Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2009, 10:10 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default new build

what would u change?

HDD Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB $80

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136319

motherbord JetWay JHA07-ULTRA-LF $110

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813153125

Ram G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 $110

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231166

GPU SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB $225

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102801

CPU AMD Phenom II X4 940 $229

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103471


for about $770 after shiping


(and I have an OCZ StealthXStream 700w PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341019 )
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2009, 10:12 AM   #2
RadeonBBQ
touchdown.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United States PA
Posts: 383
RadeonBBQ is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a gut feeling I should've gotten a Phenom 2 940 over my i7 920.

Also for that price on the hard drive, if you do some looking you could probably find a 1TB for ~10 dollars more.
__________________
MSI X58 Eclipse
Core i7 920 @ 3.6 GHZ
6 GB OCZ TRI CHANNEL DDR3-1600
HP W2207
1TB+500GB Seagate Barracuda
Corsair HX1000W
Visiontek HD4870X2


http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/588819.png

Last edited by RadeonBBQ : Feb 7, 2009 at 10:18 AM.
RadeonBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2009, 10:43 AM   #3
{0}Salamander{0}
Radeon Man Returneth
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom London - UK
Posts: 3,812
{0}Salamander{0} is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah, the Phenom II's are actually pretty good, especially for gaming, though certainly not as quick as the i7 overall, but far cheaper.
__________________
Why doesn't batman dance anymore?
{0}Salamander{0} is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 7, 2009, 06:51 PM   #4
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadeonBBQ View Post

Also for that price on the hard drive, if you do some looking you could probably find a 1TB for ~10 dollars more.

well Ive done some reading on it and to me it sounds like the wd 640 uses their 320gb platers boosting the density and the speed of the drive since the heads dont have to travel as far. fewer platers means less of a workload for the motor. that and the 1TB blacks are out of stock.

I could always add a 1TB down the road if I neeed the storage.

now im just not sure if 8gb of ram is worth it though. seams ive read people having truble when all the ram slots are taken. Hmm.
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 05:45 PM   #5
FX-Overclocking
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,092
FX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Again I see somebody getting G.Skill RAM when its no cheaper than known brand, high quality RAMs. I'd do more research on RAm and see if you can't get something better for the same or less.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 07:05 PM   #6
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 13,671
Greasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Again I see somebody getting G.Skill RAM when its no cheaper than known brand, high quality RAMs. I'd do more research on RAm and see if you can't get something better for the same or less.
G.Skill makes some very good RAM. Used it in several builds now, and it always delivers on the specs listed.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 07:09 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,939
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Again I see somebody getting G.Skill RAM when its no cheaper than known brand, high quality RAMs. I'd do more research on RAm and see if you can't get something better for the same or less.
Why isn't G.Skill considered a known brand and high quality? I've seen way more problems with Corsair XMS than any G.Skill, but that might be anecdotal.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2009, 09:22 PM   #8
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

AM3 motherboards are out now and the CPUs will be following soon-

https://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-790XT4P

Ram would be 60 bucks a stick if you want DDR 3 1600 2x2Gb.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146872

If you went with 1333 ram instead you could knock it down to 45usd a sitck.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148221

That's a very good hard disk you selected for the price. You might want to RAID a couple. If I were getting an AM3 CPU myself I'd grab the 945 or 925.

Last edited by Blacklash : Feb 8, 2009 at 09:26 PM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 01:33 AM   #9
TheNGTV
EGG
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore MI / Singapore
Posts: 2,833
TheNGTV is still being judged by the masses


Default

CPU Change.

Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
Will go up to Newegg in a few days, selling at 140-145USD.

You save 100USD while getting the same/better overclockability, and do not lose performance in most games (they mostly max out at 3 threads)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBeavis View Post
I heard that Catalyst 9.1 stays crunchy, even in milk.
TheNGTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 06:18 AM   #10
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,609
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNGTV View Post
CPU Change.

Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
Will go up to Newegg in a few days, selling at 140-145USD.

You save 100USD while getting the same/better overclockability, and do not lose performance in most games (they mostly max out at 3 threads)
Well, then wouldn't you loose some performance thanks to the OS then?
When I load up Crysis Warhead (since it really does have only 3 active threads) I set cores 0,1,2 as "Crysis.exe assigned". All others threads have their affinity re-assigned to Core 3.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 06:53 AM   #11
Crisler
SAPPHIRE PR REP
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Carbondale, IL
Posts: 7,909
Crisler can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCrisler can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I have the Phenom II 720 running at the office and can tell you for the money it is an AWESOME chip. Out of the box at stock speeds it is faster in most things than a 9950 and I was able to overclock it to 3.3 Ghz with no voltage bump.

According to the game designers I have spoken with the whole grail of EFFECTIVELY using more than 2 cores in gaming has not yet been reached. What this means is from one to two cores most games see a SERIOUS performance boost. Any move beyond two might see an increase but the ratio of increase is minor compared to the move from one to two.

For the overwhelming majority of users the Triple core is a very attractive buy. It delivers better mutlitasking performance than the dual core and does not move the rpcie up to the level of the quad.

In fact with the recent price cuts even the budget systems I now build are based on the triple core, I see no reason to put in a dual excpet in the most extreme of cost reducing cases.

As for the AM3 motherboards, I personally would hold off right now. DDR3 does not show enough performance boost to justify the cost difference in my opinion and the AM3 boards are still built off the 790 chipset. I personally am gholding on DDR3 to see what the newer chipsets will offer and for DDR3 price to drop.
__________________
Edward Crisler
SAPPHIRE NA PR Representative

#SapphireNation

Last edited by Crisler : Feb 9, 2009 at 06:55 AM.
Crisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 07:38 AM   #12
TheNGTV
EGG
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore MI / Singapore
Posts: 2,833
TheNGTV is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Well, then wouldn't you loose some performance thanks to the OS then?
When I load up Crysis Warhead (since it really does have only 3 active threads) I set cores 0,1,2 as "Crysis.exe assigned". All others threads have their affinity re-assigned to Core 3.
Crysis is reportedly single/double threaded.


The only engines that use Core 3 and above extensively are MT-Framework (DMC4, RE5, Lost Planet), Source (L4D and later), Unreal Engine 3 and GTA4's RAGE (irony).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBeavis View Post
I heard that Catalyst 9.1 stays crunchy, even in milk.
TheNGTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 02:17 PM   #13
FX-Overclocking
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,092
FX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Why isn't G.Skill considered a known brand and high quality? I've seen way more problems with Corsair XMS than any G.Skill, but that might be anecdotal.
Two things. One the fact that they are rather new to the game and two, that they have positioned themselves as budget RAM with their pricing. Which makes me wonder what would ever happen should you need to RMA their RAM. I know how the other guys handle it. That sort of thing. I don't like spending good money on everything in a rig and then making one part a question mark. Maybe G.Skill is beginning to prove themselves, but until I've heard more I won't be waving their banner.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 02:53 PM   #14
Dawg
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,873
Dawg is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Two things. One the fact that they are rather new to the game and two, that they have positioned themselves as budget RAM with their pricing. Which makes me wonder what would ever happen should you need to RMA their RAM. I know how the other guys handle it. That sort of thing. I don't like spending good money on everything in a rig and then making one part a question mark. Maybe G.Skill is beginning to prove themselves, but until I've heard more I won't be waving their banner.
G.Skill's been selling RAM since 1989. Seems to me like the top RAM makers recommended by overclockers is probably G.Skill and Corsair. OCZ being 3rd maybe.
__________________
Pentium e5200 @ 3.33 GHz (333x10), 1.325V (bios) (Zalman 9700)
2x2GB G.Skill 1066 (533 mHz, 5-5-5-15)
EVGA 260 GTX SC (192)



Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 03:10 PM   #15
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28,555
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Two things. One the fact that they are rather new to the game and two, that they have positioned themselves as budget RAM with their pricing. Which makes me wonder what would ever happen should you need to RMA their RAM. I know how the other guys handle it. That sort of thing. I don't like spending good money on everything in a rig and then making one part a question mark. Maybe G.Skill is beginning to prove themselves, but until I've heard more I won't be waving their banner.
New to the game? G.Skill has been around for a long time..
They do not position themselves with budget ram pricing.. they have DDR2 1200Mhz selling @ 247.99 USD.. thats not budget at all.

Their ram performs amazing for the money you pay.. I dunno why you've never heard of G.Skill before.. an older company for sure.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 03:41 PM   #16
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

The only ram I trust is G.skill.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 05:16 PM   #17
{0}Salamander{0}
Radeon Man Returneth
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom London - UK
Posts: 3,812
{0}Salamander{0} is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ive used Corsair now for a good while.

I managed to get a 100Mhz overclock on the XMS2 range, 800Mhz running at 900Mhz with just a .5 voltage boost.
__________________
Why doesn't batman dance anymore?
{0}Salamander{0} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 06:07 PM   #18
FX-Overclocking
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,092
FX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete strangerFX-Overclocking once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Whats G.Skill's RMA warranty? Any idea about how they are on that stuff? Warranty is a HUGE part of my decision making on RAM, which is why I used OCZ.
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Ron Paul for Prez.
---------------------------------------------

Persistence is the first, and the most important, condition for success.

"There is all the difference in the world between treating people equally and attempting to make them equal." - F.A. Hayek
FX-Overclocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 10:06 PM   #19
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've never had a problem with G. Skill either. I've also had luck with both Mushkin and Crucial. When my old Ballistix ram crapped out on me some time back Crucial hooked me up with replacements quickly and painlessly. My old Muskin DDR 2 800 ram I had was great. That stuff would do 1150 on P965.

Last edited by Blacklash : Feb 9, 2009 at 10:09 PM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2009, 10:58 PM   #20
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,939
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Whats G.Skill's RMA warranty? Any idea about how they are on that stuff? Warranty is a HUGE part of my decision making on RAM, which is why I used OCZ.
I can't recall any horror stories, nothing from reading forums regarding their support/process. I'm sure they have bad support examples like everyone else.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 01:15 PM   #21
Briner
Goku could beat Superman
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 847
Briner is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX-Overclocking View Post
Whats G.Skill's RMA warranty? Any idea about how they are on that stuff? Warranty is a HUGE part of my decision making on RAM, which is why I used OCZ.
Lifetime i believe. I rma'd some ram back and they were quick and responsive. I have no problems with gskill
__________________
"Geeks are interesting"
Briner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2009, 01:52 PM   #22
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNGTV View Post
CPU Change.

Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
Will go up to Newegg in a few days, selling at 140-145USD.

You save 100USD while getting the same/better overclockability, and do not lose performance in most games (they mostly max out at 3 threads)

well I plan on having this set up for 3 or 4 years. so the 4th core will probably be used by then. even this year the 2 games im looking at ARMA2 and OFP2 will be CPU heavy.

Ive used G'skill befor and liked it stable/cool and a not such a bad OC.


as for DDR3 meh I can buy 8gigs of DDR2 for less then 4gigs of DDR3.

when I do upgrade again I will just build a new system. and do as I allways do give my old one away or use it as a file server.
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 01:54 PM   #23
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default

well I ordered everything now just to sit and wait and wait then wait some more.

hmm maybe I need a new monitor too

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...4&sku=320-7825

any one have any reviews for this? mostly for gaming/watching movies
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 02:48 PM   #24
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,939
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:02 PM   #25
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default

thats not an IPS panel is it though?
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:27 PM   #26
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,939
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

You'll have to find that out for yourself, I don't know.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:38 PM   #27
fanATIc
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Russian Federation Connecticut
Posts: 591
fanATIc is still being judged by the masses


Default

yea it seams that the 2343BWX 23 is a TN so I think ill pass on it. ive never seen a TN panel that ive liked. and the PVA and IPS ones i looked at cost 3x the price.

I know the 2209 WA just came out and its an IPS for $300. but im not sure if it is just such a cheap IPS that its almost like a TN or if its worth a look.
__________________
a good comp runs well runs all i need "but will be upgrated soon"

And yea yea I know i can't spell!
fanATIc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! New PC build Leprechaun General Hardware 12 Dec 24, 2009 11:53 PM
My i7 Build - Finally Done, ready to build. FX-Overclocking General Hardware 42 Dec 15, 2008 07:29 PM
help on my first build :( drkewl General Hardware 5 Apr 19, 2005 03:11 AM
Build my computer RAGE3D!!! (A newb's 1st build) Deftones General Hardware 10 Jun 17, 2004 05:55 PM
Build by Ati ? twinsen Radeon Technical Support 0 Jun 3, 2002 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink