Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 23, 2003, 08:15 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Cool 9500Pro FLASHING for Noobs and Newcomers!

*** Please be aware that this post is quite old, now. ***


PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE POST, CAREFULLY!!!! ESPECIALLY THE "EDITS" AT THE END.

If you've not figured it out, yet, overclocking a 9500Pro requires flashing the video card with a BIOS that's been "altered" to allow overclocking. Unfortunately, the vidRAM that the 9500Pros come equiped with varies from card to card, depending upon numerous things, such as (but not limited to), the card manufacturer, the vidRAM manufacturer, the date of manufacture, the location of manufacture, etc.. Each of these "variants" of the 9500Pro has it's own special BIOS;..........and then some. In some cases you will find 2 different "altered" BIOS'z available for your particular vidRAM. In this case, you will want to use the "altered" BIOS that is most similar to the original BIOS that was on your card when purchased. How to do this, exactly, should become clearer to you, after you read this post and the readme files contained in the "kit".

I know you're really excited about overclocking your card, but please, TAKE A DEEP BREATH! Be patient. Make sure you know EXACTLY what you're doing before diving in.




I have put together a "kit" containing everything you should need to flash a "fixed" overclockable BIOS onto your 9500Pro, no matter what vidRAM your card came with. You WILL, however, need to be able to identify your particular vidRAM (see the pix at the end of this post for some help).
Grab the "kit" right HERE!!!!!!!!!

The kit includes:

*** ATI Flash Utility w/ rewritten and more thorough instructions including how to back-up your original BIOS, FIRST
*** a super-simple boot-disc-making utility
*** RadEdit for examining and also editing existing BIOS'z
*** several (9) BIOS'z for 9500Pro cards that I've collected, made, or just plain stolen
*** JPEGs of "what the BIOS'z look like" when opened with RadEdit

Description of the different BIOS'z contained in the "kit":

***** If a BIOS is named "ORIGINAL_##" then it is DEFINITELY an "ORIGINAL" BIOS that came with a card! *****
* 9500WARP.BIN is warp11's overclockable BIOS for cards with Hynix 3.6ns vidRAM.
* 9500_33.BIN is TriC's overclockable BIOS for cards with Infineon 3.3ns vidRAM.
* 9500_30.BIN is darkmage's overclockable BIOS for cards with Infineon 3.0ns vidRAM.
* HERC9500PAL.BIN is a BIOS that was apparently made for non-American, Hercules-branded 9500Pro's with Infineon 3.0ns vidRAM. HERC9500NTSC.BIN was made from the HERC9500PAL.BIN BIOS by changing the TV standard from "PAL" to "NTSC" using RadEdit.
* ORIGINAL_30.BIN and FIXED_30.BIN are the original and overclockable (respectively) BIOSez for an ATI-branded Radeon9500PRO with Infineon 3.0ns vidRAM. This BIOS "appears" different from the HERC BIOS when opened with both RadEdit and/or a HEX-editor.
* ORIGINAL_33.BIN and FIXED_33.BIN are the original and overclockable (respectively) BIOS'z for an ATI-branded Radeon9500PRO with Infineon 3.3ns vidRAM. This BIOS "appears" newer AND different than TriC's 9500_33.BIN BIOS when opened with RadEdit and/or a HEX-editor.
* darkmage's 9500_30.BIN and FIXED_30.BIN are EXACTLY identical when opened with RadEdit and/or a HEX-editor, so take your pick if that's the BIOS for you.

The "kit" does NOT contain the "original" BIOS from which 9500WARP.BIN, 9500_33.BIN, HERC9500PAL.BIN, and HERC9500NTSC.BIN BIOS'z were derived. Based upon my knowledge of how 9500WARP.BIN was constructed, it should be easy to return it to it's "original" state, using a HEX-editor. I am not certain of EXACTLY how the other three (3) were constructed, however similar approaches could be used in an attempt to make an "original" version of these BIOS'z, as well.


FIDDLING WITH YOUR CARD VOIDS YOUR WARRANTY!


Picture of INFINEON 3.0ns vidRAM:


Picture of INFINEON 3.3ns vidRAM:



EDITS!:

Since initially making this overclocking "kit", certain software methods that do not require a videocard BIOS flash HAVE become available. IMO the "flash" is the best route, however, if you're still squeamish about doing that, try one of the software methods.

Since first putting the "kit" together, I have also grabbed (thanks to razzd!) an "original" and "traceable" Hercules, Infineon 3.0ns, PAL BIOS that is NOT included in the "kit". It can easily be made NTSC using RadEdit. I've checked, and indeed, the ONLY difference(s) between this "original" Hercules BIOS and the "overclockable" ones in the "kit" is/are the single overclocking change, and, if the case may be, the single "NTSC TV Standard" change (and of course the checksum change). If anyone is interested in a copy of this "original" BIOS for a Hercules card with Infineon 3.0ns vidRAM, let me know via my email address or here in these forums.

Regarding showing up as a 9700Pro, that's what all of the overclockable BIOS'z do. I'm not sure if this makes a difference or not, but with my 9500Pro and "fixed" BIOS I go into the Device Manager > Display adapters > right-click Properties > Driver tab > Update Driver button. In the Driver Update Wizard, choose the choice that says "Display a list of known drivers for this device so that I can choose a specific driver". When the list comes up, change the choice to "Show all hardware of this device class". Now you can choose "9500Pro/9700" as your display adapter. Do this with your "secondary" display adapter, too (9500Pro/9700 - Secondary). I'm not sure if different driver components get loaded or not when you do this, but it eliminates some, but not all, of the "problem" of being detected as a 9700Pro; IF that bothers you (it bothered me). I have not benchmarked to see if it really makes a difference or not.

If you have problems flashing, try changing the name of the BIOS that you're trying to flash, to something like FIXED.BIN and/or ORIGINAL.BIN and re-saving on your boot disc.

Although it's a bit hazy, what IS clear is that the "kit" will not work properly for overclocking the FIC cards, HIS cards, or any cards with Infineon 3.6ns vidRAM. AS FAR AS I CAN TELL, it works fine for "most" all other cards. An overclockable BIOS is NOT yet available for the FIC and HIS cards nor the cards with Infineon 3.6ns vidRAM. The BIOS on those cards is not "fixable" by the method first described by warp11. For some of these cards, the ATIflash utility WILL NOT WORK, and you must use another utility called FLASHROM that can be found HERE. The flashing instructions and commands are the same as those for ATIFlash and are found in the ATIflash_readme in my "kit". A few people have reported overclocking success with some of the aforementioned cards, using both warp11's BIOS for the Hynix 3.6ns vidRAM, TriC's BIOS for Infineon 3.3ns vidRAM, and my BIOS for Infineon 3.3ns vidRAM, depending upon which vidRAM and BIOS their card was originally equiped. However, you may want to try other BIOS'z, as well. PLEASE EXPERIMENT. Come back and tell us your results. From most indications, I can tell you that the Infineon 3.6ns, if you happen to get this vidRAM, is not a good overclocker.
__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."

Last edited by Sivadselim : Aug 11, 2004 at 01:06 AM.
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 23, 2003, 08:25 PM   #2
Ace M
?siht daer uoy naC
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,139
Ace M is still being judged by the masses


Default

It would be nice if someone made something like this for 9700s. It would save alot of time answering "How do I overclock my card?" posts.


Just an idea

P.S. GOOD WORK

Keep it COOL and MOD on
__________________
"Guns don't kill people, physics does!" Dick Solomon

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33678343

My g card mod

http://homepages.nyu.edu/~am1221/SafetyDance/ Funniest thing on the planet!!!!
Ace M is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 06:56 AM   #3
Firelord-OCHW
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Firelord-OCHW is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: 9500Pro Overclocking for Noobs and Newcomers!

Quote:
Originally posted by Sivadselim
I have a "kit" put together with everything you need to overclock a 9500Pro, no matter what vidRAM your card came with. You WILL, however, need to be able to identify your vidRAM. The kit includes:

--- ATI Flash Utility w/ rewritten and more thorough instructions including how to back-up your original BIOS, FIRST
--- a super-simple boot-disc-making utility
--- RadEdit for examining and also editing existing BIOS'z
--- several (9) BIOS'z for 9500Pro cards that I've collected, made, or just plain stolen
--- JPEGs of "what the BIOS'z look like" when opened with RadEdit

If anyone wants this stuff, email me or post here. I'm also going to try to get this recent conglomeration hosted somewhere.



Here's the "BIOS'z_readme" file that's included with the BIOS'z:




You got mail
Firelord-OCHW is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 24, 2003, 10:03 AM   #4
Momoman907
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: On my boat with my K-Pole
Posts: 190
Momoman907 is still being judged by the masses


Default

That would be great, email your package to [email protected]
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon XP2500 (Retail)
2 X 512 PC3200 Kingston
1 X WD 200 gig 8meg cache
1 X WD 80 gig 8meg cache
ATI X800pro 256
Antec SX1040BII (SOHO File Server) w/ 400W PSU
Momoman907 is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 04:01 PM   #5
occipiter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
occipiter is still being judged by the masses


Default Please

Pleeease, send it to me!
[email protected]
----------
occipiter
----------
occipiter is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 04:23 PM   #6
ThE_S
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
ThE_S is still being judged by the masses


Default

great idea
i would love to get a copy of the package

[email protected]

thnx dude!!
ThE_S is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 04:32 PM   #7
Wolvster
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 163
Wolvster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Most definatley count me in as well !

I've had my 9500 Pro now for about 6 month's and
have not OC'd it yet.... Suppose I should try ?

LOL...

Please send to,

[email protected]


Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wolvster is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 06:31 PM   #8
Gilby
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Gilby is still being judged by the masses


Default Hercules 9500 pro "red"

I would love to have your package.

Can you please send it to [email protected]
Gilby is offline  
Old Apr 24, 2003, 10:25 PM   #9
Wolf
The Man Who Wouldnt Be
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 691
Wolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

anyone used this yet and have a vedict?
Wolf
Wolf is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 05:59 AM   #10
Momoman907
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: On my boat with my K-Pole
Posts: 190
Momoman907 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yes I have and couldn't be happier. I have the Sapphire 9500pro with 3.3 inf and before this best I could do was 295/285. Now I'm up at 325/288, stable as hell. At 327/290, after an hour or so of hosting a game, my system rebooted. I'm going to add some passive cooling this weekend and try to push it up a bit more.

Simply put, it worked for me and I an definitely a happy camper.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon XP2500 (Retail)
2 X 512 PC3200 Kingston
1 X WD 200 gig 8meg cache
1 X WD 80 gig 8meg cache
ATI X800pro 256
Antec SX1040BII (SOHO File Server) w/ 400W PSU
Momoman907 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 06:01 AM   #11
Wolf
The Man Who Wouldnt Be
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 691
Wolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

thanx, now when/if he replies to my mail I would try it and host it on ftp for all.
Wolf
Wolf is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 11:01 AM   #12
Nippletwister
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Nippletwister is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Would you also mail me that kit?
I would be very happy with that!
Thanx in advance.

[email protected]

BTW does this also work on sapphire radeon 9500 pro?
Nippletwister is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 11:50 AM   #13
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy

The RadFlashPLUS!!!!!! file is 1MB+!

I'm getting a lot of rejected emails back. Please use an email account that will accept a file of this size. THANKS!

Host coming soon, probably!


__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 02:26 PM   #14
Sil
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Sil is still being judged by the masses


Default mirror

Hiya guys file mirrored here :-

Download here

Many thanks to Sivadselim for the file, very useful package.

enjoy
Sil is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 02:53 PM   #15
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Talking

SUPER!





thx a lot!
__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 04:00 PM   #16
jds291
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: usa
Posts: 20
jds291 is still being judged by the masses


Default

This guy is doing you a favor

I flashed mine and used tric's 9500_33 bios and didn't have any problems. Got it up to 370/335
__________________
[email protected]
Msi Kt3 Ultra
[email protected]/345
512mb PC2700
40gig WD 7200 20gig WD 5400

3DMark2K1 3DMark2K3
jds291 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 05:41 PM   #17
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a Sapphire Radeon 9500Pro OEM with Infineon 3.3ns mem. I flashed it with the 9500OC-33.BIN bios and got some corruption. I flashed to the no oc one (9500_33.BIN) and hsve no corruption. Does that mean that my mem just wont OC?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 05:50 PM   #18
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Default

What is "9500OC-33.BIN"? That's not in my "kit".

9500_33.BIN is overclockable. It just gives you the stock clockspeeds before you oc. Y ou hafta use an oc utility to oc it. I like RadClocker. You can try using RadEdit to make and save a new BIOS that has faux higher "stock" clockspeeds, but I've seen reports of limited success doing this.

There's also another 3.3ns BIOS available in the kit, FIXED_33.BIN, that may be of some help to you.


__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 06:05 PM   #19
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Where do I get this "kit" at? Also.....I used the OC version of the 9500_33.BIN and it was clocked at 303/303. I totally had screen anomalies and corruption. Then I tried to clock it at 324/295 and got really horrible corruption. BTW.....when I say "clocked" I mean I set the clock speeds with radedit in the vid BIOS files. I would rather have them set in the BIOS at whatever speed Im going to end up on then use a tweaker. Is there some sweet spot I can set this to? 300/290 or something?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 06:52 PM   #20
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Default

The "kit" is the subject of this thread, Einstein.



I'd recommend using an overclockable, but not clock-modified BIOS and an overclocking utility to find your settings, then perhaps constructing your clock-modified BIOS based upon what you find.

I'd recommend not oc'ing by clock-modifying the BIOS. I've seen numerous posts about people having limited success with this approach. I, personally, don't prefer it, as my computer room changes temperature from season to season, and I've found that my oc ceilings are very sensitive to the room temperature.

I like RadClocker because all it adds is an overclocking tab to the control panel.

__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 07:19 PM   #21
Momoman907
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: On my boat with my K-Pole
Posts: 190
Momoman907 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hey cpharrboy

You have the same card as me, use the FIXED_33.bin bios and because you have infineon. forget getting much more than 290 on the memory clock without the voltage mod or active cooling. Now I can run 325/290 as is, but intend to add some heatsinks and a cooling fan. Infineon sucks for overclocking. I read that in post after post, and its true.

Welcome to the real world

I would also recommend RadClock. I use it and RageTweak3d. Radclock to OC, Rage to help with some settings and colour correction
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon XP2500 (Retail)
2 X 512 PC3200 Kingston
1 X WD 200 gig 8meg cache
1 X WD 80 gig 8meg cache
ATI X800pro 256
Antec SX1040BII (SOHO File Server) w/ 400W PSU
Momoman907 is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 07:33 PM   #22
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Where do I get the fixed_33.bin bios from?



EDIT: Wait....I see.......could the guy who has it mail it to me at [email protected] please?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA

Last edited by cpharrboy : Apr 25, 2003 at 07:35 PM.
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 07:37 PM   #23
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cpharrboy

EDIT: Wait....I see.......could the guy who has it mail it to me at [email protected] please?

No, there's a link in this thread to it!!!!!!!



__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 07:43 PM   #24
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Jesus Im sorry....I didnt see it
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 07:58 PM   #25
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Now that I have the kit.....I noticed the part numbers are different. Is that the "fixed" part of the fixed_33.bin BIOS? The bios Im using now, 9500_33.bin is part#113-A05602-101 and the fixed_33.bin bios is part#113-A05602-104. Also....will I need to re-install my drivers due to the part number change? On more thing......The current BIOS Im using makes the card show up as a 9700 Pro
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 09:45 PM   #26
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Angry



The explanation's all in the readme, cpharrboy.

Maybe you should just leave your card alone.



Regarding showing up as a 9700Pro, that's what all of the overclockable BIOS'z do. I'm not sure if this makes a difference or not, but with my 9500Pro and "fixed" BIOS I go into the Device Manager > Display adapters > right-click Properties > Driver tab > Update Driver button. In the Driver Update Wizard, choose the choice that says "Display a list of known drivers for this device so that I can choose a specific driver". When the list comes up, change the choice to "Show all hardware of this device class". Now you can choose "9500Pro/9700" as your display adapter. Do this with your "secondary" display adapter, too (9500Pro/9700 - Secondary).

Not sure if different driver components get loaded or not when you do this, but it eliminates some, but not all, of the "problem" of being detected as a 9700Pro.


__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 10:03 PM   #27
cpharrboy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States NC
Posts: 487
cpharrboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im not some stupid idiot........I just asked a question....Ill just stop directing them in your direction and maybe I can avoid you patronizing me. Its not hard to just answer somones question without being a smart ass. I know how to reinstall my drivers.....I asked will I have to reinstall them because Im lazy and dont want to re-install them. Sometimes when you flash your BIOS the card is no longer considered the same one by windows.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 x2 4200+ | 2gb (2x1gb) OCZ Platinum REV2 DDR2-800 Dual Channel | VisionTek X1950pro XGE 256mb GDDRIII AGP | MSI K9MM-V | Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320gb 7200 SATA

Last edited by cpharrboy : Apr 26, 2003 at 02:00 AM.
cpharrboy is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2003, 10:16 PM   #28
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Talking

__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2003, 05:14 AM   #29
Sil
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Sil is still being judged by the masses


Default

Grrr, well flashed just fine to fixed_33.bin, and i can overclock stable to 327/310 very nice, only problem is with radclocker the speeds reset on restart even thougth in the boot section of the overclocking tab i push on boot use current :/

I can see the peformance increase in games etc after setting the speed, but as soon as i reboot it's gone :/

any idears???

Thanks
Sil
Sil is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2003, 07:08 AM   #30
Momoman907
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: On my boat with my K-Pole
Posts: 190
Momoman907 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Wait for somone else to confirm this but I believe that you take your bios, the FIXED_33.bin. Load it in RadEdit then creat a new one with your new clock settings. I'm still wating for those magic stable clock numbers and haven't gone that far yet. Going out today to purchase a VGA cooling kit and another case fan.

good luck
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon XP2500 (Retail)
2 X 512 PC3200 Kingston
1 X WD 200 gig 8meg cache
1 X WD 80 gig 8meg cache
ATI X800pro 256
Antec SX1040BII (SOHO File Server) w/ 400W PSU
Momoman907 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This little noob knows more than most noobs, noobs DorXtar Off Topic Lounge 11 Dec 6, 2008 12:20 AM
Video Card Cooling for Noobs and Newcomers! FuzZ Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 257 Mar 5, 2005 05:06 AM
welcome message to all newcomers Sasquach Off Topic Lounge 335 Sep 21, 2004 01:07 PM
Overclocking a 9500Pro? Paajtor Radeon Technical Support 5 Jul 13, 2003 04:04 AM
9500Pro Overclocking kilroy67 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Mar 3, 2003 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink