Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2004, 12:42 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
TimothyB
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 3,200
TimothyB is still being judged by the masses


Default How far can a wireless router reach outside of a home?

I own a condo across the street and a bit down from my Mom's condo. She's still stuck on a cheap dial-up that is incredibly slow and usually drops when trying to dl anything 2megs and larger.

I'm wondering if there is a wireless router that can reach her place from mine so she can use my DSL since she can't afford it right now.

I can't tell you how many feet it is right now, but here's a pic of the area (The router would be in number 64, my moms place is number 19):



I know about people that park out side homes and businesses to access free internet from a low security network, but how far does it go beyond than just across the street from the router.

What type of wireless router would I need to get to reach that distance and how much would it cost?
__________________
Barton 2500+ (185*11.5) 2127mhz
Asus A7N8X Rev 2.0 1005bios
2x512mb Geil DDR3200 6-3-3-2 Dual
Thermalright slk-800-u heatsink
Antec True 430watt
Leadtek 6800 128mb at 400/850
Compro Videomate TV/FM Gold Plus
Maxtor IDE pci card, Audigy 1
HDs WD, 3x80gig, 60gig, 30gig
http://www.toonguru.com/

Last edited by TimothyB : Feb 3, 2004 at 12:56 AM.
TimothyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2004, 12:56 AM   #2
kbleft
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ATi bandwagon
Posts: 1,873
kbleft is still being judged by the masses


Default

The router won't reach, but you may be able to place a wireless repeater in her condo. http://store.yahoo.com/justdeals/dwl800ap.html
kbleft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2004, 01:08 AM   #3
TimothyB
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 3,200
TimothyB is still being judged by the masses


Default

Wow, and for $34.95-$50 that can be used as an access point too? Does that mean I could connect that to my existing router, then I'd have a wireless network? Then another one could be placed at the other condo in hopes it reaches it?

Kind of like this diagram:




Though, I can't seem to find what range these things have to begin with, even if for not using it for what I'm proposing.
__________________
Barton 2500+ (185*11.5) 2127mhz
Asus A7N8X Rev 2.0 1005bios
2x512mb Geil DDR3200 6-3-3-2 Dual
Thermalright slk-800-u heatsink
Antec True 430watt
Leadtek 6800 128mb at 400/850
Compro Videomate TV/FM Gold Plus
Maxtor IDE pci card, Audigy 1
HDs WD, 3x80gig, 60gig, 30gig
http://www.toonguru.com/

Last edited by TimothyB : Feb 3, 2004 at 01:11 AM.
TimothyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 3, 2004, 01:20 AM   #4
BenFolds
Ham sandwich
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States The land of wind and ghosts
Posts: 1,902
BenFolds is still being judged by the masses


Default

building 21 is in your way. the signal path will never make it, even if its chances were slim. i get signal from my neighbor's wap, and they're across the street. I do have a clear line of sight, and their router is right near their window.

anywho, you should smash building 21.
BenFolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2004, 01:33 AM   #5
TimothyB
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 3,200
TimothyB is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BenFolds
building 21 is in your way. the signal path will never make it, even if its chances were slim. i get signal from my neighbor's wap, and they're across the street. I do have a clear line of sight, and their router is right near their window.

anywho, you should smash building 21.
I'll have to check if there's a good line of site. The dark part of 21 is just the wooden fence patio. And the room where her pc is in #19 is in the front left corner, the corner closest to mine. And in my place my PC is next to the wall against the street, but I have a brick patio on that side.

I think the best alternative is to just buy DSL for 19, rather than buy number 21 and smash it down.
__________________
Barton 2500+ (185*11.5) 2127mhz
Asus A7N8X Rev 2.0 1005bios
2x512mb Geil DDR3200 6-3-3-2 Dual
Thermalright slk-800-u heatsink
Antec True 430watt
Leadtek 6800 128mb at 400/850
Compro Videomate TV/FM Gold Plus
Maxtor IDE pci card, Audigy 1
HDs WD, 3x80gig, 60gig, 30gig
http://www.toonguru.com/
TimothyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2004, 01:35 AM   #6
Liuke
Fuzzy Bunnies go BOIIING!
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hoppyland
Posts: 4,369
Liuke is still being judged by the masses


Default

There's no definitive way to answer the range question. Sure, we could talk about the theoretical max distances these things can handle, but it's all pretty meaningless. In the real world, there are way too many variables that could affect your range. There could be other sources of radio interference, obstacles, etc. The list would just go on. Going across a street makes it seem less likely to me that it would reach. Heck, the AP in my parents' house can't even cover the entire inside of the house so I wouldn't even think of trying something across the street in my scenario.

It seems like your best bet for propagating the signal would be to put the repeater in an intermediate location between your condo and your mom's. This is what one of my friends did, and it works nicely in the crowded streets of Chicago. Of course, he had a friend living along the way to where he wanted to reach where he could stick the repeater. It may be tricky to mount it in a location between if you don't know anyone there.

You can always try multiple repeaters chained together as well if the signal still doesn't reach. Just remember anyone accessing the network through a repeater will suffer a throughput penalty for each repeater they have to go through.
__________________
A64 X2 3800+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe | 2 x 512 MB Crucial Ballistix PC3200 | 2 x BFG 6800 GT OC | BFG 550W PSU | WD Raptor 74GB | WD 160GB SE | Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW + 16X DVD-ROM | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 | Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers | Logitech G15 | G5 | MX1000 | Ideazon Zboard | 3DMark03 = 20963 | 3DMark05 = 9645

P4 2.8C | Asus P4P800 Deluxe | 2x256MB Kingston HyperX PC3500 and 2x512MB Corsair Value DDR400 | ATI X800 XL | Antec TrueBlue 480W | WD 40GB | Saitek Eclipse KB | Razer Diamondback Plasma LE

Athlon XP-M 2500+ | Abit NF7-S | 2 x 256MB Corsair Value PC3200 and 1 x 512MB Simpletech Nitro PC3500 | AIW 9600 Pro | Enermax Noisetaker 470W PSU | WD 100GB SE | WD 80GB | WD 40GB | Lite-On 40x12x48 CD-RW | Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 1 | Logitech Cordless MX Duo + MX518
Liuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2004, 11:30 AM   #7
happie23
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 296
happie23 is still being judged by the masses


Default

you could put an access point and have a antenna on each roof. That's at least what a network guy said for our networking problem. He said that line of sight isn't an issue with antennas. Of course, that will be pricey... probably getting DSL in your mother's condo would be better.
__________________
I'm too ashamed to post my computer spec's...
happie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS WL-520gU Home Gateway Wireless Router Review @ TechwareLabs Lupine Networking [Archived] 0 Dec 17, 2009 10:31 PM
Wireless Router? Cowzrul Networking [Archived] 11 Apr 23, 2008 11:08 PM
Which wireless router? D-Knight General Hardware 24 Nov 16, 2004 11:08 PM
Wireless Router Help please GoldenNugget General Hardware 11 Sep 10, 2003 09:48 AM
Linksys WRT54G wireless router-2 Belkin USB Wireless Adapters - F5D6050 udoh General Hardware 4 Jun 3, 2003 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink