Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2003, 07:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default TV-Out is black&white with S-Video->Composite and S-Video->SCART on PAL - Solutions?

Is it possible to get a force composite output for the TV-Out please? I'm using a S-Video to SCART adapter and all I get is black & white on my PAL TV. It is also black & white with my S-Video to Composite converter, and I believe that if you use the converter you should output the signal as Composite, yet this is not allowed. Is there anything I can do to watch my movies in color?

Thanks...

BTW:

ATI 9500 Pro
Cat. 3.0 + DX9

Also, I had this problem with an nVidia card, but using TVTool let me force Composite and correct it. However I can't change the output from S-Video with the Catalysts.

Last edited by UnknownI : Jan 10, 2003 at 07:43 PM.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2003, 08:47 PM   #2
AMDFan
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 52
AMDFan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Either you buy a Svideo to Composite converter from Ati, which will have the proper pins connected, or you buy a converter from SVideo to Scart/Composite at a computer store, which has the right pins shortened.
How to make one yourself can be found on the net or in this very forum (use the search feature).
AMDFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2003, 09:50 PM   #3
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried using the one that came with the 9500 Pro and I also bought a SCART converter at the store. My problem is not with the adapters, its with the signal itself. Thanks though.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 11, 2003, 07:53 AM   #4
euan
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Scotland Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,001
euan is still being judged by the masses


Default

No it's not a problem with the signal. S-video is two signals. Your TV is only looking at one. You need a S-video to composite adapter. Please listen to what people say.
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music...." -- - Kristian Wilson, CEO, Nintendo Gaming Corporation, Inc, 1989
euan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 11:27 AM   #5
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't think anyone is listening. I have an S-Video to Composite adapter supplied by ATI and it DOES NOT WORK. Trying it over and over and expecting different results is the definition of insanity. Anyway, I'm still getting just B/W with adapters.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 01:51 PM   #6
AMDFan
Radeon HD 6770
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 52
AMDFan is still being judged by the masses


Default

So if you have an adapter from ATi, which doesn't work, why not call or email them and complain about it. They will send you a replacement for sure. I once had the driver and mmc cd missing with an OEM Radeon VIVO and by email request had one in my mail a few days later.
AMDFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 06:06 PM   #7
euan
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Scotland Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,001
euan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UnknownI
I don't think anyone is listening. I have an S-Video to Composite adapter supplied by ATI and it DOES NOT WORK. Trying it over and over and expecting different results is the definition of insanity. Anyway, I'm still getting just B/W with adapters.
tell us exactly all the combinations of connection you have used

Have you set the TV-out region correctly? Where are you located?

The Radeon doesn't have an option to output a composite signal on the radeon (like the Nvidia tweak app) That is exactly what the s-video to composite adapter does.
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music...." -- - Kristian Wilson, CEO, Nintendo Gaming Corporation, Inc, 1989
euan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 06:32 PM   #8
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried all the different PAL settings, even though 'B' is my TV's setting. All produced the same results. The card was originally NTSC so I flashed it to PAL but that did not help either.

I looked at some other threads and someone said turning on theater mode in overlay settings may fix the problem. Anyway, I'll check this later and get back. I really want to get this fixed.

Oh, as for connections, I used the ATI S-Video to Composite adapter with the supplied composite cable. I also tried using an S-Video to SCART adapter that I bought at a store and worked with the nVidia card only after using the tweaker. Anyway, I really don't understand why this should be so difficult, but hopefully there is a solution.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 06:51 PM   #9
motionride
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
motionride is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi

You have a S-Video-Scart adapter ?
So you can put a small wire in Pins 3 and 4 as shown in the picture and you should get a colored TV-Picture



cya motionride

Last edited by motionride : Jan 11, 2003 at 06:54 PM.
motionride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 08:01 PM   #10
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks a lot for that motionride, I'll give that a shot as well. I wish my TV wasn't in the other room from the computer or I could try it now .

Thanks again.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 08:17 PM   #11
euan
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Scotland Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,001
euan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UnknownI
I tried all the different PAL settings, even though 'B' is my TV's setting. All produced the same results. The card was originally NTSC so I flashed it to PAL but that did not help either.

I looked at some other threads and someone said turning on theater mode in overlay settings may fix the problem. Anyway, I'll check this later and get back. I really want to get this fixed.

Oh, as for connections, I used the ATI S-Video to Composite adapter with the supplied composite cable. I also tried using an S-Video to SCART adapter that I bought at a store and worked with the nVidia card only after using the tweaker. Anyway, I really don't understand why this should be so difficult, but hopefully there is a solution.
yes but what type of input did you conect these too?
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music...." -- - Kristian Wilson, CEO, Nintendo Gaming Corporation, Inc, 1989
euan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2003, 09:01 PM   #12
UnknownI
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 30
UnknownI is still being judged by the masses


Default

OK from start to finish.

Video Card -> S-Video-Composite Adapter -> Composite Cable -> TV Composite Port

Video Card -> S-Video-SCART Adapter -> TV SCART Port

That's all.
UnknownI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2003, 05:51 AM   #13
Gilhooley
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 37
Gilhooley is still being judged by the masses


Default crap

Well, TV-OUT support is just crap with R300 drivers anyway. I have a shitload of different problems with my 9700Pro - and ATI support newer responds to my email's. We can just hope that they fix the drivers, eventually.
Gilhooley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2003, 09:08 PM   #14
The_KELRaTH
42
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom Outside looking in
Posts: 2,913
The_KELRaTH is still being judged by the masses


Default

After browsing this thread I thought I'd give the TV out a try.
Used a phono lead with the Svideo adapter as thats all I had that was long enough to reach the bedroom TV.
Booted up, and TV had the same pic as my monitor. Ran a Divx movie then clicked theatre mode and the movie on the TV went to full screen while the monitor pic was still in small window mode.
The impressive bit though was setting the flicker filter, it made the pic look like it was on a 100Hz TV and with no colour bleed - nothing like the TV out on my Ti4200.

I should add that my 9700Pro is a USA import while my TV is Pal I, when I checked the TV settings it was already changed to Pal I so it would seem unimportant what the default setting in the ATI bios is.

(Win2K DX9 Cat3a)
The_KELRaTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2003, 09:21 PM   #15
Runner3001
Bitter Canuck.
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 351
Runner3001 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Go into the advanced in display options and go to displays, click the bar above the tv, theres an option in there for sharpness, one of the options is black and white...
__________________
| AMD64 X2 3800+ @ 2.7ghz | Asus A8N-SLI | OCZ 2048MB PC4000 | 7800GT SLI | 2x200gb Maxtor DMP10 RAID0 | 200gb WD SE | 120gb WD SE |

Doggus, w00f.
Runner3001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2003, 05:08 AM   #16
motionride
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
motionride is still being judged by the masses


Default

The Radeon´s TV-out gives every user a fully funktional S-Video-Signal to provide best TV-Out quality. But the TV-Out can´t provide an Composite signal to make an colored Picture on older TV´s that don´t understand the S-Video signal (because of Chrominance/Color and Luminance/Brightness are seperated).

The Problem of the small "S-Video to Composite Adapter" is that some OEM´s don´t put the right cable into the package because it´s to expensive for the OEM´s. So the cheap Adapters fail to put the Chominance and Luminance together into one Signal and so the TV (without S-Video funktion) can´t show a colored Picture.

Thats what the small wire (pin 3 and 4) does.

It has nearly nothing to do with the BIOS or the settings in the CP. Thats a problem of the Adapter.
motionride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2003, 02:13 PM   #17
Mach27
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: holland
Posts: 198
Mach27 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMDFan
So if you have an adapter from ATi, which doesn't work, why not call or email them and complain about it. They will send you a replacement for sure. I once had the driver and mmc cd missing with an OEM Radeon VIVO and by email request had one in my mail a few days later.
Your TV signal is set to "afghanistan" (default) set it to your correct country. It's in the options somewhere.
__________________
We all live a lie. Would you like to try?
Mach27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2003, 11:29 AM   #18
Boogie
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Boogie is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a Mobility Radeon and are using a S-Video to SCART and the wire-trick worked perfect for getting color on the TV. I tried everything and nothing but the wire worked. Thanks a bunch for the tip.
Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 07:31 AM   #19
bomaster
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: England
Posts: 5
bomaster is still being judged by the masses


Default

what tv do you have? I have a Panasonic and I have to change the a/v setting to av/s versus just av, check that because if you just use the av setting it comes through as black and white.
bomaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 07:32 AM   #20
bomaster
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: England
Posts: 5
bomaster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Also try a composite to scart first and see if that works in color.
bomaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 04:36 PM   #21
Pigboy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 3
Pigboy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I also have the same problem yet i solved it

I bought a Sapphire Radeon 9500 from the uk, connected Svid to video card and Scart converter to TV all was well until i tried watching media and i got a black and white screen.

Basically

Av1 gives me Colour (but Glitchy)
Av2 gives me Black and White

I figured you need to switch to Svhs on the TV and all worked fine.

Give it a try
Pigboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2006, 04:56 AM   #22
Redknight
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Redknight is still being judged by the masses


Default Genius!

Motionride you are a flippin genius, I've been struggling with this for literally months. My old nvidia card was quite capable of displaying tv-out in colour once it was slapped and forced to output in composite mode but this new x1900xtx of mine refused to output in anything other than s-video..hence...black and white signal on an s-video cable.

Now my TV is displaying my PC signal in colour and the world is good again..lol

As far as I can tell from my months of forum gremlin-ing there is literally no way of forcing a composite output from ati's cards so its either...go out and buy a composite lead or try the wire crossing technique above.

Anyways, cheers again
Redknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2007, 01:29 PM   #23
bottswana5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
bottswana5 is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies Solved

Ok, This Worked For Me.
Use the S Video > Composite Adapter On The ATi Card, Restart The Computer.
It Detected It And Switched To Compostie Singal, As Long As You Didnt Change Any Major Settings.
bottswana5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2007, 06:06 AM   #24
johangrimm
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
johangrimm is still being judged by the masses


Default




SCART S-Video Connection
Output S-Video Connector
1; Audio right out
3; Audio left (or mono) out
4; Audio return
15; Chrominance out
13; Chrominance return
8; Video status out
19; Luminance out
17; Luminance return
21; Shield

Input S-Video Connector
2; Audio right in
6; Audio left (or mono) in
4; Audio return
15; Chrominance in
13; Chrominance return
8; Video status in
20; Luminance in
18; Luminance return
21; Shield



SCART Composite Video Connection
Output Composite Connector
1; Audio right out
3; Audio left (or mono) out
4; Audio return
8; Video status out
19; Composite video out
17; Composite video return
21; Shield

Input Composite Connector
2; Audio right in
6; Audio left (or mono) in
4; Audio return
15; Chrominance in
13; Chrominance return
8; Video status in
20; Composite video in
18; Composite video return
21; Shield



In composite video, the luminance signal is low-pass filtered to prevent
crosstalk between high-frequency luminance information and the color
subcarrier. In S-Video Color and Luminance signals are separated in cable, so
low-pass filtering isn"t needed. This increases bandwidth for the luminance
information, subdues the color crosstalk problem and leaves more video
information intact, thus having a improved image reproduction compared to
composite video.

Due to the separation of the video into brightness and colour components,
S-Video is sometimes considered a type of component video signal, although
it is also the most inferior of them, quality-wise, being far surpassed by the
more complex component video schemes (like RGB). What differentiates
S-Video from these higher component video schemes is that S-Video carries
the colour information as one signal. This means that the colours have to be
encoded in some way, and as such NTSC, PAL and SECAM signals are all
decidedly different through S-Video. Thus, for full compatibility the used
devices not only have to be S-Video compatible but also compatible in terms
of colour encoding.

Pin 1; GND, Ground (Y)
Pin 2; GND, Ground (C)
Pin 3; Y, Intesity (Luminance)
Pin 4; C, Color (Chrominace)

The luminance (Y; greyscale) signal and modulated chrominance (C; colour)
information are carried on separate synchronized signal/ground pairs.

S-Video signals are generally connected using 4-pin mini-DIN connectors
using a 75 ohm termination impedance. Today, S-Video can be transferred
through SCART connections as well. S-Video and RGB are mutually exclusive
through SCART, due to the S-Video implementation using the pins allocated
for RGB. Most SCART-equipped televisions or VCRs (and almost all of the
older ones) do not actually support S-Video, resulting in a black-and-white
picture if attempted to use, as only the luminance signal portion is used.
Black-and-white picture in itself can also be a sign of incompatible colour
encoding, for example NTSC material viewed through a PAL-only device.

A hack exists to possibly attain color on devices that do not support
S-video through SCART. This is done via joining the pins 15 and 20 in
the SCART connector (either directly or using a 470pF capacitor), and
may not yield optimal results.

It is very simple to convert S-Video to composite signal (just the logical
merging of the two through a filter is required) or vice versa.
johangrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2007, 11:34 PM   #25
qazzxcv
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States Miami
Posts: 1
qazzxcv is still being judged by the masses


Default At least you HAD black adn white

I have absolutely NOTHING, NO picture, no connection, and no enables 2nd monitor, I just bought the x1650PRO with HDTV out, and i got the connector with metal and 1 plastic pin, and a converter to yellow composite video, I connected it to the TV in the yellow video in #1. There is no picture, so i go into the ATI catalyst control panel and try to enable the 2nd monitor and i right click on #2 and select enable and right click it, for about 2 full seconds it seems to be enabled then it goes Grey and is not enabled. I have been fighting with every setting on earth adn am even starting to have nightmares! why can't anyone make anything that works, OR JUST PUT IT ON THE BOX with TV OUT but DOES NOT WORK, so we won't waste months !!!
and no don't tell me that my TV has to be HDTV to work, it doesn't!
qazzxcv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2008, 05:20 PM   #26
darklordoftime
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
darklordoftime is still being judged by the masses


Default Similar problem

I have a S-video -> scart converter. I have a Hyundai TV and a compaq 6710b Laptop and the only signal i can get is B&W. Can anyone help me? thanks in advanced
darklordoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black & White S-video fix DarthMatt AMD Fusion, Integrated and Mobility Support 1 Sep 5, 2004 07:04 PM
Svideo cable to SCART converter only Black and white :( Templar Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 4 Feb 15, 2003 04:14 AM
Black White TV-OUT -> where are the solutions??? juul Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 6 Jul 11, 2002 06:56 AM
AIW Radeon capture from VCR to composite video-in via scart isn't working hugo north Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 6 Oct 30, 2001 04:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink