Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 31, 2002, 03:46 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Duffman
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 140
Duffman is still being judged by the masses


Default SIS735/745 vs. VIA KT266A/333 in PCI bandwidth comparison

Hi, I just read this in www.ocworkbench.com forum and thought this will be interesting to many of you.

quote:

"I got to test the SiS735/745 in the context of my work. We're developping video editing platforms, and these babies are real PCI-bandwidth hogs. (720 x 240 pixels x 60 fields per second is a lot of data!)
We wanted to support AMD AthlonXP CPUs really hard, since these processors are amazing computing powerhorses. However, the Via chipsets clearly held the platform back, with PCI bursts scoring no higher than 40 MB/s when two bus master devices try to perform simultaneous transactions (IDE does count for one!). This could get pretty technical, but let's just say that in these particular tests, Via scored 40, Intel 90 and SiS managed to pull out an amazing 92 MB/s burt rate (out of a theoretical 128 MB/s).

Before someone asks about the Via issue, YES, this relates to the PCI latency bug Via has acknowledged recently, and NO, it cannot be fixed by a software patch like they would like you to believe. The PCI core has an hardware bug, and no driver nor bios update can fix this. Also, since the new KT333 will have the same PCI core as the KT266A, PCI bandwidth will be no better in the newer chipset.

That being said, KT266A/KT333 platforms perform just fine when equipped only with an AGP card looping Quake3 demos. That's exactly why most hardware review sites sing praises for the KT266A. But, honestly, is this really all you intend to do with your computer ? Not me "
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2002, 11:39 AM   #2
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

WOOHOO! Happy Sis735 chip owner right here!

thanks for the info, VERY interesting
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2002, 04:04 PM   #3
wwchan
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 20
wwchan is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: SIS735/745 vs. VIA KT266A/333 in PCI bandwidth comparison

Quote:
Originally posted by Duffman
Hi, I just read this in www.ocworkbench.com forum and thought this will be interesting to many of you.

quote:

"I got to test the SiS735/745 in the context of my work. We're developping video editing platforms, and these babies are real PCI-bandwidth hogs. (720 x 240 pixels x 60 fields per second is a lot of data!)
We wanted to support AMD AthlonXP CPUs really hard, since these processors are amazing computing powerhorses. However, the Via chipsets clearly held the platform back, with PCI bursts scoring no higher than 40 MB/s when two bus master devices try to perform simultaneous transactions (IDE does count for one!). This could get pretty technical, but let's just say that in these particular tests, Via scored 40, Intel 90 and SiS managed to pull out an amazing 92 MB/s burt rate (out of a theoretical 128 MB/s).

Before someone asks about the Via issue, YES, this relates to the PCI latency bug Via has acknowledged recently, and NO, it cannot be fixed by a software patch like they would like you to believe. The PCI core has an hardware bug, and no driver nor bios update can fix this. Also, since the new KT333 will have the same PCI core as the KT266A, PCI bandwidth will be no better in the newer chipset.

That being said, KT266A/KT333 platforms perform just fine when equipped only with an AGP card looping Quake3 demos. That's exactly why most hardware review sites sing praises for the KT266A. But, honestly, is this really all you intend to do with your computer ? Not me "

According to techchannel.de http://www.tecchannel.de/hardware/817/index.html
this problem is resolved by the following RPP patch http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=66#raid
__________________
AMD 1700+XP @140MHz FSB
ECS K7VTA2 V2.X Bios 2.2(KT-266A) w/ VIA 4in1 driver 4.47 + rpp1.02
512MB OC PC3200
Radeon 9500 128MB SoftModed
SBLive Value + AC97 audio
Logitech Z560 4.1 THX certified
LiteOn 40x16x48 CDRW
Toshiba 48X CDROM
80G Maxtor
WIN XP PRO w/ Catalyst 3.4
wwchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 31, 2002, 04:06 PM   #4
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

I was thinking about upgrading my motherboard and moving away from VIA due to some of the problems with it (not the least of which is that PCI latency issue mentioned). Any recommendations for a quality SiS motherboard? I'm partial to ASUS, Abit and now Soyo, but if there's someone else making good SiS mobos thn I'd like to hear it.
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2002, 06:08 PM   #5
highpingdrifter
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom England,north east
Posts: 2,133
highpingdrifter is still being judged by the masses


Default

had no problems with the k7s5a from ecs ,the only problem is it is definitely no overclockers board but i hear the k7s6a is better equipped for overclocking
__________________
asus p5n32-e sli
intel core duo e6700 @ 3.4Ghz
BFG 8800GTX OC
2Gb Geil PC6400
samsung 226BW 22" widescreen
zalman cnps9500at
on board audio
Maxtor 250Gb sata
samsund dvd-rw light scribe
enermax liberty 500W
highpingdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2002, 06:16 PM   #6
Duffman
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 140
Duffman is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmm...so that VIA PCI latency bug is fixed, eh? oh, well, i guess that's it, then.

Still, if SIS chipset interests you, i guess one would go for 745(DDR333) chipset rather than older 735. I read 735 had a some sort of bug when overclocking.

For 745 chipset, ECS K7S6A came out first and is probably cheapest now. Then there is MSI 745 Ultra and ASUS A7S333. According to the response from people who actually used these boards, AUSUS boards is not that better than MSI's. There is review of MSI 745 Ultra at www.ocworkbench.com and if you go to forum you can read user responses on these boards. It seems ASUS did not give out samples of A7S333 to benchmarking sites, so English review of this board is hard to find.

Aopen also has 745 board AK75pro which implemented FireWire integrated in the chipset and another version without FireWire. They just came out so reviews are nowhere to be found.

These boards seems to have no onboard stuff integrated, like LAN, RAID, and 6ch sound. They just have basic AC97 codec for sound.

One 745 borard has RAID controller and CMI8738 sound chip which is Chaintech 7SJR, you can find a review also at www.ocworkbench.com

Keep in mind that the SIS745 chipset do not support neither ATA133 nor USB 2.0. KT333's southbridge don't have USB2.0 controller but the board makers seems to include separate chip to support this. That is, if you care for these features at all.

Other well known board makers like Epox and Gigabyte is supposedly coming out 745 board but if it didn't come out by now, it may well be not coming out at all. who knows...

Last edited by Duffman : May 31, 2002 at 06:27 PM.
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2002, 10:31 AM   #7
chemmajik
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 374
chemmajik is still being judged by the masses


Default

The MSI SIS745 Ultra is the best right at the moment for top speeds, its having less issue's then the Asus. Also it runs fine at 166/166 where the K7S6A still hasnt gotten a bios fix yet. A friend will be shooting for 183/183 in the next few days or go for 200 with new ram coming in. But if your cheap the ECS K7S5A has good performance & stability just get a decent PSU with it.

Last edited by chemmajik : Jun 1, 2002 at 10:36 AM.
chemmajik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2002, 06:58 AM   #8
9-Bar
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: North West of UK,
Posts: 214
9-Bar is still being judged by the masses


Default

i've just built a pc for my bro, with MSI 745 Ultra, excellent board, i'm deffo gonna consider a SiS, for my next chipset,
had a prob setting up memory at first, but sorted it after a bios update....
__________________
ASUS A7N Deluxe Nforce2
AMD XP 2700+
512mb Corsair TwinX Dual DDR 333
Radeon 8500 / Hansol 920D 19"
SB Audigy Player / WinXP Home ED.
2 x 123GB IBM ATA100 HD's
Pioneer DVR105 + DVD106S
9-Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2002, 07:33 AM   #9
mulciber
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Houston, TX
Posts: 6,585
mulciber is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 9-Bar
i've just built a pc for my bro, with MSI 745 Ultra, excellent board, i'm deffo gonna consider a SiS, for my next chipset,
had a prob setting up memory at first, but sorted it after a bios update....
I should be getting that same MSI 745 board tuesday glad to hear its liked. Ive been having too many problems with my Epox 8kha+ board that its just time to throw in the towel
__________________
—· ···— ·· —·· ·· ·— ·——· ·—— —· ——··
[13:45:19] <Mulciber> PEACE TO ALAH! *explodes in crowd of children*
[13:45:47] <Hanners> lol
[13:45:52] <Robotzombie> clockwork knows all about exploding onto a crowd of children

mulciber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2002, 07:45 AM   #10
9-Bar
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: North West of UK,
Posts: 214
9-Bar is still being judged by the masses


Default

yo mulciber, if you have a prob with board when rebooting it keeps knocking back the fsb to 100, when u have a 133fsb xp chip, grab the new bios from MSI....

this solved my prob and is in the description of the fix in the new bios anyway... apart from that, enjoy!!!!

i've put it through benchmarks and wot not, sucess on everyone, and performa better than my KT266A in a lot of cases
__________________
ASUS A7N Deluxe Nforce2
AMD XP 2700+
512mb Corsair TwinX Dual DDR 333
Radeon 8500 / Hansol 920D 19"
SB Audigy Player / WinXP Home ED.
2 x 123GB IBM ATA100 HD's
Pioneer DVR105 + DVD106S
9-Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis Hardware Performance & Comparison ( High bandwidth ) Hapatingjaky PC Gaming 3 Dec 9, 2007 06:02 PM
anyone tried a Radeon 8500 on sis735/45? huwwatkins Radeon Technical Support 8 Jan 27, 2002 08:28 AM
ECS K7S5A (SiS735) websites? nerdfragger General Hardware 4 Nov 14, 2001 10:42 PM
SIS735/AMD760 + Radion64DDR ??? Bad ASH General Hardware 10 Sep 8, 2001 09:25 AM
SiS735!?! Game Master 128 General Hardware 15 Jul 28, 2001 03:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink