD have HDCP on the mobos so everyone can have it.
__________________


Nehalem i7 950 @ 3.06Ghz
Xigmatek Dark Knight HSF
Asus P6T X58
6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600Mhz (8-8-8-24)
XFX HD6970 2GB @ 925/5600Mhz (12.4)
Hitachi 1TB HDD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
BFG 1200w PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Dell S2209W 1080p 21.5"



BBATi Radeon 32MB PCI @ 180/180Mhz
MSI Geforce 2 GTS 32MB @ 220/375Mhz
BBATi Radeon 8500pro 64MB @ 275/550Mhz
Powercolor Radeon 9600XT 128MB @ 550/750Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800Pro 256MB @ 500/1000Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800XT:PE 256MB @ 560/1180Mhz
Powercolor Radeon X1800XL 256MB @ 600/1200Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X1900XT 512MB @ 690/1600Mhz
Powercolor Radeon HD2900XT 512MB @ 800/1600Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2400Mhz
Diamond Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2360Mhz
XFX Radeon HD4890 1GB @ 950/4400Mhz
XFX Radeon HD5870 1GB @ 850/4800Mhz



DIABLO 3!!!!!!



2006 Pontiac GTO A4 Quicksilver
56k miles
K&N FIPK Intake
SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 09:57 PM   #16
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,985
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSXeon
I say everyone stops freaken, and just hope intel and AMD have HDCP on the mobos so everyone can have it.
wait...latest mobos do support HDCP?

P.S oh what is HDCP?
__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat
Treeckcold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:24 PM   #17
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,128
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

AFAIK ATi AND NV have porked us here, according to the FS/XBL articles I've read.
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:28 PM   #18
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Herndon, VA
Posts: 10,259
SSXeon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeckcold57
wait...latest mobos do support HDCP?

P.S oh what is HDCP?
No, i was saying for newer mobos they could, and its a format for HD playback off copywrited HD-DVDs/Blue-Ray Disks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz
AFAIK ATi AND NV have porked us here, according to the FS/XBL articles I've read.
Well once again when is HD-DVD and BLue-Ray coming? Thought so, we wont have to worry till R600, I dunno why ppl are freaken out about everything, including FS (intel core).
__________________


Nehalem i7 950 @ 3.06Ghz
Xigmatek Dark Knight HSF
Asus P6T X58
6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600Mhz (8-8-8-24)
XFX HD6970 2GB @ 925/5600Mhz (12.4)
Hitachi 1TB HDD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
BFG 1200w PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Dell S2209W 1080p 21.5"



BBATi Radeon 32MB PCI @ 180/180Mhz
MSI Geforce 2 GTS 32MB @ 220/375Mhz
BBATi Radeon 8500pro 64MB @ 275/550Mhz
Powercolor Radeon 9600XT 128MB @ 550/750Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800Pro 256MB @ 500/1000Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800XT:PE 256MB @ 560/1180Mhz
Powercolor Radeon X1800XL 256MB @ 600/1200Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X1900XT 512MB @ 690/1600Mhz
Powercolor Radeon HD2900XT 512MB @ 800/1600Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2400Mhz
Diamond Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2360Mhz
XFX Radeon HD4890 1GB @ 950/4400Mhz
XFX Radeon HD5870 1GB @ 850/4800Mhz



DIABLO 3!!!!!!



2006 Pontiac GTO A4 Quicksilver
56k miles
K&N FIPK Intake
SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:43 PM   #19
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,128
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

You laughing at me?

What makes YOU the authority on this issue?

You know, no more than the rest of us AFAIK, yet your laughing............

HELLO?
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:48 PM   #20
SSXeon
CAPS CAPS CAPS
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States Herndon, VA
Posts: 10,259
SSXeon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz
You laughing at me?

What makes YOU the authority on this issue?

You know, no more than the rest of us AFAIK, yet your laughing............

HELLO?
Um way to get your panies in a bunch, i was laughing at everyone, including xbit and FS. Now im laughing at you because you took me serious.
__________________


Nehalem i7 950 @ 3.06Ghz
Xigmatek Dark Knight HSF
Asus P6T X58
6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600Mhz (8-8-8-24)
XFX HD6970 2GB @ 925/5600Mhz (12.4)
Hitachi 1TB HDD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
BFG 1200w PSU
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Dell S2209W 1080p 21.5"



BBATi Radeon 32MB PCI @ 180/180Mhz
MSI Geforce 2 GTS 32MB @ 220/375Mhz
BBATi Radeon 8500pro 64MB @ 275/550Mhz
Powercolor Radeon 9600XT 128MB @ 550/750Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800Pro 256MB @ 500/1000Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X800XT:PE 256MB @ 560/1180Mhz
Powercolor Radeon X1800XL 256MB @ 600/1200Mhz
Gigabyte Radeon X1900XT 512MB @ 690/1600Mhz
Powercolor Radeon HD2900XT 512MB @ 800/1600Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2400Mhz
Diamond Radeon HD3870 512MB @ 840/2360Mhz
XFX Radeon HD4890 1GB @ 950/4400Mhz
XFX Radeon HD5870 1GB @ 850/4800Mhz



DIABLO 3!!!!!!



2006 Pontiac GTO A4 Quicksilver
56k miles
K&N FIPK Intake
SSXeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 04:04 AM   #21
Arcanum2002
Radeon X1950Pro
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 73
Arcanum2002 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vask
OH mY GOD. I was wondering what u were on about. Checked the link again and those sneaky ATI ***** have removed that part from specs/ Lost all respect for them. HOW CHEAP!!!!

EDIT: Here is a link to the GOOGLE's cached page: http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:...k&ct=clnk&cd=1
Dunno about cached page but in X1900 specs there is no mention about HDCP. Maybe you should look official site and not Google cache.

http://www.ati.com/products/RadeonX1900/specs.html
Arcanum2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 05:29 AM   #22
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcanum2002
Dunno about cached page but in X1900 specs there is no mention about HDCP. Maybe you should look official site and not Google cache.

http://www.ati.com/products/RadeonX1900/specs.html
Look fella, they changed the official page yesterday. That is why the cached page still shows it. They have clearly *****ed this one up and decided to cover their asses by removing it from spec sheet.
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 06:10 AM   #23
Nembot
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 147
Nembot is still being judged by the masses


Default

Afaik, HDCP is just another way to try and stop piracy by not allowing HD capable media to play without the correct kit, sort of DRM but in hardware.

Considering how badly DRM has done so far, I can imagine certain companies losing money when people just rip HD media and play it on older operating systems.

ofc I could be completely wrong, wouldn't be the first time
Nembot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 06:50 AM   #24
shabby
Super Adventure Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada Toronto eh
Posts: 495
shabby is still being judged by the masses


Default

Maybe they'll bring back decoder cards with hdcp support, but who am i kidding these people want you to buy new gpu's/monitors.
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 08:21 AM   #25
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Talking

Good thing I was not the only one that noticed their cheating (EDIT: the word fraudulent fits best here) tactics of altering spec sheets!!!! I just hope someone sues them. They just don't get it....a customer is always right....

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=851
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music

Last edited by vask : Feb 17, 2006 at 11:37 AM.
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 11:58 AM   #26
ShaidarHaran
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 21,308
ShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Why are we complaining about the *lack* of intrusive copy protection schemes? This is idiotic. No HDCP = good!
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:21 PM   #27
markiepoo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
markiepoo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just this minute been to the ati site and the claim hdcp ready is still in the specs
markiepoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:27 PM   #28
ShaidarHaran
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 21,308
ShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyShaidarHaran can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markiepoo
Just this minute been to the ati site and the claim hdcp ready is still in the specs
Confirmed. Looks like someone at Dailytech jumped the gun
__________________
Praise be to the God and father of our lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:55 PM   #29
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaidarHaran
Confirmed. Looks like someone at Dailytech jumped the gun
NO they didn't (jump the gun). Read previous posts. ATI removed it yesterday (thinking noone will notice of their fraud), and wasnt there for some of today.Looks like ATI decided not to be fraudulent in the end (and edited back the specs). Will still have to answer for misrepresentation if a class action lawsuit gets drawn up.
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music

Last edited by vask : Feb 17, 2006 at 01:11 PM.
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:59 PM   #30
vask
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 76
vask is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaidarHaran
Why are we complaining about the *lack* of intrusive copy protection schemes? This is idiotic. No HDCP = good!
Because without it, there is no way to playback HDCP ptotected bluray/hddvd material (and they will all be protected). We don't even know if it can be cracked yet. Unless ati provides the crack, x1x00 line of cards are useless in regard to high definition source material.

But more importantly ATI were falsely advertising that feature!
__________________
AMD 3700+ (San Diego) @2.6Ghz
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
HIS X1900 XT
Corsair XMS 3200 (2.5,3,3,6) 2x1Gig
Seagate 7200.9 160Gig Sata
X-Fi Xtreme Music
vask is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you having problems with Blu-Ray playback and HDCP with Catalyst 10.1? Jackaluichi CATALYST Drivers 11 Feb 20, 2010 12:41 AM
Where to find an X1900 XT 256MB w/ HDCP? junglist1996 General Radeon Discussion 0 Sep 19, 2006 12:36 AM
ATI Deepening Problems over HDCP Support 1stFlight General News 6 Feb 19, 2006 02:46 PM
Radeon 9700 Series DVI-HDCP - Rear Projection oface Radeon Technical Support 3 Nov 14, 2002 07:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink