Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2004, 03:09 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Uller
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
Uller is still being judged by the masses


Default New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Not another fake soft-mod, but a new and easy way to unlock those damn unlockable X800 Pro vivos with the XT Core and 1.6ns ram.

You have to use a different XT Bios, the guy who did it first used the one from Gigabyte, because the Sapphire X800 XT Bios didn't have the correct size!
Get it here:
http://www.station-drivers.com/page/atidriv%20bios.htm

Now flash it onto your Vivo with 1.6ns Speed, load up Windows, restart when you are asked to do, and voilá, enjoy your 16 pipe-monster!

It will only work with this bios, the Sapphire X800 XT bios out on the web won't work!
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 03:54 AM   #2
ants
BoostR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 974
ants is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

holy sh1t. someone try it!
__________________
Desktop #1: Intel Pentium 4 2.41G 533Mhz fsb | 512mb VeriTech DDR400 RAM | Gigabyte 64mb Radeon 9200 | ASUS P4PE-X Motherboard (i845PE) | 2x 40GB Seagate 7200 rpm 2mb cache Hard Drives | Leadtek Winfast TV 2000XP Expert Edition | 400W PSU | 5.1 Channel Ozaki Nuke28 Speakers | 8 in 1 USB2.0 Tevion Card Reader/Writer | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Viewmaster LCD monitor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop #2: AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Barton | 512mb Kingston DDR333 RAM | Gigabyte 128mb Radeon 9200SE | Gigabyte GA-7VM400M(F) Motherboard (VIA KM400) | 80GB Western Digital 7200 rpm 8mb cache Hard Drive | LG all in one DVD drive w/ DVD-RAM | 350W PSU | 2 Channel JBL Pro Speakers | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Futura LCD monitor |

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Laptop: Intel Petium M Centrino 1.6GHz | 1024mb DDR333 RAM | 128mb Onboard Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 with 915 Express Chipset | 40GB Fujitsu 4200 rpm Hard Drive | CDRW/DVDRW Dual Layer | 6 in 1 card reader/writer | Built in 802.11b/g Wireless | Windows XP Home SP2 | 14" Widescreen with BrightView
ants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 04:55 AM   #3
lohthx1r
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
lohthx1r is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

You mean no HardMOD is required ???
__________________
1. MSN K8N Neo2 Platinum Rev 1
2. BIOS 1.41b1
3. AMD64 3200+ Winchester (Zalman AlCu with Artic Ceramique)
4. Corsair TwinX1024-4000PT
5. HIS Excalibur IceQ II X800 Pro VIVO
6. Antec TruePower 480W
7. 2 x WD 200GB SATA (Connect to SATA3/4) RAID 0;2 x WD 80GB PATA Raid 0(Primary Master & Slave)
8. 1 x Liteon DVD Burner
9. WinXP Pro SP2
10. ThermalTake Xaser III Case
lohthx1r is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 28, 2004, 04:59 AM   #4
Uller
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
Uller is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

YES, no hardware mod is required!

Come on people, try it!

Last edited by Uller : Jun 28, 2004 at 05:11 AM.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 05:14 AM   #5
Brama
Radeon X1900xt
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Italy Milano
Posts: 32
Brama is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Also people with connected lasercut and still 12 pipes can try this bios to see if it unlocks last 4 pipes.

Please report results!

Bye,

Mao
Brama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 05:31 AM   #6
stinger32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
stinger32 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

can any1 try this for gs what are you waiting for.
stinger32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 06:23 AM   #7
ants
BoostR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 974
ants is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

someone with an X800Pro try it!
__________________
Desktop #1: Intel Pentium 4 2.41G 533Mhz fsb | 512mb VeriTech DDR400 RAM | Gigabyte 64mb Radeon 9200 | ASUS P4PE-X Motherboard (i845PE) | 2x 40GB Seagate 7200 rpm 2mb cache Hard Drives | Leadtek Winfast TV 2000XP Expert Edition | 400W PSU | 5.1 Channel Ozaki Nuke28 Speakers | 8 in 1 USB2.0 Tevion Card Reader/Writer | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Viewmaster LCD monitor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop #2: AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Barton | 512mb Kingston DDR333 RAM | Gigabyte 128mb Radeon 9200SE | Gigabyte GA-7VM400M(F) Motherboard (VIA KM400) | 80GB Western Digital 7200 rpm 8mb cache Hard Drive | LG all in one DVD drive w/ DVD-RAM | 350W PSU | 2 Channel JBL Pro Speakers | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Futura LCD monitor |

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Laptop: Intel Petium M Centrino 1.6GHz | 1024mb DDR333 RAM | 128mb Onboard Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 with 915 Express Chipset | 40GB Fujitsu 4200 rpm Hard Drive | CDRW/DVDRW Dual Layer | 6 in 1 card reader/writer | Built in 802.11b/g Wireless | Windows XP Home SP2 | 14" Widescreen with BrightView
ants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 07:07 AM   #8
Kibid
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Kibid is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

I would try it, but which of the bios's do I use? I see one listed at 500 for the core clock, but the XT's core clock is 520..

Last edited by Kibid : Jun 28, 2004 at 07:08 AM. Reason: spelling error
Kibid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 07:12 AM   #9
Uller
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
Uller is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

http://tw.giga-byte.com/Download/Dow...80x256v_f1.exe

This is the direct link to the bios!
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 07:19 AM   #10
Kibid
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Kibid is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

thanks uller, i'll download it and try it out right now (goes to hook up floppy drive again).. for the record i'll be trying with my Visontek x800pro which overclocks well past XT PE spec
Kibid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 07:40 AM   #11
Broken Hope
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 215
Broken Hope is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kibid
thanks uller, i'll download it and try it out right now (goes to hook up floppy drive again).. for the record i'll be trying with my Visontek x800pro which overclocks well past XT PE spec
I would advise you NOT to flash a standard pro with this bios, the VIVO boards are different, they don't have the laser cut, they don't have the pipes disabled in hardware, just locked out in the bios.

You may end up screwing up your card.
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:37 AM   #12
figs
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 371
figs is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

wots the price difference between x800 pro normail and vivo?
__________________
ASUS P4C800 Deluxe :: P4 2.4C @ 3GHz :: 2x256 PC3200 :: 9500Pro 3.3ns @ 385/345 (1.7V)
figs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:40 AM   #13
Broken Hope
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 215
Broken Hope is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by figs
wots the price difference between x800 pro normail and vivo?
Almost nothing, my Club3D VIVO from www.overclockers.co.uk was £305 which is about going rate for a pro anyway.
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:41 AM   #14
ants
BoostR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 974
ants is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

yer what figs said, whats the difference?
__________________
Desktop #1: Intel Pentium 4 2.41G 533Mhz fsb | 512mb VeriTech DDR400 RAM | Gigabyte 64mb Radeon 9200 | ASUS P4PE-X Motherboard (i845PE) | 2x 40GB Seagate 7200 rpm 2mb cache Hard Drives | Leadtek Winfast TV 2000XP Expert Edition | 400W PSU | 5.1 Channel Ozaki Nuke28 Speakers | 8 in 1 USB2.0 Tevion Card Reader/Writer | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Viewmaster LCD monitor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop #2: AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Barton | 512mb Kingston DDR333 RAM | Gigabyte 128mb Radeon 9200SE | Gigabyte GA-7VM400M(F) Motherboard (VIA KM400) | 80GB Western Digital 7200 rpm 8mb cache Hard Drive | LG all in one DVD drive w/ DVD-RAM | 350W PSU | 2 Channel JBL Pro Speakers | Windows XP Pro SP2 | 17" Futura LCD monitor |

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Laptop: Intel Petium M Centrino 1.6GHz | 1024mb DDR333 RAM | 128mb Onboard Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900 with 915 Express Chipset | 40GB Fujitsu 4200 rpm Hard Drive | CDRW/DVDRW Dual Layer | 6 in 1 card reader/writer | Built in 802.11b/g Wireless | Windows XP Home SP2 | 14" Widescreen with BrightView
ants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:42 AM   #15
stinger32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
stinger32 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Broken hope---> have you tried to mods your club3d vivo to xt?
stinger32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:45 AM   #16
Broken Hope
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 215
Broken Hope is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger32
Broken hope---> have you tried to mods your club3d vivo to xt?
Not yet, stuck at work, need to test if the mem will hit 560 also, had it at 520 along with the core, so I'm thinking it should be okay. Won't know for a while.
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:46 AM   #17
figs
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 371
figs is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Hope
Almost nothing, my Club3D VIVO from www.overclockers.co.uk was £305 which is about going rate for a pro anyway.
ok, so wots the difference between the two cards? one obviously has vivo, but naything else?
__________________
ASUS P4C800 Deluxe :: P4 2.4C @ 3GHz :: 2x256 PC3200 :: 9500Pro 3.3ns @ 385/345 (1.7V)
figs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:48 AM   #18
stinger32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
stinger32 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

but it is 1,6ns mem and no lasercut on the bridges on club3d VIVO?
stinger32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 08:49 AM   #19
Broken Hope
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 215
Broken Hope is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger32
but it is 1,6ns mem and no lasercut on the bridges on club3d VIVO?
I've not had the heatsink off but yes it has the 1.6ns memory and says XT on the heatsink sticker.
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:12 AM   #20
Kibid
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Kibid is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

no dice, the flash didn't work..prolly because it's not a vivo. Worth the try though. Didn't ruin the card, just simply flashed back to the original bios.
Kibid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:15 AM   #21
Codeman05
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Codeman05 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

ok well my pro has the vivo, theater rage chip, and the 1.6ns ddr3...so I'm about to get this a shot. Wish me luck
Codeman05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:27 AM   #22
highpingdrifter
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom England,north east
Posts: 2,133
highpingdrifter is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

did it work ?
highpingdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:28 AM   #23
Brama
Radeon X1900xt
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Italy Milano
Posts: 32
Brama is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Dear kibid please explain better.

What card do you have?
Serials of GPU?
Did you join the lasercut with conductive paint?

The flash goes well but you don't have 16 pipes or the flash itself goes wrong?

Thanks,


Mao
Brama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:38 AM   #24
Codeman05
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Codeman05 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

no, the flash worked, but it looks like ati tool is saying only 12 active pipelines still

heres the code on my core:
R420
215RADCGA11F
GB8843.1
0418AA
The card also has 1.6ns Samsung memory and the Theater Rage chip

Damn I'm a little disappoited now, figured I'd have a pretty good chance with this card getting it to work

Last edited by Codeman05 : Jun 28, 2004 at 09:41 AM.
Codeman05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:47 AM   #25
Brama
Radeon X1900xt
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Italy Milano
Posts: 32
Brama is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Codeman, which flasher do you use?

It seems that a polish guy was able to unlock using the flashrom 237 with these options: flashrom -p 0 biosname -f

Someone with a normal pro card already modded by conductive paint with no success (still 12 pipes) can try to flash this gigabyte bios and see if it enables 16 pipes?

Bye,

Mao
Brama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:50 AM   #26
Brama
Radeon X1900xt
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Italy Milano
Posts: 32
Brama is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

Here the link if someone is able to understand polish

http://twojepc.pl/news_wiecej.php?id...0ab4ce99a3b974
Brama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 09:52 AM   #27
Codeman05
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Codeman05 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

I used the gigabyte flash tool. will Flashrom flash a bios "r8****.f1"
I wasn't sure that it could handle that extension...if it does, let me know and I'll try that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brama
Someone with a normal pro card already modded by conductive paint with no success (still 12 pipes) can try to flash this gigabyte bios and see if it enables 16 pipes?
I don't see why not, but I'm not sure. I tried the hardmod, and it didn't work
Codeman05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 10:09 AM   #28
Codeman05
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Codeman05 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

looks like he used a differant bios...thats what he linked to anyway.
ATI.X800XT.256MB.Samsung.Rev.01

I have no idea what that page says lmao

Maybe I'll try that bios

EDIT: NM, I think he says that one didn't work so he tried the gigabyte bios

Last edited by Codeman05 : Jun 28, 2004 at 10:13 AM.
Codeman05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 10:14 AM   #29
Brama
Radeon X1900xt
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Italy Milano
Posts: 32
Brama is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

I don't read polish but logically it seems that the author tried first the xt samsung bios with only cosmetic and overclock results (still 12 pipes) and after flashed the gigabyte bios that unlocked the last 4 pipes.

You can rename the suffix of gigabyte bios in .bin or whatever you like.

After you can try to flash with the parameters that polish article suggests.

Bye,
Brama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2004, 10:15 AM   #30
Codeman05
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Codeman05 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it...

sounds good, I'll give it another go
Codeman05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeCube x800 XTPE VIVO or any x800 XL...??? DrScouse General Radeon Discussion 1 Oct 30, 2005 06:28 PM
radeon x800 PRO and x800 xt PE no longer sold on ati.com, whats going on SimsKiller General Radeon Discussion 2 Dec 23, 2004 04:26 PM
Help: TOXIC x800 PRO VIVO --> x800 XT Softmod Question Esoterik Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 Nov 15, 2004 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink