Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Fusion, Integrated and Mobility Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Fusion, Integrated and Mobility Support Discussion and technical support forum for AMD integrated and mobility graphics platforms including Accelerated Processing Units, Netbooks, Ultra Portables, Notebooks, HTPC and SFF.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2003, 09:23 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
LycosV
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
LycosV is still being judged by the masses


Default Disable PowerPlay?

I just recently installed the copy of ATI Control Panel that came with the Compaq Radeon Mobility 7500 drivers (The ones that Somms links to) and can not get PowerPlay to change settings. Everytime I try to set it to Performace and hit OK, it resets to Battery Life. Although I love long battery life, there are times I really want an increased frame rate and want to turn PowerPlay off but can not get it to work. Any ideas? Thanks in advace.

LycosV
Dell Inspiron 4150
Radeon Mobility 7500 32mb
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2003, 09:48 PM   #2
somms
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
somms is still being judged by the masses


Default

I could have sworn that the PowerPlay tab wasn't available with the M7 on my Dell Latitude C810. I'll have to double check this tomorrow when I go into work.

BTW: Are you using Win2K or XP with your I4150?
__________________
Dell Inspiron Notebook Community Forum


MOBILITY RADEON 9000 P/N 113-96301-102
2002/11/18 BIOS v008.003.008.002.006.000.001.001


MOBILITY RADEON 7500 P/N 113-85101-100
2002/07/30 BIOS v006.000.006.004.002.000.001.001


Please keep in mind there is always a possibility of rendering your Mobility Radeon card useless in the unlikely event of a flash failure. Use at your own risk!
somms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2003, 10:43 AM   #3
LycosV
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
LycosV is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've got XP Home on it.

LycosV
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 8, 2003, 12:10 PM   #4
somms
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
somms is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just got finished installing CPanel_6.14.10.4013, 6.14.10.4012, and 6.14.10.4000 and I never had the PowerPlay tab appear in the advanced settings for Display Properties of the M7 installed on a C810. I don't remember ever seeing this tab with this card when it was installed in a I8100 running XP either. This makes me think that the M7 card I'm using may be not be strapped to enable this feature. The card you have has PowerPlay enabled but for some reason is also hardwired for battery life vs. performance. I've flashed the M7 up to the bios indicated below, what version bios is listed for your M7 under Display Properties/Settings/Advanced/Options/Details?
__________________
Dell Inspiron Notebook Community Forum


MOBILITY RADEON 9000 P/N 113-96301-102
2002/11/18 BIOS v008.003.008.002.006.000.001.001


MOBILITY RADEON 7500 P/N 113-85101-100
2002/07/30 BIOS v006.000.006.004.002.000.001.001


Please keep in mind there is always a possibility of rendering your Mobility Radeon card useless in the unlikely event of a flash failure. Use at your own risk!
somms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2003, 01:09 AM   #5
LycosV
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
LycosV is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just installed the newest version of the Control Panel off of ATI's site (I can't find where it says the version number in my settings) and now I can set the PowerPlay settings. Wahoo!

Anyway, my BIOS info says:
BK6.0.0 VR006.006.006.008.005.000.001.001 j

LycosV
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2003, 10:24 AM   #6
somms
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
somms is still being judged by the masses


Default

Would you be able to extract your bios for me using a floppy disk? I've posted the files required to the following: http://images.lunarpages.com/uxga/dos/bios/atibios.zip

Just add the unzipped files to a DOS bootable floppy and then execute by typing "atiflash -s 0 savebios"
__________________
Dell Inspiron Notebook Community Forum


MOBILITY RADEON 9000 P/N 113-96301-102
2002/11/18 BIOS v008.003.008.002.006.000.001.001


MOBILITY RADEON 7500 P/N 113-85101-100
2002/07/30 BIOS v006.000.006.004.002.000.001.001


Please keep in mind there is always a possibility of rendering your Mobility Radeon card useless in the unlikely event of a flash failure. Use at your own risk!
somms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2003, 01:26 PM   #7
LycosV
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5
LycosV is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried running the atiflash utility as you instructed, but it only created a savebios file of 0 size. I assume it should be bigger. Am I missing something?

LycosV
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2003, 02:35 PM   #8
somms
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
somms is still being judged by the masses


Default

It will create a file size @ 65KB. Are you typing the command line exactly as above? atiflash -s 0 (zero) whateverIwanttocallthis.file
__________________
Dell Inspiron Notebook Community Forum


MOBILITY RADEON 9000 P/N 113-96301-102
2002/11/18 BIOS v008.003.008.002.006.000.001.001


MOBILITY RADEON 7500 P/N 113-85101-100
2002/07/30 BIOS v006.000.006.004.002.000.001.001


Please keep in mind there is always a possibility of rendering your Mobility Radeon card useless in the unlikely event of a flash failure. Use at your own risk!
somms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2003, 04:18 PM   #9
eospace
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 12
eospace is still being judged by the masses


Default BIOS, Powerplay, and other good things

LycosV, somms:

Hi, one and all. I am a new registeree trying also to enable powerplay. Was any headway made on the issue of enabling powerplay? My situation:

Compaq Presario 2800T w/ MR7500@64MB

Original drivers were Compaq's, and were of the 6.13.10.xxxx variety. I've tried the Cat3.2 mods to hopefully see powerplay: while the drivers work w/o a hitch, still no powerplay. I'd like to note that w/ the cat3.2 drivers, sisoft sandra reports 63 rather than 64MB of video memory, but that's for another posting.

Bios is: BK6.0.0VR006.007.006.007.002.001.001 j

I expect Bios is my last hope of activating powerplay. Do help! Thanks.
eospace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2003, 07:17 AM   #10
somms
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
somms is still being judged by the masses


Default

Have you been able to extract your current bios using the procedure outlined above? If your ATI chip is integrated into the system board of your notebook this may not be possible.
__________________
Dell Inspiron Notebook Community Forum


MOBILITY RADEON 9000 P/N 113-96301-102
2002/11/18 BIOS v008.003.008.002.006.000.001.001


MOBILITY RADEON 7500 P/N 113-85101-100
2002/07/30 BIOS v006.000.006.004.002.000.001.001


Please keep in mind there is always a possibility of rendering your Mobility Radeon card useless in the unlikely event of a flash failure. Use at your own risk!
somms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable PowerPlay MATA7 CATALYST Drivers 12 Feb 19, 2010 10:21 AM
Must have CCC for Powerplay? Derek Baker CATALYST Drivers 4 Sep 18, 2008 02:44 AM
How to disable ATI POWERPLAY? krabas General Radeon Discussion 4 Feb 1, 2008 08:46 PM
How to completely disable powerplay? spysmily1 Radeon Technical Support 2 Aug 6, 2006 08:07 PM
Powerplay...? Photek General Radeon Discussion 0 Oct 22, 2002 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink