Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and support forum for all of the All-In-Wonder Radeon cards, the TV-Wonder, Remote Wonder I and II, the new HDTV Wonder, and basically anything with VIVO support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2003, 04:44 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
btrcp2000
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
btrcp2000 is still being judged by the masses


Default How much horsepower does tv wonder ve need?

Trying to squeeze some more life out of an old emachine P.O.S.

Here's the scoop:

AMD k6-2 333mhz 512kb cache
ATI Rage iic 3d agp 4mb sdram
64mb RAM
tv wonder ve pci
windows 98 (first edition)

Installed mmc 7.1 from fresh dl. The launchpad first had a TV button, which became video in after i pressed it once. Tv never did initialize, but I don't get error messages. Tried dscaler, which gives me an error about the overlay.

Am I in denial about my possibilities here in getting the tv wonder working?
btrcp2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 06:03 PM   #2
Sulik
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 308
Sulik is still being judged by the masses


Default

Woaw - that's pretty slow.
You should be able to do capturing at VCD resolution. More problematic might be the Rage IIc, which looks like it does not support overlay.
You should be able to pick up an old Rage 128 based video card to replace the Rage II (I know Rage 128 supports overlay for sure).
Sulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2003, 06:40 PM   #3
SciDoctor
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,467
SciDoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Try MMC 7.9 .

Which dscaler did you use as the 4.1.8 works well with tv wonders.

Which dx version are you running?
__________________
...an ounce of perception , a pound of obscure....
SciDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 11, 2003, 10:19 PM   #4
btrcp2000
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
btrcp2000 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Tried mmc 7.9 already before 7.1, no good. I pulled the wonder out of a p3 933mhz that was running dscaler just fine. I could swear i saw it installing Dx 9, but the folders it created are empty, so that can't be good. Maybe i should try an older version, assuming i can still get one from microsoft? any thoughts on which version?

anybody think it would be worth trying shasha's uninstall method, or is my main problem outdated equipment? I am okay with dropping some cash, but i would sooner get something I could yank when this thing dies, plus I am out of pci slots. Could I get away with an AIW in this setup?

By the way, the only goal is to have a pc in the kitchen for TV and internet/email purposes. No gaming/media center until my wife gets used to the concept, although she is blissfully unaware that there are already lots of wires running thru the walls to the living room...
btrcp2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMG's horsepower war is over. Quickstrike Motoring 10 Jan 26, 2009 06:31 PM
You may have too much horsepower if.. VW_Factor Off Topic Lounge 22 Jul 16, 2005 07:51 PM
Horsepower and Torque ScottDoom Off Topic Lounge 27 Apr 26, 2005 10:37 PM
Manpower vs Horsepower Robbiesan Off Topic Lounge 4 Jun 12, 2004 11:45 PM
How much horsepower do you need to run a 20 player server? high_ping Off Topic Lounge 4 Jul 25, 2001 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink