Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2002, 03:03 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
CornPopz
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Maine, USA
Posts: 730
CornPopz is still being judged by the masses


Default Disk Boot Failure

Well something in my comp hit the fan, and I don't know what it is. This started a few months after I installed my Maxtor HDD. I'll turn on my comp and after the BIOS and POST screens...the boot halts and says "DISK BOOT FAILURE"
Now I can insert my boot floppy and load up DOS with CD-ROM support...not that I really want to. Usually if I just boot wit the floppy, turn off the comp, and then turn it on again I'm fine.

But this time its different. When I booted to the floppy and turned off my comp, turned it back on...still didn't work. Opened up the case, cables were secure. BIOS reports the usual problem that makes this occur; the BIOS can't detect the primary HDD. So I turn off the comp again. Turned it back on, got the error, booted to the floppy, and selected "Boot Windows 98 with CD-ROM support."

Yikes! The CD-ROM drivers start loading and...
"DISK BOOT FAILURE. INSERT SYSTEM DISK TO CONTINUE"

I think its the motherboard or my cables. I mean, my comp was working fine the night before. And a Hard Drive thats only 2 years old can't just die out overnight can it? I am buying some silver rounded cables since the case I'm getting has a window, and they are also faster than my current old cables.

But I guess I should start looking for good P3 motherboards now right? Any suggestions? (maybe theres one with ATA100?)

Edit: For some weird reason this forum swaps around the words. The actual error message reverses "disk" and "boot." Just in case that matters...
__________________
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.0GHz | ABIT IP35-Pro | 4GB Mushkin DDR2 @ 501MHz
ATI Radeon X1800XT 512 | Audigy 2 ZS | Dell 2007WFP
WD Raptor 150 | 2x 400GB WD | 8x DVD+/-RW | 8x/4x CD-RW
Lian-Li PC-A10B | XClio 650W PSU | Crystalfontz 635 display
Windows Vista Business 64-bit

Lenovo X61T | 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo | 2GB DDR2 RAM | 120GB HD
CornPopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2002, 03:27 PM   #2
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Disk Boot Failure

Quote:
Originally posted by CornPopz
This started a few months after I installed my Maxtor HDD...

BIOS reports the usual problem that makes this occur; the BIOS can't detect the primary HDD...

...a Hard Drive thats only 2 years old can't just die out overnight can it?
Well it doesn't sound like it just died overnight.
Quote:
I am buying some silver rounded cables since the case I'm getting has a window, and they are also faster than my current old cables.
Rounded cables are not "faster" than standard ribbon cables; nor do they make your computer faster.
Quote:
Edit: For some weird reason this forum swaps around the words. The actual error message reverses "disk" and "boot."...
The forum doesn't switch around words.

If I had to take a guess at a non-hardware failure answer; I'd say you probably have both of the drives on that cable set master or both set to slave, or perhaps you've just got an invalid jumper setting on one or both of them.
Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2002, 04:23 PM   #3
CornPopz
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Maine, USA
Posts: 730
CornPopz is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: Disk Boot Failure

Quote:
Originally posted by Sooung
.Rounded cables are not "faster" than standard ribbon cables; nor do they make your computer faster.
My cables are ATA66 and ATA33, cables I want are ATA66/100/133

Quote:
If I had to take a guess at a non-hardware failure answer; I'd say you probably have both of the drives on that cable set master or both set to slave, or perhaps you've just got an invalid jumper setting on one or both of them.
Might be, but I doubt it. Comp was working fine yesterday and I havent changed any jumpers since I installed the second HDD.
__________________
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.0GHz | ABIT IP35-Pro | 4GB Mushkin DDR2 @ 501MHz
ATI Radeon X1800XT 512 | Audigy 2 ZS | Dell 2007WFP
WD Raptor 150 | 2x 400GB WD | 8x DVD+/-RW | 8x/4x CD-RW
Lian-Li PC-A10B | XClio 650W PSU | Crystalfontz 635 display
Windows Vista Business 64-bit

Lenovo X61T | 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo | 2GB DDR2 RAM | 120GB HD
CornPopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 12, 2002, 05:39 PM   #4
rboot
Submarine Dood!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Guam Mangilao, Guam
Posts: 2,009
rboot is still being judged by the masses


Post

If you added the hard drive, and got that problem, then the bios might be trying to boot up on the new drive that is not formatted. Enter bios, and see which drive is selected as the bootup drive, and which drive you have in that position as the hard disk. Bootup on a floppy after you do this, and see if you can access your primary or secondary hard drive in dos.
And yes, a hard drive can fail in 2 years from heat.
Check your jumpers also once you know the cable position of the drives in bios.
rboot
__________________
Athlon XP3000+ Barton, WD JB 80 gig HD
ASUS A7n8X DEL, 1 gig Corsair TwinX XMS CL2 DDR, Win XP PRO
ASUS Radeon 9800XT/TVD 256 MEG,
Lite-On 18 DVD burner,
Everybody should carry a 230 grain ashcan thrower, more peeps would be nice!
rboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2002, 07:16 PM   #5
Comit
Hooter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United States California
Posts: 1,828
Comit is still being judged by the masses


Default

CP and I worked it out. Btw just FYI, the floppy drive failed and the BIOS wouldn't go with a broken FD.
Comit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Hit Enter coyote81 General Hardware 9 Feb 13, 2009 11:46 PM
Strange disk boot failure chocoba65 General Hardware 8 Jan 9, 2008 09:40 PM
Disk Boot Failure? RB6_ Operating Systems 0 Jun 28, 2005 10:17 AM
Disk Boot Failure, keeps coming up at boot up Kamiclone General Hardware 4 Jan 8, 2005 02:04 PM
Disk Boot failure??? PreservedSwine General Hardware 2 Jun 6, 2003 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink