Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2004, 10:31 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default 9600XT - Help! See polygons blinks on screen

I have AIW 9600 XT 128MB. It is a new card to me. The problem is, when I run 3D games, I see many polygons blinks and "fly-by" on the screen. These polygons blinks very quickly. It feels like the order of drawing the polygons and texture is wrong, or draw at the wrong place. I tried to capture it, but screenshot doesn't pick up those polygons.

Here is my config:
ASUS P4B with Intel 1.6G. 1024MB RAM
WinXP SP1.
Latest driver from ATI. Just download last night.
DirectX 9c
MS .NET framework installed (does it matter!?)

The games that I tried: POP, NFSU, Juiced, Longbow. They all have the same problem. NFSU is most obvious, POP is least obvious visually.


Here is what I have tried:
I tried DirectX 9b, same problem
I tried older driver, same problem.
I tried to flash my BIOS to latest version, same problem
I tried to change the AGP size to 128MB, same problem
I tried different resolution, same problem. but it seem 800x600 is most obvious.
I tried to play with the options in ATI control panel, including VPU recovery, fast write, anti-alias, mipmapping blah blah blah... , same problem.
But it seem that if I change the Anti alias setting (vary between 2x to 16x), it result in different degree of the problem.. but i am not entirely sure.. it is hard to tell.
Here is the strange part, I tried to run 3DMark03, it has NO problem. the graphic is perfect in 3DMark03... why why why???


So any ATI experts out there, any idea, what else I can try?.. is it a faulty card? if it is, i need to know it soon so I can exchange it.

please help and Million thanks! I don't want to play game with those polygons!
Ben
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2004, 10:39 AM   #2
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,730
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Turn fast writes off and use AGP 4X.
Also, wrong forum
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2004, 10:47 AM   #3
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried to trun fast write off.. is there a particular steps I need to follow? Or does it need to go together with other settings?

My motherboard (ASUS P4B) can only support up to AGP 4X. and it is currently 4X.
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 9, 2004, 11:06 AM   #4
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,730
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Check your bios settings for fast writes options, or/and start->run->smartgart /g
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2004, 11:47 AM   #5
DnL
HD3850 AGP 512MB
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Panama there
Posts: 3,581
DnL is still being judged by the masses


Default

also up the AGP Voltage in your bios to 1.6v, helped me a lot
__________________
Got AMD?
DnL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2004, 08:04 AM   #6
SmeA
The King of Surf Guitar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 203
SmeA is still being judged by the masses


Default

Cud be overheating, check by taking the side panel off ur case and blow an office fan into it for a while
__________________
Dell Studio 15 Laptop| Radeon 4570 512mb|2x2gb Dual Channel PC2-6400 |320 gb SATA HDD|Core 2 Duo T4200 @ 2.0 Ghz

I agree with ristogod Get Firefox
SmeA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2004, 08:37 AM   #7
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default

Another night well wasted. Please offer some help.
Here is what I tried last night:
Install the latest CATALYST Control Center and play with the new settings -> no improvement
Try in various resolutions -> no improvement
I tried to turn off fast-write in control center -> no improvement. my BIOS doens't have option to turn off fast write
I tried to turn off AGP all together -> no improvement
Tried AGP in 1X, 2X, and 4X configuration -> no improvement
I tried to increase AGP size to 256MB -> no improvement
Upgrade to WinXP SP2 -> no improvement
If I leave all catalyst setting to default and play NFSU as highest resolution and with all effect turn on, the speed and everything is excellent, but "flying" polygons still exist..

And back to 3DMark03, it turns out the first 2 tests is perfect, and the second 2 tests show the polygons. I don't know what make the differences, the first 2 test are also very graphic intensive, so i don't know why it is so perfect on those two.

I don't think it is overheated, because I always have my side panel removed and it is a new card, and it is not like it appear in the middle of the game. it appear right at the beginning and through out the game.

I know someone else has similar problem, like this one below. so there must be a solution:
http://discussion.nd4spdworld.com/vi...highlight=9600

please please help.
ben
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2004, 11:30 AM   #8
SmeA
The King of Surf Guitar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 203
SmeA is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmm take it back and demand a replacement- looks like uve tried everythin
__________________
Dell Studio 15 Laptop| Radeon 4570 512mb|2x2gb Dual Channel PC2-6400 |320 gb SATA HDD|Core 2 Duo T4200 @ 2.0 Ghz

I agree with ristogod Get Firefox
SmeA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2004, 09:58 PM   #9
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default

basically after all the trying effort, i come down to 2 conclusions, please help me to identify which

1. The card is faulty. But if it is faulty, how come some 3DMark03 test ran perfectly in graphic (no polygons)?? and all the in-game graphic is perfect and fast, except of the flying polygons.. and these flying polygons just doesn't looks like a hardware problem. it looks like a rendering problem


2. my Motherboard doesn't support 9600XT. My board is ASUS P4B with 4x APG. But what is wrong with it? is it too old or what?


please help and thanks
ben
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2004, 12:44 PM   #10
polorp
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
polorp is still being judged by the masses


Wink heres the fix i have the same problems for 2 weeks

hello dude i khow you are very frustrated now, i was like that too

heres I do

install atitool for overclock

then you will see the core in 525 or 523 (dont really remember khow because im on work) and memory 325, the think I do is just put the core in 510 and memory on 315 and now i have 8X agp, fast write enable bla bla bla all the options ON and very high effect and all you want

i dont khow what is realy happend i read a lot of stuff and i think the core is too high i think or something

that i do and now it works realy realy fine

try that and let me khow what happend

Polo RP
Mexico.

Plus my board is AIW 9600 XT 128 I think is the same chip board so try it,
maybe you can do another combinations
polorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2004, 09:17 AM   #11
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default

Polo,

you are truely the messager from god! this ATI tool solve the problem entirly!!!!!!!!!!!! After week of effort and asking dozen of forums, this IS the solution! (I must have start and stop NFS 200 times this week to test out all combination)

So, for me, I keep the Core at 526 and I lower the Memory speed to 250. This setting solve the problem. So looks like the problem is the memory speed is too fast that my motherboard cannot handle. If I set the Memory speed to 260, I start to see the flicker polygons. Turn it back to 250, everything ok again.

Thanks everyone... I am a happy gamer now (with lots of graphic

ben
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2004, 09:50 AM   #12
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,730
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

You've got a defective card or a defective system and you shouldn't downclock your hardware in order to use it.
I'd RMA before the warranty term expires.
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2004, 01:56 PM   #13
huiben
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
huiben is still being judged by the masses


Default

how do I tell if it is a defective card or it is my motherboard problem? I don't want to go into the trouble of returning it and wait for a new one, unless i know it is a faulty card.

(and I do't have another spare system or spare card to try; otherwise, i would have known it long time ago)

ben
huiben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2004, 03:24 PM   #14
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,730
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

I know, but if you do not have a friend or a shop that can test it for you, then you'll be stuck with the question forever.
(I still think it's a motherboat+PSU problem...)

Last edited by Pr()ZaC : Sep 16, 2004 at 03:34 PM. Reason: typos
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2004, 10:59 PM   #15
polorp
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
polorp is still being judged by the masses


Default

so what you do, you get the board back?

the think is your mother doest support the memory speed

and im happy to read you are happy khow GL and when you get a newer MB you will se is dont the video board

see U later
polorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen blinks for quick second... curio Feedback Central 9 Dec 21, 2004 09:06 AM
Radeon 9600xt blank screen problem Kefinstar Radeon Technical Support 1 Oct 28, 2004 01:00 AM
9600XT black screen in X (slack 9.1) Darkcarnival Linux 22 Jun 24, 2004 08:14 AM
9600XT crashes and goes to blue screen LimpPimp Radeon Technical Support 3 Jan 1, 2004 06:39 AM
3.10 screen blinks Darth Flatus CATALYST Drivers 6 Dec 21, 2003 11:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink