Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2003, 02:41 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
granth
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada bc
Posts: 16
granth is still being judged by the masses


Default ati inspector thinks different

I am using ATI Inspector to generate a problem report before RMA'ing and it detects my current agp transfer as 1x,2x. It says that 1x, 2x, and 4x are supported.

In smartgart it says 8x is the current transfer speed. Which one is correct? ATI Inspector also detects a 64mb aperture after I set it to 128. Fastwrites are on.

I have a 9500P with 3.3 infineon I configuration. Suffers from corruption problems. Windows doesnt show corruption when I set hardware acceleration down 3 notches, although I get corruption at the boot screen but not the bios.
granth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 02:58 PM   #2
Kowan
Older than dirt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States California
Posts: 2,206
Kowan is still being judged by the masses


Default

PowerStrip would list your current AGP transfer rate and Aperture size.
PowerStrip 3.30

P.S. Look in the Adapter Information section on PowerStrip.
__________________
"The happiest people don't necessarily have the best of everything.
They just make the best of everything." - Unknown
Kowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 03:20 PM   #3
granth
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada bc
Posts: 16
granth is still being judged by the masses


Default

How do I enable transfer mechanism and AGP texturing? I have hardware acceleration turned 3 notches down to stop corruption.

My aperture isnt detected correctly.


Diagnostic report - generated on 3/21/2003
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PowerStrip build - 366
Windows build - v.5.1.2600.2.Service Pack 1
DirectX build - v.5.3.0000000.900 built by: DIRECTX
OpenGL renderer - (n/a)

System board
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU speed - 1827 MHz
Type - VIA
AGP aperture - 256 MB
AGP transfer mechanism - Disabled
AGP non-local memory - (n/a)
AGP revision - 3.05
AGP transfer rates supported - 4x, 8x
Current AGP transfer rate - 8x
Sideband addressing - Enabled
Fast write protocol - Enabled
AGP texturing - hardware support, but currently disabled

Graphics card #1
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Identity - RADEON 9500 PRO / 9700
Memory clock - 270.00 MHz
Engine clock - 276.75 MHz
IRQ - 16, not shared
AGP revision - 3.00
AGP transfer rates supported - 4x, 8x
Current AGP transfer rate - 8x
Sideband addressing - Enabled
Display driver - ati2dvag.dll, v.6.14.01.6307
DirectX driver - ati2dvag.dll, v.6.14.01.6307
Attached monitor - ViewSonic A70f-2 (ViewSonic)
Monitor caps (1) - 1280x1024, 70kHz, 160Hz

Device enumeration
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RADEON 9500 PRO / 9700 (4E451002h) - using IRQ16
ATI Display controller (4E651002h)
VIA CPU-to-PCI/AGP bridge (31891106h)
VIA PCI-to-PCI/AGP bridge (B1681106h)
MicroStar Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
MicroStar Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
MicroStar Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
MicroStar Universal serial bus (USB) (31041106h) - using IRQ21
VIA PCI-to-ISA bridge (31771106h)
MicroStar IDE controller (05711106h)
MicroStar Audio device (30591106h) - using IRQ22
MicroStar Ethernet controller (30651106h) - using IRQ23
granth is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 21, 2003, 05:10 PM   #4
Kowan
Older than dirt
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States California
Posts: 2,206
Kowan is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you untick the "Read Only" box in the Adapter Information section of Power Strip, it allows changing the settings.
Since the "Transfer mechanism"? shows as "Disabled" and if you're running WinXP Pro, go to Start/Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Services/ATI Smart.

See if it lists ATI Smart as Automatic. If not, double click it and set it to Startup type: Automatic and hit Apply.
That should enable DMA as the transfer mechanism.

List your system specs including your OS and it will help others trouble shoot your problems.
Someone just might have a similar setup and already found a cure.
__________________
"The happiest people don't necessarily have the best of everything.
They just make the best of everything." - Unknown
Kowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2003, 07:01 PM   #5
granth
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada bc
Posts: 16
granth is still being judged by the masses


Default



I tried it. I suppose that is why I cant enable it. How can I fix this?
granth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Inspector BababooeyHTJ Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 7 Sep 7, 2010 02:49 PM
Larry the cable guy: Health Inspector vazel Off Topic Lounge 4 Mar 24, 2006 06:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink