Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2004, 10:24 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
BenStark
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 21
BenStark is still being judged by the masses


Default My prefered way of stress testing a Radeon OC...

Just thought I'd give this topic its own thread even though I just mentioned it in another...

I found a really nice way of stress testing a Radeon overclock for stablity.

There's two tools you need:
#1: rthdribl at http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/
#2: 3DMARK03 at http://www.futuremark.com

Here's the steps to my stress testing:
Use Rage3DTweak to set your Radeon to default (non overclocked) speeds.

Load up rthdribl.
Rthdribl stresses the Radeon's core more than any other program I've seen.
It is a 3D tech demo of sorts, but...
It also makes it VERY obvious when there's artifacts. If you see large white dots flashing around, or if the circling "orbs" start flashing bright light your Radeon's core is set too high!
Make sure your memory is at stock speed through this process. Once you get a core clock speed that doesnt show artifacts in rthdribl then close up rthdribl. You now figured out your stable core clock speed. Write it down.

Set your core back to default. Its time to overclock the memory.

Load up 3DMARK03. Run the "Nature" Game Test in a loop. 3DMARK03 Nature stresses the memory of the Radeon. If you see white spots appearing, then you set your memory clock too high! Lower it until you no longer see white spots/artifacts through the whole game test.

Now you have your memory at its highest stable clock, set. Now bump up the core clock to the speed that was found with rthdribl. You now have what should be your Radeon's stable memory and core overclock settings. Run rthdribl and 3DMARK03 Nature with the settings, and fine tune if needed.

All done.

Works a hell of a lot better than ATITool and gives a much more realistic/true stable setting.

Hope this helps.

-BenStark
BenStark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2004, 10:52 PM   #2
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

rthdribl is a more sensitive than 3dmark03, and that's what I use to search for artifacts. I would make the image stand still when I'm searching for artifacts though. Also upping the multisample to 16x helps as well and make it fullscreen.

Hands down rthdribl is the most sensitive 3d testing program out there. Atitool is crap.
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2004, 01:02 AM   #4
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 311Sam
in my experience, the water in far cry is the best for testing
psh, nah. I rather use the water in 3dmark03.
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2004, 01:12 AM   #5
311Sam
look for The Light
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United States In church praying for you (in Texas)
Posts: 4,211
311Sam is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by T07N
psh, nah. I rather use the water in 3dmark03.
yea but you cant choose to only run that test in 3dmark right? So you got to sit and watch all the other crap till it gets to that one test right?
311Sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2004, 01:17 AM   #6
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 311Sam
yea but you cant choose to only run that test in 3dmark right? So you got to sit and watch all the other crap till it gets to that one test right?
Get a cd key and select mother nature test only. =)
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2004, 10:31 AM   #7
snookums
Nothing is true.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada The 'Sauga, Ontario
Posts: 4,291
snookums is still being judged by the masses


Default

FarCry!!! i had to lower my OC in FarCry from my rhtbliighhtks setting.
__________________
I don't always lie, but when I do, I always tell the truth.
Shivtr | Free Guild Hosting
snookums is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stress testing... VF-1A Valkyrie Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 15 Jun 24, 2009 03:26 PM
Stress testing Fear BENCHMARKMAN PC Gaming 3 Jun 8, 2006 10:34 AM
Best stress testing app for x1800xt valkrien Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Dec 10, 2005 01:21 PM
Stress-test GPU/Artifact Testing Flapjack1976 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Dec 5, 2005 12:32 PM
Check out this box I've been stress-testing @ work: ShaidarHaran Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 17 Sep 17, 2005 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink