Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Operating Systems » Linux » Drivers
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Drivers Discussion forum for Linux drivers.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2005, 09:04 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default suspend2 hibernation and fglrx - avoid freezing how?

Any tipps and trick how to make FGLRX work together with Suspend2?
It freezes with 8.18.8. (kernel 2.6.14) Is there a working version? Or something which makes it work?

vbetools workaround does not work. It says it cannot save the state because it cannot get the data needed. maybe fglrx is in the way?

Anyone who got it working?
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 9, 2005 at 09:50 AM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 03:39 AM   #2
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

So it seems no one uses suspend2 with fglrx. A sorry state. It can save some time when you dont have to boot your machine from the bottom! With XOrg driver it works well and restores whole system from swap partition. Like in windows the hibernation thingy. Cool!
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 05:16 AM   #3
Whoopie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Whoopie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi,

I got fglrx nearly working with suspend2.
My Samsung P35 resumes when using vbetool, but my screen under X (KDE and GNOME) is garbled. The screen isn't "redrawn" so that when e.g. scrolling in Firefox I only see the top of the page all the time.

Did you use vbetool under the console? That's needed. How does your hibernate script look like?

Regards,
Whoopie
Whoopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 11, 2005, 07:24 AM   #4
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoopie
Hi,

I got fglrx nearly working with suspend2.
My Samsung P35 resumes when using vbetool, but my screen under X (KDE and GNOME) is garbled. The screen isn't "redrawn" so that when e.g. scrolling in Firefox I only see the top of the page all the time.

Did you use vbetool under the console? That's needed. How does your hibernate script look like?

Regards,
Whoopie
I didnt edit anything in hibernate script!
You edited it in some way to run vbetool in console mode?
Can you please post about how you did it, or an example script/config?

Thanks!
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 07:48 AM   #5
Whoopie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Whoopie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Sorry, but my laptop is under repair. It comes back next week.

But what I have in mind is:

hibernate.conf:

### vbetool
EnableVbetool yes
# RestoreVbeStateFrom /var/lib/vbetool/vbestate
VbetoolPost yes
# RestoreVCSAData yes

### xhacks
SwitchToTextMode yes
# UseDummyXServer yes


And I changed in /usr/share/hibernate/scriptlets.d/vbetool:

if [ -z "$VBETOOL_HOOKED" ] ; then
AddSuspendHook 02 VbetoolSaveState <-- before 97
AddResumeHook 97 VbetoolRestoreState
VBETOOL_HOOKED=1
fi

It's nearly at the end of the file.

Regards,
Whoopie
Whoopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2005, 04:43 PM   #6
jec0s
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
jec0s is still being judged by the masses


Default

Check out 8.19.10 it has some added initial support for suspend and resume, haven't been able to test it yet.
__________________

jec0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 04:56 AM   #7
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Good news, i hope it is for suspend2 not only old software suspend! I am downloading it right now and will test in a couple if minutes.

Just built it with my unofficial x86 ebuild for 8.19.10. (Its ebuild 8.18.8 without revision, it didnt compile for me..) You can do it yourself easily.


Test starts now ...
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 12, 2005 at 05:04 AM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 05:50 AM   #8
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Now, driver works well. fgl_glxgears is faster when i use -fbo option. But suspend is worse than before! Now suspend2 fails to suspend my machine, and it hangs when trying to recover.

With older driver suspension happened. Now it is unable to do it. No matter if I use vbetool or not.


Code:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtippett
Make sure you do not use any 'extra support tools' such as radeontool or vbetool. This *will* get in the way.

Also if possibly try to use a more recent kernel. These will work better.

Regards,

Matthew

Using kernel 2.6.14 and no vbetool, hibernate of suspend2 is unable to suspend! maybe it needs some fine tuning yet on side of hibernate script?

PS: After some experimentation I found that if fglrx is loaded, suspending freezes in the end. I think it must be related to fglrx module.

For now til its fixed, or somebody gives me an idea, i will use hibernation with save session, killing X and blacklisting fglrx driver. At least it I gain a lot of boot time, X starts from cached state and my apps will be restored by gnome next time I login.
My brute script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "SAVING GNOME SESSION" 
gnome-session-save 
sleep 2
echo "KILLING X" 
killall X 
sleep 1 
killall -9 X 
killall gdm 
sleep 1 
killall -9 gdm
And I appended fglrx to blacklist.
Also added
OnResume 20 xdm
to hibernation config...

Please anyone report successful hibernation with suspend2 kernel and new driver! Thanx
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 12, 2005 at 10:31 AM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 10:42 AM   #9
superm1
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 51
superm1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I know suspend2 is all spiffy and cool and stuff, but can you just revert to original suspend?

Back in my gentoo days I only used suspend2 because I managed to get a funky workaround to work with the ati driver that suspend wouldn't work with.

Now I'm using ubuntu and the suspend that is enabled by their kernel seemingly is using plain ol' software suspend and working like a charm.
superm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 12:05 PM   #10
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok, I will try to revert! And does old sw susp work well with fglrx?
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 01:25 PM   #11
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superm1
I know suspend2 is all spiffy and cool and stuff, but can you just revert to original suspend?

Back in my gentoo days I only used suspend2 because I managed to get a funky workaround to work with the ati driver that suspend wouldn't work with.

Now I'm using ubuntu and the suspend that is enabled by their kernel seemingly is using plain ol' software suspend and working like a charm.
I have tried suspending to disk with old suspend, and it kernel oopsed...dont know why.. I think I will stick to my X killer suspend2 script for now
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 04:48 PM   #12
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skrionius
I have tried suspending to disk with old suspend, and it kernel oopsed...dont know why.. I think I will stick to my X killer suspend2 script for now
I recompiled my kernel with pure suspend support without suspend2 and the kernel oops went away, but..

Suspend goes right to harddisk, shut down happens, and all seems to be resuming, but X is messed up and after some seconds of use it totally hangs... (no vbetool or anything)

I have R9600XT, using kernel 2.6.14.

i managed to use internal and external AGPGART with my mobo... but still it freezes with suspend.
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 03:40 PM   #13
waby38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
waby38 is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation Success Software Suspend 2.2-rc11 & fglrx 8.19.10

Hi!

My computer is a AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2600+, nForce 2,
1Go RAM, Radeon 9200SE

Just one success for suspending my PC using software suspend 2.2-rc11
I'm using FC4 kernel from http://mhensler.de/swsusp/
and livna ATI RPM!

And It Work !!! Good job ATI & Software suspend 2 team !
We need sofware suspend 2.2-rc10 (or more) to make it work.
With version < 2.2rc10, Software Suspend freeze at "atomic count"

Good job!

EDIT: well, after severals (>3) suspend crash my computer,
but maybe it's not an fglrx issue
- 3D acceleration is still present after suspend! (Good!)
- XV doesn't work anymore after suspend (bad...) => black screen
EDIT2: I found the process who give me errors when suspend/resume
It's "wpa_supplicant" (doaemon for WPA on my Wifi card (under ndiswrapper)
I just have to kill this process just after network down,
just add in conf file: /etc/hibernate/hibernate.conf
"OnSuspend 61 /usr/bin/killall wpa_supplicant"
then, I don't have crash anymore!
And for XV, I just change my prefs in mplayer from "xv" to "gl"

Last edited by waby38 : Nov 20, 2005 at 10:41 AM.
waby38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 04:25 PM   #14
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Tried 2.2-rc11 and WORKS PERFECTLY!!! Yes it is!! recompiled kernel, plus driver, and it suspend to disk and resumes...
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 07:28 PM   #15
Septor
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 1,392
Septor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Anyone using Suspend2 and fglrx willing to write up a Wiki page?

I started a wiki page at http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Suspend2 so please edit it into something useful
__________________
Desktop: Core 2 Duo E6400, P965 chipset, 2GB, Radeon X1900GT 256MB, Ubuntu Edgy (am64)
Notebook: NEC LaVie RX, Pentium-M 1.5GHz, i855 chipset, 768MB, Mobility Radeon 9600 64MB, Ubuntu (Dapper)
HTPC: Shuttle ST20G5, Athlon64 3000+, 1GB, Radeon Xpress 200 chipset, Radeon X550 128MB PCIe, Gentoo (amd64) [+Debian(sid) +Ubuntu(breezy)]
Septor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2005, 01:13 AM   #16
Whoopie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Whoopie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi,

I also tried fglrx 8.19.10 and my Samsung P35 suspends and resumes without freeze.
But nevertheless, my screen under X (KDE and GNOME) is garbled. The screen isn't "redrawn" so that when e.g. scrolling in Firefox I only see the top of the page all the time.
That's the same problem as with the older drivers before.

Any ideas?
I'm using Ubuntu Breezy with kernel 2.6.14.2 and suspend2-2.2-rc11.

Regards,
Whoopie
Whoopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2005, 02:40 AM   #17
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Septor
Anyone using Suspend2 and fglrx willing to write up a Wiki page?

I started a wiki page at http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Suspend2 so please edit it into something useful
Okay, I throw up something initial. Maybe it should need some compatibility tables later... I am not a mage of wiki, but if I have time I will try to keep it updated.
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2005, 05:19 AM   #18
gbil
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
gbil is still being judged by the masses


Default

In my pc suspend works but resume not! It hangs when it brings up the X Server.

When I first start my pc I get this in message log

Code:
fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 428 MBytes.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
[fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 8.19.10 [Nov  9 2005] on minor 0
[fglrx] ACPI power management is initialized.
Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at include/asm/semaphore.h:102
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
 [<e0f8ab6e>] __ke_down_struct_sem+0x14/0x2a [fglrx]
 [<e0fa02ff>] firegl_remove_all_drawables+0x3f/0x100 [fglrx]
 [<e0fa298f>] firegl_release_helper+0x55f/0x7c0 [fglrx]
 [<e0f91232>] firegl_takedown+0x32/0xb90 [fglrx]
 [<e0f908df>] firegl_release+0x12f/0x190 [fglrx]
 [<e0f88f28>] ip_firegl_release+0xf/0x13 [fglrx]
 [<c016f9c6>] __fput+0xb0/0x1c4
 [<c016e247>] filp_close+0x3e/0x62
 [<c01030b5>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
Debug: sleeping function called from invalid context at include/asm/semaphore.h:102
in_atomic():1, irqs_disabled():0
 [<e0f8ab6e>] __ke_down_struct_sem+0x14/0x2a [fglrx]
 [<e0fa02ff>] firegl_remove_all_drawables+0x3f/0x100 [fglrx]
 [<e0fa298f>] firegl_release_helper+0x55f/0x7c0 [fglrx]
 [<e0f91232>] firegl_takedown+0x32/0xb90 [fglrx]
 [<e0f908df>] firegl_release+0x12f/0x190 [fglrx]
 [<e0f88f28>] ip_firegl_release+0xf/0x13 [fglrx]
 [<c016f9c6>] __fput+0xb0/0x1c4
 [<c016e247>] filp_close+0x3e/0x62
 [<c01030b5>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 428 MBytes.
[fglrx] AGP detected, AgpState   = 0x1f000207 (hardware caps of chipset)
agpgart: Found an AGP 2.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
[fglrx] AGP enabled,  AgpCommand = 0x1f000304 (selected caps)
[fglrx] free  AGP = 54800384
[fglrx] max   AGP = 54800384
[fglrx] free  LFB = 55570432
[fglrx] max   LFB = 55570432
[fglrx] free  Inv = 0
[fglrx] max   Inv = 0
[fglrx] total Inv = 0
[fglrx] total TIM = 0
[fglrx] total FB  = 0
[fglrx] total AGP = 16384
Maybe Matthew could can help here?
__________________
FC4 -2.6.14.3 custom kernel - Xorg 6.8.2 fglrx 2D only driver - ATI Mobility 9000 - P4 3.06GHz - 512MB RAM
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2005, 11:40 AM   #19
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oops, its not so perfect!! I tried opengl thingies, and they are completly disabled upon resuming! ATI part of extension is gone totally. No opengl overlay and glxgears crashes!
Anyone experiencing the same?

EDIT: Sorry, something must be messed up! Maybe it is loggin in multiple times to X..i will experience some more...

BUT XV overlay is blank for me too, just like reproted by someone else!

EDIT2:
Another bug is that if I run Nested X (multiple logins to X, multiple screens), the first insance from which I suspend is working,but when switching to the second screen (Ctrl-Alt-F8) it hangs totally.
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 16, 2005 at 11:57 AM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2005, 04:45 PM   #20
Septor
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 1,392
Septor is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think the "XV doesn't work after suspend/resume" is a known bug.
__________________
Desktop: Core 2 Duo E6400, P965 chipset, 2GB, Radeon X1900GT 256MB, Ubuntu Edgy (am64)
Notebook: NEC LaVie RX, Pentium-M 1.5GHz, i855 chipset, 768MB, Mobility Radeon 9600 64MB, Ubuntu (Dapper)
HTPC: Shuttle ST20G5, Athlon64 3000+, 1GB, Radeon Xpress 200 chipset, Radeon X550 128MB PCIe, Gentoo (amd64) [+Debian(sid) +Ubuntu(breezy)]
Septor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2005, 04:38 AM   #21
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Septor
I think the "XV doesn't work after suspend/resume" is a known bug.
Yes it is. But partly it does work! mplayer is not but tvtime is working. So its not that simple for me at least XV is not totally ruined..

EDIT: but now it is totally! even tvtime isnt working.

It shows tv for a very short time milisecond maybe, and then goes black.
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 20, 2005 at 10:29 AM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2005, 04:14 PM   #22
Whoopie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Whoopie is still being judged by the masses


Default

One short question:

Should I disable PREEMPT in the kernel or not?

Regards,
Whoopie
Whoopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2005, 05:54 PM   #23
Septor
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 1,392
Septor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoopie
One short question:

Should I disable PREEMPT in the kernel or not?

Regards,
Whoopie
Doesn't matter. I have it enabled though, if that's any help. If you get PREEMPT kernel oopses, then try turning it off. If not, should be okay.
__________________
Desktop: Core 2 Duo E6400, P965 chipset, 2GB, Radeon X1900GT 256MB, Ubuntu Edgy (am64)
Notebook: NEC LaVie RX, Pentium-M 1.5GHz, i855 chipset, 768MB, Mobility Radeon 9600 64MB, Ubuntu (Dapper)
HTPC: Shuttle ST20G5, Athlon64 3000+, 1GB, Radeon Xpress 200 chipset, Radeon X550 128MB PCIe, Gentoo (amd64) [+Debian(sid) +Ubuntu(breezy)]
Septor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 03:38 AM   #24
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am experiencing problems with resuming again... :| It is ocassional, and I couldnt find out what is the cause! X screen remains blank, I am on console and can press numlock/capslock, so its alive...but when pressing alt-f7 to go to X it freezes... It happens rarely, especially if I dont use the computer for a long period. I am clueless why it does happen!
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 11:41 AM   #25
Whoopie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Whoopie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi,

I found following messages in dmesg after resume:

Quote:
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d8000000,400000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d8400000,200000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d8600000,100000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d8700000,80000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d8780000,20000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d87a0000,8000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d87a8000,4000 found
Nov 19 18:05:05 localhost kernel: mtrr: no MTRR for d87ac000,1000 found

[fglrx:drm_alloc] *ERROR* [buflist] Allocating 0 bytes
[fglrx:drm_free] *ERROR* [buflist] Attempt to free NULL pointer
Could this be the reason for my garbled screen under X after resume?
Whoopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 10:27 AM   #26
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

After a whole day of hacking around...jesus..i found that the simpliest thing was in the way..i had occasional hangs. And all caused by a proxy service running! (Used tinyproxy and ziproxy.) Now it works very well again without them!
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2005, 01:09 PM   #27
skrionius
Sad Radeon Renegade
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hungary Hungary
Posts: 221
skrionius is still being judged by the masses


Default

After some time using suspend2 and fglrx with multiple suspend/resume I
observed some weird thing. After some relogins/resumes with another user
in GDM, DRI of fglrx went away, opengl disappeared. Loggin in again made
it appear again, but then after hibernate -- resuming hanged my
machine... so still things to be improved with fglrx a/o suspend2.
__________________
SK - http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://jcrpg.blogspot.com
Abit NF7 (nforce2), 2500+ Barton, 1GB, 250G Hitachi HDD
ex-owner of an Asus R9600XT - fglrx 8.21.7 | radeon r300 Mesa CVS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB
gentoo linux (since 2003) kernel 2.6.22

Last edited by skrionius : Nov 21, 2005 at 01:13 PM.
skrionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvi - fglrx gath Drivers 0 Oct 10, 2006 04:04 AM
fglrx + FC 5 + X.org 7 = ? Seehund Drivers 7 Apr 10, 2006 08:10 AM
LFS and fglrx Pheidon Drivers 12 Jul 23, 2005 04:40 PM
fglrx and tv-out kuhlback Drivers 0 Sep 21, 2004 03:30 PM
fglrx-4.3.0-3.9.0 kernel-smp-2.6.6-1.435.2.3 fglrx-3.9.0-fc2-2.6.6.patch don't work artchaos Linux 7 Jul 11, 2004 05:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink